Campin check list
Submitted: Sunday, Oct 26, 2003 at 22:34
Truckster (Vic)
Well we are all different, but how many people are as unorgansied as we are when it comes to
camping? I did a check list for next weekend, and have come up with some things..
Who else has a check list? This is it so far, there is more though... :0
Cooking.
Sauce
Pan
Tongs
Matches
Billy
Gas bottle
Stove
Sleeping.
Pillows
Sleeping Bags
Playboy magazine
Airbed (Adapter for air bed)
Eating.
Plates
Knives forks spoons
Cups
Bowls
Washing up.
Detergant
Sponge
Scourer
Driving.
Wallet/Planner
Tools
CD's
Hooters
Recovery Shiat
Camping.
Tent
Pegs and Poles (check)
Gas Light
Chairs
Table
Food.
Thermos
The Box of Food
Bread
Fridge
Milk
Lunch meat
Cheese
Drinks
Water Bottle Small Fridge
FREEZER STEAKS IN BAG Onions.
Cameron Stuff.
Camera
CD
Toys, footy, Buzz.
OTHERS
TORCH...
Reply By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Sunday, Oct 26, 2003 at 22:40
Sunday, Oct 26, 2003 at 22:40
Truckster,
You are way too organised for me : )
I have a habit of having to purchase "little things" that have been forgotten whenever we go away. I try and keep all my gear in plastic tubs that just have to be put in the back of the vehicle and off we go.
I have tried putting lists together, but as yet have had no luck. I have looked at the lists on this site, but I can never understand how David and Michele can fit everything in!
PS: What are the hooters for, or shouldn't I ask? I would have thought that you already had that covered in the Playboy magsJust Do It!
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 26, 2003 at 22:44
Sunday, Oct 26, 2003 at 22:44
Thats a check list, who says its what we take !LMAO
we are like you, buyin things as we go along usually, this time I want to "TRY" to have my bleep together.
Follow Up By: patrol88 - Sunday, Oct 26, 2003 at 22:46
Sunday, Oct 26, 2003 at 22:46
You forgot the wife so she can do everything as we relax with the beer. [only joking] last we went
camping left the gas bottle behind. Thankgod for open fires.
Follow Up By: Mickl - Sunday, Oct 26, 2003 at 22:59
Sunday, Oct 26, 2003 at 22:59
"You forgot the wife so she can do everything as we relax with the beer"
OMG no beer on list!!... only option is to leave the wife home to make room for the beer....
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 26, 2003 at 23:02
Sunday, Oct 26, 2003 at 23:02
Not a big beer drinker, beer is for the ladies. j/k
Id rather spirits... less to carry! can fit more in. Ive drunk 24 beers many times in my youth, but lets see someone drink 24 bottles of Spirits!
Less hangover with spirits too...
Agree with the woman thing, but why take the wife? Go
camping to get away from all of that....
Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 07:45
Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 07:45
Trucky..All organised people make lists
I like the "Cameron Stuff" entry....I can understand that...on my list though..I've got "Al stuff, Tegan Stuff, Callum Stuff"...ahahahha...I usually forget "Lyn Stuff"
no playboys mags though..more likely to have "restored cars" or something like that....
and apart from the stuff you had I'd usually pack a couple of books to read too...
Lyn [Mrs. Al]
nemo me impune lacessit
Memorial Cross - Mt Macedon Vic
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 08:12
Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 08:12
Spade................................
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 14:59
Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 14:59
Settle Gary, Im White remember :P
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 19:38
Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 19:38
Yeah, white as a snowflake, eh??
Reply By: Member - Cocka - Sunday, Oct 26, 2003 at 23:52
Sunday, Oct 26, 2003 at 23:52
You'd probably think I was as boring as all ...... if you saw my list.
I keep it as a spread sheet in the computer and its got everything detailed almost down to the last spare nut and bolt. Reason being that I hate getting somewhere and find that I've left some essential behind. It's too hard to remember everything so if it's written down saves me having to worry about remembering. Just print out a copywhen needed.
We don't always take everything on the list, depends on where and for how long we go away. Take the list and add bits as you go or scratch off what you finish up never needing then update the list when you return.
Willie posted a good list a few weeks back but his wagon is always packed ready to go lucky b.....
Have you got a Versa light ?? Best thing since they invented vegemiteCarpe Diem
Follow Up By: Wazza (Vic) - Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 07:18
Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 07:18
Not boring mate, that's what I do. Put it on a spreadsheet, and keep updating it. Boring is when you forget to pack the fishing rod.... If it is on the list and ticked off, it is in the truck.Cheers,
Wazza
----------------------
Follow Up By: Wazza (Vic) - Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 07:33
Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 07:33
Actually, being a good bloke, I have put it here for everyone to use abuse and criticise. Most trips I take about half of what is on the list, but it jogs my memory into not forgetting a lot of stuff.
http://www.geocities.com/cruiserpics/campinglist/Camping-Checklist.xls
Wazza
----------------------
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 14:50
Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 14:50
Cocka,
Versalight, bought one today... got them to throw in a
Southern Cross Tent, Fly and sidepole kit while I was there :D
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 15:06
Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 15:06
Wazza, so you run a B Double with that Check list? :)~
Follow Up By: wazza - Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 17:30
Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 17:30
Truckster,
Always go prepared! ... I take about half of all that crap.... cross the things off I don't need and tick the ones once they're in.
Reply By: Steve - Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 01:03
Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 01:03
Why would Truckster take a wife when he is only a wanker with copy of Playboy ?
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 14:47
Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 14:47
Ah so never thrown one off the backhand Steve?
yea, suppose you never lied either?
Reply By: Member- Rox - Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 01:50
Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 01:50
I am like Cocka,
Camping List
Camper trailer
Torch
Fluro Light
Axe
Shovel
Water
Generator
Extension lead
Extension cord 12 volt
Ladder
4-pin plug
Broom
Cooking
Fridge
BBQ Plate
Wood
Camp Oven
Saucepans
Gas bottle
Gas Stove
Table
Chairs x4
Fire lighters
Big Shovel
Fishing
Fishing Rods
Reals
Tackle
Rod holders (sand)
Bait
Boat/Sails/Rudder/Lifejackets
Boogie Boards
Crab Pots/scoop
Goggles Flippers &
Snorkel
Sleeping
Bedding
Pillows
Sleeping Bags
Camp Beds
Cloths
Hot & cold & wet weather
Bathers
Beanie/sun hat
Car
Oil/coolant/Break fluid
Fuel
Air compressor/ gage
Snatch strap
Tools
Maps/ Books
Tyre deflators
Every Day Items
Toilet Paper+ milk containersx2
Camera/film
Charge mobile phone
Pack of cards
TOILETRIES
Hand soap
Nail clippers
Emory board
Bar of soap
Sard soap
Washing line
Soov/eurax
Tissues
Betadine/saline/gauze/cotton wool
Needles / Bepanthen
Hand towel
Minimal hand/ body lotion/face
Blistex
Toiletries Bag
KITCHEN
Chux
2 tea towels
1 beetroot container
Scrub bud
Matches
Serrated knife
Can opener
Bottle opener
Dishwashing liquid
Metal/Plastic egg slice
Potato peeler
Tongs
Wet ones
Paper towels
Alcohol
Garbage bags
Glad seal bags/ freezer bags
Outside dustpan and brush
Marsh mellows
5lt
water cooler
Washing powder
Good knives +sharpener
Foil
Stubbie holders
Wooden spoon
Slotted spoon
Serving spoon
Cooking spray
Dairy soft in rectangle container
FOOD
Soft drinks 1/ day
Sausages
Mince
Lamb chops
Roast
Marsh mellows
Crackers 3 boxes
Leggo meat sauce
Tuna 100g tins
Pikelet mix
Packet cake
Bread mix + Yeast
Cereal
Heat beads
Matches in plastic container
Lighters
No beetroot
No Dips
No yoghurt
1x2l Milk
1x2l H20
1x2l OJ
Gravox
Backed Beans
All on list and take what we need for this trip . We dont have to think then we just go to the shed & get it. Hope this helps Rox
Have 4WD will Explore
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 15:07
Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 15:07
Rox, so you run a B Double with that Check list? :)~
Reply By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 14:05
Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 14:05
Hooters is his wife or else several packets of........................ne cede malis
Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 16:32
Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 16:32
I've taken to carrying a fire blanket in addition to the extinguisher these days as
well.
Reply By: diamond(bendigo) - Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 20:59
Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 20:59
going away this weekend heres our list so far.
camp gear
2x flouro lights
shovel
tents x 3
poles/pegs/ropes
genny
chairs x 6
hammer
recovery gear
tarps x4
torches
gas bottle
jerry can
water bottle x2
sleeping bags x3
extention leads x lots
matress x 3
pota loo
shower tent
toilet tent
doonas x 6 pillows x 12
towells x 12
camper van
microwave
tv
dvd
stereo.
hygene.
loo paper
soap
shampoo
conditioner
deo
brush
toothpaste
tooth brushes
buckets
wasyh line
tea towels
scourer
dish liquid
rubbish bags.
first aidfirst aid kit
insulin
ventolin
happy pills
losec
mylanta
panadol
betadine
cough madacine
stuff
digital cam
video cam
dvd screens x3
battaries
chargers
light globes
coooking
portable gas stove
veg peeler
can opener
sauce pans
frying pans
tongs
egg flip bread board
bowls
spoons
knives
forks
bowls
plates
food
tomatoe sauce
cheese
cordial
chips bikies
spuds
onoins
vegies
gravy
wheet bix
corn flakes
tin fruit
fresh fruit
uht milk x 12
bread
rolls
burgers
schnitzel
snags
chicken pieces
pasta
marg
oil
steak.
bourbon x 5
coke by 12 litres.
and this was just the list we wrote out tonight so there will be heaps more.
back by popular demand
:-)
Follow Up By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 22:24
Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 22:24
Diamond, YOUR IN BIG TROUBLE No Glayva for your mum.
I didn't realise Wood's Point was that big to take all that stuff lol
Have a great weekendne cede malis
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 17:28
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 17:28
Thats enough to supply the town of
Woods point for 2 years...
Woods Pt
Population : 40ish!
Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 18:10
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 18:10
Des...don't worry, his mum's packing her own Glayva...nemo me impune lacessit
Memorial Cross - Mt Macedon Vic
Reply By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 21:56
Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 21:56
I think from looking at those lists Rox and Diamond, you need to sell your campers and hook your houses up and tow them. Gee, they say us women are bad at packing everything but the kitchen sink, but I think you fellas leave us standing.................. LOL
Hey truckster, you havn't got
toilet paper and soap and shampoo and tooth brush/paste and towel on your list..........oops and deodorant..............but more importantly don't forget your
first aid box....................
KarenKind Regards
Karen & Geoff
(Happy holidaying)
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 17:27
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 17:27
Karen, Bog roll never leaves the car! its on the transfercase lever, and firstaid kit lives under passnagers
seat!
Thanks for the thoughts though...
Reply By: diamond(bendigo) - Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 22:33
Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 22:33
well guys and gal, you try taking four back by popular demand
Follow Up By: diamond(bendigo) - Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 22:35
Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 22:35
wonderful kids, a dog, a hubby....the bourbon is
mine, and the panadol is mr diamonds after packing this lot he sure has one helluva headache..
back by popular demand
Reply By: Hilly - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 01:33
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 01:33
.... and a paper...... and a sock.
Reply By: Mick - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 10:04
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 10:04
Hey truckster, this is what i take!
BEER
fridge
food
BEER
cooking stuff
clothes
BEER
spare parts
condoms
BEER
recovery stuff
tools
BEER
swag
and our battery charger!
Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 11:30
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 11:30
similair to wozza but in a clear folder i just mark with a texta check then take what is needed depending on kids , days and what is available at
camp sites?
too involved and anal .
but mum got me in to this habit at 17 still doing it 15 years later.
1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
2 awestruck kids (dads driving!)
Reply By: duncs - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 12:15
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 12:15
Hey All,
This may sound really boring but here is what we do.
All the basic
camping gear, lights, bedding, cooking gear etc. is stored in the camper in plastic tubs, all the time.
For spares etc. I have a basic kit, hoses, belts, fuses and the like, stored in containers to fit in the storage system. I built the storage system to carry all the essentials, spares, tools, recovery and
first aid gear. If there is a space in the system, then something is missing.
I have a reasonably good but compact tool kit that lives in the shed till we go on a trip, then it goes in the car.
When we are away we take note of things that need to be replaced and do that when we get home. So next time we are going away its just a quick check as we load the car and off we go.
Yeah, sometimes we find we forgot something but I'll bet that happens to everyone.
Oh yeah, food and clothes. Depending on the length of the trip it takes about half an hour to raid the kitchen and wardrobes. For longer trips we may need a trip to the
supermarket.
For our last trip, 3 weeks Central Aus and the Simpson it took about a week to pack but that included building the storage system and a carrier for the high lift. Next time 2 days max.
Reply By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 18:39
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 18:39
It's a bit easier for us because the bulk of our stuff goes in the campertrailer and lives there between trips. So mostly it's just a matter of remembering to put clean bedding, personal items and food in. Having said that, since travelling with our little'n in tow, there seems to be so much more to remember so for at least a week or two before each trip I keep a pen and paper on
the bench and create a list as I think of things. Our next trip is hopefully 8 weeks in the
Kimberley with a 3 yr old and 3 mth old so we'll need to be extra prepared for that one. With that in mind, just like Cocka and Wazza, I've started compiling a spreadsheet list. Idea is that before every trip we'll just print off a copy and go over it. Depending on where we're heading, for how long and with whom, we won't need to take everything on the list but hopefully it'll save us from forgetting stuff.
Another thing I've started doing over the last few years is menu planning. In the past I used to just toss in this or that, different meats etc and sort of wing it from there. Now however, I decide what meals I'm likely to prepare and create a shopping list from there.
:o) MelissaPetrol 4.5L GU Patrol &
Camprite TL8 offroad camper
Reply By: Member - Eskimo - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 07:43
Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 07:43
Truckster, wheres ya tooth brush!!!Wow! am I cute
If yer ain't fishing, Yer ain't livin