Is it true???

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 20:11
ThreadID: 81156 Views:7087 Replies:13 FollowUps:19
I have heard that "some" caravan parks will charge you extra for electricity bills if you are running an air con, heater etc the majority of the time. Is this correct and how often has this happened to you if so ??

Reply By: kend88 - Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 20:20

Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 20:20
I haven't experienced it myself, as we don't have air con, but have heard of it. I think it is probably a good thing, I don't want to be subsidising those who run their air cons virtually 24/7. They should be made to pay for it themselves, rather than everyone else in the park having to pay higher caravan park fees so the park can remain financially viable.
May as well stay at home if you are going to be stuck inside the van all of the time.
kenD
bris
AnswerID: 429460

Reply By: Notso - Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 20:30

Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 20:30
It was more common back when there was an extra Inlet plug for the Air Con on the vans. Now that the Air Cons are more efficient, draw less current, I haven't seen it for years.
AnswerID: 429463

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 20:31

Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 20:31
Hi. Up until about 5 years ago our regular park charged extra on an honors system but no one was ever honest so they introduced a one scale increase that every site now pays. This was for regular on site vans/cabins but for casual/camper sites they are charged a normal site with power. Bob

AnswerID: 429464

Reply By: Tony LEE - Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 20:35

Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 20:35
Depends on what premium is charged for hook-ups. Some places only charge a couple of dollars for electricity so it might be reasonable to charge extra if AC is used.

We rarely use parks but we did strike one in a small town - part of the showgrounds - that wanted $5 extra to use the AC. Since it was late in the day when we got there and we were going to be gone mid morning, it certainly would have been a rip-off.

Don't see how they can check on heater use though. Maybe it would be like a landlady I had in Sydney 40 years ago who banned radiators and who used to let herself in as soon as I left for work and check whether the radiator was warm.

My view is it should be user pays and they would need to do what some european parks do and install a computerised central monitor to charge for actual electricity use.
AnswerID: 429466

Follow Up By: Ianw - Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 21:42

Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 21:42
Why would $5 for 17 hours (5pm to 10am) of aircon use be a rip off? An aircon of 2.4kW would use (assuming running all the time) 2.4kW x 20c x 17hours = $8.16 worth of power !! Can't expect the parks to pay it ! Especially in the Showgrounds where you probably only paid $10 - $15 max.
A heater is different; nobody can have a heater going flat chat in a van for very long, unless you are red, have pointy ears and carry a fork !

FollowupID: 700230

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 09:37

Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 09:37
Ian...I think the 2.4 kW you are refering to is actually 2.4kWr (kilowatts refrigeration which is the nominal heating or cooling capacity of the unit ..rough rule of thumb ...about 1HP) and has nothing to do with watts or energy consumed....

a 2.4kWr unit would use somewhere around 930watts input or 0.9kWh

A nominal 6kWr (nominal 2hp) Aircon uses somewhere around 2800 watts or 2.8kWh

at around 20cents per kW per 24 hours it would cost around $4.50/day for a
1hp unit running flat out all day...but would vary between makes models etc etc

you would need to factor any other revelant stuff such a off peak etc etc

i think my figures are near the ballpark
FollowupID: 700257

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 09:46

Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 09:46
further Ian..an electrical radiator (elec heater) is not as efficient as a reverse cycle aircond.

eg
a one bar radiator (generally 1 kw) would pull 1kWh if left on for 1 hour

A 2.4kWr reverse cycle aircon will pull 930 watts per hour....

BUT look at the HEAT OUTPUT...the 1 bar elec radiator only gives you 1kW of heat while the AC gives will give you around 2.4kW of heat...for around the same running cost
FollowupID: 700259

Follow Up By: Ianw - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 19:40

Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 19:40
If you noticed, I wasnt referring to kWhr, which is purely a theoretical number.

My van has a small, almost useless Electrolux a/c fitted. Cooling output is quoted at 3000W (3kWhr in your terminology) but the actual power drawn is 1200W, (5 amps). So, 1200W x 24 hrs = 28.8 ahrs. ( x 20c = $5.76)

Therefore if we look at a van/mh with a decent a/c we will assume a 2400W actual power drawn, i.e. 57.6 ahrs per 24 hours. (nearly $12/day)

I wish people would stop confusing kw with kwh!! Quoting yourself

"A 2.4kWr reverse cycle aircon will pull 930 watts per hour". No !! It will pull 930 watts all the time it is on. It will consume .93kwh per hour or nearly $5 worth of electricity per day. The original poster was complaining about being charged $5 a day.
If you have an a/c large enough to actually be of use, then you will use more than $5 per day ! Have a look at some of the larger vans and motorhomes ! Some of them have 2 large a/c fitted.

In regards to a/c heating I agree that it is the cheaper option. Thats why is is classed as "solar" system. (you are not actually making heat, you are just removing existing heat from the air.) I have just fitted a Heat Pump hotwater system to my house. It works on the same principle. 250 litre, rated 1.2kW, but ony draws about 650W power. And qualifies for the Govt rebate for solar HWS!

BTW, my a/c in the van has a heating function too. But it is not R/C. It actually has a heating element in the airflow. It will pop the 15 Amp cct breaker if started on HIGH. So it draws a lot of current; more than $5 per day !!

FollowupID: 700320

Follow Up By: Ianw - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 20:15

Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 20:15
Grab yourself one of these. Will check voltage, frequency and will indicate power useage in watts, total kwh used, current being drawn, power factor, and total cost if you enter the unit price.
Handy gadget, but limited to 10A (2400W)

FollowupID: 700325

Follow Up By: Ianw - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 20:19

Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 20:19
Sorry, forgot to add the link

http://www.crazysales.com.au/doss-mains-power-meter_p15239.html

FollowupID: 700327

Follow Up By: Ianw - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 20:22

Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 20:22
Sorry, I will do it differently
powermeter

FollowupID: 700329

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 08:24

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 08:24
If you noticed Ian I didnt refer to kWhr either...no such thing as far as I know

kWh , kW or kWr...all with different meanings

930 watts per hour input is the same as .93kWh...I would have thought you would have been able to determine that it would need to run 1 hour to do that?..but I guess I was wrong..duh!

Bloody big aircon if you have a 6kWr system installed in your van..must be a big van I guess...your statement was open to interpretation that you were citing nominal unit sizes for most caravans on the road ..ie a 2.4 - 2.7kWr split system would be around the norm for most vans...but bigger vans do need bigger units...maybe if you had 2.7kWr Daikin split system unit you'd find things different, than that crappy Electrolux thing...lol

"Thats why is is classed as "solar" system. (you are not actually making heat, you are just removing existing heat from the air"
????

let me put you straight...
Firstly...they are not solar systems.....they are air to air heat exchangers
...they do not absorb Solar Radiation!!!

and yes..... They Do Make HEAT!...they extract heat from (let us use heating mode as the example) from the cold outside air even when its zero degrees and let us assume for the sake of this explanation that, that amount is 1 unit...then thru the compression cycle, it, the heat absorbed by the refrigerant from the outside coil, is superheated, and thus gives us >2.7 units of heat, this gives us more heat than just the energy input (electricity consumption)

Disclaimer.....2.7 was the minimum required to meet MEPS in most states to my knowledge..I think its more now..i know it is in SA
FollowupID: 700363

Follow Up By: Ianw - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 19:37

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 19:37
Some quotes from your post

" yes..... They Do Make HEAT "

I say "no they dont MAKE heat"

And you say "they extract heat from the cold outside air " YES, I agree !! (or HOT outside air)

This is why they are so efficient. Electricity is used only to transfer the heat from the air to the water, not to generate heat.

Solar energy (heat) is transferred from the sun to the air. A heatpump system (or reverse cycle A/C) then extracts this heat from the air, concentrates it and puts it where it is needed. This is why it is classed as a type of SOLAR energy.

The original heatpump HWSs actually had solar collectors on the roof. They eventually realised that they didn't need them, so they were discontinued.

Any way I got paid $35 each for 30 RECS generated by my HWS. And I got $600 rebate from the Govt for installing a Solar HWS. For $1650 I will call it a solar system !!

And 930 Watts is a reading of the power being drawn at a single point in time ! We use kWhrs to measure the power used over a given time period. e.g. 930 Watts for 1 hour = .93 kWh. I dont argue with your maths, just your terminology.

FollowupID: 700391

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 20:25

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 20:25
"This is why they are so efficient. Electricity is used only to transfer the heat from the air to the water, not to generate heat."

mmm we aint talking about water with an aircon for a caravan, so I am thinking you mean air to air heat exchange and not air to water.. if so
then " This is why they are so efficient"...no no no the energy is only used to drive the compressor which causes the outside coil to.....oh heck you aint going to comprehend and or understand this......

what makes the motor go round to make the compressor pump ...electricity...it is during the compression cycle that the refrigerant is super heated and thus we get more heat...how many times do I have to say it...some people just do not listen (read)

"Solar energy (heat) is transferred from the sun to the air. A heatpump system (or reverse cycle A/C) then extracts this heat from the air, concentrates it and puts it where it is needed. This is why it is classed as a type of SOLAR energy."

hahahaha...pardon me Ian....but what happens at night ...no solar radiation so the aircon cant work can it...reminds of the Irish astronaut who was being sent to the sun...he objected saying that he would be burnt to a cinder...mission control said he nothing to worry about cos they were sending him at night

"The original heatpump HWSs actually had solar collectors on the roof. They eventually realised that they didn't need them, so they were discontinued." ...why? it would have been cheaper to run than running a heat pump!! duh!!!
the more you open you mouth the more illogical the info you come out with!!!

As i said above you just do not understand the principals of boyles law and and and .....whoever the other two wizards were, who figured out the theory of refigeration and which was put into practice....

go back to school Ian...or better still go do an apprenticeship in aircon refrigeration and then do get the Advanced Diploma in Refrigeration and Air conditioning so that you and I are on the same level....it aint to late to stop learning ya know

FollowupID: 700399

Follow Up By: Ianw - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 20:53

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 20:53
We are obviously talking on two different levels here. Step up, or back off , eh?

Finished

FollowupID: 700403

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 20:36

Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 20:36
Yes....I have seen it before but it usually applies to long residents...we stayed for 6 weeks at the same park and it did not apply to us, but I remember while I was there I saw people come in with meter readings and pay for the power they used.
I seem to remember that most were there for 3 to 4 months at time.

AnswerID: 429467

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 20:37

Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 20:37
We stayed at the Litchfield Safari Park to see Litchfield NP in NT. They generate their own power and charge extra for those with an air conditioner, whether they intend to use it or not. Fees were $20 for two unpowered, $25 powered and $30 if your caravan has an air conditioner. We chose an unpowered site virtually out in bush on the fringe of the CP and enjoyed our stay there.

AnswerID: 429468

Reply By: Wilko - Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 20:51

Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 20:51
Hi Liveit,

I was told by a caravan park in Torquay that if we used excessive electricity that we would be charged. I enquired how much is excessive and what charge we would be charged but the young girl at reception didnt know. We stayed anyway, cause everything else was booked out, and used a little blow heater but didnt get charged anything.

Dont know how they could have told anyway cause there wasnt any meters on the power outlets and we didnt even use our correct outlet(someone had already hooked up to ours) we found out in the morning.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 429473

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 21:24

Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 21:24
My father is a permanent resident in a c/p. He is a interstate truck driver so away a lot. His neighbour caught out a tourist that unplugged my dads power (clearly site numbered) and hooked theirs up. Leaving fridge and freezer off. Apparently the meter was running full. Bloody thieves they were lucky he didn't catch them.
When we were researching living in Darwin and nth W.A I can remember extra for aircond. Their power is more expensive over there.
FollowupID: 700224

Reply By: Ianw - Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 21:29

Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 21:29
I think it is fair enough to charge extra for airconditioners. When one considers that a van can have a max of a 3.6kW aircon and assuming a cost of 20c per kWh of electricity, this equals 72 cents per hour cost to the park. Assuming a stay of 15 hours (15 x 72c = $10.80) or for 24 hours (24 x 72c = $17.28), I don't see how we can expect the parks to carry this cost. Most vans probably only have a 2.4 kW aircon so the use will be 33% less, but it is still a considerable percentage of a $30 park fee. I may not like it, but I must agree with the "user pays" principle !!

AnswerID: 429476

Follow Up By: bobsabobsa - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 09:22

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 09:22
Hi Ian
3.6kw of electricity to run and aircond is a bloody big aircond, that equates to 15.65amps running let alone start up, current wow.

you are getting mix up with units of heat and units of electricity.

example:
a 6kw daikin ( that's 6kw of heat/cool ) draws 2kw of electricity , which is 8.33amps

3.6Kw air cond (3.6kw of heat or cool ) uses 1.2kw of electricity to run it , which is 5 amps, 1.2kw x 20cents = 24 cents per hour

the aircond should run cycle at 60% on time,and 40% off time once it has got to the desired temp, so calculate from there

Regards Bob
ps: I am a Refrigeration and Airconditioning Mechanic and have also got my A class Electrician Licence.
I have more meters than you can poke a stick at so I can do the calc's

FollowupID: 700416

Follow Up By: Ianw - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 19:59

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 19:59
G'day Bob,
As previously stated my aircon is 3000Watt (cooling) split system Electrolux. It uses 1200W power (5amps) and as you have stated this costs 24c per hour to run. I can guarantee to you that even in my insulated van this a/c runs 100% of the time if the outside temp is above 30 C. So 24 cents x 24 hours + $5.76 per day to run. So my pretty useless a/c uses more than $5 per day. A bigger one will use more.
The original poster was complaining about having to pay $5 per day to use his aircon. I think this is fair enough, seeing as how it costs the park 76c more than that ! The heater in my aircon unit is an electric element of 1500W , so it could use even more power.

My figure of a 3.6 kW unit was based on what is possible to fit to a large van/motorhome with the limit of 15 amps available to vans at the parks. I will bet that some of the bigger units will have huge A/Cs fitted. And will use them!
Heck, I have seen m/hs with 2 big a/cs fitted.
My whole point here is, I guess, that people mostly do not consider how much power they use ! Especially if it is free !!

FollowupID: 700477

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 22:50

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 22:50
"Especially if it is free !! "

where do you get it for free? Only if the site is free, but I really need to know where to find a free site with unlimited power and where its warm enough to need an A/C of 3.6KW in a caravan-cos Im movin there YESTERDAY!
FollowupID: 700496

Reply By: robertbruce - Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 21:42

Sunday, Sep 05, 2010 at 21:42
Some councils and CP's in brisbane are making moves to charge property rates as part of site fees...infact, i know of one cp that has already told it residents, permanant and temps' to expect a rates bill in the future...
AnswerID: 429478

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 09:26

Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 09:26
Yes some still do I cant remember where but one park we stayed in charged extra if you had an air con.( We stayed at about 60 or more on the trip)

Marloo at Carnarvon have two rates depending on your length of stay.

For under a week its X amount per night For a week or more its a lesser per night weekly rate plus power and all the sites have meters.

Ours worked out at about $2 a day but it was wet and cool when we were there.

To those that think you shouldnt need it try Port Augusta at 51deg for two days and Mt Compass 46 for 3 days and you may change your mind.

No shade at either It was so hot we went sightseeing as it was cooler in the car.

As the majority of vans seem to have air it would make more sense to give a small discount to those who dont.

One thing that does P me off is people who have 20 min showers in places with a water shortage.
Totally inconsiderate.
We shower in the van and with a 30lt hot water system can shower in 3 minutes or it runs cold for the second one.

AnswerID: 429508

Follow Up By: Outa Bounds - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 09:57

Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 09:57
Reminds me of a comment from a friend of mine who hasn't finished building her house yet. At the moment they only have a small hot water system and she said it's great because the one thing that makes the kids have quick showers is the water going cold! Good think since they are on a semi rural block and not on town water!

We lived in the caravan park in Norseman for a while, just on a powered site and I know we gott charged for power according to the meter reading (I think we used like $9 a day or something). It would be a good system to implement for everyone really, but then I suppose you would get more thieving buggers too, plugging into others power points!

I know where I live now there are only a couple of permanents in the local CP, but I do recall one lady saying the owner was complaining about people using their heaters too much in the winter (however in this case I believe the weekly fee wasn't all that cheap so yeah). But all in all I think smaller site fees and paying for power separately would probably make more sense.
FollowupID: 700264

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 10:04

Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 10:04
I think however the cost of metering each site would force up site fees anyway as it would be a costly exercise in a large park.

Some old parks could do with an upgrade.

We stayed at Big 4 in Caversham in Perth and turned the aircon on one night and blew the breakers in the board in our area of the park.

From what I could gather was a regular occurance.

FollowupID: 700266

Follow Up By: Outa Bounds - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 10:39

Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 10:39
Yes good point.
We stayed in a park in Perth once too, it was expensive and the neighbour warned us that the site we were on got flooded a few nights before and the tent campers had to vacate. There was like a sewrage drain that was smelling or overflowing near by too. We were in a camper trailer though so it was ok, our stay was pretty good but seemed to be a few issues the park was having, with hot water etc.
Although another generous camper gave us a telly that was given to them and they were finished with, which was great for the kids. We literally had no room to take it with us so left it there for somebody else too.

We are guilty of using a heater in our camper trailer (ceramic radiant thing) because our trip was during the winter and the most freezing night they'd had happend to be when we stayed in Nannup. The kids were little and it was that cold in the morning they were just whingeing and didn't even want brekky, we had to get in the car and go for a drive! The heater had been on all night to keep warm inside the camper.
FollowupID: 700267

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 08:26

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 08:26
ruddy banana grizzler...51 aint hot.......might melt butter and me but its not hot...nice temp for a shower...lol
FollowupID: 700364

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 11:33

Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 11:33
Australian electricity prices are amongst the lowest in the industrialised world, but this is changing and the price will increase substantially, especially when New South Wales starts to upgrade facilities.

A caravan park’s annual electricity bill must be a huge variable and with the huge explosion in power hungry RVs and Caravans, coupled with increasing electricity prices, I suspect caravan parks will become more vigilant in recouping costs.

It will be a case of user pays I suspect........

Cheers, The Landy

AnswerID: 429516

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 11:58

Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 11:58
I've often found the reverse. Sometimes booking in I've asked for a powered site to give my battery a break and run the Engel for a few days. It's the only thing in my vehicle that runs on mains (except a battery charger for the camera).

Quite often the CP owner has seen the old '40, and just said they'd charge me the un-powered rate.
AnswerID: 429519

Reply By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 06:38

Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 06:38
We havent ever been charged extra for the aircon but I reckon if we were it would make us use it even if we didnt think it was hot/cold enough!! lol

I run a small fan heater in preference to using the aircon on heat setting and it cuts in and out all night sometimes if its very cold. Recently we stayed in the Warrumbungles N Pk in NSW and the overnight temp there was below freezing
so we were very glad to have power and heating especially in the mornings.

We have booked into a powered site in a van park to use the aircon and escape from temperatures of 40 degrees though on the odd occasion. Whatever the extra charge is, it is worth paying in my opinion!

Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 429723