Does It Get Any Better..

Submitted: Monday, May 17, 2010 at 20:41
ThreadID: 78551 Views:4269 Replies:16 FollowUps:23
Than This :

Today:
Camped on the edge of Lake Pamamaroo, part of the Menindie Lake system SE of Broken Hill.

Spent last night at Penrose Park at Silverton and this morning caught up with Dave & Mrs B in Broken Hill. We drove out to the lakes this afternoon.

Menindie Lake is full. I mean FULL. It stretches from horizon to horizon. There's a massive amount of water there. No wonder South Aussies are peed off watching most of it evaporate while they aren't getting any of it, even though it was a "promise" by you know who.

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 20:51

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 20:51
Nope, not much better.
AnswerID: 417057

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 21:00

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 21:00
I am sitting in my lounge room struggling to finish an assignment for a uni course that I never really wanted to do, but the boss said I should and paid for it.

Don't take offence but I hate you you lucky, here you can insert a suitable expletive. I know its a family site but you know what I mean.

One assignment and one month to go then I will get a chance to go bush. Waiting is painful and your photos don't really help, but they do hold a promise.

Don't enhoy yourself toooooo much.

AnswerID: 417060

Reply By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 21:09

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 21:09
G`day GB,

I can`t see any fishing rods, don`t you like Yellow Belly ??? LOL

Scrubby.
AnswerID: 417062

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 21:14

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 21:14
It's hard to fish with a glass of red in one hand and a tasty pre-dinner nibbly in the other.

Priorities, Scrubby.

FollowupID: 687167

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 21:57

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 21:57
LOL, Gb is not a true blue fisho Scrubby, I know what you and I would have been doing.
FollowupID: 687176

Reply By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 21:14

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 21:14
Yeah GB rub it in, go on................... hahahahaha
AnswerID: 417063

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 21:16

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 21:16
That's a little cutie in the laundry tub.

Must take after Mum.

FollowupID: 687169

Follow Up By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 21:53

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 21:53
hehehe yeah luckily he does look like mum........
FollowupID: 687175

Follow Up By: Pouchey - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 17:48

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 17:48
Envious – better than workin
FollowupID: 687270

Reply By: Fiona & Paul - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 21:24

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 21:24
Actually they are only sitting around 62%, Menindee Lake has been totally dry for the last seven years and it still is. We are Menindee regulars and were there last week for a couple of days and returned via Wilcannia but could not get in and out of Tilpa area as most of the roads are still closed.

Last July the water levels were 100 metres beyond the trees with leaves in your photo Gone Bush and it was all looking very sick. The Darling at Wilcannia was no more than a few stagnated pools in an otherwise empty river bed, this time the water level was 16-18 feet above that.

The $20 million grape industry at Menindee was close to folding two years ago but have held on and this water will get things moving again along the length of the river. We camped along the Darling in several spots from Pooncarie to Menindee and it was great to see water flowing freely again.

Paul H

Paul H
OZ Downunder

AnswerID: 417064

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 21:31

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 21:31
Hullo Paul,

yes, I've read your Blog and have printed it out and brought it with us.

Great place.

FollowupID: 687171

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 12:48

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 12:48
Paul, you must be wondering what I'm smoking.

The blog was written by Vivien C of Victoria.

Excellent blog. Highly recommended.

FollowupID: 687233

Follow Up By: Fiona & Paul - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 16:07

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 16:07
Well that was close.

I knew, well thought I knew I hadn't put a blog in but I just let it go, probably the night I went to sleep at the keyboard.

Mate as long as you saw the lakes looking healthy again, we took the short cut to Wilcannia. SWMBO wasn't at all impressed after my former 'best mate' from Menindee told her the road was great and had just been graded, now he is on her wanted list.

I'll have to check it out.

Paul H
Paul H
OZ Downunder

FollowupID: 687259

Reply By: Member - Boeing (PER) - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 21:48

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 21:48
Thanks Steve, Rub it in why don't you LOL
AnswerID: 417070

Reply By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 22:10

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 22:10
We leave here in four weeks time and with in eight weeks will be up there. Going by the photo you are camped in the same spot we were at in 1999 and we can't wait to get back there.
In 1999 the lake was about as full (may be a little less) as your photo shows.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 417075

Reply By: Member - Min (NSW) - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 22:23

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 22:23
Hi Gone Bush,

We will be there next Monday after a week-end conference in Mildura. Unfortunately we won't be camping this time but are looking forward to seeing Menindee and the surrounding area as we've never been there before. Thought we'd go to Silverton too. Does Penrose Park have any accommodation - motel, cabins?

After seeing you pics we'll definitely take the inflatable kayak.

Enjoy,

Min
AnswerID: 417078

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 07:59

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 07:59
Penrose Park needs an injection of funds. It's getting a little "basic".

I would ring them first, or stay in town.

FollowupID: 687193

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 08:22

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 08:22
Min, they have just put some cabins at Penrose Park.
As far as I know they are operational now. They were at the Hotel.
There is also bunkhouse accommodation there.
Give them a ring
Penrose Park Phone:(08) 80 885307

Penrose Park

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 687197

Follow Up By: Member - Min (NSW) - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 09:03

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 09:03
Thank you both for the info. Will follow it up.
Min
FollowupID: 687206

Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 17:28

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 17:28
I was up in Broken Hill two weeks ago and stayed at the Daydream motel. It is on the main drag and easy walking distance to the shops. $85 for a double, basic but clean rooms and a 2 cooked breakfasts in the morning included in the price.

Website - it even has a photo of the breakfast!

I would stay there again.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 687267

Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 17:40

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 17:40
I was up in Broken Hill two weeks ago and stayed at the Daydream motel. It is on the min drag and easy walking distance to the shops. $85 for a double, fairly basic but clean rooms and a 2 cooked breakfasts in the morning included in the price.

Website - it even has a photo of the breakfast!

I would stay there again.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 687269

Reply By: Member - GREENDOG - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 22:34

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 22:34
Jealous as hell,have fun.cheers GREENDOG
AnswerID: 417081

Reply By: Jenny M - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 23:46

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 23:46
Beautiful - another place to add to the 'must go there' list
AnswerID: 417088

Follow Up By: sidp69 - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 01:32

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 01:32
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Advertising/Self-Promotion Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 687186

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 05:31

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 05:31
Good on ya mate! That spot at Lake Pamamaroo looks fantastic!!

Have fun, you lucky bugger!

AnswerID: 417096

Reply By: Member - Cozzie Toodyay (WA) - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 06:40

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 06:40
Hey GB we were camped there last weekwhat a magic place, if ya got any yabbie nets throw em in there are heaps of them in there.

Down at Wentworth at the moment another top spot, finding it hard to move on actually. Image Could Not Be Found
AnswerID: 417100

Follow Up By: Member - Cozzie Toodyay (WA) - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 06:42

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 06:42
Double up don't know how that happened, oh well
FollowupID: 687190

Reply By: Member - John L (WA) - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 08:22

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 08:22
Hey, leave some yellowbellies & yabbies for us, only 4 more sleeps & NSW here we come - first stop Broken Hill & then Menindie & the Darling. Look out for a Prado with ExploreOz across back windscreen & come & share a Margaret River wine with us around a campfire. Cheers John & Heather
AnswerID: 417109

Follow Up By: Member - Min (NSW) - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 09:00

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 09:00
Hi John,

We may be in the same region at the same time. We will be in a Prado with an EO wheel cover.

We'll make sure we have a bottle of Canberra region wine.

Min
FollowupID: 687205

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 10:52

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 10:52
Sounds like a practice run for the 2011 National Gathering.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 687221

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 10:19

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 10:19
It had better not LOL

We might need to add a 11th moderation rule to limit people's gloating of how good it is out on the road rather than stuck at home. ;)

AnswerID: 417123

Follow Up By: ob - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 13:53

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 13:53
Yeah right on Andrew

I'm sure this inhumane torture must contraveine some part of the Geneva Convention or at very least human rights...............I'd put lol but I'm too busy crying and turning greeeeeen

Gone Bush you lucky lucky sod

Enjoy

ob
FollowupID: 687244

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 14:00

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 14:00
I reckon
until he gets back.

FollowupID: 687246

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 10:39

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 10:39
Geez GB

Your thread is like Chinese Water Torture, we have 2 more days to go and we will be OFF, can't wait to hit the road, the Cook has the van sorted plenty of tucker and a few bottles of Calm Me Downs (REDS), then I just might put a few tempting photos on the forum, maybe more forum readers will get peedoff lol lol.

AnswerID: 417129

Reply By: Member - John & Sally W (NSW) - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 16:18

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 16:18
Hi Gone Bush,
We were there a couple of weeks ago. Stayed 3 nights in Kinchega National Park.
Can highly recommend the Thursday night $12 steak night at the Albermarle pub Menindee. Massive T-bone and lost count of how many veges to fill a large plate,
Stayed on Trilby Station just south of Louth. Lots of yabbies in billabongs. River camping lovely.
Wilcannia to Tilpa still closed but all other roads in good condition.
Gunderbooka National Park a good spot too. (Just south of Bourke)
Sally
AnswerID: 417155

Follow Up By: NikNoff - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 17:12

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 17:12
Haha ........ now youv'e gone and done it .... you mentioned food to Gone Bush :-)
FollowupID: 687266

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, May 19, 2010 at 19:50

Wednesday, May 19, 2010 at 19:50
How unkind.

Don't forget. I've seen what you do to a pie (or three).

FollowupID: 687395

Follow Up By: NikNoff - Wednesday, May 19, 2010 at 20:20

Wednesday, May 19, 2010 at 20:20
Ain't that the truth ..... Mmmm Bakery Pie's Yum
FollowupID: 687398

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, May 19, 2010 at 20:24

Wednesday, May 19, 2010 at 20:24
I had my best ever (that's ever, ever, ever) chunky steak pie at the Stone Hut bakery on the Main North Rd heading up to Wirrabara in SA the other day.

Just the most fantastic, bestest pie ever.

Did I say I liked it??

FollowupID: 687400