buy new troopy or from auction

Submitted: Monday, Oct 20, 2003 at 00:34
ThreadID: 7940 Views:2080 Replies:10 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
Hi

I am a newbie. I need a reliable 4x4 for my work next year. Should I purchase a new troopy or a much cheaper one from auctions..

any suggestion..anybody recommend a new 78 series td rv
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: John - Monday, Oct 20, 2003 at 02:54

Monday, Oct 20, 2003 at 02:54
Hi Bill
I have just bought a new 78 series TD RV model and it is just bloody fantastic. I had two 75 series in petrol and they were also excellent.
I have found the TD to be as responsive as the petrol models I had before, which was a real surprise to me.
If you can afford it get a new one, don't forget the Air Con.
I have also fitted diff locks front and rear, duel batteries, winch and B/Bar.
Just a great rig. Go for it.
Regards
John
AnswerID: 34413

Follow Up By: bill - Monday, Oct 20, 2003 at 21:12

Monday, Oct 20, 2003 at 21:12
Yeah

the 78 td is attractive because of the hairdryer attached to the motor and also because of the 150 f gearbox which replaced the previous dodgy dodgy 75 series gearbox. Lotsa money is the trouble....ugghh :-(
FollowupID: 24878

Follow Up By: John - Monday, Oct 20, 2003 at 22:31

Monday, Oct 20, 2003 at 22:31
Bill
Sorry to say the only certainty in life is dying so they used to say.
I also reckon that the other certainty is the price of motor vehicles will alway go up.

I do not disagree the 78 is a lot of money, but I can find nothing else on the market that can carry and do what it will do.
Don't forget that the air con is not standard it will cost you about $2500 on top.
If you are GST registered you are able to claim an input tax credit on the vehicle 1/11th of the total price, depending on how you finance/pay for it.
Example $60,000 GST included has a GST component of about $5500.00 so the vehicle only cost you $54500.00.
If you can afford it and it suits your use then buy it.

Regards