Please don't hate me - looking for advice about powering a fridge.

Hello - I know this subject has been much discussed, and I have looked at previous threads, but I was hoping that someone with a good understanding of the issues involved (which is definately not me!) could recommend how best to power a fridge for our specific circumstances.

Our family goes camping 5-6 times a year, for around 3-8 days at a time, staying in one place, and doing the odd day trip. We are yet to buy a fridge, but the Evakool Fridgemate 70L is looking likely. My question is how is the best way to power it for our needs.

We don't want to install a dual battery system in our car, as it has been written off by hail damage, and is now not worth enough to justify this kind of investment. I wondered if two portable batteries would be a good idea - that way we could have one powering the fridge at camp, and a second could recharge while doing any day trips. Does this sound feasible? Ridiculously expensive? A bad idea?

I'd really appreciate any suggestions, so thanks for looking!

Reply By: Member - Boeing (PER) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 13:10

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 13:10
Hi Jan, Have you considered a 3 way fridge?
You would run it on 240 volt prior to leaving to get the contents really cold and then on gas when you are at the camp site. You could use a small esky for day trips. It will work providing that your travel to the camp site from home is not that great a distance, say no more than 4 or 5 hours in moderate conditions.
Just an idea.....

AnswerID: 427019

Follow Up By: Jan-C - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 13:17

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 13:17
Thanks for your reply, Mark.

Yes, we have looked into a 3-way fridge, but decided that although it might suit us at the moment, we are likely to take longer trips involving more moving around as our kids get older. I probably should have mentioned that in my original post! I'm guessing it's a bit cost-prohibitive to get a 3-way now and something else later.
FollowupID: 697611

Follow Up By: Battery Value Pty Ltd - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 13:41

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 13:41
Hello Jan,

no worries, no one hates you :)

Your idea of having two batteries alternately powering your stationary fridge has merit.

To quickly re-charge the one you take along on your day trips, the battery ideally should be of the spiral wound AGM type.
This battery type is specified to re-charge rapidly from 0 to >90% within 40 to 50 minutes, from a car/4WD alternator.
No other battery type charges this quickly.

Since they're not too heavy with 18.5kg, and have a nice set of carry handles, these are ideally suited for carrying around.
They're spill proof, no liquid sloshing around inside, and can be operated in any position.

There's more info to be found here

Or, check out my profile.

cheers, Peter
FollowupID: 697614

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 15:46

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 15:46
Hi Peter,
Just a reminder that whilst you are welcome to respond to consumer posts you are not at liberty to post links to your business website into Forum posts as you've done above with the link to "more info to be found here". Your auto-footer will do that for you by adding your logo and link to your profile so as you've done, just get them to go to your profile to access your site etc. Note - we track visits from your profile to your site so you know the volume of referals.
Thanks!
MM
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

FollowupID: 697631

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 19:00

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 19:00
Peter,

I don't want to criticise your knowledge of batteries, etc. and believe you offer good advice in general.

However, in this case, the problem as I see it is that Jan has mentioned a 70 litre fridge, which is going to draw considerable power.
My own experience with an Exide Orbital spiral wound battery wasn't all beer and skittles, so to speak.
With a capacity of 50Ah it didn't provide capacity for more than one day before requiring charging.

Jan,

A dual battery system is the best solution possible to provide for your needs.
It then gets down to the configuration that best suits you.

Priority number one is to protect your starting battery from being drained by heavy power devices like fridges.
Priority number two is to use a deep cycle battery to run the fridge, enabling a lower and more constant power drain than a starting battery without damaging the battery.
This basically means you need an Isolator between the primary battery and any auxiliary battery you have connected to the vehicle's charging circuit.

There are several options and configurations to choose from, but to keep it simple for you, my recommendation is to buy a Sidewinder Flyer battery box, which has a built-in isolator, heavy duty cables to connect in to the vehicles charging system and power sockets mounted on the box to plug your fridge into.

The Flyer is available from Derek Bester (Sidewinder.com.au) who is an advertiser on this site and costs around $395.00.

The next option is to install a battery of your choice into the Flyer and an AGM battery of around 100Ah capacity will give you a reasonable power source before requiring recharging from the vehicle alternator while driving, or charging from a solar panel, or 240 volt source if available.
An AGM battery is also safe to mount in confined areas, such as the rear cabin space of your vehicle, or inside a caravan or camper.

Bill.

FollowupID: 697652

Follow Up By: Battery Value Pty Ltd - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 23:04

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 23:04
Hi Bill,

thanks for your thoughts.

But please read again, the clear conditions the OP gave:

"We don't want to install a dual battery system"

"I wondered if two portable batteries would be a good idea - that way we could have one powering the fridge at camp, and a second could recharge while doing any day trips. Does this sound feasible? Ridiculously expensive? A bad idea?"

So the dual battery system option isn't on the table at this stage.

And the answer is YES, one battery can be used to power the fridge while the other one is being re-charged on a short day trip.
And the most economical way of doing this, requires only one 50Ah spiral wound pure lead/tin battery to keep the 70l Evakool cold.

Since the day trips won't involve long hour driving it's paramount to put as much charge as possible back into the battery in this short time frame.
And for that, you want a spiral wound pure lead/tin AGM battery - they're simply unparalleled in this department (and a few others).

Now to the numbers:

looking at the Evakool web site, they specify 1.4 amps average under 32 degree conditions for the smaller model.
Make it 2.4 amps for the 70 litre model.
That's 60Ah in a 24 hour period.
So one 50Ah battery alone will do this, as long as it receives a one hourly charge from the alternator, in the morning AND in the evening. The fridge will stay cold during these battery-less times, no worries.

And if the OP want's to purchase two of these batteries, then a single alternator charging session of 1.5 hours per day will be sufficient.

And if a day trip is on the agenda, there is the option of taking one battery along for re-charging while the other one takes care of the stationary fridge.

Everything else like isolation switch, solar panel and regulator, and tuning the more complex system, spending more money and time to get it actually working, is optional.

cheers, Peter

FollowupID: 697685

Follow Up By: Battery Value Pty Ltd - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 23:06

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 23:06
Hi Michelle,

a very special hello to you!

I must have gotten carried away by Jan's seductive style of asking for some technical advice or something.

Appreciate your subtle way of achieving things tho.
We'll take better care next time.

Hugz Peter.
FollowupID: 697686

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:04

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:04
Hi Peter,

I understand what you are saying, but what I was attempting to have Jan understand is that regardless of whether a vehicle is not worth the effort of installing "the traditional" dual battery system, there are excellent alternatives that can be purchased and transferred for one vehicle to the next, ad infinitum.

My biggest concern when reading Jan's post was that the fridge to be used is a 70 litre jobbie and would be fairly hungry on power. As Jan also mentioned they desired to be stationary for "a few days", the ability to recharge a battery is somewhat lessened, unless the drive was of significant length and time.

Of course this also introduces other options some of us have implemented, such as generators to provide 240v power to run a charger, or if you are adverse to this option as I am, a solar panel solution to add back sufficient voltage to maintain the portable battery system for an indefinite period.

There are several different options that people choose to suit there own needs, but in my opinion, the ability to have two batteries, one running the fridge, while the other is being charged by driving around, day after day, does not provide a practical solution.

Hopefully, Jan will read all input to her post and hopefully make a practical solution that suits her requirements and have a better understanding of the real needs of a truly practical system.

I am fortunate enough to have two portable power pack systems at my disposal and both of which can be supported by an 80 watt solar panel or the vehicle's alternator as required. I arrived at this current solution after many years of "trial & error". One could say that I have 2 batteries, but I do not alternate them as Jan has suggested she plans to do.

The main auxiliary power system I have is the Sidewinder Flyer, with a 100Ah AGM battery to run the fridge while on the move. As this power pack (ie battery) is quite heavy, it is not removed from the vehicle, but the fridge can be connected to it if required, or, I could remove it if necessary as it is not permanently fixed or hard wired to the vehicle. It is plugged into the charging cable by Anderson connectors and simply strapped to a support cradle in the rear of my vehicle.

As I prefer to remove the fridge when at camp, I also have a 75Ah Thumper battery system, that I use to run the fridge when it is removed from the vehicle.
This power pack is generally the one that has the solar panel connected to it to maintain the battery power, while the fridge is connected and running.

Both power packs have the ability to be charged from the vehicle's alternator while on the move, so I have a practical and reliable solution.

Bill.

FollowupID: 697760

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 13:11

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 13:11
I'd look at a 3 way fridge as running on the gas option may be the cheapest capital cost and least hassle when stationary depending on camp setup.

AnswerID: 427020

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 13:26

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 13:26
Hi Jan

If only going a few days at a time, i question the need for such a big fridge unless there is a medical need. We thought it was luxury to go camping with our first old 30 litre Engel (run on the first holiday from the only car battery and turning fridge off overnight), when holidaying for five weeks at a time. However we were touring, so were driving most days. There are many alternatives to refrigerated goods, and prior to having the Engel we found drinks cool enough if put outside overnight then into an esky during the day.

Later, when we got a wind up caravan, we put in a 120 litre upright 12/240 v (to fit the size of the three-way we pulled out), one deep cycle battery, controller and 80 w solar panel used as a portable and put out when we stopped to camp each day. This worked well (it was mainly fine weather). Seven years ago, the new fridge, panel and accessories including lights cost us around $2,000. We still used the panel (mounted on tow vehicle) to power and Engel in the vehicle.

AnswerID: 427022

Reply By: Jan-C - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 13:36

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 13:36
Thanks for your replies.

Motherhen, I agree that we don't need a 70L fridge now, but we have 4 kids, and I'm thinking we may need that size in the future. We also often camp with other families that don't have a fridge (and are unlikely to invest in one!).

Another idea that I've read about on here, is to go with a smaller (40L) fridge, run as a freezer to freeze bottles of water, which could then be cycled in a larger icebox. There's still the power issue though.

Any thoughts on this one?
AnswerID: 427024

Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 13:44

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 13:44
You could certainly do that, yeah. But as you say you still have the issue of powering it for the duration of your stay. This means either a generator running 24/7 (and a decent generator will start at $1000) or a battery system with solar panels which would cost more but at least would be silent and wouldn't need petrol. Just don't camp places the sun doesn't shine :-)

Or alternatively a combined generator/battery system.

The 3 way fridge running on gas is the most cost effective but in hot weather simply won't be able to pull down to temps that a compressor fridge can.
FollowupID: 697615

Follow Up By: trainslux - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 09:36

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 09:36
Well if you get the evakool 70ltr fride, put in the divider, and only use one half of the fridge as a fridge, use the other half to put in cooking pots, breakfast cereals etc, you get the idea.

Use our 47ltr as a very small fridge using the freezer section only sometimes. Works very well, and great on power.

T
FollowupID: 697701

Reply By: pepper2 - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 13:55

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 13:55
just a rough estimate for that fridge...one fridge runs for one day from one battery being discharged to a safe 50% of charge
eg if your original battery is 80 amps and is charged to say 90% by alternater you have approx 27 amp to use in 24 hrs that is 1.13 amp/hour,i think your fridge will use approx 2 amp / hr ie 48 amp over 24 hrs.
if you discharge your battery regularly below 50% it will fail prematurely,If you are staying in one place for 3-8 days you need an external charging system every day you are stationary eg solar,gererator ,or your alternater,this is why others suggested a 3 way fridge.
Note portable batteries often have low amperage ratings.
all the best.
AnswerID: 427028

Reply By: Bazooka - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 14:52

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 14:52
Hi Jan
Camped for many years using a 3 way fridge. Excellent on 240V and gas, pretty poor on 12V while travelling in car. Obviously you only run them on gas in the open, not in the vehicle or confined spaces.
AnswerID: 427031

Reply By: Jan-C - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 14:58

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 14:58
O.K. - so I'm rethinking the 3 way fridge......for those of you who have used them, did you find they keep food cold enough on hot days? Given that we will probably need to consider a compressor fridge in 5 years or so when our camping style changes and we move camp more, do you still think it is a worthwhile investment for the time being? I do like the idea of not having to worry about batteries/recharging etc. Any brand recommendations?

Thanks!
AnswerID: 427032

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 15:31

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 15:31
'Efficient' enough to freeze overnight if you leave it on a high setting, and as long as the fridge is not left in the sun or constantly opened during a hot day it will be fine (40-50l - don't know about the efficiency of larger capacity camping fridges tho').
FollowupID: 697628

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 18:52

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 18:52
Woops missed the rest of your query, sorry. Finch & Chescold are both good brands, and yes the convenience for long stay camping is worth the investment IMO, even over a 5 year period.
FollowupID: 697650

Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 19:50

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 19:50
Hi Jan

Been using a Waeco 3 way for 4 yrs, my camping mate has a Waeco and a Primus. All 3 have worked great every time we get away. We normally camp in one spot same as you, 3 -10 days at a time. Absolutely no problems and cheap to run.

Make sure you run it on 240v for 2-3 days before you leave, put frozen or cold food and drinks in it during this time, and keep it in the shade whilst camping.
The Waeco doesn't have temp control, it just keeps getting colder :)) We often take a leg of lamb (frozen beforehand) with us for the camp oven and this works like an ice brick which helps, no doubt.

Cheers, Dave

FollowupID: 697659

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 09:37

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 09:37
Another vote for the 3way from me. Been using a Finch for 25 years & still going
strong. Now running on 240v while car is running & gas or 240 when not. It seems to me the cost of a 3way is less than the gear needed to run a compressor
type when camped for more than a day or two......oldbaz.
FollowupID: 697702

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:10

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:10
Jan,

I have to give my input here also.

I have used a 3 way fridge many years ago in a Hiace campervan and it was....umm....not all that good.

A compressor fridge is still the best option, providing you have implemented an adequate 12 volt battery system to support it.

Bill.

FollowupID: 697763

Reply By: Rangiephil - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 15:34

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 15:34
Just consider the disadvantages of a gas fridge as well as advantages.
If you stop to go for a 2-3 hour walk in a national Park/shopping centre/POI etc , what do you do?
You are in a car park, the fridge will flatten the battery on 12V, and somebody will steal the fridge if you leave it next to the car on gas?
I have seen the result of somone putting one on gas in a closed car and it ain't pretty.
I found this to be quite a problem when I had a gas fridge. They are great for long camping stays where you just leave them do their thing, although the pilot light can blow out in a bit of wind. I still have one that I bought 25 years ago and it still dutifully works.

A compressor fridge is MUCH superior.

I can only say that one way to go would be to fit the largest battery possible to your car and make sure to fit a low voltage cutout set to 12Volts or whatever you car will start from. You have not said what your car is but if you can fit an N70 size AGM eg ( Absorbed Power (mine) or Fullriver )with say 95-105AH you will be OK overnight.

You will struggle in the tropics with hot nights but in more temperate climates, the setup should work well and keep everything cold and the car will start in teh morning. But you will have to drive a couple of hours before say going to an above POI.
Regards Philip A

AnswerID: 427035

Reply By: didiaust - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 15:42

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 15:42
Jan we have the 70 litre Evakool and what you propose is fiesable but we run ours off a 120watt solar pannel. It draws a lot more power than we thought and on too many overcast days we sometimes need the genny. Uses less if we only run fridge not freezer /fridge.

Hubby says for only a few days you should be OK.

Goof luck in your decision

Di
AnswerID: 427036

Reply By: guzzi - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 15:46

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 15:46
One of these while not cheap with a battery might be the answer to your problem, it was the answer to mine and our camping needs are similar to yours.

http://www.sidewinder.com.au/page133.html

AnswerID: 427037

Reply By: John and Lynne - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 16:04

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 16:04
You are thinking of spending a lot of money for something temporary. By the time your family is old enough for longer trips you will probably have changed your vehicle and perhaps your camper!
If at this stage you are only going for shortish camps in one place try thinking a bit outside the square. Before we moved to our Jayco camper (with a 3 way fridge) for longer trips we camped in a tent very happily for 5 or 6 days at a time with a group of friends who introduced us to dry ice! With a very good quality largish Esky (there are some excellent cool boxes around now!) and dry ice things that really needed refrigeration kept perfectly. Meat was cyrovacced by the butcher to keep even better and occupy less space. A couple of frozen stews from home also went in as well as dairy foods, cold meats, salad etc. With careful packing this was a very effective and economical system. They were happy and their food was cold while we could never keep our Engel going and we had dual batteries! We gave up the Engel for this type of trip!
If you really want to use a portable fridge off batteries you will have no choice but to drive for some hours each day in warm weather to charge the battery, which rather negates the relaxed camping experience, or buy a very expensive generator and find that everyone nearby does hate you! With dry ice you don't have puddles of water sloshing around in your cooler and it lasts much longer than ordinary ice! Now we have a caravan but we still have a good cool box for all sorts of uses. The Engel gathers dust for most of the time! Good luck! Lynne
AnswerID: 427038

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 17:12

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 17:12
Reading your post you say: "We don't want to install a dual battery system in our car, ..... is now not worth enough to justify this kind of investment" the investment in a good dual battery isolator is about $200, it is removable to the next vehicle.

You will need to have the fridge and the battery powering it in the same vicinity, in a vehicle or in tent etc, when you do the "odd trips" where is the fridge ?

If you use the 2 batteries as change over all the time you run a risk of having problems, the fridge battery will work better if it's an AGM Deep Cycle battery, the cranking battery will work better as a dedicated Cranking battery, they are two different internal specifications and designed for doing two different jobs.

If as you say $200 is out of the question, I would put the highest specified AGM Deep Cycle I could afford and charge it from the Alternator daily.

Maîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 427043

Follow Up By: petengail - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 18:17

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 18:17
i have just been camping for a week or so with my brother and sister in law. he has a 12v/240v engel/waeco... not sure which... he seems to spend hours each day running a gen/running the ute to charge the battery etc. (i admit to knowing nothing about this stuff)... i just took my 3 way out of the ute... put on a 9 ltr gas bottle and forgot about it for the week except to go for a stubbie or to get food out of the freezer... for one i am very happy with the gas when just sitting, and i dont mind hooking it up for an overnighter either.... seems a no brainer to me but then lots have told me i have no brain.....
FollowupID: 697645

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 18:50

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 18:50
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Trolling Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 697649

Reply By: Jan-C - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 19:44

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 19:44
John and Lynne, you're absolutely right about the fact that our needs as a family are likely to change, and that our camping set-up might also. I think for our next camping trip I'll try dry ice with our icebox. If this doesn't work, it sounds like a 3-way fridge might be the way to go. So....a few more questions....where can dry ice be obtained? Does it cost much? How much do you need, how long does it last and what precautions are needed in handling it?

Thank you all for your input - you certainly steered me in a different direction and saved us some money!
AnswerID: 427050

Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 20:01

Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 20:01
Hi again Jan

Had a contact in the ice industry, got cheap dry ice for a while. He left the area, and I found out dry ice was about $30 a block. Need to get it from cryogenic supplier... at least you do around here. Handle with heavy gloves.

We had a 100 ltr cool box (much too big for our needs) and had to put 5 blocks in it. Didn't last all that long (4-5 days from memory) so it wasn't cost effective. Only need a few trips at that price and you can buy a compressor fridge, battery and solar :))

Cheers, Dave

FollowupID: 697663

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:19

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:19
Dave,

A very good analogy to the practical (not) use of dry ice and its cost effectiveness as a solution.

I have also tried "dry ice" in the past and it just doesn't add up.

Bill.

FollowupID: 697766

Reply By: Member - Robbo (QLD) - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 09:50

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 09:50
We have been through the same process with fridges. We had a small 3 way frig which we found inadequate in terms cooling on our summer hols on Moreton Island. I have opted for a 40 l Engel 2 way with charging from a 120 watt solar panel and topup charging if needed from a Honda Eu 20i generator( which I already had for other purposes) The panel should run at 6-7 amps so even only 7 hours of sunlight pretty much covers power needs . We plugged the frig straight into the 12 v plug in the back of the Prado when travelling.
AnswerID: 427102

Follow Up By: Member - Robbo (QLD) - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 09:53

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 09:53
Our power plant is a 100 amphour AGM Deka Intimidator battery in battery box - with other 12 volt plugs for lighting
FollowupID: 697706

Reply By: John and Lynne - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 09:55

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 09:55
There are a couple of tricks to dry ice. The bigger the area of your block the longer it lasts eg two 10kg blocks will probably disappear in a large esky much qicker than one 15 kg block! The less air space in your coolbox the better. Air is what dissolves it so as your food stocks fall, fill the space with towels, drinks etc. You can divide your esky into fridge/freezer spce by using a piece of styrofoam with holes punched in it as a divider so more sensitive food doesn't get too cold - this is getting a bit fancy - boy stuff perhaps!
The better the cool box - the longer it lasts! Fibre glass is tops these days according to our local supplier. Special gloves etc are not necessary if you buy it well wrapped in paper. Suppliers will give you all information. Some even sell cool boxes.
I just checked the figures in case my memory was too rusty and a 15kg block will easily cool an 80litre coolbox for 5 to 6 days. This supplier in Brisbane charges $43 for that and $30 for 10kg. So prices have increased. You could shop around but if you only camp a few times a year it is still an economical option for you at this stage. At other times you have a beaut cool box which you can use with ordinary ice at any time.
Dry ice is quite easy to find - just check your yellow pages. Good luck Lynne
AnswerID: 427104

Reply By: Evakool - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 14:00

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 14:00

A FridgeMate 70 is a good size unit for 5 - 6 people for up to a week or more.

Power usage on a compressor fridge / freezer depends on a few different factors. It is possible on some Evakool fridges to have them using under 1 amp per hour, but the average that we quote is around 1.2 amps per hour on economy and 1.8 amps per hour on normal.
A good practice is to round up (to give a safety margin and make the figures easy to work with), so lets say between 1.5 to 2 amps per hour.
The is assuming that the unit has product in it to help hold the temperature and the unit has been already on to bring it down to temperature.

That gives a daily amp usage of around 36 to 48 amps per day, now these figures are over estimates just to help in sizing power needs, it is normally lower than this.

Now a standard deep cycle batteries is normally only okay to use around 50% of it's capacity, therefore a 100 amp/hour deep cycle battery would only be good for around 50 amps. Therefore on normal you would be close to needing to recharge after 24 hours.

Even if you had 2 big deep cycles, say 120 amps each, total usage capacity of around 120 amps, that is enough for 2.5 to 3.3 days before you should start to recharge them.

So for longer trips you would either need a lot of deep cycle batteries or look at a different type of battery, for example, with AGM batteries you can use 60 to 80+% of their rated capacity, they also recharge faster.

But even with more / different batteries, for the longer trips I would suggest looking at a way of recharging your batteries. There are 3 main ways that are used. Solar - silent but only through the day. Generator - louder, any time (depending on regulations / neighbours). Vehicles alternator - similar to generator, can be quicker and cheaper but can be more hassle.

AnswerID: 427124