Removing WHEREIS mapping from a GARMIN GPS

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 14:04
ThreadID: 80235 Views:7723 Replies:9 FollowUps:32
I've just returned from an 18,000km trip from Sydney to Cape York to Brisbane to Uluru to Simpson Desert to Sydney and am greatly disappointed with the Whereis mapping software that came with the Garmin Nuevi 1450 GPS I bought (with this trip specifically in mind) in March.

The Whereis was riddled with errors and/or omissions and while I'm happy with the Garmin per se I'd like to remove the Whereis and install, say, Oziexplorer.

Does anyone know if this is possible?

Reply By: The Explorer - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 14:41

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 14:41
Hi - no you cant install OziExplorerCe. Your only options are Garmin compatible mapping products (one of which you seem to already have) such as:

Garmin City Navigator
Garmin Aus Topo
Oztopo by GPSOz
Shonkymaps (free)
OSM Australia (free)

..though these may not solve you problem - there is no perfect mapping product for all people under all circumstances.

AnswerID: 424891

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 14:48

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 14:48
check this web site out they might have some info

garmin forums
AnswerID: 424892

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 14:51

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 14:51
American forum...

Try this one

GPS Australia

FollowupID: 695345

Reply By: Member - DickyBeach - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 15:39

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 15:39
Thanks folks,

Ok, I accept I can't replace the Whereis on the Garmin so I'll seek a refund on the grounds that the unit and software were not fit for the purpose that was described by me prior to purchase (ref Sn 71 of the Trade Practices Act).

And I would then offer to buy a new GPS, one that would be capable of accepting OziExplore.

I like the methodology of having the software on the notebook and from there transfer routes, waypoints etc onto the GPS but I'm not interested in taking the notebook with me in the Cruiser.

I've read EO's articles on GPS units but got the impression that using OziExplorer (amongst others) required me to carry the notebook with me in the car. I'm quite satisfied with a GPS stuck on the windscreen, it's the mapping software that I want to replace.

Is there any reason to believe that another GPS unit and OziExplore would not operate together as do Garmin and Whereis?

Thanks for your patience,
DB

AnswerID: 424898

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 16:18

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 16:18
OziExplorer/OziExplorerCe is a gps mapping program - it doesnt come with any maps and unlike the Garmin software you will also not be able to autoroute.

The available maps vary considerably in detail, coverage and currency (age) so choose wisely or you may end up with the same problem you have now.

There are lots of Ozi/OziCe users out there so there should be no shortage of advice. I (sometimes) use a Hema Navigator 5 which comes with OziExplorerCe and maps, set up ready to go. Some people find this unit a bit expensive but there are cheaper options (e.g. ebay sourced chinese units), some of which require a bit more user input to get set up but once thats over come you end up with similar result. There are also VMS units but I know nothing about these or what type of maps they require.

Good luck.

FollowupID: 695354

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 16:23

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 16:23
PS OziExplorer comes in two variations

OziExplorer works on PCs

OziExplorerCe works on PocketPC's and Window CE PDA's/PND's which use the WinCE core operating system....such as many incar navigating devices eg Hema and Navman (including Mio) and no nme chinese brands.

FollowupID: 695355

Follow Up By: Beams - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 21:46

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 21:46
Like DickyBeach I am pretty disappointed with the [Nuvi 1390} Garmin Mapping. I too feel like I should ask for a refund. I have a long list of complaints.

Maybe we should exchange info - maybe team up?
FollowupID: 695513

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 07:41

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 07:41
This is also a bit OT but I think you will find it interesting if you decide to change tack and get a new GPS.

We have Oziexplorer running on the home PC and I have set up waypoints, rote info and tracks for a family trip away. Together with some commentry on an area just enetered. Like where the camp graound is or don't forget to get fuel here. We then transfer these files to the other cars with OziexplorerCE running in the in-dash VMS GPS units for the trip. That way we all know exactly where to go and it doesn't matter if someone need an extended nature stop or to change a nappy etc. They know where to go to find us.

No need to take a computer at all. Its all built into the dash and integrated with the cars stereo etc.

For the next trip we have one car coming from Adelaide, one from Sydney and us from Canberra. I just sent the others the files for the initial meeting together with a briefing on what to expect for the latest road conditions. Muddy and wet it looks like. Should be fun.

Okay A couple of drawbacks - Cost and you cannot take it for a walk but at least you will know it will still be in the car when you get back to it.

In summary if you can afford one of the top end GPS's that run OziCE then do it. Our family all run VMS in the dash.

FollowupID: 695537

Follow Up By: Member - DickyBeach - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 08:38

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 08:38
Hi Beams,

Yes, I'd be happy to swap notes, but as I can't "see" you in the Members List to send you an MM, would you please email me at richard.white @ 4wdtravels.com.

DB
FollowupID: 695544

Reply By: DesF - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 16:51

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 16:51
Hi We have struck the same problem with my Nuvi760, which came with City Navigator 9, have up dated to 10, more speed limits etc.
Have since downloaded Shonky Maps Free,great for the bush but not so good for town streets and also have Maps 4 Australia Pro which is much the same , a few less bush tracks, but mate has bought Garmin Topo Aust, and that is the best by far as it has both the cities and the bush covered. we have been using it all over and it has a few mistakes but great.
But you have to buy it , on SD card or download. About $200.00, I will not be updating my City Navigator next time , I am buying Garmin Topo.
Cheers Des.
AnswerID: 424903

Follow Up By: Member - DickyBeach - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 16:59

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 16:59
The Garmin Topo sounds like what I might get.

My wife has a TomTom in her car so that takes care of city/suburban driving, the Garmin could live in my Cruiser.

Thanks everybody.

DB
FollowupID: 695356

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 20:35

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 20:35
You can buy Garmin Australian Topo on Ebay on Micro SD card for around $60.Mine came from Holland from memory.. Michael

FollowupID: 695380

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 22:51

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 22:51
"You can buy Garmin Australian Topo on Ebay on Micro SD card for around $60. Mine came from Holland from memory.. Michael"

Pirated copy - illegal. I would avoid boasting about it.

FollowupID: 695400

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 21:44

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 21:44
Greg! They cant be copied and i bought it from a Garmin agent in Holland.. He still sells them, its a legit business. Michael

FollowupID: 695512

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 21:58

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 21:58
Firstly apologies for "tone" of my first post.

OK I could be wrong...but with no other information to go on, apart from the very low price and overseas location, I am close to 100% certain that they are selling illegal copies. Having a "legit business" (in Holland) doesnt make you a saint. Ring Garmin Australia and ask them. Pretty sure of the response given they sell the same poduct for a higher price. Was a DVD/unlock code provided (based on you GPS serial number) or just a ready to go *.img file?

FollowupID: 695514

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 20:08

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 20:08
DickyBeach
Too many times I hear/read where people go buy a Garmin GPS from a store and stick it in the car as it was from from the box and don't even do any settings . the below instruction is for a Nuvi 765 but should be about the same.
Try this in order. press
TOOLS
SETTINGS
MAP
MAP DETAIL

And set it to HIGH

The unit will then show a lot more detail and roads , also zoom to about 2Klm

AnswerID: 424928

Follow Up By: Member - DickyBeach - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 20:29

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 20:29
Thanks Doug,

In my case the Whereis was, as far as I'm concerned, riddled with errors or omissions, two notable ones being:

(1) Before setting out on our FNQ adventure and having a bona fide need to go to Wollongong Railway Station, I tried to set that (railway station) as my destination - result "No matches found" notwithstanding Wollongong is NSW's 3rd largest city and with a busy railway station. The good people at GPSOZ also could not find the destination on the GPS and agreed it was a bad omission. That didn't do much for my confidence in my new toy.

(2) Driving north on the F3 out of Sydney, and to practice with the GPS in real-time, I had set the destination to Branxton, and as I approached the huge roundabout where the Pacific & New England Highways diverged good old Whereis told me to "turn right (east) onto the John Renshaw Drive" which would have taken me to Newcastle although Branxton was well to the west. There are no flyover exits etc at that roundabout. Confidence still zero, what sort of lemon have I bought.

Between there and Cape York and Brisbane and Uluru and Sydney there were countless crazy or impossible instructions and eventually I couldn't be bothered recording them all to report to the supplier.

I had relied on a TomTom when very recently living in Europe (and thought it was brilliant) and feel confident that I had the Settings on this new unit correctly set and I experimented with all the permutations. Whereis, being Sensis, being Telstra pretty much sums it up I reckon.

Thanks anyway,
DB

FollowupID: 695379

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 22:55

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 22:55
Seems obvious to me you have the settings wrong, If set my Nuvi for Branzton heading out of Sydney on freeways then it would be set in routing on Fastest Time , that will keep it on freeways, this is on my Garmin Mapsource on the PC and I know 100% that the GPS would do same,

FollowupID: 695401

Follow Up By: Gronk - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 00:05

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 00:05
Not sure why it said turn right at the roundabout, but this used to be the "old" way.....and 1/2 a K after turning right, you can veer off and voila, you're on the new England Hwy....must be confused as to the "official" way.....

Anyone using a GPS device without at least glancing at a proper map to get some rough bearings is looking for trouble !!
FollowupID: 695406

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 14:50

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 14:50
Have you updated your map to the latest version Garmin offer lifetime updates for about $200 now I think

They still wont be 100% correct.

FollowupID: 695455

Follow Up By: Beams - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 08:22

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 08:22
Following on what Doug said that Freeways and Fastest route are synonymous.
When in Melbourne, I often looked up a route on Google Maps first, and determined the route. It would also give me the time and distance .
Then I would set it up on the Nuvi1390.

A few times I noted that the Freeway route would be a few minutes longer than the NO motorways route.

One would think that regardless of the linear length, the motorways would be quicker, right?!

Cheers. . . .Beams
FollowupID: 695541

Follow Up By: becsam - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 09:45

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 09:45
We have just got the latest 1450 with 2011 maps and only one word can describe it CRAP. Can not even get us from Yeppoon to Emu Park without getting off the highway
FollowupID: 695551

Follow Up By: Member - DickyBeach - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 09:55

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 09:55
Becasm said it more eloquently than I did in my originating post.

FollowupID: 695553

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 10:04

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 10:04
Another "workman" blaming his tools

Have you tried all the different settings for routes on it. Can make a big difference.

Personally I dont like Garmin.

I had a Nuvi and it told me take the exit just after I passed it.
Now have a Tom tom Go 730 which is much better but still not perfect, but then none of them are.
How can they be when roads are changing every day and your maps change at the very quickest every 3 months and are probably another 3 months in the making.
If you know the route why use the GPS
Thats like having it on going across the Nullabor One road why bother.

I put up with its vagaries and am happy to have it rather than have wife direct me an even more obscure way.
She cant read maps if her life depended on it. LOL

FollowupID: 695554

Follow Up By: Beams - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 10:31

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 10:31
Hi Graham,

That is what I thought too when I had so many probs during the first few forays with my Nuvi. I spent much time learning how to program it - I even got my teenage grandson on it, just to make sure. I cannot say whether I know everything about it, but until someone shows me better, I think I have gone through ALL the settings available.

One of the problems I found was that the Speed would 'stick'. So sometimes I think I am going at . . . .say 60 and when I tap onto the big speed screen it will tell me 80. Now I know that I can look at the speedo on the dashboard, but if I am going to have to check the speed on the road, look at the GPS and the car dashboard.. . . . . .

Like you, the GPS agent in Melbourne asked snidely "What did you do before the GPS?". My response " I did not travel to places I dont know". I travel alone, no map reader at my side. Can't see me stopping to check the map on a big freeway to see which lane I should take when I am nearing Melbourne for the very first time!

I had some hopes of downloading better maps, but from this thread I have learnt that my chances for that are as good as dashed.

I wonder how good Garmin are at returning my purchase price + 3 years warranty. It was not cheap.

Cheers. . . . .Beams
FollowupID: 695560

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 11:10

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 11:10
The thing about the Nuvi that p....d me off the most was that you cant show your speed whilst in navigation mode.
It only shows time of arrival or time to go Cant remember which.

The Tom Tom and most others allow you to set what u see but Garmin doesnt.

I even asked them if you could show it and they said no.

Interestingly that was the biggest moan on their Forums.

FollowupID: 695565

Follow Up By: Beams - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 11:57

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 11:57
Graham,

I can choose to show the speed, the elevation, the time of day or the direction as I choose on my 'front' screen - that is on the Navigation screen. I think, from mem I can fit in 3 or 4 little spots on the side or on the bottom.

But as I said earlier, sometimes this 'sticks'. meaning, it does not always change as your speed changes [Of course, this is a glitch. It is meant to be active]. When I go to the Speed Screen, where it gives you a big dial, this always works well.

So I'd say it is another one of those myriad glitches. Why pay for a good unit when we have to put up with all this?

Cheers, Beams
FollowupID: 695576

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 12:08

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 12:08
Mine was a Nuvi 310 and you definitely couldnt show speed while it was in navigation as in talking to you mode.

This was asked of Garmin how to change it and I got a reply to say it couldnt and wouldnt be in the future.

On the user forums it was also a topic of frustration.

It would show speed and other things if just in "Show Map" mode but not when you need it

Yes I did try every setting known and a few that werent LOL

FollowupID: 695578

Follow Up By: Beams - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 13:14

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 13:14
Hi Graham,

I can assure you that mine does show this.Mine is a Nuvi1390 and when I bought it in Oct 09 was the very latest they had. I dont know when you bought yours Graham, but I do know that with anything electronic, it gets old within 6 months. I just dont worry about that any more. I buy whatever I want and forget about the updates after that.

I turned it on now, and said GO so and there it is. At this stage the speed is 0 of course, but I used to rely on it, until I found out that once in a while it just does not change as it should.

If I tap the speed it will take me to the Speed /Mileage screen where it gives me the Mileage, speed, direction and elevation.

I went to a GPS specialist cause I wanted advice on which make I should buy. I wanted the TOM TOM with voice input but was put off it and I chose this Garmin as being the best bet in the price range.

But I can tell you I ain't no happy vegemite now.

FollowupID: 695582

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 10:14

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 10:14
I have a Tom tom and it is by no means infallible.

Coming down the WA coast it had the main road around the salt flats near Port Gregory about 200 m into the salt.
Not as if the road is new.

Quite a few other errors as well, because like phone books the maps are never completely up to date.

The gateway in Brisbane around the bridge area is one example. It has the new road outline but still tells you to turn right onto the old road when north of the bridge.

Speed zones also are often incorrect as they change faster than my undies in some places

GPS's are a bit like computers

The most faults are caused by the connection between the chair and the mouse.

LOL .

AnswerID: 424981

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 10:56

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 10:56
I managed to change my Navman to run this program from the SD card with ozi and my offroad maps on http://gpspassion.com/forumsen/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=126303

Not sure if Garmin's run windows CE but if they do you should be able to hack away and get it running some better maps.

I can still run my navman maps for city turn by turn voice driving and when I go camping and the maps get a little low on details I fire up ozi and my hema maps.

A bit of mucking around but it works very nicely for me.
AnswerID: 424985

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 14:22

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 14:22
"Not sure if Garmin's run windows CE but if they do you should be able to hack away and get it running some better maps. "

As stated in a previous post - Nuvis dont run CE so you cant run OziExplorerCe.

FollowupID: 695453

Reply By: Member - Laurie K (WA) - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 19:18

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 19:18
Hi there

I have used a Magellan Crossover GPS for the past 3 years, and find it the complete package. I think this was the first GPS to cover both spoken navigation and handheld GPS capabilities. You can purchase the unit with Topo map and Hema Outback Tourer. There is a free Map Download for your computer into which you can load your maps, and use to search and plot your trips, before loading them onto the SD card which then feeds the GPS. The Street navigation and Topo maps both include Camps Australia 5 in the GPS.

The downloaded map can be used in your laptop if required on the road. You will need however, to purchase a GPS receiver to run the computer.

I've had a look at OziExplorer, and it seems very complex and complicated, compared to the Mapsend software that comes with the Magellan.

The Street Navigation is done by Navteq, which apparently gets it's information from The Topo maps, which are state government, and as such, seem to have a lot of proposed and gazetted roads which have never been built. There is also the anomoly that some road changes haven't been updated on the state maps, and this can lead to the problems you have experienced with the Garmin. There is not a perfect situation anywhere.

The advantage of the Topo and Outback maps are, that you can have a breadcrumb trail, which will enable you to backtrack over the route you have taken on unmarked tracks, or where there is a confusion of tracks in an area. I have been using the breadcrumb trail and saving it on a daily basis, so that I can load it into the computer, and have a complete image of where I have travelled on my current Queensland Tour.

You can set waypoints. I can mark in my Camp spots, and any other information I may require. (eg Bad river crossings, bad road, POI etc.) that can be referred to on the return journey (in this case from the top of Cape York.

You can take a saved waypoint, and import it into the Street navigation map, and have spoken direction to your destination.

For the fishermen, you can also get marine maps for this unit.

Please excuse the long sales pitch on this unit, but I feel that the unit has been overlooked with the "fashionable" Hema unit being the flavour of the week, which I have no doubt is a great unit. Hema also uses the Navteq system I believe.

I have no commercial interest in the Magellan - it just happens to be a great unit, and it does the job well and is well supported.

Find out more at http://www.nextdestination.com.au/Pages/ProductDetails.aspx?BrandId=13&ProductId=244

Laurie
AnswerID: 425028

Reply By: Robin Miller - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 08:38

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 08:38
Hi DB

I wouldn't get to excited about Oziexplorer , or most map sets for that matter.

We ran it on a laptop whilst driving using great dessert tracks maps for our recent canning trip , until it got to cumbersome and just not effective enough so we put it away for reference when camping overnight it really good then as maps are much better than Garmin.

During the day we used Garmin with city nav and shonky on our 276c , and the maps aren't much good but functionallity is much better.

For the actual track I made up our own track plot and waypoints using Garmin Mapsource and plots from this site and elsewhere.
This way you get what you want , with all the latest little deviations and specials on screen.

Its a most effective track creation tool.

The garmin 276c we use is the only device I am aware of that can actually navigate your own track and it really makes things more effective, with constantly updated info about next turn etc.

3 other cars with us also ran Ozi on laptops and we would need to correct them or lead the way thru a a hard to discern tracks.

AnswerID: 425054

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 10:39

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 10:39
The issue you point regarding OziExplorer out has more to do with using appropriate scale maps (combined possibly with lack off user experience/knowledge) than some major issue with OziExplorer. A GPS mapping program is only as good as the maps you are using. GDT maps are made at such small scales (e.g. 1:1,250,000) that they are really only good for regional overview. For the purpose they were made they are excellent maps but they don’t have the detail that maybe needed for some circumstances i.e. appears your team were using the wrong scale maps in OziExplorer for the task at hand - its not OziExplorer or maps fault. In other circumstance, with other (suitable) maps the OziExplorer/CE setup would be on par with any other setup.

Trouble is of course getting topo maps at a suitable scale - near on impossible for some areas as they simply don’t exist. Geoscience Australia will be releasing all their 100K maps in near future which will help for the remote areas they cover (assuming tracks are marked). I find maps made from Google Earth are good for remote areas as you can actually see a high percentage of tracks (along with range of other features of interest). My mate has a 276c ..but he has taken my Hema Navigator 5 for a trip next week because he likes the fact he can (with Ozi) see GE images, geology maps and even a magnetic intensity map I have put on for him to aid in his prospecting. Horses for courses.

As the discussion has revealed there are several solutions to the in car navigating solution. There is no right answer for everyone.

FollowupID: 695563

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 11:42

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 11:42
Spot on Greg.

I have a proto copy of the Geoscience 1:100k series and it defaults to 1:250k where there is no 1:100k coverage, as in the deserts.

However, that was quite effective enough for our CSR trip last month, as well as for all the other tracks we were on such as the Eagle Hwy and thru the Carnarvon Ranges. All features marked on the map were accurate on the ground.

We also had the HEMA deserts on the laptop but rarely used it except for broad scale reference.

FollowupID: 695572

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 13:02

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 13:02
Hi Guys

Ozi wasn't less effective because of the mapping , surprizingly the actual mapping isn't very important, what worked was simple effective and correct information presented well.

It was quite instructive to directly match systems in a real situation where you are approaching a junction and thereis only 1 right choice , and the car is moving and you can't easily get off the track.

As above we actually used city navigator and it worked because it had no maps or spurious information or a complex screen not optimized for viewing while mobile.

What we has was simply an accurate track - with data saying things like turn left in 300m with a directional arrow relative to your path and just sufficent extra plots info to allow you to appeciate the context.

Its not that you couldn't get there with Ozi and Natmaps/GDT etc its just a lot harder to sort out the data , try viewing a large monitor not in your direct like of eyesight , with complex menu items to choose from or to operate with a mouse. Even our other GPS a touch screen Nuvi 765 , was harder to use and easier to make mistakes with let alone what happened to P.C. stuff when hitting a large bump while trying operating the program.

We even had the specific strip map book released this year for just the Canning and yes you could work thru it and come up with the right answer but simplest of things like fixed colors that lacked sufficent contrast meant identifying even the wells was harder than need be because of odd overlaid co-ordinates etc.

Then when all else fails by the time Ozi could be setup to correctly back track on a plot , we would have driven out on our entry path because of the subtle presentation differences between the systems ,over time these seemingly small things begin to add up. In some of these cases tracks thru bush might only be 50 meters apart , and almost no mapping is that good.

With 4 seperate Ozi explorers running and 1 city navigator with a single purpose made navigatable track the difference in effectness was quite revealing.

FollowupID: 695581

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 13:23

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 13:23
Running a laptop with all the trimmings is very satisfying Robin; especially if der navigator is sitting next to you doing all the interpretations for you. lol.

FollowupID: 695584

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 16:46

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 16:46
Again - sounds like some of your crew had the wrong setup for the circumstances. Nothing specifically related to shortcomings of OziExplorer at all. If the discussion was actually about using laptops then thats a different subject altogther.

And the map scale does make a difference as you can’t zoom in on, for example, a loaded track file enough to see detailed required for the task you describe if using a 1: 1,250,000 scale map let alone say a 250K one. One pixel on a 1: 1,250,000 is ~ 150m wide – best detail you’ll get.

You are limiting you ability to show “simple effective and correct information…well” by not having a background map of a suitable scale. Even if the background information on the map is irrelevant you need a larger scale map to display collected/loaded track data with any detail.

I have no doubt if you had the same track file as present on the 276c on say the similar sized HN5, with a suitable scale map that the same task would have been achieved with ease. If it was some sort of race then maybe the additional info provided by the Garmin (turn in 300m etc) may be of some use, but a slow drive through the scrub not so....the person navigating in the passenger seat could see that easily.

FollowupID: 695602

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 18:10

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 18:10
Hi Greg

In really doesn't work that way in practical track driving - the presumption is that you can get an accurate map.
You can get better maps than some , but they are always out of date by the time they are printed.

If lost or cross country exploring then map background info is of more use though.

Usually map errors are small for popular routes like Canning, except around complex campsites with multiple short access routes - quite different from road side rest area stops.
But these maps leave in amd leave out by design much important information, like no longer showing bypasses etc (a real issue).

By plotting a track using all available data close to departure time you will always be more accurate.

Then all you need to do is follow the track without distraction and this is the Garmin key that Ozi just cannot do , and the more complex the track the more the track following logic shines by delivering track up views with time to destination estimates etc etc , Ozi is basically limited to a course straight line readout to next waypoint - tough if there are 50 turns in between.

Much of the time you can't see a 100m into the scrub or over the next dune and knowing you are on the right track is vital , and this is where Ozi etc fail.

Some of it is even by design in order to control the tracks driven on (much to the dissapointment of at least 2 groups we came across -whose stuff didn't show wet weather bypasses- and it was wet).

Today I can show a track plot made pre-trip , followed by the actual route driven which show re-markable consistency.

There is simply no published map that can do this .

FollowupID: 695610

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 18:42

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 18:42

Wasnt claiming any published map would show anything (a blank map will do) just that if you want to look at a loaded track (i.e one you have recorded before or made your self and then uploaded to OziExplorer) in detail you need to have a large scale map also loaded in OziExplorer otherwise you can not zoom in close enough to see finer detail (up coming turns etc). Zooming stops at a certain point based on the scale of the map. If you had a larger scale map (100k, 50k 25K) as the background you can zoom in further.

You can follow a preloaded track in OziExplorer easily if you set it up correctly - its a simple as that. You have simply provided an example where some people had the wrong setup while you had the right one for the circumstances..nothing more can be gleened from it.

FollowupID: 695613