Turbo for Hilux 3 litre

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 16, 2003 at 18:43
ThreadID: 7869 Views:4185 Replies:4 FollowUps:1
I need a turbo for my 3 litre 99 model Hilux. There are a lot doing them. Which one is the best. Am in NE victoria but would travel to ACT or as far as Sydney. Would prefer Melbourne though. Has anyone put on an aftermarket on the 3 litre diesel? How much better do they go. Anyone heard of or used the Safari turbo. What sort of money should I be paying for a fitted one.

Some have water cooling, some oil cooling. Which is better? Any help would be appreciated.

Reply By: friar - Thursday, Oct 16, 2003 at 20:07

Thursday, Oct 16, 2003 at 20:07
Floyd i have a DTS water cooled turbo on identical model
I have done 20000th kays with no problems you can
cruise at the speed limit all day instead of driving it
like vw beetle ,it cost me 3200 fitted & dynotuned in
brisbane
I am about to put a snorkel & a 2.5 exaust on the ute
as i intend to tow a trailer
Friar

brisbane i am sure they would have adealer in melbourne
AnswerID: 34079

Reply By: barnsy - Thursday, Oct 16, 2003 at 20:40

Thursday, Oct 16, 2003 at 20:40
Floyd

I have the same model and year as you and have just started looking around for info on the Turbo's as well as I have just about had a gutful of the poor performance.

Denco, DTS and Safari sell a kits I found a fair amount of info by doing a search on Google. There are plenty of places in Melb that fit them, most of the suppliers list them on there internet sites.

What I do want to find out is if they can intercool as well, have been told that it's not to much more to do it at the same time.
AnswerID: 34085

Follow Up By: Dean Mc - Thursday, Oct 16, 2003 at 21:58

Thursday, Oct 16, 2003 at 21:58
G'day guys,

I desperate to it a kit also, but it will be some time before I can afford one unfortunately.
I took a DTS 2WD Hilux ute for a run that the bloke running thier Dandenong agency drives, and it went like the clappers....well compared to stock anyway! They quoted about $3100 fitted and dynoed, but not including an exhaust upgrade, which should be well worth the extra on top of the kit.

DTS have two offices in Melbourne....Dandenong and Laverton.

I'm actually doing some homework on buying an import manifold and turbo, having the turbo checked over, and fitting myself. But only only do this if the risks associated with a DYO job aren't too great.
FollowupID: 24536

Reply By: Meggs - Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 11:18

Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 11:18
Floyd plenty of people have fitted turbo's without any problems but you have to keep one thing in mind the 3 litre hilux had a smaller clutch and gearbox. The 2.8's were OK as they were overdesigned. For this reason I have been reluctant to fit a turbo to my hilux.
You will find a lot of information on Hilux turbo on the technical forum of the overlander site.
AnswerID: 34138

Reply By: Willie - Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 21:21

Friday, Oct 17, 2003 at 21:21
Mate of mine fitted a second hand Safari Turbo to his '99 Hilux. He had it fitted by ARB and after some teething problems it runs well. In summer however, when towing a Jayco camper, the vehicles' temperature rises seriously once he goes beyond 80kmh. So now he is not so sure if he has done the right thing.Willie

Never a dull moment
AnswerID: 34215