nissan 3.otd intercooled

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 20:02
ThreadID: 81091 Views:4524 Replies:10 FollowUps:22
Hello everyone.

I have just bought a GU 2 9.2000 model patrol 3.0 litre turbo diesel.

Im getting the whole motor rebuilt. So what im wandering is what fuel economy could i roughly expect from this motor. im a normal everyday sort of driver no lead foot.

Reply By: patsproule - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 20:52

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 20:52
So it grenaded before you bought it? Guess you got it for a song. Head on over to patrol 4 x 4 forums and the answer to your question, and a whole lot more, will be revealed.

Cheers - pat
AnswerID: 429134

Follow Up By: reddeer - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 20:59

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 20:59
As a matter of fact no it didnt granede before i bought it. It was running fine but due to the problem they have ive decided to rebuild the motor before it did.

and besides the grenade problem was because some people failed to reconise the symptons before it did grenade.
FollowupID: 699863

Follow Up By: howesy - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 21:31

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 21:31
Bloke from work made that very statement to me about 3 years ago about it being all about people not recognising symptoms and acting on them and he added properly maintained is the key because he's "ran like a dream"

he rebuilt it six months ago.

I reckon it helps but in the end luck of the draw comes into it
FollowupID: 699866

Follow Up By: howesy - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 21:33

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 21:33
hope yours turns out to be a good one.
This article goes into a lot of prevention techniques

http://users.on.net/~aschulze/ZD30/ZD30%20Y61%20Reference%20Document%20-%20Colour.pdf
FollowupID: 699867

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 02:39

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 02:39
"It was running fine but due to the problem they have ive decided to rebuild the motor before it did"

out of curiousity what are you going to rebuild differently as a prevention?
FollowupID: 699875

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 02:41

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 02:41
sorry forgot to ad-

I was under the impression it was the ancilliary equipment that has caused the problem rather than the long motor itself?
FollowupID: 699876

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 20:58

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 20:58
Low 11's on the open road, 14's around town and towing something reasonably light.

OBT
AnswerID: 429135

Follow Up By: tim_c - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 00:01

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 00:01
I'm glad one person could provide a useful response that actually addressed the question that was asked! :-)
FollowupID: 699873

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 02:37

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 02:37
Didnt the very first response provide a useful piece of info on where to find what you were looking for?
FollowupID: 699874

Follow Up By: garrycol - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 10:33

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 10:33
Well maybe if you just asked what fuel consumption you will get from a 3 litre diesel you would have got that information. But you added you have just got this, you added rebuilding etc etc etc all unnecessary information to the question.

In view of the grenade issues you have to expect people to explore this and ask questions/provide comment. You opened the door on this issue - not the respondents.

I have to agree - unless the damage has already been done there is little point rebuilding the problem relates to issues related to engine management, lubricants, engine monitoring. Remember the Nissan dual cab has the same engine with different hang on bits and it does not go bang.

History shows you may have the same issue if you just rebuild the engine.

Garry
FollowupID: 699903

Follow Up By: just - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 18:17

Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 18:17
WOW!! "low 11's on the open road" that's amazing! You must travel EXTREMEY sedately... I'm on my second GU and at best I've ever got is 12.5 travelling at 85 to 90 kicks per hour. I usually get 13 to 14 fully loaded at 100 to 110 kiicks.
FollowupID: 700043

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 19:25

Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 19:25
No, just normal cruising at or about the limit. Mine is an Auto, which has longer legs than the manual, not sure what you have. Getting low 8's out of my new D4 3.0 which is the best I've heard too, maybe it's the BP?

OBT
FollowupID: 700049

Reply By: broometime - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 22:08

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 22:08
+6i am sick of hearing about 3liters moters.i have 2005 patrol never missed a beat . just returned from kalumburu.love it .while there heard 6 200 series toyota carted out ther on trucks. could not handle the bad road.thought about trading to new toyota but now willwait for the nissin.
AnswerID: 429141

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 22:19

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 22:19
A mate of mine runs a fleet of 200 series, so you are talking BS, his first one came of the first run into OZ.

The grenade speaks volumes for Nissan and the car they put it in.

I suggest you troll some were else.
FollowupID: 699869

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 22:34

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 22:34
broometime,
I "heard" from a friend of his mothers son it was 6 200 series Toyota's that carted out the 6 dud nissans?

looks like 'GoBush' just may be correct :)

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 699871

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 06:48

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 06:48
3GoBush posted:
"The grenade speaks volumes for Nissan and the car they put it in. "

Sorry.... I disagree. It speaks volumes about the ZD30 engine. The car they put it in doesn't have the issues. The engine does!

And although the 200 is a nice car, personally I wouldn't take one too far outback. Too many electronics!

FollowupID: 699879

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 09:01

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 09:01
And what about the dual mass flywheel, 5th gear issue (some early models), drivers seat rocking, seat belt retraction.... Mmmm, think I will stick with my 200 :) And yes, I have now had both, one for 5 years and the other for 2 1/2 years and I know what I prefer :) I remember when people complained about that new fangled fuel injection and how it would never be as reliable as a carburettor.... some people just don't trust technology - not that it doesn't have its problems!

FollowupID: 699888

Follow Up By: Axle - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 18:27

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 18:27
LOL!! Captain , What about electronic ignition replacing points?

Same old crap way back then, Somethings never change.

FollowupID: 699946

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 19:19

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 19:19
I just KNEW there was someone on here with a 200..... sorry Captain, I forgot it was you! ;-))

I had also forgotten all the other issues with the 3.0L...... I guess 'cos there's so much attention on the engine. So thanks for the reminder!! ;-))

I don't trust technology much I'm afraid..... recently in the outback I saw a very new 4wd.... (no name mentioned, as I don't thinks it is a brand thing rather than an electronics issue) which the electronic suspension had had a hissy fit. This caused the car to be raided on the passenger side whilst lowered (or at normal level... I'm not sure) on the drivers side. (I helpfully suggested he put 35" muds on the drivers side only to counter act it...)

Also I heard from another guy in Birdsville that his 4by wouldn't start because the alternator was faulty, and the computer saw that so wouldn't start the engine. Again, doesn't matter the make, it's a case of too much electronics, I fried my alternator in my (basic) 4by and was able to drive it into Birdsville for repairs. For close to town sort of camping/travels etc.... I'd have a later model in a flash, but for remote stuff, I'll hang out as long as I can.

Have a good day!

FollowupID: 699952

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 19:20

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 19:20
raided..... huh???? Shoulda used spell check Brian.......

It should read "raised"

FollowupID: 699954

Follow Up By: Nutta - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 20:31

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 20:31
Jeez captain, you're going back ten years on some of that stuff, time to get over it!
FollowupID: 699969

Reply By: patsproule - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 05:36

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 05:36
Boy you lot are touchy! I pointed the OP to what is probably the #1 resource for Patrols. Sure, I used the "G" word, which for rhyme or reason has become the ZD30 nickname.

By the way - there is a workshop that sells long motors (less ancillaries) on ebay for $4,700 odd + $500 deposit on the old motor, plus rebuild kits for $1500ish. Supposedly they are turning over 10 a week. ALmost sounds too good to be true. Some nissan dealers have specials on genuine long motos for about $7000. Other rebuilds have been quoted by dealers at $15,000+.

Enjoy your Patrol - Pat
AnswerID: 429150

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 06:55

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 06:55
Out of genuine curiosity, did you think about putting a different engine in? I know most people head for the Chev 6.5, but I understand that they are "old" tech? (being "old" tech myself, I would probably be persuaded to use a Chev.) for instance, I know that Project TONI on this forum is a Patrol with a Toyota turbo diesel. Just wondering if maybe there's a different option than rebuilding the ZD30?

I'm sorry, I can't answer your fuel consumption questions, but as I understand it from people I know that own them, quite economical!

AnswerID: 429153

Reply By: Member - Geoff H (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 09:14

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 09:14
There is a bloke in FNQ with a Great Patrol with a 4 Litre Toyota petrol engine in it, he loves it, best of both worlds.

I would advise you to look on the Patrol site because the Patrol diesel does have some problems, which you can control somewhat with the right mods.

Just do a search first because they are very touchy about the subject on there. I was thinking about buying a Patrol and it looks like the engines after about 2005 don't have so many problems. Maybe a newer engine would suit.

I'm personally waiting for the new model. I currently have an 80 Series so it will keep going for a while yet.

AnswerID: 429162

Reply By: Member - Tricky Dicky (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 14:23

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 14:23
Hi Reddeer

i have an 05 model and use 10 lts per 100klm, when i tow the jayco 2350kilos i use 17 lts per 100klm which is not to bad. Just take it easy,and service every 5000, good luck!

Dick
AnswerID: 429182

Reply By: Nutta - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 20:36

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 20:36
Mines an 03 auto with 35s, dtronic chip, racks, bars , drawers and full as a boot using around 15/100, reasonable considering.

Some on patrol4x4.com get 10/100, lucky buggers!

Cheers Wayne
AnswerID: 429222

Reply By: Nic I - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 09:22

Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 09:22
One of the Patrol4x4 guys has a 3L auto and with some inexpensive modifications it gets as low as 8.5L/100km running light. Fully loaded, but not towing, he gets 11's. His mods also help avoid the potential engine problems.

AnswerID: 429246

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 02:43

Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 02:43
well he'll be a millionaire shortly then!
FollowupID: 700085

Reply By: booboobabs - Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 23:34

Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 23:34
Well my two cent worth..... I listened to the debate, I made a careful decision I borrowed a lot more than I should but I finally got that nice shiny new(ish) 4wd. I knew they had issues and needed a few extra gauges and small mods...I never got a chance.
My Nissan Patrol GU 3lt TD lasted me 13 days it granaded on its first trip out of Sydney up Mooney MooneyHill. Now I need to find 9 grand more I don't have. The Warranty people will not pay a cent as they say my mechanic has not done enough work to source the "cause of the failure" (so far he has done $900 of stripping down and they only pay out $2000 max any way.) I am well and truly down about it. I feel well ripped off. A fool and his money they say......Im off to sit in a dark place and mope now.
A very sad Peter & Rudo.
AnswerID: 432140

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2010 at 09:14

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2010 at 09:14
I'm very sorry to hear of your problems. For the record, what is the year model /K's and what were the gauges reading when she went? Manual/Auto?

OBT
FollowupID: 702961

Follow Up By: booboobabs - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2010 at 23:56

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2010 at 23:56
Ok it was a 2000 ZD30 auto 230000Kms on the clock, bought from a dealer full service history log books, single owner country car clean straight no alterations, no hits scratches etc etc. Plenty of dust in hidden holes and corners underneath the only clue to any sort of "Tough work" potentially done. As it was the first road trip we were being very easy, no weight on board no heavy load behind or on top, no trailer, surfboard on roof. I was watching the gagues like a hawk (all well within expected range) for any clues to potential dramas as I had now learned of the reputation-Granade. Driving at 100Kmph up Mooney Mooney hill a in the left lane going slower than the prevailing traffic a car maybe 400m jammed on the breaks and hit the one in front so I braked heavily as well straight away loud hiss lots of oil spurting out front and back and ugly black smoke total loss of power. Limped round the prang ahead and crawled maybe 300m to a lay-by / emergency phone. Home on the NRMA tow truck.
Im open to ideas are Nissan helpful at all?
Peter & Rudo
FollowupID: 703024

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2010 at 09:33

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2010 at 09:33
Sure sounds like she has blown although given the circumstances make sure the obvious have been checked (Turbo hose not split or blown off etc). The 2000's seem more trouble prone than the others. As mentioned earlier, there is heaps of info on Patrol4X4.com A search of the archives will reveal a firm in Melbourne that does a re-build for about $5K, or if your mechanic is up to it you can get a re-build kitfor $1,700 I suspect Nissan (or any other manf. for that matter) will be much use to you with a 10yr old +200K vehicle.

Once again, sorry to hear about your troubles..
OBT
FollowupID: 703040