Car Alarms

Submitted: Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 15:31
ThreadID: 79629 Views:5774 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
Hi all, I have often thought of having one fitted to protect the car and its contents, both in the driveway and travelling around the Country, I am a bit concerned about having another immobiliser (part of most alarm systems) involved in the electronics that could possibly leave us stranded out the back of who knows where. My car already has the factory fitted immobiliser from Toyota and is a Landcruiser HDJ78 Factory fitted 1HD-FTE motor Troopy. Has anyone had good or bad experiences with car alarms, at this stage I am leaning towards having an Autowatch system fitted, cheers for any info. Kanga.

Reply By: Super (NSW) - Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 16:09

Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 16:09
G'day Kanga1, I had a "META" alarm fitted about three years ago after my Pajero was broken into and my GPS, binos and some other stuff stolen - fortunately they were relatively dumb thieves and left the EPIRB as they probably didn't know what it was! the fitting involved replacing the remote door openers with the openers mated to the alarm - the reason given was that when I used the alarm openers they "rolled" the frequency so that anyone in the vicinity with a "device" wouldn't be able to use it to open the doors.

I've been very happy with this alarm and have had no problems since installation. The batteries needed replacing a couple of weeks ago but this was a simple task and the remotes now work from a much longer distance.

The alarm cost me $545 (including installation) from RYDA at Leichhardt in Sydney and the service was efficient and friendly.

Fortunately I have not had any attempts to break in since but whether this is due to the alarm or just a lack of dishonest people in the vicinity of the Pajero I can't say.

Hope this helps.............

AnswerID: 422105

Follow Up By: Kanga1 - Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 16:31

Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 16:31
Thanks Phil, I'll have a look on google to see what they do, cheers, Kanga.
FollowupID: 692480

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 16:49

Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 16:49
Hey mate, I had a Touchtek fitted to a daewoo lanos, you had to be really good at seeing where i touched to start the car.

Took two of my mates, one who has fitted car alarms six weeks to figure it out, only because i did a lot of things at once, i.e, put foo on clutch and brake, took hand brake off and touch screw, start car. The unit used you as a earth.

and if i had a problem i just cut a wire and thing was as good as good, but if you try to disconnect the box car wouldn't run. but you have to find the wire.

My sparky fitted it and i helped. cost me $350 for unit!!!

oh you could also fit a service switch in a hidden easy location, for those times it played up or car is in for a service!!!! cheap effective reliable.

touchtek immobiliser.
AnswerID: 422106

Follow Up By: Kanga1 - Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 21:08

Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 21:08
Thanks Christopher, interesting concept, but an alarm is really what I'm chasing. Thanks, Kanga.
FollowupID: 692501

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 21:31

Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 21:31
Go for a branded one or take it to you local sparkie (auto Lec) and se what he says??
FollowupID: 692504

Reply By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 18:39

Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 18:39
My 80 series came fitted with a Repeller car alarm.
I bought the 80 second hand.

The alarm is as old as the vehicle and has immobiliser central locking
motion sensors etc. about $800.
the siren was not working and a few other issues.

So i took it to the repeller service centre and they were very good, the guy whipped it out replaced a few bits fitted a new siren while i waited about 45 mins,$150.And you can get replacement remotes as well.

What i am trying to say is buy a good one that can be repaired or serviced
And have service back up.
rather than an elcheapo throw away jobby.

Rob

I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

AnswerID: 422120

Reply By: Rangiephil - Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 20:09

Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 20:09
I have a 1992 Range Rover which was fitted with a Repeller from new.
I had a couple of problems a couple of years ago , the indicators did not blink and one of the remotes needed a new case.
AFAIR the cost was $50 all up. IMHO excellent product and excellent service.
Regards Philip A

AnswerID: 422127

Reply By: Kanga1 - Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 21:12

Friday, Jun 25, 2010 at 21:12
Cheers Rob and Phil, I just had a quick Google for those Repeller alarms, they sound pretty good haven't seen a stockist/fitter in WA though. Anyhow will check them out on Monday. Thanks again, Kanga.
AnswerID: 422136

Reply By: nsngood - Saturday, Jun 26, 2010 at 11:54

Saturday, Jun 26, 2010 at 11:54
Dynamco in east perth (brown st i think?) Australian (better yet W.A.) made
Exported around the world sold through Covs etc.Good product i have fitted thousands of there immobilisers and found them reliable and good with after sales support sales@dynamco.com.au 9221 2345
AnswerID: 422183

Follow Up By: nsngood - Saturday, Jun 26, 2010 at 11:55

Saturday, Jun 26, 2010 at 11:55
And yes they do alarms and all sorts google dynamco
FollowupID: 692544

Follow Up By: Kanga1 - Saturday, Jun 26, 2010 at 19:01

Saturday, Jun 26, 2010 at 19:01
nsngood, thanks for the info, I will chase them up on Monday to see if the do the sort of thing I'm looking for. Regards, Kanga.
FollowupID: 692576

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Jun 28, 2010 at 08:48

Monday, Jun 28, 2010 at 08:48
You can buy an addon alarm from Toyota for the 100 series.

Mine cost about $177 and took about 20 mins to fit.
It just plugs into the loom and a wire to the battery Easy as.

It is just a screamer that is added under the bonnet and chirps when you lock the car with the remote.

It also has an adjustable motion sensor and chirps to a code to let you know if it has been bumped and gone off.

I had an expensive Uniden and it went off at odd times for no reason so would not trust another one.

The toyota one hasnt false alarmed in 3 years.

Finally I have never ever seen anyone pay any attention to one going off in a carpark anyway so seriously wonder at their worth.
AnswerID: 422344

Follow Up By: Kanga1 - Monday, Jun 28, 2010 at 12:22

Monday, Jun 28, 2010 at 12:22
Thanks Graham, I will call Toyota and see if they do an add-on for my Troopy. Cheers, Kanga.
FollowupID: 692726