New ute, horrible tyres??

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 10:21
ThreadID: 81325 Views:6140 Replies:10 FollowUps:20

Related Pages

Hi!

I'm new here, just chasing some opinions on tyre life & to share a lil issue with Holden bullbar on Colorados.

in May 09 I got myself a new Holden Colorado 3ltr TD dual cab - I love it but I hate the dealer!
In a bid to keep it 'legal' I had a genuine holden steel bullbar, sidesteps & roll bar fitted by the dealer. sadly the bullbar is ugly & caused a bit of damage to the front end - my bullbar had a knob of metal on the inside corner which rubbed a hole in my bumper, after taking the ute on a 4x4 track the bullbar bounced & moved around so much it had rubbed all the powdercoating off the top edge & had damaged the bumper. (Ive since seen other coloardos with the holden bar & the exact same issue)

After much complaining & being treated like an idiot & waiting on the Holden Rep to assess it, they decided to reinforce it with non standard brackets, issue resolved (mostly).

Anyway, I've just done 30000km in the ute (had it serviced as reccommended by the dealer & paid for it!) At 30000km I have 4 buggered tyres, all 4 are bald on the inside. Is this acceptable or have I been dudded? Should they advise that It needed an alignment?? Id have thought the service provider has a duty of care...

Can anyone advise if this is something I just have to wear or is there a gaurantee on tyres etc??

Cheers & sorry for the novel!

C.

Reply By: Muntoo - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 10:30

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 10:30
Mate i would be checking up on the legality of them modifying the bullbar mounts , as i dare say you have air bags, and air bag compliant hbullbars must not be modified.

As per the tyres, check your service requirements book and see if wheel alignments/wheel rotations are supposed to be performed every 10,000kms. Pretty sure they would be, then go to them and ask questions mate. But for all 4 tyres to be stuffed on the outside it sounds like they may have rotated the wheels, but failed to report the damage.
AnswerID: 430272

Follow Up By: CassieMS - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 13:26

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 13:26
Cheers, your assumption is correct it has airbags, may I ask where I should take it re the mods? police, engineer etc??
FollowupID: 701106

Follow Up By: Muntoo - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:32

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:32
I would probable take it to the local Traffic Authority or an engineer. Get some advice on the matter and then head straight to the dealer and demand action if it indeed has impacted on the bullbars design.
FollowupID: 701129

Reply By: gbc - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 10:50

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 10:50
I only got 23k out of the oe 693's on my colorado. Take it away from the dealer to get it aligned.
AnswerID: 430273

Follow Up By: gbc - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 10:51

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 10:51
And yes, the bullbar on mine has scrubbed the paint in the same spot on both side too.
FollowupID: 701084

Follow Up By: CassieMS - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 13:15

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 13:15
It seems to be a fault, have you taken yours back? after some bitching & moaning they fixed it =)
It doesn't reflect very well on the brand to have a genuine accessory cause issues..
FollowupID: 701102

Follow Up By: gbc - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 13:46

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 13:46
My bullbar isn't genuine - it's a tjm.
FollowupID: 701108

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:40

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:40
I only got 20k out of my originals, 23k out of a set of Cooper St's and I am currently on a set of Maxi Bravo 753's. They have done 46k and still going strong

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 701132

Follow Up By: Muntoo - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:46

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:46
I have done 23,000k's on my factory 693s with my BT50 and they arent even half worn.
And i flogged out the outside of the front tyres when bullbar was added. Still plenty of tread, cant wait to upgrade to some larger tyres though.
FollowupID: 701135

Reply By: Member - peter f (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 11:50

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 11:50
you have a duty of care to look after your own safety,
why don,t you check them when you pump them up on occassions . not hard to
if they are wearing odd .
if you have wife , kids ,ect . they didn,t wear out overnight .
cheers mechpete.
AnswerID: 430277

Follow Up By: CassieMS - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 13:14

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 13:14
Yes I guess I do & I honestly would never have thought to check the insides of the tyres as the outsides & middle have no signs of wearing (uh oh just a girl...)
Im not trying to shift blame, Im just naive in assuming that by doing things by 'the book' & trusted the dealer to do what is appropriate. Im surprised cos my old car got about 70 thou km on a set of tyres & it was abused so much more than the ute. I assumed that the dealer which I paid good money (440 a pop) would be doing the right thing.

And sorry but I dont get the point about a wife & kids? Im a girl in my early 20's who gets in a car & drives..
FollowupID: 701101

Reply By: Member - allan t (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 11:57

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 11:57
hi
A family trip to the simpson last year soon showed some faults with colorado brackets on a after market bar both sides cracking and very lucky not to have fallen off. A good welding job at Mt Dare done the trick a new set of redesigned brackets were supplied on return from supplier
ant 48
AnswerID: 430278

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 10:48

Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 10:48
Hi Allan,
The rep called & asked for pics & ideas for possible remedies, I'd love to see the redesigned ones that they supplied!
FollowupID: 701303

Follow Up By: Member - allan t (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 11:38

Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 11:38
Hi Ozrover Have since sold that vehicile
sorry Ant 48
FollowupID: 701309

Reply By: Dion - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 11:59

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 11:59
Cassie,
although they precede your Colorado, both of my RA Rodeo from the Bridgey D693 lasted 80k each. Albeit my sevice manager did advise with both vehicles that a wheel alignment needed to be done.
My newer RA ('05) has been shod with MT ATZ 5 rib in 225/75R16 with 15k on them and the older RA ('03) same MT ATZ with 600km on them.
This size is compatable with the Bridgey D693, with only 3mm in overall dia between them.

I've never ever liked the factory offerings in bullbars. The '03 was originally fitted with a Gitsham and the '05 was originally fitted with an Irvin. No preference, but that was what was locally available from where each of the Rodeo's were purchased.
After a slight mishap with a big big grassHopper early this year, the '03 also now has an Irvin bullbar as we could get that from WA over to SA cheaper than the locally sourced SA Gitsham bar.

Personnaly I'd prefer a 'Boomer Bar' from bnsgear, but the constabulary in WA don't like them.

Dion.
AnswerID: 430279

Follow Up By: CassieMS - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 13:25

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 13:25
Im kicking myself about my 'boring' choice, I do a few bns & there are some mighty sexy bars out there!

The only reason I even know my tyres are stuffed is cos I went to put some pretty new wheels on (sadly they're sitting in the box til I get the tyres sorted) Tyre shop guy reccommended coopers but it's kinda a bit steep if the Colorado is gonna chew through them.. So I guess start at the start & go for an alignment..

Thanx for ur input!

FollowupID: 701104

Follow Up By: Dion - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 13:32

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 13:32
Cassie,
on my older '03 RA, when I was finished with the Bridgeys at 80k, I replaced them with Cooper STT in the same size as the MT, 225/75R16 and did 70k on them. The Coopers are not finished with yet. As I happened to come across another 6 steel rims for a RA, I put the new MT ATZ on them and then put them on the RA. I reckon there was still about another 20-25k on the Coopers, but as they were probably spending a little too much on the bitumen, decided to preserve them for when I really need them. So they are put away in the shed. As they are still mounted on the rims, I can put them on either of my RA's to do a particular trip.

Dion.
FollowupID: 701107

Follow Up By: Jezza77 - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 13:59

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 13:59
hi a bit of a thought i had a set of cooper st told i would get over 60,000 out of them and that they had warranty. ended up throwing them out after one issue after another only got 20,000 kms and was told warranty does not apply in australia only america. went for bfg alterains and have not had an issue it may be a bias opion but the only person that will tell you coopers are any good is a coopers sales person, they are over priced and quite frankly a terrible tyre
FollowupID: 701110

Follow Up By: Moose - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:39

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:39
Jezza77 - you're full of you know what.

Plenty of people happy with Cooper Tires (just as there are plenty who aren't). A search on this site will confirm this.

Plenty of people getting good mileage out of Coopers - I was one.

I have successfully claimed on their warranty in the past (in Australia) so
whoever told you it was for USA only was BSing you. However I do believe the warranty doesn't apply to all tyres in the range so maybe you had one that wasn't covered.

I do agree with you that they are damn expensive, but I don't agree with the terrible part. Over many sets I only ever had the one claim.

Hope you're happier with the BFGs over the long run.
FollowupID: 701131

Follow Up By: Muntoo - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:41

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:41
Jezza77, the warranties do apply in Australia, but only in cities. Some people seem to have an excellent run from there Coopers. Too many variables to consider, when my mate was a tyre fitter he said BF Goodrich A/Ts were the worst tyre, hard to balance and leaking beads, and very weak punctures and splits. But that was on the roads where we lived, where people ran Bridgestone Duelers and never had a problem. Im a Bridgestone man, but will be open to Cooper STT and Mickey T MTZ next.
FollowupID: 701133

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:49

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:49
Moose - Thats Harsh to Jezza77 - I only got 23k out of my Cooper St's and most of the warranty is next to useless for a 4x4 that wants to 4x4. Once you take them off road pffff.

I did not get a good run from them but are having a good run from my Maxxi Bravo753's

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 701136

Follow Up By: Moose - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:54

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:54
Nah Tony - he's the one who made the statements about no-one thinking they're any good and that they are terrible with no warranty.
I got my warranty specifically as a result of an off-road issue. But maybe they've toughened up on what they allow since.
I got better than 60K out of my STs so there you go. Everyone has a tale to tell and they all appear to be different!
FollowupID: 701138

Follow Up By: Jezza77 - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 08:33

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 08:33
maybe i got a bad batch of tyres but the first issue was an egg in the side wall after 1500km this tyre was replaced after three weeks wait for an inspection by a rep. from then on in it they were a night mare with obvious tyre problems but due to the fact of off road use apparently the warranty did not apply.
so at 20,000km i decided although half the tread was still there to discard them as every one knows that you need a reliable vehicle when you are in the middle of no where, but as stated in a previous post every one has a different tale to tell.
good luck with what ever brand of tyre you chose.
FollowupID: 701205

Reply By: CraigB - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 12:03

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 12:03
Re Tyres,

As said above you should check them regularly yourself.
However, I would also suggest that it should of had an alignment done after the bullbar was installed due to the extra weight added on the front end.
AnswerID: 430280

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 12:43

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 12:43
Correct.....
FollowupID: 701090

Reply By: MP - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:19

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:19
Hi Cassie,

with the tyres the other thing is pressure. My RA recommends 26psi in the front. You need to run 38 to 40 to stop the tyres scrubbing out.

AnswerID: 430307

Reply By: sweetwill - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:31

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:31
hi cassiems.
i had a new vy commodore sedan that scrubbed out the tires on the back when i took it to a wheel aligner he laughed an said just because it is new doesn't mean they are aligned properly, just goes to show cheers bill.
AnswerID: 430311

Follow Up By: CassieMS - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:45

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 16:45
So it seems! damn being naive..
FollowupID: 701134

Reply By: Wilko - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 17:36

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 17:36
Hi Cassie,

I dont let a dealer do any work on my tyres or suspension. I take it to a tyre place (who happens to be a good mate of mine too).

I dont like the factory bars. They usually arent anywhere near strong enough to withstand a meeting with an animal at highway speeds without bending. They are a once use only

Take a look at Tuff bullbars, They are good gear.

Cheers Wilko

AnswerID: 430320

Reply By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 08:30

Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 08:30
I only got 37,000 K's out of the original 693's on my DMAX but they wore evenly, rotated every 10,000 k's, they had maybe 10 percent tread left when i replaced them with Dueller 694LT's. These have done 23000 K's including a 10000 klm trip to WA and then back accross the western deserts to Uluru and then painted and moon deserts, lake eyre and onto cameron corner back to Sydney. No chipping of tread, wearing evenly and still have 70 percent tread left. i run them at 26psi on the dirt and 40psi on the black top.

I dont have a bullbar but will be getting an ARB bar fitted soon, from all the research i have done i believe the ARB steel bar is one of the strongest out there. Although to fit it they actually have to pull off the bumper below the grill but i have seen quite a few out there fitted and it doesnt look to bad at all if looks are an issue.

Tony

AnswerID: 430487