Guess what???

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 16:28
ThreadID: 81185 Views:4440 Replies:10 FollowUps:9
Me ( 24 ) my husband (27) and our two Children ( 6 ) and (4 ) are travelling this amazing country of ours and were doing it in style... Very much excited to be living our dream at such a young age... I spose buying and selling property from the age of 17 is helping us financialy but we will still be working along the way, with any luck :-))

And now that is all....

Just wanted to Share my excitment around :-))

Feeeeeel the luuurve

Reply By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 17:55

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 17:55
B..y bonza - what a fantastic education for the kids and adventure for yourselves. You'll have some great memories to look back on in the future and will be forever grateful that you didn't leave it until retirment to take off. Enjoy!
AnswerID: 429615

Reply By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 17:55

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 17:55
Soooo how long have you been on the road, what do you drive ????
Details please :-) (share with us all your secerets)
AnswerID: 429616

Reply By: Ayita5 - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 18:40

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 18:40
I feel it! :) Congrats, it's exciting isn't it! We're in the planning stages of the same thing at present, heading off in March 2011 with three boys, 7, 5 & 1.

Yes, more details please!
AnswerID: 429619

Reply By: AntandNat - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 20:14

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 20:14
We are a family of five - a five, four and two year old getting ready to join you in December. Hard work certainly pays off! Let those who never have a go, never know! Bugger waiting till we are 65years old! Our biggest stress is having the house ready to rent out in three months time! I know once we hit the road it will be awesome.
AnswerID: 429626

Reply By: Trace & Paul - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 21:28

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 21:28
Thanks for sharing!

We also are taking off in early 2011 with 3 kids - 13,10 & 4....... Life is far to short to sit around talking about going...........JUST DO IT i say!!!!!!
AnswerID: 429629

Follow Up By: Ayita5 - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 21:59

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 21:59
Wow, it never ceases to amaze me how many there actually are travelling oz with their kids! I'd love to read your (and those responders above) blogs. I'll certainly be starting one soon (first to cover the caravan renovation, then the actual trip).

Out of interest, where are you all starting from and which direction are you heading? We're leaving Adelaide and going straight up then down the west coast, home for Christmas, then on to Tassie and east coast.

Good luck all, maybe see you on the road. :)
FollowupID: 700406

Follow Up By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 23:08

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 23:08
be careful .... we did it 9 years ago, for a couple of years, yeh right, 9 years later we are still doing it....
It does get harder when the kids get around the 7 to 10 yr old as it is at that stage they need to make permanent friend's and it gets harder to leave one spot and move to a completely new location, you also find you are back tracking a bit to "catch up" with there friends but that is not so bad anyway ....
We started in Tom Price, 18 months at Cygnet Bay pearl farm (Kimberly's), 18M living at Cooinda (Yellow Waters Billabong) Kakadu, Lake Cargelligo, Leeton (NSW), Darwin, Maningrida (Arnhem Land), Bickerton Island (Gulf of Carpentaria) 80-100 people on the whole island, back to Darwin to have baby Number 3, Yarralin in the Vic River Nat Park, Nyirripi down on the Tanimi and now in Doomadgee in QLD and our plans are to work our way up the Cape to the islands over the next few years and get to see QLD ......
Started with a 3 month old, now 10 yr old, 8 yr old and 3 yr old .....
THEY ARE THE luckyest kids in the world .......

In hindsight...... do it when you are YOUNG and if you have kids, when they are YOUNG, 2 months old and they are ready to travel, it is fun for the kids when older but hard to move ...
FollowupID: 700407

Follow Up By: Ayita5 - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 06:47

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 06:47
"be careful .... we did it 9 years ago, for a couple of years, yeh right, 9 years later we are still doing it..."

I'm counting on it! :) My secret plan (sshh) is that we all love it so much we just keep going.

Where do you stay when you stop for extended periods JGD, do you rent?

And you just answered another question I'd been wondering about which was, how long will having another baby (if that happens) stop us in our tracks? Not long, it seems!

FollowupID: 700411

Follow Up By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 21:12

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 21:12
A story for you....... 10 years ago... sitting at home in Tom Price watching the video of the "Big Wet" based on a wet season in Kakadu and i said to my wifey """""one day i will take you there to see it for yourself"""" ( i had already been there), bubs 3m old took a job at Cygnet Bay Pearls for 18m with house (check out there web site) wifey pregs, job at Kakadu came up with accom close to Darwin for birth, took it and moved 3 days after starting wifey had bubs, stayed at Cooinda (Kakadu) for bout 2 yrs took job at Leeton NSW, never seen snow, saw, played rolled snow, moved back to Darwin with job and rented house, hated citys took job at Maningrida Arnhem land for 18m, moved to little island off Groote called Bickerton Island in the gulf of Carpenteria, wifey got pregs again, no idea how ?? moved back to Darwin rented house, bubs no3 few months old and took job at Yarralin in Vic River Nat park with housing, was transferred to Nyirripi down the Tanimi with housing, always talking about going to QLD, position came up at Roadhouse at Doomadgee QLD with 3br house, good schooling ect so took it and that is where we are now.....
The beginning of our new adventure exploring QLD, we plan on working our way up to the cape and out to the islands over the next few (most likely 10) years .......
Regrets..... not doing it sooner when we were younger...
Advice 1 ....... take everything as it comes and be prepaired to radically change your plans at very short notice and at VERY GREAT cost .......
Advice 2 ...... do EVERYTHING with the kids in mind, sometimes that is hard but YOU can change at the drop of a hat, kids can not, if they are not happy wifey will not be happy and daddy will end up NOT happy and that is cr@p ...
Advice 3 ......... when the kids get to 8 and over they need to make "long term" friends and you need to spend time in places for them to do it, in that i mean 1-2 years, they will lose "social" skills if you do not let them spend time learning about friendship/s .....
The hard bit........ to really get out there and enjoy it you will lose contact with a lot of people incluiding your family, they will/may go a bit dark on you for that, they cannot understand why YOU cant come over and see them yet dont seem to think that is the same distance for them to come and see you ..... that will hurt you at some stage/s but it all heals over time ....
And finally ... YOU WIN ..... why? because you will have done it and been there and seen that and your kids will be as tough as nails yet versitile to fit into any situation that comes up in this world and will love you dearly for it .....
Good luck if you still want to do it, you wont regret it in the long run ...
FollowupID: 700487

Reply By: Member - John C (INT) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 22:34

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 22:34
Hope you and your family have a great time, my son that is now 24 still talks about the trips we did as a family. When travelling take the time to stop and smell the flowers even if they don’t smell too good it’s still a memory, safe and happy travels & come home safely. John C
AnswerID: 429631

Reply By: Liveit - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 22:57

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 22:57
Thankyou all SO much for your positive messages..

Life definatly is way to short ( unfortunatly i found out the hard way ) So living our dreams now as we may not be around to to act later in life.

We are starting From Albany ( south w.a ) and heading up north to exmouth, working on the rig for a few months then continuing..

I will be doing distance ed with my darlings through a private school in town here.. It truly is fantastic how many other familys are out there doing it too, and we hope to meet some of you on our travels.

Have a wonderfull night :-))

AnswerID: 429632

Reply By: willem269 - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 17:18

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 17:18
Van/rig/car must remain a secret?
AnswerID: 429676

Follow Up By: Liveit - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 19:59

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 19:59
Nope no secret :-))

Toyota Landcruiser 100 series with a 6.5 Chevy Diesel..

Van is a Coromal Family van 610

:-)
FollowupID: 700478

Follow Up By: TassieD - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 22:05

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 22:05
Good on you. We are 3 weeks into doing the same with a 14yo daughter.

Thats a challenge with distance ed, getting her to do the work. But she's learning a heap more on the road than in a classroom.

She has her own blog which is part of her schoolwork. Its a good way for the kids to learn about how blogs work as well as keeping her friends and family up to date on where we are.

Our only arguments these days are where to next? We also have to keep reminding ourselves to slow down, stop longer in places, theres no hurry.
Also with a Coromal 616s
FollowupID: 700490

Follow Up By: Mark Howlett - Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 21:53

Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 21:53
Would love to see and hear more about your Landcruiser with the Chev!

Mark.
FollowupID: 700595

Reply By: Mark Howlett - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 21:58

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 21:58
Good on you! We did 6 months in 08 with our 2 kids...best thing we've ever done. Here's our website if you're interested. No ads or asking for money like some others about, my wife put it together and paid for 2 years hosting so we can share with others.

Mark.

http://www.howlettsonholiday.com/index.htm

AnswerID: 429710

Follow Up By: Mishy25 - Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 08:09

Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 08:09
Hi Guy's,
Just finished reading your blog...loved every word and photo. You will never forget this experience as a family and it's wonderful that you were brave enough to take this opportunity. Good for you !
FollowupID: 700503

Follow Up By: Mark Howlett - Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 21:51

Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 21:51
Thanks Mishy! Must say I'm impressed you've read the lot, when we were putting it together we were surprised by how many pages we ended up with. The kids are still writing stories about it at school 2 years on; so lucky we had (or made) the opportunity to do it.

Mark.
FollowupID: 700594

Reply By: Member - troy s (WA) - Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 07:48

Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 07:48
Congrats on your new and improved lifestyle
We have just started our travels a month ago, we're from Armadale (south of Perth), we took the Outback Way across, and now as I sit typing are camped up at Archer Point, just south of Cooktown.
Me and wifey are both 30, the little fellas are 2 and 3, and to ad to that, we have 2 dogs.
Sometime it can be a bit hard, but I reckon these days are only when we are rushing a bit to get somewhere, we wanted to spend this season up the Cape, so rushed through a bit through the center of Oz. Still took 3 weeks, but would have been good to take longer.
Enjoy the lifestyle, we're still trying to slow down to it's pace, but it's very nice!
Jo has a blog going, but is mostly just happy family shots, if your keen let me know
Now to get out the rod, and show the boys some fishing!
Troy
AnswerID: 429727