59 litre water tank

BCF are advertising a 59 litre water tank
*suitable for drinking water
*865x490x190mm
*for $69-95

looks like good value to me (especially after having already made my own arrangements at around $350 to carry a 40l and 20l tank.... lol..)
So if you are looking at water storage, go check it out.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

Reply By: ChipPunk - Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 13:50

Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 13:50
Over $1 per litre...

I was using 20L & 15L plastics (cubes etc - as from Bunnings etc) as they suited my portability and load distribution (and varying packing arrangements).
However they are no longer UV stable.

Lately I have purchased collapsible plastics of 10 - 20L that have the advantage of volume taken matches volume stored - a big advantage for me where long-term destination consumption volumes exceeds available storage capacity (except for the final leg if a re-supply is not intended).
Ironically I hated the collapsible I was gifted year ago, but my (then) girlfriend was obviously way more experienced than I. It has survived heaps of sun exposure, drops & abuse. So to the collapsible container.
AnswerID: 418057

Follow Up By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 13:55

Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 13:55
Hi ChipPunk, where did you get the collapsibles from. Interested in a 20L. Also, what are the dimensions? Cheers.
FollowupID: 688105

Follow Up By: ChipPunk - Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 15:32

Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 15:32
I can't believe YOUR luck - not only found the vessels, but the receipt too!

The last were from Bunnings 16May2010:
"Water Container Expandable 10L WE10" $7.48
"Water Container Collapsible 20L WE20" $7.48 (yes, same price)

Packaged:
WE10 looks like a side-on crushed Jerry can - handle & tap up top 410 x 270 x 55; expands to (410x270) 250mm and then is football shaped - like variable depths - 55 becomes 100mm, and 210 & 250. Its label says 35Lx25Wx28H (cm) expanded.

WE20 is 250 x 250 and ~100mm flat including central handle and tap on top. It (unfolds &) deepens out to 250mm height plus the ~50mm handle & tap. Its label says 29Lx29Wx33.5H (cm) expanded.

Both taps are the removable 1.5" threaded types with ~10mmID outlet "twist-arm" handles.

Both are made in Taiwan by "ALL SET" (TM) - "The Intelligent Design Co.".
Material - recycle #4 LDPE.

FYI - the ancient one I have from years ago is "Reliance" - made in Canada.
I also have another recent one that looks like the WE20 - I don't think I got that from Bunnings though... Use a few times; so far so good.
FollowupID: 688121

Follow Up By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 15:55

Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 15:55
Hahaha fantastic stuff. Thanks mate, guess where i will be going on the weekend lol.
FollowupID: 688124

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 16:10

Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 16:10
I use one of these, 80Ltrs , designed for under a semi-trailer , flat side up but all one needs to do do is mount it flat side down, it just sits there, not tied down. it gravity runs to a tap, if I need a shower I turn on the pump.

FollowupID: 688127

Reply By: carlsp - Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 18:14

Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 18:14
if you have storage draws in the back of your truck (ie like black widow) it fits neatly inside the draws. Just pull it out fill and slide it away.
AnswerID: 418090

Follow Up By: workhorse - Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 18:41

Tuesday, May 25, 2010 at 18:41
I use 3 x 20 litre plastic jerry cans that fit snuggly into one of those rectangular plastic recycling tubs that used to be used throughout Sydney by the local councils. The other tub can carry 3 jerries of fuel.
FollowupID: 688152