Watch out for Russians speeding in the deserts and Cape York.

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 09:28
ThreadID: 81010 Views:6126 Replies:12 FollowUps:22
On Monday 23 August whilst refuelling in Wiluna, two white 100 Series covered in serious ARB bling and Mickey T MTZ’s etc come into Wiluna to refuel also. The drivers had rally driver type gear on and the vehicles had a websites and other stickers on them, including a map of their intended route. Which is up the CSR, down the Tanami, across the Simpson, then to FNQ and up to Cape York.

I tried to speak to a few of them, they pointed me to Vlad, he spoke broken English and said they were going to drive to all of these places. I was impressed at their challenge. He then said they were going to do it in 3 weeks yep, I was no longer impressed Three weeks. I said you’ll damage your vehicles and be a danger to other travellers, ‘Ve have radio and flags, ve will be alright’ he said.

I added ‘you wont see much at that pace and you’ll do some serious damage to your vehicles’. He said ‘I tried to get them to stop before dark last night but they just want to drive’ ‘No scencics’ he said. He also said one of the drivers is a European off road rally champion.

I checked out their website tess.ru and sure enough they are flying, should be in Halls Creek toady 28 August i.e. the CSR in 6 days.

So if you’re out there or are in contact with friends out there let them know of the Russians intended route and that they may get a shock when a bull bar greets them at high speed on a dune crest.

If anyone has an up date on how they are going re vehicle damage or damage to tracks or better still can read Russian on their website please advise.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

Reply By: Mick O - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 09:53

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 09:53
The website translates roughly to;

"21 days, 8000 miles across Five deserts and the tropics alone.
Coordinates of the columns are updated every hour. Photos from the route.
All this - rally Teams TSN, which will be held in
Australia in the period from 22 August to 11 th September."

AnswerID: 428718

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 17:22

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 17:22
Didn't know you understood Russian??

Don't you answer you texts messages?? :-))

FollowupID: 699487

Follow Up By: Mick O - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 18:03

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 18:03
Google is your friend lol. Sorry mate been all over the shop the past week.

Cheers M.

FollowupID: 699497

Reply By: lizard - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 09:55

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 09:55
Yes , we ran into them (or the other way around) this side of Thring rock - yep they were flying , another traveller we talked to was going to report them to the ranger at Durba
AnswerID: 428720

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 17:23

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 17:23
Since when is the ranger a policeman ,
FollowupID: 699488

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 11:20

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 11:20
Sounds like fun!
I havent done the figures, but is it possible without breaking any serious laws?

Some people are capable of driving long distances safely without being a danger.
I reckon give them the benefit of the doubt, and wish them well........

AnswerID: 428731

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 13:10

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 13:10
Yep...I'm with you on that one Hairy. probably the knockers could learn a lot from a pro Rally driver.

FollowupID: 699467

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 13:14

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 13:14
Hairy
After I hit the submit button I was thinking about who is going to book em for speeding across Claypans at 150 plus , and time the dobber talks to a ranger they'll be long gone.

FollowupID: 699468

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 11:46

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 11:46
Gives a whole new meaning to a saying commonly used in the sixties... when many saw "a 'RED' under every bed"...
"The Russians are coming..... The Russians are coming....!"
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 428735

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 12:23

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 12:23
Gidday

... and remember the 1966 movie The Russians are Coming. very funny stuff for the time ... with the lovely Eva Marie Saint ....

Cheers Rocco
FollowupID: 699465

Reply By: MobiCondo - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 16:39

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 16:39
I am vundering vot vil 'appen if zay hit anuzza traveller and cause some serious damage? Vill ze uzza traveller get any cover?
Cheers - Mobi
AnswerID: 428763

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 17:11

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 17:11
The people are Russian not German you twit.
FollowupID: 699486

Follow Up By: MobiCondo - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 18:55

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 18:55
Oops!
FollowupID: 699504

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 20:33

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 20:33
Id say they are rushing Russians !!!
FollowupID: 699523

Reply By: Member - Paul F (INT) - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 16:55

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 16:55
Am of a firm belief that providing these people are " doing their thing" without, and not causing harm or damage to anyone or thing , then let them go!
After all have all of us not had a challenge put to us in our lifetime.
I believe that they have not approached this challenge in a light-hearted manner and it have taken it very seriously indeed for the country they are covering.
But it is also an excellent thing that Phil has notified us all about these people and their whereabouts so that all concerned that may be in their pathway are advised.
Cheers to all concerned and trusting that all complete their relevant journeys safely.

AnswerID: 428766

Follow Up By: lizard - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 17:38

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 17:38
Unfortunately these 'people' were doing their own thing - they were NOT announcing their presence on UHF40 at all - the first we saw of them was as their lead vehicle came flying around a bend at us - luckily it wasn't in the middle of a thicket or on top of a dune - and what would we have done if they smashed the front of our vehicle (they wouldn't have stopped to render assistance - cause they were in a hurry - and only one in the second car could speak english) ... I imagine the Ranger could contact others in his network who would prewarn the police .....
FollowupID: 699493

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 17:48

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 17:48
Hey Lizard exactly what law were they breaking ??

You assume they would not have stopped to render assistance, you know this how??

The last time I looked there was no law saying you had to speak English and last time I looked there was no law against being in a hurry.

Toughen up buttercup and enjoy the rest of your trip.
FollowupID: 699494

Follow Up By: Member - Barnray (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 17:58

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 17:58
Dangerous driving would be 1, the other thing that will happen is damage to tracks which will make it worse for the 4wd Community. 3 vehicles I don't think it is a registered rally so law enforcement could have a lot of fun.
I hope they don't hit wet weather or closed tracks. Barnray
FollowupID: 699495

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 18:01

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 18:01
NOT announcing their presence on uhf 40 , OHH NO !!! lock them up and throw away the key !!!!!!!! BEWARE people BEWARE there are people out there who do not tell all and sundry where they are every minute of the day on ch40 as Lizard demands.
FollowupID: 699496

Follow Up By: chris_s - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 18:12

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 18:12
Normally a rally is under strict conditions ie. a closed road/track to all outsiders, or atleast a lead vehicle letting all know of the event.
By the sounds of things from our witness (lizard), by not notifying anyone who might be approaching them on crests, etc there seems to be a bit of pot luck that nobody has been collected ...yet.
As Barnray has also said, the other issue is the case of damaging tracks. We all know that ill-informed 4wder can wreck things for everyone by driving inappropriately through environmently sensitive areas.
FollowupID: 699499

Follow Up By: Member - Paul F (INT) - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 18:20

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 18:20
Lizard
Point A; would be that they did not hit your vehicle and point B would be; how do you know they would'nt stop to render assistance as pointed out by 3Go Bush as I would certainly be the first to stop if it were my vehicle that contacted yours.
Can you imagine the difficulty you would have with the language barrier if you were in their country , having a" leisurely" trip.
So the point of this matter is you & your family are safe to continue tour trip unscathed.

FollowupID: 699502

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 18:54

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 18:54
They'd be better off in two groups with one each starting at either end of the trek!! Now that'd provide a dose of reality. Once on the plane back home any poor bastard who came to grief at their hands would be left high and dry. Is this not just another "Cannonball" on dirt?? Bring in the troops I say and nuke em.
FollowupID: 699503

Follow Up By: Member - Greg H (NT) - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 19:52

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 19:52
The law of common sense

Tomorrow is here!

FollowupID: 699518

Reply By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 19:36

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 19:36
man they get around, i must have seen them dozens of times, since the road opened back in May , they have been driving all sorts of units, some towin vans and campers ..........
It must have been them as they were going like bats out of hell ??? could not have possibly been any of us Aussies as we dont do that, we drive really slow and take it all in, bleep we are good, damn Rushings cuming out here and doin that to us, upsetting eh !!!!!
AnswerID: 428771

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 23:18

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 23:18

FollowupID: 699536

Reply By: balko - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 19:59

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 19:59
Sounds like a contiki tour in Europe 20 Countries in 3 weeks whats the diffrence. Pass the vodka ruskies
AnswerID: 428772

Reply By: BuggerBoggedAgain - Sunday, Aug 29, 2010 at 22:31

Sunday, Aug 29, 2010 at 22:31
I don't want to start about right from wrong, but two items in my memory banks stands out,

A rally race near Alice Springs had a rally car plough into two volunteers killing both,

A french woman who drove on the wrong side, killing a young teenager, was never charged and was allowed to leave country before any justice was served.

Irregards whether your a rally driver or in a damn hurry, doesn't excuse bad driving habits or being a menace to other road-users
AnswerID: 428896

Reply By: Nic I - Monday, Aug 30, 2010 at 08:34

Monday, Aug 30, 2010 at 08:34
Could they be ex-KGB, now Mafia, or Chechen militia, masquerading as racers, but actually doing as secret high-speed reconnoiter prior to taking over the Australian drug and oil trade ?

AnswerID: 428905

Reply By: balashov - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 21:03

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 21:03
we have done it.

Russians

no breaking law, no speeding, we can prove it by our GPS tracks
Thanks to all who support us on our way
Sorry for miscommunications with someone who did not even read us on channels 40 and 10 (as required by 4WD rules)

just imagine there are different people with different skills and experience.
Some people can do it , some not, some doing it slower than others

AnswerID: 430345

Follow Up By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 00:18

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 00:18
I'm glad you all got through okay balashov.

As you say different levels of experience and different interests on why people drive these to places.

I'm very interested in why you guys did it - was it a fundraiser for a student training school? I can't read Russian but saw something about students on the vehicle.

Oh hopefully you didn't go through too many tyres etc.

FollowupID: 701198

Reply By: balashov - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 20:55

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 20:55
thanks for your reply
I am the one you talked in Wiluna
I am Vlad Balashov , the one with broken english as you said.
We have fun of that trip.
Regarding tyres - two punches both on left front - in first two days, mostly because of experience European side of the road of our driverd - too close on the left of the track.
The rest was fine, only other trouble - two cracks in two secondary fuel tanks - in the same place - I beleive it is nothing to do with our driving, it must be warranty issue, will get in contact with company who sold them to us - can't beleive two cracks in two tanks in the same place.
Regarding the word STUDENTO
It is latino phrase - extending boundaries - study the space
Study - STUDENTO

Now about your first message.
Two emotional expressions from that - stupid and funny.
I live in Australia for 20 years, possibly my English not good enough for communication with you, but ...
I have PhD in Geography, spent 10 years in scientific research here in Australia in Environment Protection Autrhority.
I have a book published in Australia about Environment.
I have more than 30 years experience in 4WD, mostly business driving, so not too slow.
Now I beleive you did not understand me in first place, and I did not want to answer all your questionts in front of the shop in Wiluna.
We were in different speed then, you were relaxing , asking us questions , me - busy preparing last bits before the trip.

But that thread was so interested for me.
AnswerID: 430454

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 21:17

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 21:17
Gerday Balashov,

Great to see that you guys made it all the way ok!

Did the lady get her painting ok?

Hope to see you again next year, it's always interesting when you lot show up!

FollowupID: 701262

Follow Up By: balashov - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 21:23

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 21:23
Jeff
nice to read from you
I am still driving cars back home to Sydney, working new tracks on the way for new tours.
Guys arirved home in Moscow, no details about lady's picture yet, but soon will get report.
Hope to pack all emotions together and write some report here
FollowupID: 701263

Follow Up By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 21:34

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 21:34
Hi Vlad,

Thanks for replying.

Firstly I didn’t mean to belittle you and on re-reading my post I can see how you could take it that way -sorry.

I was however genuinely concerned about your guys having problems with dunes etc and was warning others where you guys were going. Remember when we discussed reducing tyre pressures and you were passing that on to the drivers in Russian - I guess from that I presumed there was little experience.

Anyway I'm glad you had a good trip and made it in less than 21 days - well done. I am amazed your damage tally was so small; only two punctures and some cracked fuel tanks that’s incredible really. I've come back from trips less than 25% of that distance with heaps more problems.

Thanks for the explanation of Studento.

If your guys are coming back next year and you want some WA desert travel info I genuinely would be willingly to help out. You can email me at pelbianchi@gmail.com

FollowupID: 701264