What exacally is a city slicker

Submitted: Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 19:45
ThreadID: 81316 Views:5430 Replies:18 FollowUps:32
After growing up in the city and spending my fair share of time in the bush am i classed a city slicker or is it a name for some who has had a misfortune while travelling and the locals call them a bloody city slicker like there only half a man. I suppose its like when a 5 post bullbar ute with a bundy rum sticker on the rear window is lost in the city and they get labelled a country hick. So what defines a city slicker.

Reply By: Notso - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 19:51

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 19:51
A generic term for one who hails from the big smoke. Generally used when they come to the country and give us gratuitous advice on how we should live our lives. eg most politicians.

from Wickipedia

City slicker, a synonym for fop, is an idiomatic expression for someone accustomed to a city or urban lifestyle and unsuited to life in the country. The term was typically used as a term of derision by rural Americans who regarded them with amusement.
AnswerID: 430214

Reply By: Wilko - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 19:55

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 19:55
Hi Balko,

Sorry I give it to someone from the city who doesn't have much of a clue about the real world (outside the city) lol.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 430215

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 20:12

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 20:12
Sounds like a Politician hehehehe

FollowupID: 701026

Follow Up By: Wilko - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 17:04

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 17:04
Nice work Sir Kev Nice lol.
FollowupID: 701139

Reply By: Axle - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 20:10

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 20:10
Mate their the dead opposite to a country Bumpkin!!......lol.

AnswerID: 430217

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 20:17

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 20:17
Hi Balko

I am msorry but I do not see the relevance. It is a fair question of course, but I have never lived in a city, the biggest town I have ever been to is Broome. I reckon city slickers are great people, as they can share with another world that I have never known, and I happily share mine with them.

Whether we are from the city or the bush, we are all Australian, no matter our background. Lets just get on with looking at this beautiflul country and learning about our flora and fauna.

As the wife knows, with my beard and hair (or lack thereof), I am probably more closely related to the Fauna than other people.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

AnswerID: 430218

Follow Up By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 20:33

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 20:33
Politicions parading around in an Akubra and a Drizabone. Stand out like the proverbial.
(Exempt Bob the cool Kat out of that)
Duke
FollowupID: 701033

Follow Up By: Notso - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 21:52

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 21:52
Yep, sounds like a city slicker to me, muttering platitudes etc.

Us country Bumpkins like to stir up them City Slickers.
FollowupID: 701050

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 23:41

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 23:41
Hi Notso

Speak for yourself there please. I am from the bush, born and raised. Where wqe live there is no mobile phone reception, and my internet is through Activ8 Rural, there is no high speed data and the like.

I don't like stirring anyone as I don't like being stirred. We all have our place and we should be content with that. You want to know where I am from, check my profile, I live about half way between Broome and Alice Springs, in the Great Sandy Desert. I may go to town (Halls Creek or Kununurra) once or sometimes even twice a year, and stay for usually 2 days.

You may be a Country Bumpklin, I am just a man who lives in the bush and allows for all people.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

FollowupID: 701067

Follow Up By: Notso - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 08:00

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 08:00
That's alright mate anyone can sound like a city slicker, obviously you'd fit in well anywhere in Aus EH
FollowupID: 701076

Follow Up By: The Landy - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 13:03

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 13:03
What if the politician is from the country? But I'm with Marc....

....bit like the gearing in a Diff, take part of it away and it will all fail. I suspect Australia is much the same, one can't do without the other... just like they say in the 'classics'..can't live with her, can't live without her. I don't think the city/country divide is all that wide!

Cheers, The Landy
FollowupID: 701099

Follow Up By: Notso - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 14:23

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 14:23
No of course not, we are all the same under the skin, if I am cut do I not bleed!

It's just that motherhood statements give me the willies.
FollowupID: 701112

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 20:42

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 20:42
As much as we use that term to describe those that dwell in the really big towns, they use the term RedNeck for anyone beyond the 100k zone LOL.
So fair is fair, I reckon.

AnswerID: 430226

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 21:22

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 21:22
OUCH

FollowupID: 701041

Reply By: pop2jocem - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 21:42

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 21:42
Is it anything to do with the depth of the genetic pool???.........lol
AnswerID: 430235

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 17:40

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 17:40
Yep,
Especially when it is deep and murky.
Some should not of been allowed to swim in it to start with. LOL

FollowupID: 701238

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 22:01

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 22:01
My thoughts is if you cant do with out running water and electricity for a week your a city slicker.
AnswerID: 430239

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 22:24

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 22:24
Hi Old Girl

From your response you must have been down wind fromm me a couple of times, but I do have a shower once a week whether I need it or not.

WE stayed at an outstaion called Ngaranjadu, out the back of Wangkatjungka for about 4 months. There was no electricity at all, and the water we got in containers about 25 kms away from a fresh, crystal clear and cold creek. Never have my grandkids enjopyed themselves more, and they slept well, tired every night from exploring everything.

We prefer living that way. Unfortunately I still have to buy things, therefore I work for a quid, otherwise we would.

FollowupID: 701055

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 21:04

Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 21:04
I cant do with out our water storage and batteries on the camper though and a running creek. I probably should have said mains town water.
FollowupID: 701364

Reply By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 22:30

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 22:30
mmmmmmmmmmmmmm a "city slicker" ????
Someone who does live in the city..... they "travel" to the country, try hard to be a country bum but still a city slicker......
Of course there are the "wannabe" country hicks that live in the city and spend months even years "travelling" but try as hard as they can they will always be a "city slicker" .....
Very easy to pick, watch for the posts on "cheap fuel", it does get sad when hugh efforts are made to presumably save that little bit of money, take 1.4ty something to 1.6ty something and sit down and really add it up, you saved what $12 whole bucks on 80 odd L of fuel, a real country bumpkin will fill up with great joy at the most friendly place he knows, stuff the price as after all 2 rum n cokes will cost the same and that is country life, we take it as it comes ....
Yeh i will get reply's on how you saved if added up over the 27,000 klm trip but why work if you don't enjoy spending it ....
Don't believe me, check every one that goes on about fuel prices, all city slickers, most simple method of sortin it :-)
AnswerID: 430242

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 23:51

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 23:51
Hi Joe Grace

Every three weeks I travel 45 km's to Balgo to fill 3 x 200 litre drums, 4 x jerry cans and my tank with diesel. In doing so I save over $400-00, so I can understand why people save on fuel when they can. Fuel is 233 cents a litre in Balgo, and 280 cents a litre in Mulan, so yes, it is well worth it.

I don't know what fuel cost when you were at Nyirrpi, but I know it is very cheap when you buy it at the Mine Shop at Yuendumu. To me any price under 200 cents a l;tre is absolute luxury, and I do buy copious amounts whenever I get near a town.

Generalisations are not a good idea my friend. I just went on about fuel prices and I have never lived in a town for more than two days, let alone a city.

FollowupID: 701069

Follow Up By: ob - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 12:46

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 12:46
Marc,Sounds like you need to slip away one dark night from the bloke that is holding a gun to your head and making you stay where you are

ob
FollowupID: 701093

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 17:15

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 17:15
Good one Joe Grace. Too true! A city slicker will always complain about the prices :-) and will never stock up with rations in a country town.

They will also not travel North in the Summer :-) You will never see them in Normanton after September.

Mmmm - Maybe I am heading that way :-)

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 701141

Reply By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 07:49

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 07:49
A city slicker could probably spell 'exactly' so you've got no worries Balko :-)
AnswerID: 430255

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:19

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:19
Touche!
FollowupID: 701124

Follow Up By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 00:23

Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 00:23
And here am I thinkin' it was spelt"Ed Zachary"

;-))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 701278

Reply By: Member - Jo Q (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 09:28

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 09:28
I was born & bred in Sydney & have never lived anywhere else. I take for granted that it will take me 40mins to travel the 15km's to work in peak hour traffic every morning, that we are paying dearly to live in Australia's most expensive city and parking in the CBD is near impossible.

In saying that, I spent 3 months in Europe & the best thing I saw in that time was the Harbour Bridge as we flew into Sydney, there is nothing like watching the NYE fireworks over one of Australia's great icons and relaxing in the beer garden of one of the historic pubs in The Rocks is a great way to spend a Sunday afternoon in summer.

I love travelling & camping & go away at every opportunity I get. I love the ruggedness of our country's coastline, the vastness of the outback, the solitude of the bush and the adventures, mishaps & excitment that travelling & camping brings.

Each to their own I guess - but yes I am a city slicker & proud of it - it's where I was born & bred & know no different, but I also appreciate the diversity that this great country has to offer!

I think we live in the best country in the world - no matter where we were born or live! :)

AnswerID: 430263

Follow Up By: Nargun51 - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 12:34

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 12:34
I grew up in a country town, but have spent my adult life in the city; I still consider my home town as ‘home’, but could never live there; I have grown accustomed to the choice and experiences that city life offers. My tree change life on the outskirts of the city is my compromise.

I often have a similar discussion with friends from my home town; their hourly wage is not as high as mine, but they don’t spend $80.00 and 12 hours per week (sardined into a cattle car) on travel to work, they have a hospital 5 minutes drive away, our nearest one is 25 minutes away, the school their kids attended had smaller class sizes than those my wife teaches and they do not have 1/3rd of the kids where English is not spoken at home. Their crime rate is less as is their stress levels. They spend a bit more on big ticket item, but their local food is better and cheaper

Its swings and roundabouts

The moment we sit smug and self satisfied with our own little bit of Australia and use a narrow minded “us vs. them’ mentality to denigrate others and to reinforce our own egos is the day that Australia goes down the gurgler.

If the second stanza of “My Country” sends shivers down your spine, you have embraced country Australia
FollowupID: 701089

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 12:44

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 12:44
In my view a city slicker is anyone who believes express post next day delivery is actually next day delivery.
Also if you live where you can see the neighbors house you are in the city.

Neil
AnswerID: 430281

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 15:39

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 15:39
I thought that next day delivery was next Wednesday, as we get our mail plane land on Wednesdays, and we therefore get the mail once weekly. I must be in a city then, as I can see my neighbours house, there are some 25 houses where I live, all within cooee of each other, so this is a city. I am so relieved to know that.

The greatest thing about the human aspect of this fantastic country is that the population is so diverse, makes life interesting to say the least.

FollowupID: 701121

Follow Up By: Papaspook - Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 20:29

Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 20:29
Stick it up 'em Marc. I've been watching this thread with laughter emanating from my bod. I've worked in the Lands further south from you and yes, I understand the mail plane once a week stuff, with Tuesday having been our day. Retired now though, and living in my childhood home town. Keep on bush living mate. It's beautiful country.
FollowupID: 701473

Reply By: Mark S (cns) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 13:54

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 13:54
Well, it depends, living in Cairns.
If I am out west, or up the cape, them I'm a 'city boy from town'
If I am in Sydney or the like, then I'm a 'country hick from up north'!
Maybe perceptions mean I just don't match either stereotype!

As the saying goes - "when in rome....."
AnswerID: 430286

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 17:19

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 17:19
Good one Mark & very true :-)
FollowupID: 701142

Follow Up By: Mark S (cns) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 17:30

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 17:30
Hey Tony, I'm even a city boy when I'm up in southern tablelands...!
FollowupID: 701144

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 16:11

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 16:11
Mark - Well it is Cairns City after all :-)

Now Malanda must still be in the country :-)

All I know is stay away from those cities - too much stress.

When you are out at Maytown you must be a Country Bumpkin, not too many city slickers would tackle the Old Coach Road :-)

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 701233

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 15:30

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 15:30
balko

A city slicker is the opposite to what you guy's call a country bumpkin, and or a redneck..........

Growing up on a dairy farm, in Sth Gippsland, we used to take sheer delight in taking our city cousins out on the tractor, to spread manure, when they visited.
........That's the country bumpkin side.

Of course we would head for a ditch, and try and tip them off the back of the "manure sledge", and drop the mright in it. Then there was the paddock basher vehicles
.......That's the red neck side.

Gotta love life !
Bit like Crocadile Dundee Re-visited.... hehehehehehe

AnswerID: 430296

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 01:57

Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 01:57
then there was always.....

1. grabbing onto the electric fence ... not telling the city kids it helps if your wearing gumboots....
2. those 'extra light' special eggs from the chook-pen
3. cow pat frizzbee's in the side of the head
4. not mentioning stinging nettles
5. prodding extra bloated dead cows

gawd we were mean....
FollowupID: 701281

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 06:58

Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 06:58
More memories
Did it all

Bring them all back...

45 years later, they still look at us a bit sideways
Hehehehehehehehe
FollowupID: 701283

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 11:47

Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 11:47
Scott M and Bucky
You are onto it, had a chuckle about your replies. Sun burnt cakes and all.
We used goose eggs then got into trouble when the City Cozz,s went crying back. We knew we were in trouble when we ventured back home and the copper was lit and the city slickers were sitting in the out doors bath. Just another reason to laugh!!!
Heh it was well worth it.!
FollowupID: 701310

Reply By: Tonyfish#58 - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 17:24

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 17:24
I suppose if you currently live in an area that is called a City - Then you are a City slicker and can be called the same :-)

If you live in an area that is not a City then...Country you must be.

THEN YOU HAVE TO ADD INTO THE EQUATION - Level of remoteness :-)

So go to the Tax Zone rebate and work out how special you are by how much you get refunded.

Someone has already worked it all out :-)

Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 430318

Reply By: Whitewulf - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 07:00

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 07:00
A City Slicker - A name someone calls another to increase there need to feel like a Country Hick or local.

A Country Hick - A comment thrown when called a City Slicker, by another City Slicker. ;)

AnswerID: 430371

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 11:39

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 11:39
City slicker ? A person who thinks they " know" all about the country life and needs yet in reality know very little of the practicalities . Take for instance the plethora of 4x4 vehicles in the city that will NEVER so much as see a dirt road as actually drive on one , classic is brand new 4x4 fitted with bullbar ,winch , 4in lift , 2x spare wheel carrier , snorkel and wait for it ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, 21inch chrome wheels with 35 profile H/T tires , CITY SLICKER.
AnswerID: 430405

Follow Up By: Mark S (cns) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 13:26

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 13:26
Yet, for instance, if the 'city slicker' then went home and put on the spare set of 16in sunraysia rims with a set of 33' muddies on it, then went out camping 4hrs west of the city, found some great tracks & creeks (got bogged - used winch...) and then returned to the city with a 4wd covered in dirt with the muddies still on it, as well as a "I shoot & I vote" sticker on the back (picked up while 4hrs west), then - even though he lives in the city - he would be seen as 'from the country' !
Amazing how stereotyping works.
FollowupID: 701216

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 16:58

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 16:58
Mark , my point was that 80/90% of 4x4 vehicles never leave the bitumen and are driven by 'city slickers' as a "look at me accessory",, funny how people who actually live out west and in the bush DON'T seem to need the 4inch lift and 35 inch muddies or a winch whereas 'city slickers' have to have all the bling and after market acessories just to drive the kids 2klm to school.
FollowupID: 701235

Follow Up By: Mark S (cns) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 17:40

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 17:40
Yes, I know what you meant Alloy, I was just using it as an example of stereotyping. :)
These days, some 4wd's even come out of the factory with bling 20' rims (e.g Dodge).
At least if you bought a second hand 4wd with bling rims & rubber strips for tyres, you could be certain that it has never left the blacktop and therefore not 'flogged out', so to speak..
FollowupID: 701237

Reply By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 15:56

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 15:56
Look at a "city slickers" footwear .....

If they actually wear boots .... you can pretty much guarrantee the heel is worn down from "pavement pounding"

And they sound like robbie robot clumping down a concrete storm water drain when they are walking.

Hats make it easy too ...... A cllean one and no stains/holes worn any other time than weddings and funerals .... "CitySlicker' .... same goes for all the other now overpriced "country clothing" ........... lol
AnswerID: 430422

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 17:15

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 17:15
Footwear ? Got a mate in Normanton [ big place compared to Muttaburra ,3 pubs to 1] who only has 1 pair of boots that are replaced religiously every year 4 weeks before tax time , also 1pair of thongs for inside the house ,another pair for every day wear , another pair for 'going out' [ weddings / funerals /dinner at the pub ] and a heavy duty pair made from an old car tire only worn when pig hunting ,, lol.
FollowupID: 701236

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 19:56

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 19:56
Alloy - If he uses footwear he must be a city slicker :-)

I never worked out hoe the local population there did not wear anything on the feet in summer. You could cook an egg on the pavement and bare feet was the preferred mode of transport. I would be having a hard time in thongs.

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 701250

Reply By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 18:48

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 18:48
If you don't know the answer then perhaps you haven't been out in the country for long enough yet !
AnswerID: 430436

Follow Up By: balko - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 21:42

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 21:42
True but i work in Sydney now thats where my $$$$$ are till i earn enough to head bush to spend it. Thanks for all your answers some very good ones. I now rate myself as a cty bumpkin THANKS GUYS
FollowupID: 701265