Birdsville Track Update - I am opening a Can of Worms NOW

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 20:02
ThreadID: 77928 Views:7783 Replies:13 FollowUps:35
What I now am going to post will open a can of worms with information that has not been made Public and I am now letting all know.

As most will know, I have contacts at Etadunna Station, which I have been keeping in very regular contact re the water situation and the possibility of the Cooper Creek going over the Birdsville Track.

The latest this week is that the body of water is now around 16 kilometres away from Lake Hope, with the flow slowing down. Jason and Patsy have been making regular flights to check on the progress and Patsy said that Jason thinks now that the flow should cross the Birdsville Track about July. This is the easy bit, now for the can of worms:

The information that I am now posting is not "Chinese Whispers" as mentioned to me by one official.

I have been in contact and speaking personally with the Following:

Etadunna Station
Transport SA-Northern Roads Section
The Local Liberal State Member of Parliament for that Area
Mr Dan Heaton, Technical Officer for the Diamantina Shire Council - Queensland

At this stage, the State Government of South Australia has made no indication about spending around the half a million dollar mark to get the ferry running in the event of the Cooper going over the Birdsville Track. There is just too much water for it not to cross the Birdsville Track, with local reports estimating it should close the Track for around 6 months. The last time the ferry was put into action, it was in 1990 and it then ran for around 9 months, keeping up vital supplies of food and fuel for the running of the stations along the Birdsville Track, as well as keeping the Birdsville Track open and saving the very long road detour to get to Birdsville.

Because of the very large amounts of water received in the northern parts of the state, as can be expected, there were very large sections of road damage. Dan Heaton, Technical Officer for the Diamantina Shire Council knew that it would be impossible for Transport SA Staff and machinery to undertake the said repairs, as everyone knows the Birdsville Track was Closed and has now only just open allowing road access to Birdsville. Dan contacted Transport SA,in early March offering to send road crews and machinery from Queensland to start on the road repairs, hastening the opening of the Birdsville Track. Transport SA refused point blank any offers of help - WHY???

When Dan received his reply, everyone in the Shire Council could not believe what they had been told and to this day are left for words as to why Transport SA refused the very generous offer to get the northern section repaired and hastening the opening of the northern section of the Birdsville Track.

The Government Officials in Adelaide should get out of there glass cocooned offices, take a trip up north and speak first hand with the Station people that are living in the area. There is no way that this would happen in the suburbs and why are the station people being stranded when the Cooper Creek floods the Birdsville Track.

No smart replies from city Government officials, just take a trip and see first hand how station people and travellers will be effected.

Who has been here

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 20:41

Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 20:41
Gidday Stephen

The only way you’re going to get a result, is to take it to the media. Talking to politicians is a bit like digesting over cooked meat.

Send out a passionate Media Release to radio stations, TV and every thing else you can think of.

Kim
AnswerID: 413946

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 20:50

Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 20:50
Hi Kim
I have contacted the local rural ABC radio. It turns out that the lady that I was speaking to is going up that way next week and will be staying at Etadunna Station. She was not aware of what I told her and she said that she will follow up on what I have told her. My next step will be the TV Stations.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 684166

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 21:46

Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 21:46

If you need any help with this, send me a MM. I have a few contacts in the media.

Kim
FollowupID: 684173

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 22:00

Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 22:00
Hi Kim
Give then these details, as these are the true facts. I have made 2 more phones calls today to try and get an answer as to why Transport SA refused help from Queensland and was able to get any answers. The more wide spread the media reports the better, as it will shame the SA Government. One of my other contacts that I have spoken with has even raised my points with a Federal Liberal Senator. Like he said there is only so much that opposition Members of Parliament can raise and he said the best results would be to shame the Government via the Media.

Give you contact the details, as after, refusing help from Queensland should make this a National issue.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 684176

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 22:35

Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 22:35

I know you’re very passionate about this, but there is a right and wrong way of doing things.

As I previously said, construct a well thought out Media Release and send it to me at kimmc@satlink.com.au

I’ll then talk to you privately about any changes that need to be made.

Kim
FollowupID: 684185

Reply By: Eric Experience - Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 20:48

Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 20:48
Stephen.
If I understand your post ,the SA people would have to pay for the ferry, so the last thing they wont is the road to be open from Birdsville. Eric
AnswerID: 413948

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 21:05

Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 21:05
Hi Eric
As this falls within the limits of other ferries that run in South Australia, there is no charge for a ferry use to the public, apart from the taxes that we pay. I will now pick on one just small business along the Birdsville Track - the famous Mungerannie Hotel. Not being a gambling man, but I bet there is no way it would survive for up to 6 months without any business. We are now about to come into the peak time for tourists into outback SA, and from what I am hearing from up that way, they are expecting a bigger increase in tourists, just to see the water and how it has transformed outback SA. If the ferry does not run, how many people will make the huge extra detour via NSW to get to Birdsville and beyond. This action will not just effect the people in SA, but also outback Queensland.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 684168

Reply By: Member - Prickle (SA) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 21:53

Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 21:53
Steve,

Once again thanks for what you are doing here. Like many others we are planning a trip through this area and whilst we can work around it we would rather do a crossing of the Simpson and come down the Birdsville track if possible.

Keep up the good work, it is appreciated by us all.
Russ

Life-often hell but never boring.

AnswerID: 413956

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 22:06

Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 22:06
Hi Russ
If you are quick enough, you may beat the flooded Cooper Crossing otherwise it is going to be a very big detour. One thing that many have not taken into account - The Famous Birdsville Races. Drive the Birdsville Track at that time of the year and it is as busy as Rundle Street. What would happen to all that Traffic!

Have a great Simpson trip, it should be magic out there this year.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 684178

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 22:25

Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 22:25
"The Famous Birdsville Races. What would happen to all that Traffic!"
Somehow I doubt a 2 car ferry would be able to handle even 5% of the cars that would be going to the races. The majority would have to find an alternate route even if it did run.
Cheers Craig..................
FollowupID: 684183

Follow Up By: Member - Prickle (SA) - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 22:01

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 22:01
Steve,

No we planned this to miss the races, although I know there will be some around probably when we go through.

Obviously there will be a plan b, c & d. It will just be a great time to be in this area.

Reading lots of posts here.

Keep up the good work.
Russ

FollowupID: 684305

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 22:14

Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 22:14
Hi Stephen, we have been watching your threads on this matter with great interest for a while now as we were planning to go to Birdsville Races with friends via SA, now there is no way we would just do a quick run through your State, there would be stops and stays along the way so it wouldn't be just Mungarannie effected by this but a lot of SA from Adelaide out. Now I know that we are just a couple of cars but how many more are there planning these trips to see the water and the effects it has had on the SA outback, I feel the taxpayers over there would be out in front if they did get that ferry going as it would be a great attraction especially with a bit of advertising in neighboring States, done right they could have quite an influx of tourists. My slant on it anyway.
As for not allowing help, well isn't that typical Government, that is outside their little boxes!!!!

Good luck with it all anyway

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 413959

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 22:35

Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 22:35
Hi Deanna
What you have said is so correct and it is going to have a far greater effect than just the Birdsville Track. I am just a lone voice, but through the help all great viewers here on EO, let us hope that it does make waves with the officials in Adelaide.

Where ever you do travel to, have a great trip.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 684186

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 22:55

Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 22:55
Thanks Stephen, in view of what you have put on here tonight I was wondering which would be the best way to go if your State Government keeps their blinkers on, Would the Simpson be open?? Would it be best to go through NT and down or through to Broken Hill and out if roads are open in those areas. A lot of study of areas to be made.

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 684189

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 23:06

Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 23:06
Hi Deanna
There is an old saying - "A squeaky wheel gets the Oil". I know that Government Officials have been watching my posts. All I can hope is that they do take notice of what I write and put into action, what was made available to Tom Kruse - run the ferry when the track is closed.

It that happens, you will not have to change your plans. As they say, Keep watching this space for further updates.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 684191

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 22:15

Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 22:15
Steve perhaps you could post up the details of the responsible officer within Transport SA including his phone contact & email address. If everyone intending on using the Birdsville track was to flood his office with enquires on the availability of a ferry it would no doubt add some pressure to speed up a favorable decision.
While on the surface it may appear they don't intend to run a ferry, government departments are often just slow & more likely to react after it floods than plan for it.
Cheers Craig..........
AnswerID: 413960

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 22:29

Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 22:29
Hi Craig
My name has more mud stuck to it than the Birdsville Track with my contact in Transport SA , Port Augusta. It would be unfair to lay the blame at them, as they are only doing their job, as directed from their Officials in Adelaide.

The shame now should be put solely in the hands of Mr Rann.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 684184

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 22:59

Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 22:59
Gees a lot of QLD ers went through hell with cyclones and flooding with an end result hoping it reaches S.A. Bugger the S.A Gov I'm taking it as an insult.
AnswerID: 413964

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 23:14

Thursday, Apr 22, 2010 at 23:14
Hi Old Girl
I would have loved to been a fly on the wall at the Diamantina Shire Council office when they received the rejection from Transport SA. As if they did not have enough work on there plate with all the flooding in outback Queensland, yet they still offered help and were rejected. In the event of this type of thing happening again, I bet they would not offer any help again.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 684192

Follow Up By: peterll - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 11:47

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 11:47
To save looking him up :-

Hon PATRICK CONLON MP
Minister for Transport
Minister for Infrastructure
Minister for Energy

Phone
8226 1210

Fax
8226 0844

minister.conlon@saugov.sa.gov.au

Postal Address
GPO Box 2969
ADELAIDE SA 5001

Office
12th Floor, Roma Mitchell House
136 North Terrace
ADELAIDE SA 5000

I'm sure that he love to hear enquiries as to the use or non-use of the ferry on the Birdsville Track and perhaps may even answer the question as to why the offer by Diamantina Shire Coucnil was refused.

FollowupID: 684236

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 14:04

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 14:04
Hi peterll
Thank you for that, more phone calls and emails today.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 684254

Reply By: lollylegs - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 12:07

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 12:07
Stephen,

Well done for your enthusisam on this matter.

BUT, back on the 13/1/10 this issue was raised on this forum and the poster was shot down as this simply would not happen due to a lack of water.

Trevor from Wrights Air was the person who predicted this way back then and publily said so on radio.

Maybe some notice should have been taken wiith what he had to say at the time.

AnswerID: 414022

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 14:18

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 14:18
Hi lollylegs
I do not recall that post, but have always been a firm believer that the Cooper should cross the Birdsville Track, there has been just too much water for it not to happen. In the early days of the peak flooding in Queensland and the high volumes of rain fall that fell in the top part of the state, the water front was making quick progress, as the countryside was very wet. About a month ago the headwaters were starting to slow, and at that stage it still looked like it should have cut the track by early April. The water has still slowed, but is still coming down steadily. Lake Hope, the last final hurdle requires a lot of water to fill it, but there is still mega volumes of water still behind the headwater that from fast flooding, will fill Lake Hope and complete its journey further west. What I have been told that the amount of water is not as great as 1990, but never the less should close the track for up to 6 months, compared to 9 months in 1990.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 684257

Reply By: Member - GREENDOG - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 12:23

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 12:23
Time to make that phone call to that great bloke of 5AA 1395 i reckon,he would be gob smacked to hear what you have to say.cheers GREENDOG
AnswerID: 414026

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 14:19

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 14:19
Hi Greendog
What is there phone number, the more that know the merrier.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 684258

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 18:01

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 18:01

FollowupID: 684282

Follow Up By: Member - GREENDOG - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 18:42

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 18:42
Thats the one,thanks Dennis .cheers GD

FollowupID: 684284

Follow Up By: Peter Horne [Krakka] - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 14:33

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 14:33
Also , onair@fiveaa.com.au
FollowupID: 684554

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 14:46

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 14:46
Hi Peter
Thanks for that. I have sent the Hon Patrick Conlon an email and will wait and see what he has to say and I will go from there. I have this thread bookmarked for quite and easy access. It will be very interesting to see what he has to say, or not say.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 684555

Reply By: the bilby - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 12:24

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 12:24
I am in need of some info and you seen to know the area well.

Can you tell me if there is a track between Cordillo Downs shearing shed and Birdsville rather thean go via Qld?
And is there autogas in Birdsville?
I will be travelling thru in July.
the bilby
AnswerID: 414027

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 17:49

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 17:49
Bilby,yes on the track but you still have to go through Queensland because Birdsville is in Queensland! and no, no autogas.
FollowupID: 684278

Follow Up By: the bilby - Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 08:51

Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 08:51
Thanks for the reply.
I must clarify my meaning.
Even though l know Birdsville is in Qld l was wondering if there was a track from Cordillo Downs west to the Birdsville Track instead of the normal designated track taken?
The Bilby
FollowupID: 684333

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 09:32

Saturday, Apr 24, 2010 at 09:32
Hi, bilby - yes I did assume that you meant a track, as the crow flies, and the answer to that is a big NO. Added to which that country is a bit boggy through there.
My crack about Birdsville being in Queensland simply because SA wishes it was in SA! Ha ha.
FollowupID: 684341

Reply By: The Landy - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 15:01

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 15:01
I found this article which suggests that the ferry has been maintained and ready to go.

Here is the article...perhaps you could speak to Peter Short?

Outback ferry may ply floodwaters

Good weekend to all, The Landy
AnswerID: 414046

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 17:54

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 17:54
G'day Landy
Spot on. Peter Short is right up with it and monitoring the situation. If required, the ferry is a goer.
I find myself wondering at times about what is posted and why
FollowupID: 684281

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 19:41

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 19:41
Hi Landy
The person in charge for the Northern section is Bob Paul. Andrew, if you know so much, you must have greater contacts than me. The local State member has also been looking into the situation also, and at this stage there is a very great chance that the ferry will not run through lack of Government funds. Are your contacts able to explain why Transport SA refused point blank the offer of help from the Diamantina Shire Council. There is no way they can talk there way out of that one, just check with Dan Heaton.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 684288

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 19:48

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 19:48
Hey...I have no knowledge of this issue other than what I have read here, and from the article I have posted. I posted the ABC article after I came across it when I tried to find out some more information about what was going on.....

Not sure why so much agro?

Good luck with it anyway...........

The Landy
FollowupID: 684289

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 19:56

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 19:56
Hi Landy
My only comment to you was about Bob Paul.The other comment were direct at Andrew, and I am not agro with you. To say that it is a goer if need is very far from the truth. You only have to speak to the locals and they have different thoughts.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 684290

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 20:56

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 20:56

I know Peter Short personally and, based on my experience, I take him at his word. If he says he is monitoring the situation and is planning to put the ferry into operation if needed, then I have no reason to doubt him.

IMHO, I doubt that the locals have great insight/knowledge about the decision making processes within Govt: rather, they are doing what they can to further their own interests by lobbying using the resources available to them.

Wrt the Diamantina Shire, I have no knowledge as to their motivation, nor the reason N&W Region said no. What passes through MY mind would be as follows. The largest % of costs for road maintenance in the outback is labour, followed by plant hire costs, travel and accommodation. Of these, labour is the fixed cost, whether they are working or not. If they cannot work because roads are flooded, maybe look around for somewhere they can work and, as a bonus, where their costs are picked up by someone else, ergo, the SA Govt.

OTOH, the SA Govt might look at it from another perspective, viz, we have a limited budget and need to make sure that what we spend it on is a priority. If we have to find another $0.5m for the ferry, we need to make sure we do not over-run our budget on other aspects, for example, paying an interstate body to maintain a piece of road that we will cover in due course using our own resources. I reiterate, these are MY thoughts only.

FollowupID: 684295

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 23:24

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 23:24
Hi Andrew
I have not spoken to Peter and I am not doubting what he might be saying. My beef is not with the field people at Transport SA, they are only doing their job, just like you and I. They can only have a certain amount of input, but the final Yes or No comes from the Government.

The repairs that were needed on the Birdsville Track had to be undertaken, it does not matter by who. What Dan was telling me yesterday was that they knew that it would take time for crews and machinery from Transport SA to be able to get to the effected areas, where as there would have been quicker access to the effected area from Queensland, shortening to time that the Track was closed. These cost can not be taken into account with the ferry costing.

The Government can spend Millions of Dollars on projects that it feels the need, to make it look good in the eyes of the general public. I will now give you just one example from the Mid North Area that was purely Political and for the world to see.

Earlier this year, the first stage of the Tour Down Under started in Clare and ended in Tanunda. Prior to this world wide publicity event, locals have been using these roads in poor conditions for years. Because one small section of road between Tarlee and the top of the hills was not up to the standards for the bike event, this section of road was ripped up and remade in no time flat, why, because the eyes of the world were watching the daily progress of the race. If the race did not come along that stretch of road, it would still be in poor condition like it today, so no one can say we have not any money to run the ferry, when we can find money at the drop of a hat to fix about 6 kilometres of road for a bike race.

I am aiming my shots at the Government and not any individuals.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 684315

Reply By: get outmore - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 15:39

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 15:39
There is noway known any gvt is going to commit money to something that is not %200 garanteed to happen -letalone 2-3 months in advance

just not how it works

I think you will fnd if needed the ferry will run, yea theyll be a bit of lag but I think your getting excited about nothing
AnswerID: 414050

Follow Up By: lollylegs - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 17:32

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 17:32
Exactly.
If needed it will be up and running.
The locals dont seem too concerned, if they are thet aren't saying anything.
LL
FollowupID: 684277

Reply By: Dasher Des - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 16:22

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 16:22
Stephen, from my experiences working with the current State Government, I think your paddling your barbedwire canoe up that proverbial creek without a paddle. If it's not in the Metro area and can't be connected to the tram line, it hasn't got a hope in hell. NO MASS VOTES = NO MONEY. maybe I'm just getting over cynical in my old age.
AnswerID: 414053

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 17:51

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 17:51
How many metaphors can you mix in one sentence DD from GG? Contents of your post very relevant or should that be revelant?
FollowupID: 684280

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 20:40

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 20:40
Hi DD
I know what you are saying.

Hi Ruth
I hope you had a great time fishing. I bet the locals up your way must think it is a joke.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 684293

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 22:05

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 22:05
Greetings oh great GG. Hope all is well with you and the fisherman.
FollowupID: 684306

Reply By: Member - Prickle (SA) - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 22:11

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 22:11
Isn't this about TOURISM, what a huge money spinner for both SA and QLD. All us 4x4 traveller, $ for food/drinks/fuel etc etc to start off with and on the way I imagine there will be a lot of $ spent in the outback.

So pollies wake up & help those in the Outback so that they can make a quid when the opportunity is there.

Giddy up!
Russ

AnswerID: 414087

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 23:46

Friday, Apr 23, 2010 at 23:46
Hi Russ
What you have said reminds me of a series of TV adverts that were run a number of years ago.

It went along the lines of every dollar that was spent in one town had a multiplying effect, with the general gist of making people to think about travelling locally, so the dollar stays in the town that you spend your money and not in someone's pocket overseas. It would be very interesting for some official records on just how many vehicles use the Birdsville Track each year, it must be in the thousands.

Divide that number of vehicle into the money that is spent on things like you have said, food, fuel, repairs, accommodation and general tourist items and it would have to be millions of dollars. In that way everyone is a winner, including the government with the GST that is collected.

Like I have said earlier, the Government Officials should get out their glass houses and see what it like our here in the real world.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 684316