New Rigs

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 01:25
ThreadID: 80713 Views:5863 Replies:11 FollowUps:39
I was doing some research into new Vehicles earlier tonight:

Prado GXL $64,490 3ltr T/D 410NM 127kw Auto 5

Patrol ST-L $63,690 3ltr T/D 354NM 118kw Auto 5
(of course wouldnt think of a 3ltr Nissan, but put it in as well)

Pajero GLS $62,090 3.2ltrT/D 441NM 147kw Auto 5

Touareg R5 $65,490 2.5ltrT/D 400NM 128kw Auto 6

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Prado Kakadu $88,990 3ltr T/D 410NM 127kw Auto 5

Pajero Exceed $76,790 3.2ltrT/D 441NM 147kw Auto 5

Touareg TDI $75,990 3 ltrT/D 550NM 176kw Auto 6

Before everyone says you cant compare the VW, I have done research and have found 2" lifts and they can run 275/70/17 Goodyear MTRs.

Ground clearance in standard trim is the Prado has 205mm, the Paj has 225mm and the Touareg has 237mm.

I know everyone is going to say Toyota, but the facts just dont back up the statement, both the Paj and the VW are better equiped and even the little 2.5 VW compares in power after that the toyota is left for dead.

Lets try and keep this Post on here so no personal attacks, not that i cant handle them, Check out what I drive now, I always have to prove myself, but must add have proved it over and over again.

Reply By: Muntoo - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 03:10

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 03:10
Im not sure about the new Prado or the Touareg but doesnt the Pajero have IRS. I wouldnt touch one if it has. IFS is bad enough, never mind both ends.

Good for the city, but not good for what there supposed to be used for.
AnswerID: 427256

Reply By: time waster - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 06:03

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 06:03
Hi Glenn,

We saw a few weeks ago a Touareg towing a Kedron on it's way to Kingfisher camp, at first look it did look a bit small but has the power.

There was a thread a while back here where the owner replied.

What about the 76 wagon as I know you like your lockers and you can order the 76 with factory front and rear. Not as much comfort as the others but a TDV8.

Christian
AnswerID: 427257

Follow Up By: Pesty SA - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 09:52

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 09:52
Haha, Glenn and Toyota in the same sentence, think this is called an oxymoron !
Me thinks the Glenn I know is stirring !
FollowupID: 697896

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:08

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:08
Now Now Pesty,

I have actually owned a To Toy Toya Toyata, Jeeze I found that even hard to say. I was just putting up a post stating what you get for your dollar, I think the facts say that the Paj and the VW are miles ahead of the others..

Some have also mentioned about small engined diesels and I totally agree with them, but fail to see any good value money in a large capacity diesel other than the V10 Touareg, please dont tell me a Toyato 200 series is worth nearly 100K.
FollowupID: 697949

Follow Up By: Roach"ee" - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 21:17

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 21:17
Jeez Glenn, if you've got a spare $60K or so to splash around, I might even consider allowing you the privelige of buying my 6.5V8 dual cab. I know how much you love it, even though you do your best to conceal the envy you harbour....just like Pesty does...heck he's even been coming over to my place regularly of late just to perve on my beast. He's cunning though and says he's only coming here to do some fence erecting....but I know better.
FollowupID: 697988

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 21:43

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 21:43
Guys, guys, guys, you know the old story about Caterpillar? They mightn't push as much per day as some of the others, but the old maxim about being able to push more per week. Reliability being the key. Likewise in the car stakes, serviceability in the bush being a consideration.

Perhaps Blaze is just sticking to made roads in future? I know the oder 4.2 Nissan we had, we had to beef up to take a load and then spend a fortnight where we shouldna needn't for diff repairs.
FollowupID: 697991

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 00:59

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 00:59
John,

Dont think I will ever be the driver of a as you call them Made roads, but also if I cant organise my trips to take in a service centre every 10,000k's or so, I must be only driving desert country non stop for the whole time.. Just to add to that, a mate had a tailshaft centre bearing go on his Touareg at William Creek, VW spares flew in a replacement tailshaft and paid for the fitting at Coober Pedy.

I seem to remember you having more trouble than that with roadside assist for your Nissan and also with Nissan warranty for that matter.

Also I'm not just picking on Nissan with that comment, one of our Club members has a 5mth old Prado 30,000k, and on a trip to Big Desert he stopped to lower tyre pressures and could smell oil burning. On inspection he found a small hole in the transfer case high up on the side. He aborted the trip and took the Yota to the local Yota dealer, who told him on day 1 that wire had flicking up, day 2 it was a nail flicked up and then finally a tech screw. Their fix I couldn't believe, they drilled the hole out and put a bolt through it with a nut inside and charged the owner for the time. Will be interesting if the nut comes loose...

FollowupID: 698004

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 01:01

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 01:01
Mr Roache,

I must admit, it was a very nice Vehicle, but not much was still Nissan LOL, Now though its been devalued by at least 30K, being that its now only a soft roader... :-)

FollowupID: 698005

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 07:29

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 07:29
Interesting that Prado transfer case problem. Just had a mate come back from the centre. New Prado failed to proceed 60Km sth of Kulgera. Hole in upper front of transfer case had let all the fluid escape and bearings cried enough. Toyota in Alice took ages to look at it and then needed to get a new transfer case in. Warranty was denied as they claimed external impact even though it it very hard to get to. They were off the road over 12 days in the end.

OBT
FollowupID: 698009

Follow Up By: Nutta - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 07:58

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 07:58
Does the toureg have low range? Its something you may need out there.
FollowupID: 698013

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 09:36

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 09:36
Blaze the Roadside Assist sticker is inside the Landcruiser too, from the RACV and as I explained in another comment, the extended warranty was actually handled five months down the track by Customer Services, rather than the warranty crowd. It sounded like twinges of conscience to me, rather than as a warranty should be.

On the car selection, I must admit that I have been casting an eye around for a replacement for my little car. The little car you may remember is a low two door, and I was looking to a VDub, and look them up occasionally. The LC to to the hard towing and V6/V10 to be more cross purpose. Eric says the choice of motors is the V10, but does it need to be the R version? :-)))
FollowupID: 698019

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 11:20

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 11:20
Nutta, All the Touaregs have Low Range!!!

FollowupID: 698030

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 11:22

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 11:22
Gday again John,

Yep I sure do remember ure 2 door... As for the V10 R version. I would only need that if SWMBO loaded the camper and the car.. LOLOLOL

FollowupID: 698031

Reply By: patsproule - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 07:24

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 07:24
Ignore comments about IRS & IFS. Yes the Prado has good articulation in it's rear axle. But the Pajeros post about 2004 (& yes, I do own one) come with a very capable traction control setup as standard on all models and have a diff lock option for less than $1000. Yes, it will cock a wheel from time to time but these traction aids more than make up for the IRS / IFS. Pajeros also happily take a 2" lift which costs about $1500 fitted and this makes quite a large difference to them off-road.

I have toured extensively with our current Diesel Paj, up steep and rutted high country tracks, through the deserts, On beaches and through muddy outback roads; usually in tandem with a couple of 120 series Prados (one v6, one D4D). In practice they all seem very evenly matched in capability off-road. I'd happily drive either but lean towards the Pajero since I dont like the soggy wallowy suspension of the prado and it's disconnected feel - even in modified suspension form. The D4D though - just needs a little more output.

Now, what about a V10 Touareg?

Pat
AnswerID: 427259

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:09

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:09
I would buy a V10 before I would buy a 200 series on current value for money.

FollowupID: 697950

Follow Up By: Roach"ee" - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 21:18

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 21:18
IFS and IRS can be done well....just look at the tractability of the Hummvee
FollowupID: 697989

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 13:52

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 13:52
hi all
vw has won the paris to dakar rally that many times and pajero's also in top honours it may not be in stock standard vehicles but
landcruisers have never looked like ever winning and arent just good enough

imho which i am entitle too the same as each and every one of you

id buy a vw and put a 2'' lift on it before id touch another toyota
i made an error of buying a new petrol 82 model LC and after only 20th km'sand problems could'nt get rid of it quick enough

before coming on this site i use to think that by listening to the toyota owners that they never gave or had any problems and i was the unlucky one

but after reading about all the problems they have throughout each model on here
and before anyone starts
yes parts are availuble across aus for them but thats what comes about from volume sales of any brand and the fact their in wreckers yards everywhere

thats reality and people buy what they like or prefer and i dint have an issue with that
toyota brain wash everyone with millions of dollars of in your face adverts every day so that people start believing that unless you own a toyota you wont be able to see australia without breaking down
well sorry i'm not fooled by that and know different through my own experiences with other makes
i am now much wiser by age and have found that lc owners will generally only tell you what happened to their toyota after they have got rid of it

and will tell the owners of s/hand vehicles how to /or what to do to fix the problems onrd and or in the workshop
but still claim even with all the advice they can offer that they have never laid a spanner on theirs ?????????
this is a general concensis and i'm not having a go at anyone in particular or trying to start a war or taking the p--ss out of toyota owners but i think owners of other brands will know what i mean in general terms cheers and happy travells to you all no matter what you drive
FollowupID: 698044

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 21:16

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 21:16
Maz anyone who picks a car based on who wins the Dakar rally has been fooled by the marketing as obviously under the fibreglass body panels of the open class vehicles there is very little in common with the car for sale at the dealers. The class you should be looking at is T2, for production cars with limited modifications.
"landcruisers have never looked like ever winning" Simply not true Maz. Here's a quote from just one rally>>>
"Toyota has dominated the Dakar Rally, taking seven of the top 10 positions including the top three places in the competitive T2 category for mass-produced all-terrain vehicles........Jun Mitsuhashi won the T2 category at the wheel of a Toyota LandCruiser HJD 100........Toyota LandCruisers also filled third, fourth, sixth, ninth and 10th positions in the T2 class."
While you may have had a bad run with your 82 model, overall they have been one of the more reliable vehicles for touring Oz.
Cheers Craig.........
FollowupID: 698090

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 22:36

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 22:36
hi sorry crackles
i was laughing to myself while i was writing that line about lc's never winning the dakar cause i follow the results each year
i knew some one would arc up and contradict me with some hard facts
you know your stuff well
and i would'nt pick a vehicle just based on the dakar wins as i know too well they are not road standard vehicles like we get to buy
just stirring the pot-- lol
FollowupID: 698099

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 02:13

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 02:13
Crackles, you and Maz are spot on about the Dakar,

Can you explain though why in Class 7 the Mitsubishi's have won for the last 10 years.
For any who don't know, Class 7 is so called production class 4x4,

Modifications are:

Strip out the inside of the vehicle and fit a roll cage, exhaust system, valves and cam and thats it for the engine, Shocks, Springs and Tyres. lastly move the fuel tank and thats about it. As mentioned these Production vehicles are modified as above, but so are all the other brands entered in the class.

Is any Toyota or Nissan owner honest enough to concede this is an awesome record. And Credit should be given to the reliability of these vehicles??

By the way 1st and 2nd this year went to a Pajero and a Triton.

FollowupID: 698101

Follow Up By: Crackles - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 18:55

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 18:55
Mitsubishi have always done well in the rally most likely due to their excellent power to weight, great road holding & huge manufacturer backup. They are a very under-rated car & currently good value. Have been saying for quite some time the Triton is the best light ute available at the moment.
There you go Blaze, a Toyota owner of 26 years singing the praise's of the old Valiant.
Cheers Craig..................
FollowupID: 698187

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 13:07

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 13:07
Cheers Mate..

Most of your points are valid to..

FollowupID: 698272

Reply By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 08:07

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 08:07
HiBerri some thoughts.

Cars are so brought on the buyers perception, not really based on intended use and suitability for that job.

Your top list includes 4 complex small diesels - not a recipe for low cost , fixability and reliability.

On looking at your list the 3lt Patrol is much more capable if any real work has to be done (by the way its 4 in an auto and much lower cost).
I suppose though that its so tainted by engine issues, but honestly that wouldn't be a high consideration in a planned approach that meant you would only keep car inside Nissan extended warranty.
(read this months 4wd action on a 3lt build up).

The Prado - I have tried to like this popular car - but it has the lowest stability of
them all and is just to prone to fall over in bush work for me.
I have not been been able to come up with a work around for this (but still trying- as I believe there once used to be a gyroscopic stability after market device).
When I looked closely at a new one its body shape came in to much toward the rear and simply didin't have the useful room inside it the patrol did, and it has got softer underneath , along with a non-flat floor that makes it difficult to work with.
The engine needs a replacement to , but the petrol is very good (a friend recently got petrol one).

Pajero - We took one with us on recent snow trip so we would have something for snatch practice and it performed its duty well.
Just to short on wheel articulation, range and vunerable gearbox.

Touareg - got more going for it than it gets credit - but difficult/expensive to repair. Performance stabilty etc are not bad but wheel articulation an issue.
Some where here I did test on its porsche cayenne brother , it had issues at the time with hard to replace 20inch wheels , and now the car I used which was $140,000 3 years ago has just been valued for possible sale at $55,000
temping - did the lower Canning ok to.

Honestly, none of those cars can match the current petrol patrol , in performance, stability , driveline strength, relatively low tech and repairable or probably low true lifecycle cost.

AnswerID: 427261

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:03

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:03
Hi Robin,

I have nearly always agreed with your comments, especially LPG versus Diesel etc but to say.

"I suppose though that its so tainted by engine issues, but honestly that wouldn't be a high consideration in a planned approach that meant you would only keep car inside Nissan extended warranty."

What good would that warranty do me in the middle of the Anne Beadell Highway if it decides to explode????

FollowupID: 697947

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:53

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:53
I have never been short of calling the 3lt Nissan engine issue the worst such in any of our mainline 4wds , but it really needs to be thought of under current conditions Berri.

With the qualifier of keeping such a car for a few years and under warranty and 150k odd , it really can be a good reliable and effective wagon for those that are happy with that level of performance - I'm to hooked on the power of 4800 but not everyone needs or even wants that.

Jeffs story and a few others would make it hard for anyone without bias to show that a new 3lt would break down more than a 200 series or Landy and on the Anne Beadell I'd go with its suspension before any of the other cars your mention.

Image has a large influence on so much of what we do these days though - while typing this my son came in fresh from crashing out in the Vic titles motocross today, laying under the bike immoveable , 1/2 the fuel drained out of tank on him and he ran out of fuel last lap , his top was used to clean up and a guy flogging clothing gave him a new top , "you can just give me this says Mark" , guy says - "the brand name is unknown, no one wants them , there every bit as good as competition - but you might as well use it as a rag !

FollowupID: 697957

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 21:51

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 21:51
Nissan extended warranty didn't work for me Robin. It was Customer Service that picked up the cost - five months down the track :-(
FollowupID: 697995

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 00:45

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 00:45
I am sorry to say Robin we had a mate who left here in Berri with his 3ltr having just been serviced and having 94,000 on the clock, we travelled the Anne Beadell and across to Exmouth and home, once home with 104,000 on the clock and BANG, (of course no warrranty, over 100K) if he had been up to the 103K when we left it would have been out on the ABH. Either way, I am not a person who if even if i was only keeping a vehicle for 150k's to be buying a vehicle that can implode from between 80K and 150K and drive it with confidence into remote places.

FollowupID: 698003

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 07:43

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 07:43
Hi Guys

Painful stories all right and I have been thru some with friends I know and its hard to accept that things have improved somewhat , but as they say once bitten............
FollowupID: 698011

Follow Up By: Nutta - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 07:56

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 07:56
Does the toureg have low range? Its something you may need out there.
FollowupID: 698012

Follow Up By: Nutta - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 07:59

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 07:59
Posted to wrong part of thread.
FollowupID: 698014

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 14:31

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 14:31
hi blaze
according to the details in the ------project toni
thread
he believes the nissan grenade problem is caused by the turbo boost pressure factory setting being too high which causes the cylinders to overheat and implode
so if this was lowered it should help or cure the problem but then they would'nt have enough power ?????????? just my angle on it
FollowupID: 698050

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 14:44

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 14:44
hi blaze
it might be posible to lower the turbo factory boost pressure and put an after market chip in the patrols to get a better run out of the engine more nm but less or lower boost pressure so it will run cooler and wont melt the pistons what do you think??

i recall reading on here where some of the toyotas and the 4.2 nissan having problems with too much boost pressure as well with some of the older models cheers
FollowupID: 698051

Reply By: Rangiephil - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 09:48

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 09:48
I am amazed a D4 is not in the equation seeing it or the D3 has won just about every 4WD drive award for the last few years and is grudgingly accepted now even by Toyota and Cooper centric Australian 4WD.

Much more capable and generally reliable , or are you looking in the past.

Note the test of the Toureg recently in 4WD mag. The failure rate was astounding AFAIR and not trivial things.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 427274

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:11

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:11
Leyland p76 won all the motoring awards, didnt mean they rated in most peoples eyes. personally I hve just returned from the Coopers and seen a Rangie being towed below the crossing, another bewteen the Coopers and mungerannie and one with no electrics at mungerannie also.

FollowupID: 697951

Reply By: sad triton - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 10:02

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 10:02
I see the Toerag has now exceeded the Discos reputation for poor reliability in the US.

Has the new Prado addressed its appalling on road dynamics, or should I say lack of them?

Are the issues with the Nissan 3.0 really addressed?

I was going to comment on the Pajero, but I can't recall hearing or reading anything bad about them yet.
AnswerID: 427277

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 14:22

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 14:22
hi
sad triton
read thread 80437 the new paj's have issues with coking up in the inlet maniflods etccheers
FollowupID: 698048

Reply By: olcoolone - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 10:36

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 10:36
Blaze we have been looking at new vehicles as well, our needs are a bit different to yours.

We need a 4x4 with room and be very capable in extreme off road conditions, this leaves us with two choices, a Patrol 3lt ST or a V8 Troppy.

But having only two in mind we have also had a look at most of the other 4x4's on the market these days.

Prado -----------

Pros
- Toyota build quality.
- Toyota reliability.
- Extremely good fit and finish.
- Good switch gear feel and placement.
- Proven package.
- Excellent fuel carrying capacity.
- Large range of aftermarket parts.
- Availability of replacement parts good.
- OK ground clearance.
- Mid size 4x4.
- Good driving position and forward visibility.
- Feels good on and off road.
- Very comfortable on and off road.
- Good handling on and off road.
- Very capable off road.
- Large range of aftermarket parts available.
- Toyota dealers everywhere.
- Parts availability.
Cons
- Too much comes as standard equipment.
- To many gimmicks.
- Small load carrying capacity.
- Small cargo space.
- Lack of serious off road aftermarket parts.

The Prado is a good proven package with high build quality and finish that will provide reliable comfortable on and off road transport, a very capable 4x4 with Toyota quality and support.

Patrol -----------

Pros
- Nissan reliability?
- Big inside.
- Proven package?
- Excellent load carrying capacity.
- Solid axel coil sprung suspension.
- Extremely capable off road.
- Large range of aftermarket parts.
- Availability of replacement parts good.
- Good fuel carrying capacity.
- Good ground clearance.
- No gimmicks.
- Available in a base model.
- Big towing capacity.
- Large range of serious off road parts available.
Cons
- Poor trim quality.
- Poor fit and finish.
- Poor switch gear placement and feel.
- Bad driving position and forward visibility.
- Noisy and harsh.
- More truck like then car like.
- Big outside.
- Average on road handling.
- Average off road handling.
- To many know breakage issues.

The Patrol is a classic designed 4x4 offering space and excellent off road capabilities with solid axel coil spring suspension. It is showing it’s age and getting left behind by the competition.

Pajero -----------

Cons
- Mitsubishi build quality.
- Mitsubishi reliability.
- Proven package.
- OK ground clearance.
- Mid size 4x4.
- Reasonable capable off road.
- Average range of aftermarket parts available.
- Fantastic factory warranty.
- Option of factory rear diff lock.
Cons
- Poor fuel carrying capacity.
- To many gimmicks.
- Small cargo space.
- Not as good a dealer network as Toyota or Nissan.

The Pajero even that it’s capable for off roading it is more suitable for bitumen and good dirt roads, class leading warranty and the availability of a factory rear diff lock is a bonus but small fuel carrying capacity may limit off road distances.

Touareg R5

Pros
- VW build quality.
- VW reliability.
- Great ground clearance.
- Large range of factory options.
- Mid size 4x4.
- Very capable off road.
- Option of factory rear diff lock?
- Great towing capacity.
Cons
- Poor fuel carrying capacity.
- To many gimmicks.
- Small cargo space.
- Unproven off road.
- Lack of aftermarket replacement parts.
- Poor dealer network.
- Reliable technology unseen before in Australia.

The Tourag is in the same boat as the Pagero even that it’s capable for off roading it is more suitable for bitumen and good dirt roads, build quality, fit and finish is unbelievable but small fuel carrying capacity may limit off road distances and lack of off road credibility and parts is a big down side to a fantastic 4x4 .
AnswerID: 427281

Follow Up By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 11:33

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 11:33
Hi olcoolone,
I like the way the Paj had "cons" and "cons".... No pro's..... lol...?
Sorry guys, could not let that one go without comment.. (:
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

FollowupID: 697908

Follow Up By: TTTSA - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 18:48

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 18:48
Howdy Olcoolone, "a 3lt ST patrol or a V8 Troopy" Is there really a choice there? Saw a V8 Troopy set up with a pop top roof at Farina earlier this week, looked the goods to me! Would love one.

Peter Horne

"There is no substitute for cubic inches"

FollowupID: 697962

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 20:02

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 20:02
The V8 Troopy is good but a lot more harsher in ride and noisier compared to the Patrol, the Patrol has a better suspension set up for serious off roading with solid axles and coil springs front and rear compared with the Troopy with solid axle front with coils and solid axle rear with leafs.

Both proven products, the Nissan we can buy new for $51000 drive away and a Troopy with air and diff locks for $65000 drive away.

The Patrol comes standard with ABS, cruise control and 17 inch alloys whereby the Troopy doesn't.
FollowupID: 697975

Follow Up By: TTTSA - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 19:07

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 19:07
Still absolutely no choice, I would happily pay the 14K difference. The 3lt GRENADE is certainly a "proven" performer.

Of course.....................it's your money and your choice.

Peter Horne

"There is no substitute for cubic inches"

FollowupID: 698080

Follow Up By: horseshoe - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 22:03

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 22:03
Hi Olcoolone,
You have given a great summation for the different vehicles. I would be interested to know what your thoughts are on mitsubishi challenger. The pros and cons
Cheers Horseshoe
FollowupID: 698096

Reply By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 10:39

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 10:39
Blaze
Really depends on what you are going to do your vehicle and where you are going to go. We faced similar dilemma a couple of years ago, though we didn't consider a Patrol as we deemed it too big and Touareg wasn't in our budget.

We chose a Pajero as it offered superior bitumen and dirt road handling and significantly better purchase value for money.
If I am going to get into trouble in the bush it will be on a dirt road corner, to me the Prado's soft suspension makes it more of a city vehicle compared to the Pajero!

As to articulation, everyone tells me Prado is superior and yes I have come to a halt towing a 1Tonne trailer up a very steep gravel track out of a gorge on a hair pin bend with an erosion bank on it. Very carefully reversed, chose a different line and got through.
Perhaps if you are going to be doing a lot of rough mountain tracks, Prado is be superior in off roading area. But if you are going to be primarily on outback roads (or country bitumen), Pajero would have it.
We will be keeping our vehicle for a few years and probably 300 000km, but if you were turning it over more quickly Prado's seem to have a better resale value which you should consider.

Good point on the Discovery D3 D4, which according to motoring rags have the best on road handling and off road capability. However a lot of motoring rags give them a hard time re reliability and how many service centres are there in the bush? Looks like you would be of to Adelaide for servicing on Touareg or Disco

AnswerID: 427282

Reply By: TerryG - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 11:36

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 11:36

I have been looking into the new Disco4 diesels - both the 2.7ltr (same motor as in the D3) and the new 3ltr 600Nm@2000rpm monster. Specs look good except when you take it off the tar. Both have computer controlled traction aids but when in max off road height (they have airbag suspension), speed is limited to 40kph - not good in sand hills or when trying to keep up with your mate's 4WD along deep 2 wheel tracks.

Also the 3ltr only comes with 20 or 19 inch wheel rims - and require small walled tyres, (255/50 or 255/55) with only 127mm or 140mm between bottom of rim and the road - so watch out on the gravel that you don't hit a rock where you need a large tyre wall to flex and deform to so prevent cracked or broken rims. The 2.7ltr has 18 inch rims (tyres 255/60) with 153mm between bottom of the rim and the road - a bit better but I would suggest is still marginal. For example the Pajero takes 265/65 tyres to keep 17 inch rims 172mm off the road. These stated heights are best case - an inflated tyre with no load, in practice the separation of rim and road is a bit less with the weight of the car deforming the tyre.

Have a look in here http://www.aulro.com/afvb/d3-d4-rrs/

On the tar the 3ltr diesel Disco4 wins hands down, even at $96k on the road - but these two issues have me looking at other 4WDs.

TerryG

AnswerID: 427286

Follow Up By: TerryG - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 12:26

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 12:26
Oops, that last sentence is a bit sus - should have said that in almost all other places the Disco 3ltr wins hands down. Not sure about mud tho' - what muddies can you buy in 255/50?

TerryG
FollowupID: 697915

Reply By: awill4x4 - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 12:53

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 12:53
We couldn't afford a new vehicle and wanted a "mid" sized 4x4 so it was going to be either Prado or Pajero. We quickly came to the conclusion that the Prado prices were too high and then settled on looking for a good Pajero diesel and finally found one locally with about 43K on the clock.
It's an 07 VRX with all the safety pack, rear view DVD, 5 speed auto etc, and we couldn't be happier.
On road dynamics are great with enough traction aids to perform pretty well offroad. I've still got my GQ if I really want to get into the gnarly stuff.
I'm looking forward to towing our caravan but by all reports the Pajero's perform well at this task as well.
Regards Andrew.
AnswerID: 427293

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 20:26

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 20:26
Just got back from my complimentary Land Rover off road training day (in my D4 3.0) designed to show us how to properly use the capabilities of our vehicles. One word, awesome.

If you are looking at vehicles in this price range then you are not serious if you don't consider it. Nothing comes close in almost every department.

I nearly bought a D3 when I chose the Sahara in 2006 but thought I'd wait for the bugs to be ironed out. Ford spent 1.6bn developing the D3 and Tata have made 700 detailed improvements for the D4.

You can get A/T amd M/T in 19's and 20's now and the 2.7TDV6 comes on 18's and you can fit 17's if you want.

AnswerID: 427330

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 22:02

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 22:02
Just curious but did they show you a way around the speed limit restriction when you are in the raised height setting?
FollowupID: 698216

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 22:30

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 22:30
Yes, you can suspend it momentarilly for run ups to dunes etc. Permanent height maintenance at higher speeds requires a trip to the aftermarket, both hardware and software solutions are now available.

OBT
FollowupID: 698218

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 09:36

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 09:36
That is good to hear it can be sorted, there are plenty of situations that warrant the additional ground clearance without such a speed limitation.
FollowupID: 698258