Buying Fruit and Veg near Renmark

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 06, 2010 at 22:52
ThreadID: 79911 Views:5779 Replies:1 FollowUps:6

Heading north next Sunday from Mildura to Burra and beyond. Due to Fruit fly restrictions can't take stuff into SA from Vic. Can anyone tell me if there are any good place to buy F&V along the highway around Renmark? Whenever I go thorough these places can;t find the "good spots" and end up going to the super-market then finding a great roadside place 2 k's down the road.

Any ideas appreciated

Reply By: Dasher Des - Tuesday, Jul 06, 2010 at 23:28

Tuesday, Jul 06, 2010 at 23:28
A number of spots along the way depending in your route. There is one on LHS of main road after going over small bridge just outside of Renmark. If your heading via Morgan turning Right near the big Orange, that's about it. If you continue on through Berri and down to Waikerie, there are a number between Berri and Barmera. I prefer Aggies on the RHS but the others are OK too. Check the quality as it's out of season for most things except Citrus. Apples are OK as they are in Cold Storage If you go Via Loxton, (turn left just after the fruit fly check), there is a very good one called Wild and Fresh just off main road before you get to Loxton after you turn left on Berri/Loxton Road. It's well signposted. That's where I often go but it is a little out of your way. Proceed onto Moorook and back onto the main highway at Kingston On Murray. Probably about 2ok's further that way.
AnswerID: 423295

Follow Up By: outback epicurean - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2010 at 09:00

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2010 at 09:00
Sounds like you know the area well. We will be on the Sturt Hwy coming fromVic and going to Morgan. So if you can signpost from this direction would be most appreciated. Many thanks for your help
FollowupID: 693732

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2010 at 09:24

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2010 at 09:24
G'day Outback,
You will cross the River Murray over an old bridge at Paringa. Follow the main road and you will come to a T junction and turn left to Adelaide. You will shortly see a large shopping centre on your left. (Big W and Woolies open 7 days a week until 8pm) Keep heading South west on Sturt Highway and the road will narrow and you will cross a causeway/bridge. Very approximately 1k, you will see a fresh fruit and vegie stand on your left on a corner. (sorry can't remember the street name, only pass it 3 or 4 times a week LOL) There isn't any more roadside stalls after that one. Between Berri and Barmera there are 4 from memory. It isn't much further through Berri and you can easily get back onto the Morgan Road not far out of Barmera.

Have a great trip
FollowupID: 693735

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2010 at 13:21

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2010 at 13:21
Outback, please disregard my information on the road side stall near Renmark. Just returned from there and thought i'd measure the distance to the stall. Well stuff me, it's closed. Bugga. There is anotherone but a bit out of the way but not far out.
After turning right at the T junction you will see Macca's and a BP servo a couple of k's along on the right. Turn right at the BP into 21st Street and go for 1.8k's to Arumpo Street and turn right opposite the cemetary into Arumpo. 300meters down on the right, you will see Jimmy's shed which is full of fruit and vegies and dried fruit etc. It's open from 8 to 5 Sat and Sundays.
Sorry about the previous misinformation.
FollowupID: 693757

Follow Up By: outback epicurean - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2010 at 18:16

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2010 at 18:16
many thanks for this comprehensive information. Will call in at the weekend

FollowupID: 693786

Follow Up By: jim870 - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2010 at 19:18

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2010 at 19:18
Outback,

If you dont take the Sturt Hwy turn off to Monash (and Morgan) but continue through Berri on Old Sturt Highway you will find 3 stalls 2 on LHS and 1 on RHS (Aggies as Dasher has already mentioned just between Berri and Berri Estates Winery (top of my head 4kms). From memory most of the stalls have fruit not a lot of veggies, just past on Berri Estates Winery on LHS McIntosh Ave PPK Fruit and Veg have a shop approx 500m up the road, other than that continue through Glossop and to the outskirts of Barmera (just past the other end of the Sturt Highway bypass) you will see a sign for Masons Fruit & Veg on the RHS at Gordon road, turn onto road and continue for approx 2-3 kms and Masons are on the LHS.

Hopefully one of these should meet your requirements

Jim
FollowupID: 693794

Follow Up By: jmandea - Friday, Jul 16, 2010 at 18:53

Friday, Jul 16, 2010 at 18:53
Jimmy's Shed I can highly recommend! It's out of the way and only the locals know about it, but a great place to get a variety of local products, as well as an ever expanding range of stuff imported from Adelaide and Italy!
FollowupID: 694650