My Trip to the Cooper Creek
Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 14, 2010 at 23:46
Malleerv
As it turned out I did the trip by myself as the Kids were ill and everyone else I asked was busy.
Left
Adelaide Saturday morning and headed for the
Flinders Ranges. Spent the night near
Wilpena Pound and was treated to a great sunrise with hot air balloons lifting off.
Sunday I made it to the edge of Lake Eyre on sunset and stayed until all light was gone then wobbled back to
Muloorina Station camp site. Great
campsite with lovely trees,
toilet and a
water hole. Plenty of room as
well.
Monday morning I was up before sunup and made my way half way back to
Marree to take some sunrise photo's on the plains. Then up the
Birdsville Track to see the
water in the
Cooper Creek.
Camped the night on
Lake Killamperpunna. Had a baby brown snake drop by to visit looking to share my
camp fire. He got sick of my camera flash and moved on leaving me to sleep that night in my car as my swag has open ends and I was not keen on have a visitor looking for a warm spot the curl up for the night.
Tuesday was another early start to get some low light shots over the Lake.
Then I headed up to Mungerannie for one of the best bacon and egg rolls in Australia. Even got a hot shower there.
I decided I would take a look a bit further north so drove about 20km north of Mungerannie to
the Gap.
Then it was back south. Crossed the Punt and helped a
young family with a flat tyre. Kept driving and ended up at
Merna Mora Station in the
Flinders Ranges for the Night. Stayed in one of their Torrens Rooms. Very comfy and cheap. Good facilities and good
camping. Very nice people and Phil pointed me to a spot to get some sunrise photo's of the ranges.
Wednesday was another early start to get to Phil's top spot and I was not disappointed.
Kept heading South to
Melrose then across to Pt Germien and east to
Adelaide.
About 2600km in 5 days and lots of photo's.
Anyone interested can see my photo's
HERE
Cheers Matt
Reply By: Gladdy - Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 02:00
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 02:00
Magnificient photos Matt. Thanks for sharing.
Follow Up By: Malleerv - Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 13:10
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 13:10
Glad you like them.
Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 06:22
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 06:22
Hi Matt
Sounds like you had a great trip and the photos are great. Did not like your night time visitor. LOL
Follow Up By: Malleerv - Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 13:13
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 13:13
Was a great trip Stephen. I was very surprised to see a snake out in such cold conditions.
Reply By: Alcoz - Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 08:14
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 08:14
Majic stuff mate! Very lucky to have those balloons turn up.
Follow Up By: Malleerv - Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 13:18
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 13:18
I was driving around looking for a spot to set the cam up and passed a group of vehicles and people. Did not see the balloons being set up. I ended up over a
hill from them and could hear engines running. Went back to see what was going on and was pleasantly surprised to see balloons popping up above the trees. I set up my camera and tripod and waited till they lifted off. Super lucky sometimes.LOL
Reply By: Member - Ray (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 09:04
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 09:04
Great photos, how did you organise the baloons for that magic shot?
Keen to get back out there.
Follow Up By: Malleerv - Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 13:21
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 13:21
Super lucky, right place right time.
Its great out there. Hope to be back mid September.
Follow Up By: Member - Ray (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 13:51
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 13:51
Gday Malleerv
Yep, I was out there in June, just fantastic, will be heading that way around the same, after a run up to
Katherine, Alice etc.
What camera were you using?
Follow Up By: Malleerv - Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 19:11
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 19:11
I have a Pentax K10D with a few lenses. Has been a great camera for landscape photography.
Reply By: Member - John and Val - Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 09:30
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 09:30
Lovely photos Matt, great skies! Sounds like a great trip.
Val
| J and V
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Malleerv - Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 13:27
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 13:27
Thanks Val, Great time.
Reply By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 10:06
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 10:06
Nice job with the photo's
Follow Up By: Malleerv - Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 13:34
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 13:34
Thanks Tony.
Reply By: Member - David C2 (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 10:24
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 10:24
Thanks for taking the time to share Matt. Great photos, I am looking forward to getting out that way soon myself.
Happy Travels Dave
Follow Up By: Malleerv - Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 13:35
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 13:35
Thanks Dave. Hope you have as good a time as I did.
Reply By: Marion - Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 14:16
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 14:16
Thank you so very much for taking the time to do your post, I loved the read and the photo's. Cheers Marion
Follow Up By: Malleerv - Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 19:14
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 19:14
Glad you enjoyed them, Was a great trip and felt I needed to share it around.
Reply By: True Blue - Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 18:33
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 18:33
Enjoyed those photos Matt, very very much. Simply magic.
Some wonderful memories there. And the balloons? priceless.
Did you get any rain ?
Follow Up By: Malleerv - Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 19:19
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 19:19
No rain, Very overcast from Sunday arvo to Tuesday night. Would have liked to see the rain they have just had up there. Like to watch lightning and I would have meant I would have had to stay up there as the roads are closed for a few days.
Also the next couple a weeks should see some more green growth up there. Most of the grasses had gone yellow from lack of H2o when I was there.
Cheers Matt
Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 20:29
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 20:29
Gday Matt. Australian Story, ABC on Monday night had a guy that owned a balloon co. in Vic. recovering after a Motorcycle accident. He was flying over lake Eyre a couple of weeks ago. Wonder if it was his team in the balloons.Love the photos. Thanks, Bob.
ABC Australian Story
Follow Up By: Malleerv - Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 22:06
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 22:06
Thanks bob. By the photo's on Australian Story it looks like the balloons in my photograph are the balloons that flew over Lake Eyre.
Thanks for the link
Going to contact Global Ballooning.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Jul 16, 2010 at 09:05
Friday, Jul 16, 2010 at 09:05
Hi Bob and Malleerv
It is not the same chap from
Melbourne that appeared on Australian Story. The mob that are doing the ballooning up the Flinders at the moment are SA guys and doing it from July through to September and is new to the Flinders. The Company that are doing it is called Goldrush Ballooning and for bookings, they can be contacted on 08-8536 4500
I am not connected with this company, just relaying an advert from our local paper.
Follow Up By: Malleerv - Saturday, Jul 17, 2010 at 18:38
Saturday, Jul 17, 2010 at 18:38
Hi Stephen, I contacted Goldrush Ballooning and they said that the balloons in my photo do not belong to them.
In the Australian Story photo gallery one of the balloons in my photo can be seen drifting across Lake Eyre. I am yet to contact Global Ballooning in
Melbourne but am confident that these belong to them.
Cheers Matt
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Jul 17, 2010 at 18:44
Saturday, Jul 17, 2010 at 18:44
Hi Matt
I just put 2 and 2 together and came up with 6. I just presumed that would have been them, but it
well and truly seems like it is the chap from
Melbourne. You are so lucky to be there to see it all happen.
Reply By: Member - GREENDOG - Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 22:51
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010 at 22:51
Great photo's Matt trip sounded good,except for the snake.cheers GREEDOGImage Could Not Be Found
Reply By: Huuoo - Friday, Jul 16, 2010 at 14:05
Friday, Jul 16, 2010 at 14:05
Hey Ray
Why didn't we have a ballon ride on our trip?
The plane over the lake was great, and the Chopper at Arkaroolla was out of this world, balloons would have been the icing on the trip.
Hugh
Reply By: Member - Min (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 18, 2010 at 17:05
Sunday, Jul 18, 2010 at 17:05
Hi Matt,
Superb photos. Thanks for sharing them.
Min