Nissan GQ 4.2TD Auto

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 19:28
ThreadID: 7818 Views:3591 Replies:10 FollowUps:32
Anyone with a GQ Diesel Auto out there? Woukd like to know how well the auto performs in general and what the fuel economy is like.
Thanx in advance.

Willie
Never a dull moment

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 19:34

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 19:34
ME :)

what would you like to know

520 to ~80 ltrs city cycle.

Offroad brilliant.. On road GREAT....

everyone is different...
AnswerID: 33782

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 20:16

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 20:16
G'day Truckster,

Didn't know yours was an auto. Went and had a look at your website and re-read all the stuff.

To satisfy the Minister for Interior I am also looking at Automatic 4bies as I will have to sell her car to get a decent 'new' truck. I sat in a GQ last week and it was quite comfortable. I have never had an auto and have always been a bit sceptical about such a vehicle out in the bush especially when one has to rock the vehicle to get out of stuck or if one neede da tow! How reliable is the auto box and would it need major servicing from time to time? What sort of economy on the highway?

The Troopy has the LR tanks which is a big plus but a very poor drivers seat configuration. The Nissan has coils, better comfort and maybe better economy. A lot of things to weigh up.

Willie
FollowupID: 24263

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 23:16

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 23:16
yea with the shagged leg, i can only drive an auto...
FollowupID: 24311

Reply By: Member - Eric- Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 19:34

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 19:34
Willy . I drove one the other day , non turbo in a auto , I wanted to get out and walk Venus Bay
AnswerID: 33783

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 20:20

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 20:20
Eric,

I drove a Mercedes Auto diesel 4by not so long ago and that would not pull the skin off a rice pudding! I will have to drive an auto Patrol to make a comparison.

Willie
Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 24265

Follow Up By: Member - Eric- Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 20:28

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 20:28
The Turbo diesel has enough power , its just the standard that gave me the $%@ts .
On another note , I drive a auto Cruises and would change to a manuel . I was very sceptical at first , but now I love it . Hill climbs are now so easy . there almost borring . I got ina bit of strife in the black ranges afew weeks ago , and had to rock the Vehice backwards and forwards to get out , found it real easy in the auto . The only down fall for me is the engine braking down hill . Its ok , but could be better , I think in a diesel this problem you will overcome .Venus Bay
FollowupID: 24269

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 20:44

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 20:44
Thanks Eric,
Yes the only worry would be going downhill. I went down a seriously steep hill a couple of weeks ago and put the G60 in first gear but it is so strong and slow that I changed to second in midstream and crawled down at a more leisurely pace. Will have to get a ground anchor if I go the Auto way :-)

Willie
Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 24273

Follow Up By: Member - Ken - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 20:54

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 20:54
Willie, Willie, Willie

You are wavering on this one mate.

I can tell you really, really, really want a troopy, the machine of choice for 'real men', however I can see the patrol 'girls' on the net are starting to get to you.

Take no notice of them, they are the 4WD mermaids of the web, sent to draw you onto the 'rocks'.
FollowupID: 24274

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 21:03

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 21:03
Eric,

I take it that a GQ 4.2 must have an after market Turbo added as according to Redbook the 4.2 was only factory Turbo'd in the GU of '99
I would consider a 2.8

WillieNever a dull moment
FollowupID: 24277

Follow Up By: Member - Eric- Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 21:33

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 21:33
you may not want to concider a 2.8 lol , unless you need to make some mechanic rich lol .
My opinon would be to turbo a 4.2 Venus Bay
FollowupID: 24282

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 22:00

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 22:00
Sorry Eric, That was a typo

I would NOT consider a 2.8Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 24286

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 22:10

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 22:10
Ken,

Not wavering but getting lots of opinions or various models.

Having travelled the real outback and wishing to do so more often, the thing that worries me about Nissan is, that should you have a problem, where do you get the bits? I don't fancy having to chopper a bit in to Sandy Blight Junction or somewhere in the Great Victoria Desert.

At least with a Tojo you can rest assured that virtually every station has bits and every community has bits or wrecks.

But the Troopy still has the drivers problem which must be solved. I won't compromise on that one. Maybe I will have to sell the house to buy a newbie:-)

Willie
Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 24292

Reply By: Zapper - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 20:50

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 20:50
Hi Willie

I have one, with safari turbo, it is great, love it. I drove heaps of different models etc before I bought mine 6 months ago including GQ, GU, Jackaroo's, Pajero's and 80 series cruisers and the GQ auto was the pick of them for me by a mile. Saw your previous posts about GU utes and troopies etc. After spending years in cruiser utes on the farm I wouldn't recommend one to anyone for long distances purely from a comfort point of view. Very reliable and tough but incredibly uncomfortable, I assume the troopies are the same configuration, we now have a GQ and a GU ute on the farm both turbo 4.2's and they are just as tough just as reliable but 10 times more comfortable.

One of the other responses here said they drove one and it was very slow, I haven't driven a non turbo but the guy that I bought mine from said he had the turbo fitted soon after he bought it as the performance was not up to scratch. With the turbo it is anything but slow.

Hope that helps

AnswerID: 33798

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 22:20

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 22:20
Thanks for your feedback, Zapper. Taking all comments on board.

Willie
Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 24299

Reply By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 21:12

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 21:12
Willie

have you posted the Q on the Patrol website??............they are the gurus there

Rick (S.A.) - ' It is better to travel hopefully than arrive'
AnswerID: 33800

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 22:17

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 22:17
G'day Rick,

No have not been on the Patrol list lately. Might check it out.
Willie
Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 24298

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 21:29

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 21:29
Oh Willem... You do so ponder hehehehehehe........
Looks like i will have to pick you up on the way to Orroroo in two weeks for our awsome jaunt through the Bendlby Ranges and that will sell you on a serious but comfortable GQ 4.2 diesel......50mm chains wont hold you back from searching one down...
Where are you going to rest your arm in a troopy whilst driving...??? there are no arm rests.... and a pick of brown, brown, brown and maybe a rare blue interior...

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 22:15

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 22:15
Voxson,

When are you coming through this way? Maybe you should drop in for a cuppa so that I can take a squiz at your rig. We are going to Beltana on 27th Oct and from there on to Alice Springs for as couple of weeks.

I normally hang my arm out the window

Willie
Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 24296

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 22:20

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 22:20
Willie.

Dont look at the 2.8 not worthbleepon.

With the auto, it has it over manuals EVERYWHERE apart from downhils, but everyone knows that.

The GQ never had a 4.2 Turbo from factory.

The 4.2 usually has a 3.9 diff ratio which is good for highway work, but its marked on compliance plate (HG39 is 3.9 etc).

Drive it see what ya think Turbo is only $3000 more... :) Then intercooler $1000 fitted
AnswerID: 33820

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 22:44

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 22:44
Geez, the Turbo is worth more than my G60 !!Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 24306

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 23:16

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 23:16
Then sell the old girl, and get the turbo!
FollowupID: 24310

Reply By: Member - Ken - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 22:48

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 22:48
Willie

I don't envy you one bit on the research and decision making process for a new 4WD

However there is one thing that really intrigues me about the 'which is the biggest, best and only 4WD' on the market debate that is a continuous undertone of this forum.

I don't mind it one bit as it gives everyone a chance to 'vent' what ever it is on their mind in a democratic manner.

What I am leading up to is, if you revisit the last 9 - 10 pages of posts to this forum you will see there is a continuous query along the lines :

My patrol (this that or the other) is making a noise, or is doing some other bizarre thing. Can you help me.

The only thing of any consequence posted on Toyotas from memory was the 78 series snapping wheel studs and of course the perennial 91-92 4.2 bearing shell fiasco.

I have no idea why this is so, possibly the manufacturer, servicing or the owner/driver, who knows, maybe all three.

You don't have to good old Albert E to figure out something is amiss.

Just keep that in mind when your branched off somewhere half way along the CSR on your next intended big one.

Ken Robinson

AnswerID: 33830

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 22:51

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 22:51
Then use the albert e theory on his G60...
FollowupID: 24307

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 23:31

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 23:31
Hmmmm....maybe I should drop a diesel into the G60 and snuffle out a power steering unit somewhere. The Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 24313

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 23:31

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 23:31
Hmmmm....maybe I should drop a diesel into the G60 and snuffle out a power steering unit somewhere. The Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 24314

Follow Up By: Member - Ken - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 23:40

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 23:40
Willie

Go the whole hog and buy a 'Hummer'
FollowupID: 24315

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 23:44

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 23:44
Dunno what happened there...bloody computers.... I was going to say that the G60 is unbreakable...almost. See post 7622. When I was cleaning the truck after the trip I saw that the rear inside spring baseplate bolt and nut were missing. On the right side the G60 has only one U bolt. The other bolts are part of the axlehousing. After inspecting the damage I see that it is a bolt in type. So all I have to do now is to get the bit that is still in the hole out and replace it. I know how to do the job but what a bugger lying on ones back drilling etc. Oh well...
Willie
Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 24316

Follow Up By: Willie - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 23:53

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2003 at 23:53
Ken,

It is late and you must be tired as you are not making sense now:-)

The Hummer is the most overrated piece of American junk you can get.
Just look at their engine problems. They have a standing order for replacement 6.2lt Chev diesels with GM. And their track is too wide for our bush tracks.

No if I had the dosh I would buy a 6x6 diesel Unimog or a 101 Landy with the x6 trailer pto(my mate has one at it goes anywhere) fitted with a Perkins diesel or something alike.
FollowupID: 24318

Follow Up By: Member - Bob - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2003 at 08:36

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2003 at 08:36
Ken,
I think you might have missed a couple of posts re Toyo problems. Maybe selective blindness? Not major probs but see 7662, and 7533 for instance.Bob
FollowupID: 24325

Follow Up By: Member - Ken - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2003 at 21:04

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2003 at 21:04

Nup! didn't miss them at all mate.

You will notice that I did'nt say the Toyotas were bullet proof etc etc and I have attempted to address my 'selective blindness' ( probably from 2 hands instead of 1) in a specific post further down this thread. So have a look at it.

You will see there that Our family car in a 1999 Honda Accord which I have had since new. It is a 4 cylinder and is just the bees knees, with some absoultely awesome technology.

Yes it is one of those computer driven spankers you have to take to the workshop for everything. So what.

Anyway whilst at the workshop for a service I was chatting to a service tech about trading it in for a 6cylinder one.

He whispered in my ear that it wasn't a good time to do so as they were replacing 1 or 2 transmissions (Autos) in the 6 cylinders every week, and to wait until the new model came out.

So do I bitch about Hondas. No, and I will buy another one.

Would I buy a 100 series with possible diff problems, most probaly not until established that the identified problem had been solved.

Thats what this forum is all about. information exchange/flow for the betterment of all.

Now for that post you mentioned about the overheating Prado.

Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeell Mate do I have a story for you, about good old Nissan. Just seeing as how you pointed that one out.

In that in depth post I mentioned below you will see I have had a 1982 Nssan/Datsun Bluebird since new and still have it.

Overheat! did that bastard overheat and drive me to distraction. Changed thermatic fans, thermostats, timing, installed additional electric fans you name it I tried it, all to no avail, including recores of the radiator as it used to split the coota on a regular basis, 100% coolant.

Nissan would have nothing to do with me other than to say there was nothing wrong with it. It was all in my mind. Even had the audacity to suggest it was the LPG when they found out. Didn't matter I had been complaining well prior to the LPG going on.

So life went on - with a near boiling vehicle.

One day about 4 years ago I am over at pick-a-part walking around the yard when I spot a Datsun Bluebird series II. The one I have was a series I.

It had a big wide mother of a radiator in it plus an electric fan and an electronic iginition.

I went home and made a series of phone calls and was advised that the series II had been produced for 6 months to tempoarily get over all the design faults in the Series I which included chronic overheating. And, get this, the radiator fits the Series one. Bastards put an undersized radiator in it from scratch with side filler panels.

So, next day back I went an extracted that radiator setup from the Series II and dropped it off at the Radiator guy. Another stroke of luck here also.

Cut a long story short he sources a 3 core/core from Adelaide that he knows about, and silver solders all over the top and bottom tanks like he does for race cars.

Guess what, It never gets off the second mark which was where it was designed to run in the first place.

So that poor guy in the prado, who even Truckster thinks is a one of with his cooling problem, probably has a few more things to try before he gives up and sells it.

Now theres a bit of light reading before you go to bed. All vehicle manufacturers have there share of dud whatevers.

Ken Robinson.

FollowupID: 24436

Follow Up By: Member - Bob - Thursday, Oct 16, 2003 at 08:12

Thursday, Oct 16, 2003 at 08:12
Ken,
I agree completely with that. Furthermore, I wouldn't rely on self-reporting of problems on this forum as a way of rating vehicle reliability.Bob
FollowupID: 24466

Reply By: Mick - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2003 at 10:40

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2003 at 10:40
Id like to throw a spanner in the works.
I used to work for west end diesel, and they absolutely hate NISSAN, and they recomend anybody to buy a toyota, especially an early model 80's 1HZDT or a diesel Hilux.
Do you all want to know why?
They would go broke if they had to rely on NISSAN!
If everybody bought nissans, diesel mechanics like me would go broke.
AnswerID: 33856

Follow Up By: Willie - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2003 at 15:15

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2003 at 15:15
Now if that isn't a glowing report for Nissan then I do not know what is!

The tribe up in Central Australia figure that a Tojo only lasts 6 months but a Nissan lasts 9 months to a year. So they are swithcing over...........

FollowupID: 24369

Follow Up By: Member - Ken - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2003 at 20:19

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2003 at 20:19
Boys

Settle down.

I was just pointing what is a trend in this forums posts and asking if any one had any ideas why it was so.

Now just to show 'hairy NISSAN bears' that I am an unbiased user of automobiles this is what I have had in during my years on this earth.

1944 L/H drive ex WWII willys.[well used]( Excellent but bloody cold in the WA goldfield winters)
1968 Brand new Datsun 1600 [new](Very basic but a mean machine- Jap Import)
1962 EK Holden sedan. [used](More basic, however did the job. No complaints)
1969 Kinswood Stn Wgn auto [used](Excellent)
1972 Datsun 1200[new] (Aust made heap of bleep gear box - Borg warner - no end of trouble.
1979 Datsun 120Y Stn Wagon[new] (Jap Import and best one of the lot)
1981 Datsun Bluebird Stn Wagon[new][100% LPG] (Aust made heap of crap. Still have it because the only thing I haven't changed is the body and interior. Good old Borg-Warner figure in this one also).
1980 Datsun 120Y Sed for Daughters (used). (Aust made and ordinary.)
Now I have a 1999 Honda Accord(new) - what more can I say.

Now the Troopy is the first Toyota I have ever owned and was purposely selected for conversion into a camper.

Who knows, if good old NISSAN had had a configuration like a troopy, I might have gone for it because of the wider wheel base and better driver space setup.

Now you will note that of the Nissan/Datsuns (Remember one owned the other and was pulling the strings) that I have had, it was the Australian built ones that gave me all the grief.

It all boiled down to the component suppliers, remember the old 87% Aust content rule.

Ihad a conversation once with a state manager of Lucas Industries when they were here. He told me the following anecdote when I was having trouble with a 120y alternator that was a Lucas one.

He said Nissan/Datsun had approached Lucas and asked could Lucas provide x amount of alternators at x specs for x Dollars per unit.

Lucas replied yes as long as the specs were changed as follows.

Nissan/Datsun the emphasised that the alternator had to last longer than 12 months (warranty period)

Lucas then supplied a guestimate of the life of one of the proposed units and the deal was done and set.

So what you say, well one of the changes lucas made was that the so called rear bearing housing was pressed and fixed in at manufacture, with no intention of it ever being reconditioned. In other words it was designed as a throw away. i.e. you were supposed to buy new ones all time, not replace a $2 bearing.

In the first instance it wasn't a Nissan/Datsun fault , however ultimately it was because their Dollar for product supplied specs a yes it was their vehicle under their badge.

Now my original post about a predominance of NISSAN queries in this forum was aimed at finding out whether or not it was manufacturer design problem, component supplier problem (yes NISSAN in Japan use component suppliers) or a servicing problem or just owner/driver abuse.

Not whether or not my father has a bigger one than yours .

So! do any of you have any ideas.

Willie

It was late last night, I should have ended the post with (LOL) as I to have had a taste of Hummers, in East Timor (military), Well, there is nothing worth saying about them really.

Ken Robinson

FollowupID: 24428

Follow Up By: Willie - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2003 at 20:30

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2003 at 20:30
Ken,
You sure liked them Datsuns...weren't they great?

I won't post my list of vehicles as it will take up too much space. I think the most of one brand I have owned is Suzuki.....8 of them in total.
FollowupID: 24430

Follow Up By: Member - Ken - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2003 at 21:16

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2003 at 21:16
Willie

Yeah! I guess you could say that.

They really were a heap of bleep though, for I suppose an affordable price.

The good thing was that you fix them youself. I would love a $100 for every time I pulled a gear box out and replaced a clutch kit or pulled an engine out for whatever reason or the raditor/cooling system.

Real basic machines like the early holdens.

Have a look further up this thread as I just replied to another member who seems to think I am a biased one eyed Toyota galoot.

I've only ever had one in my life.

Have a nice evening.

Ken Robinson
FollowupID: 24438

Reply By: Member - Bob - Thursday, Oct 16, 2003 at 08:19

Thursday, Oct 16, 2003 at 08:19
Austin Lancer
Hillman Minx
VW Golf
Fiat 128 3P
Here are the reasons why I am poor:

BMW 2500
HiLux Dual Cab Diesel (in PNG)
Mazda 929
Minimoke
Lancia HPE
Lancia Beta 2000
BMW 528i
Mazda MX5
Mazda MX5 (another)
Pajero
Pajero (another)
Audi A3 1.8T
Lexus LX 470 (current)
Discovery TD5 (current)
BMW 325i Conv (current)Bob
AnswerID: 33990

Follow Up By: Member - Bob - Thursday, Oct 16, 2003 at 08:22

Thursday, Oct 16, 2003 at 08:22
The worst of the lot was the Austin Lancer. At least I got plenty of experience replacing every possible component : engine, gear box, diff, axles, starter m, clutch etc. It eventually got too rusty to keep driving.Bob
FollowupID: 24467

Follow Up By: Willie - Thursday, Oct 16, 2003 at 19:52

Thursday, Oct 16, 2003 at 19:52
G'day Bob,

And here is the reason why I am even poorer that you!!
But it has been fun..................

1958 Anglia 100E
1963 Simca 1000
1963 Ford Cortina 1200
1963 Ford Cortina 1200(another one)
1963 Austin Mini Cooper
1960 Auto Union 1000S
1954 Ford Custom V8
1958 Fiat Bambino (crashed this one)
1960 Fiat Cabriolet 1500
1961 Volkswagen Beetle
1963 Volkswagen Beetle
1960 F100 Ute
1965 Vauxhall VX 490 with triple carbs
1964 Ford Cortina 1500 (crashed this one)
1938 Oldsmobile sedan
1966 Suzuki 100cc bike
1956 FJ Holden
1959 Volkswagen Beetle 1200
1958 Ford Zephyr Mk2
1969 Renault R10 (first new car)
1965 Volkswagen Beetle 1200
1971 Valiant VIP V8
1958 Peugeot 203
1964 Opel Kadett
1966 Chevrolet Ute (HQ Holden)
1966 Chevy Nova 2 (LHD)
1973 Honda 50cc bike
1966 Datsun 1500 Ute
1966 Morris Cooper S 1275 (crashed this one)
1974 Ford Cortina 1600 Ute (new)
1974 Honda Benly 110cc bike (new)
1967 Renault R10
1965 Chevy 2
1968 Cheverolet Caprive Hard Top 327
1973 Ford Ranchero Ute (XB)
1968 Ford Cortina Mk2
1975 Holden El Camino Ute (HQ)
1970 Holden HT Ute
1975 Chevrolet De Ville 350 (Holden Statesman)
1973 Volkswagen Twincab Ute
1976 Chevrolet 1300 LS (Gemini)
1968 Alfa Romeo Guilia
1976 Holden De Ville 350
1971 Lancia Fulvia 1300
1974 Ford Falcon XB Panelvan
1977 Ford Escort Panelvan (new)
1977 Kawasaki 125cc bike (new)
1970 Holden HT
1968 Ford Fairlane ZD V8
1976 Suzuki LJ 50 Soft Top (drowned this one)
1972 Datsun 1200 wagon
1976 Suzuki LJ 50 Hard Top
1977 Ford Cortina TE Wagon
1978 Suzuki LJ 81 Ute (new)
1979 Ford Falcon XD
1976 Datsun 260C Coupe
1980 Suzuki LJ 80 Hard Top (new)
1979 Ford Fairlane ZH 500 V8
1978 Ford Transit Bus 6 cyl.
1980 Nissan Patrol MQ 80 Diesel (new)
1976 Suzuki LJ 50 Soft Top
1981 Toyota Hi Ace Commuter Bus (got poleaxed by a semi)
1972 Pontiac Le Mans 350 (LHD)
1956 Ford D600 Truck
1977 Ford F100 4x4 XLT 302
1979 Ford Courier Ute
1980 Honda Odessy bike
1982 Morris Mini Rebel 1275 (new)
1966 Dodge Monaco V8
1982 Datsun Pulsar
1983 Suzuki Sierra SJ 410 (new)
1969 Landrover Series 2 (179 Holden)
1968 Holden Torana
1975 Nissan Patrol G60 (3 speed)
1972 Valiant VH Wagon
1977 Daihatsu F10 (Toyota 2lt conversion)
1974 Datsun 120Y
1976 Valiant VJ Regal
1972 Holden HQ Wagon
1976 Daihatsu F10
1985 Suzuki Sierra 1300 High Roof (new)
1969 Toyota Corolla
1976 Suzuki LJ 50 Custom Racer
1965 Ford Falcon XP
1986 Isuzu Piazza Turbo
1954 Landrover SWB MK 1 (186 Holden)
1985 Toyota Bundera
1971 Valiant VG
1980 Datsun Stanza
1976 Landrover LWB 4cyl
1980 Honda 125cc bike
1979 Toyota Landcruiser FJ 55
1981 Toyota Lite Ace van
1988 Ford Falcon EA wagon
1978 Nissan Patrol G60 5 speed (current)
1986 Ford XF
1995 Holden Commodore 3.8 V6 wagon (current)
1967 Valiant VC 225 Slant 6 (current)
Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 24526

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2003 at 13:36

Thursday, Oct 16, 2003 at 13:36
Only had 4 cars...
Datto 1600, 90 Rodeo Ute, 626 V6 Hatch Mazda and the GQ...

But Bikes,
XR75 (didnt everyone start on one!)
XT200 YAM
DR250 SUZ.
XT250 YAM
400WR HUSKY
VF750FD (83) Honda
KATANA 750 SUZ
GSX1100 (81) SUZ
YZ250 (85,86,90) YAM
GPX750 Kawasaki
YZ490 YAM