Should some people be allowed to drive 4WDs
Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 11:33
Baz&Pud (Tassie)
We have just returned from three months on the Mainland, the last month coming down the East Coast and enjoying the wonderful beach's.
Whilst walking along one of these beach's, a couple in a duel cab drove past us in the soft sand and stopped some 100 meters further on, and yes when he started off again just sat there spinning the
wheels and got bogged.
As we walked past he got out and said " this is my first 4WD and i've never driven on a beach before".
We said, have you let any air out of the tyres, no is the reply, do you have a tyre gauge and a compressor, no is the reply.
We suggested he let out enough air till the tyres start to belly out, and then see how you go, sure enough he drove out and off, and not even a thank you.
No doubt this happens all the time.
Baz
Reply By: Member - Warwick D (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 11:53
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 11:53
Greetings, this has happened to me several times. Now I am home, I get all fired up and say I will not help the next one who goes out poorly/un-equipped. Then I will probably weaken when in the bush/beach again. I really get annoyed with people who "save" money, by making the next rescuer buy and carry all the rescue and repair kit.
Well its time for my tablet, so I better finish here.
Warwick
Follow Up By: Member - case h (INT) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 12:41
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 12:41
Warwick. I just hope that you have taken your medication, should I ever require your help. We are flying across the ditch this week and purchasing equipment to help us get out of strife is high on the shopping list before we "move out". I enrolled for a 4x4 driving course here in Kiwiland but the company told me it would be a waste of money as conditions in the land of Oz are quite different. We hope to be doing a course in Australia. However, life is one big learning experience and some of us would appreciate help and advise should we need it. Don't let the good ones suffer because of
Darwin's theory on evolution. I subscribe to this theory as
well and yes, I am making an efford.
Regards, Case
Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 07:14
Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 07:14
Case... excellent reply! Where are you flying to this weekend, which part of Oz??
Follow Up By: Member - case h (INT) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 07:27
Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 07:27
Hi Brian. Leaving this avo and flying into
Brisbane tomorrow am. We have purchased a Toyota Hilux Matilda 4x4. Will spend a few days around Brissie to get it fitted out(including recovery gear) To Bribie to pick up a satellite phone we have purchased from a member on this
forum and than to the Sunshine coast to get my electricals, batteries, solar etc checked. From there slowly moving across to Margaret River WA to see the kids and grandies.
Case
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 12:47
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 12:47
We came across a guy, bogged to the axles in his brand new Prado on Fraser Island.
I stopped to help. Asked, "Have you reduced tyre pressure?" "No." "Have you got a shovel?" "No."
We got our shovel out and pressure gauge out, let his tyres down to about 18psi and dug the sand away so he could get out of his predicament. I instructed him to be gentle and the Prado rose from its prison.
He did say thanks as we put the shovel away. I set off in search of ice cream, it was hot. Found a
shop went in, selected ice cream and stepped outside to eat it. Across the road at the service station I spotted my old mate, guess what he was doing..... re-inflating his tyres.
My 16 year old son asked "Dad, why do we bother?" I had no answer.
Follow Up By: ben_gv3 - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 13:17
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 13:17
I say teach him a lesson.
Use the car key to let the tyres down the same amount for each and forget the shovel. Make HIM dig out the sand by hand.
He'll learn quick smart then.
Follow Up By: Mitch - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 14:04
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 14:04
Probably better off to suggest they could find out more by going to their local 4WDC for some training to help them on their way - many clubs have handout cards or they could go to the 4WD Assoc.
Follow Up By: Member - Geoff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 14:54
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 14:54
I always help people out, but I would be shaking my head at that clown pumping his tyres up again.
I've never had any proper
driver training, and don't consider myself a driving enthusiast, but a bit of common sense goes a long way.
I've travelled Fraser Island for 30 years and never needed a shovel.
I try to find the right gear for each situations and drop my tyres to 25psi in the first instance. Down to 18 with a trailer.
Follow Up By: Crackles - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 20:37
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 20:37
You've got to consider fella's this bloke would have no doubt been told in the past to never drive on under inflated tyres for very long or you will risk damaging them. 4 wheel driving has several unusual rules like this (eg: stall stopping a car) that would be completely forien to a 1st timer to offroading so his actions are quite understandable
Cheers Craig...
Follow Up By: StormyKnight - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 20:44
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 20:44
There is no quick fix to 4WD knowledge....most of us learn by our mistakes.....
& I got to say I'm still making a few here & there.....
In saying that getting bogged on Fraser can be rather dangerous for life & car if no one else was around to help.....a quick look at the photos at
Rainbow Beach shows what happens if you play too close to the
water!
Perhaps a few of those photos in the pack would help? ...OK perhaps not....
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 07:31
Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 07:31
Hey Duncs,
I can under stand why they got their 'brand new Prado' Bogged.
1) It's a Prado.
and secondly It's a Prado on Sand.
That is where the problem lays.
When are people going to learn?
We can only try our best to educate some.
I find these days that most people do take advice
well, were as some think they know it all, and that will never change.
I'll never stop helping people because I know one day I will need help myself.
Reply By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 14:20
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 14:20
One weekend in Abercrombie NP a mob of clowns really bugged me. We had already towed a couple of 2wds out of the mud (just past a
4WD Only sign) and came across another car stuck. Black smallish Jeep with lots of lights and heavily tinted windows. Nice looking rims and low profile rubber. The track was wet, muddy and I was getting short tempered as as we hadn't even set up
camp. I desperately needed a cuppa. Poor blighter. I asked if he had a rope or strap, pump etc. Nope. Zip. And low profile CITY rubber with pretty rims.
Young bloke with one of those spikey girlie haircuts.
I pointed up the
hill and said there is a house about an hours walk that way. I said something along the line of "
Well next time you will remember this day and get some". We just left him there. I was so peeved we just slept in the back that night at "The Creek". But I did feel good when I saw the farmer pulling him out the next day. He look so cheesed off. No! Not the farmer. He waved and tipped his hat. He knew damned
well what I had done. You see we had chatted over the fence yesterday about all these clowns.
Boy!! It made my day.
PS: We dropped in to the farm later that day on the way home and had a cuppa with him and his wife. We had the scones courtesy of one of our sons who has a
bakery. He always gives us a box full of things to take away.
Reply By: Tonyfish#58 - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 16:11
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 16:11
Even the most experience 4 x 4 drivers will do this :-) Mainly because they are too lazy to get out of the car and let the tyres down.
Saw it in the Simpson this year, people even bragging that they have not had to put their tyres down because the sand was a bit wet.
Best idea is to tell them how to get out if they do not know how and let them do it. If they fail then help.
Cheers Tony
Reply By: landed eagle - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 19:26
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 19:26
People like this should have a look at the selection of pictures of 4WD's swimming on the wall at the
Rainbow Beach pub QLD.
Lots of dollars completely destroyed by stupidity.That
water stops for no-one.
Follow Up By: StormyKnight - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 20:49
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 20:49
Hey I just posted this up a bit further, definitely an interesting display.....but will it make a difference to preparation?
Inexperience is as much a matter of 'if won't happen to me' as it is 'not knowing'....both very very dangerous concepts....
Reply By: 93 Navara - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 19:49
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 19:49
You were all born experienced??????? Yeah it can be frustrating helping others, and we'd all be peeved if no gratitude was forthcoming from the rescued, but keep things in context. I drive a 4WD at work and due to my job am often required to help other 4WDers who never cease to amaze me with their stupidity, but get a grip experts.
Follow Up By: wizzer73 - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 20:03
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 20:03
Well said. I don't have a problem helping people out. Its part of the 4wding experience. We all gotta learn somewhere.
wizzer
Follow Up By: Crackles - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 20:51
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 20:51
Yes I too can remember the good ol days when my enthusiasm out-shone my experience & ability ;-)
Heading to Fraser on Saturday so no doubt will bump into a few
young bucks wearing those same shoes.
Cheers Craig.............
Reply By: StormyKnight - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 20:58
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 20:58
I tend to agree, but sometimes @#$%^&*^%$@ blimey its hard not to keep driving!
Even the best prepared car can get bogged or broken down beyond the capability of the occupants to get it resolved....
I had a rear wheel bearing collapse on my HJ60 on the way back from the cape, even after getting it checked over before the trip.
I appreciated every one stopping & at least asking if they could help, all they really could do was pass a message to the
Bamaga service station of where we were & our predicament.
One guy suggested we use wood to replace the bearing & we were able to make slow progress (in reverse) back up the track....
A lot of 4wd owners don't no the limitations of their car...like how far will it go up a slippery clay track even in 4WD?
'But its in 4WD, it can go anywhere right?'
Reply By: skulldug - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 21:12
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 21:12
If it was his first 4WD he shouldn't need to let his tyres down. He's probably not carrying extra tanks, engel, genny, hiLift jack, roof racks, second spare, compressor, recovery gear, bull bar..... lol
Reply By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 00:39
Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 00:39
" Should some people be allowed to drive 4WDs "
Absolutely ....
Once they have had sufficient electric shock therapy to forget the ridiculous television advertising by vehicle manufacturers ..... and,
Once they understand the "4wd" sticker on the tailgate doesnt mean it can go anywhere .... Just that it wont get stuck quite as quick as a 2wd .....
Its a shame we arent like dumb animals ..... They seem to have survival skills as part of their DNA .... learnt from those who went before them.
Its a shame all that past driving experience by those who went before us seems to have gone to waste, for the most part.
Reply By: 3GoBush - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 03:54
Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 03:54
Hey Baz&Pud (Tassie) do you remember the first time you had SEX???
Did you leave a big mess after or did you have someone over your shoulder saying, you should do this or you should do that???
Or perhaps you are perfect.
A little bit of advice goes a long way.
Follow Up By: Whitewulf - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 06:56
Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 06:56
Hehehehe I still do, but thats not my side of the bed.. so meh
Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 07:25
Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 07:25
Yep, we ALL get frustrated when we see people doing things that we are taught not to do.
But, we all have to learn sometime, somehow, somewhere.
And very few people that I have ever met in life like to be TOLD what to do... teaching is a subtle art that, if carried out correctly, will have the "students" attention all day! What I mean is, I have stopped to help many many people, outback, on
the beach and in the suburbs. Quietly explaining what is happening or where they went "wrong" is a lot more conducive to a positive response than marching over to someone and saying ;
"Oi... have you let ya bl@@dy tyres down? Geeeeze you blokes don't know nuthin'!"
Sadly I have seen this happen, and then Old Mate wondered why the bloke didn't take his advice.
Not saying any of you above would do that, but the fellow I saw do it is an acquaintance of
mine, and it's the way he talks to people..... he doesn't actually realize he does it.
I for one, will always stop to help others!
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 17:17
Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 17:17
I am with you Brian.
I will always help and I have spent a lifetime teaching my kids to do the same. However, it is hard to keep helping when you spend the time explaining why you do certain things, like letting tyres down in soft sand, only to see the student undo all that you have done for them.
In the guys defence he was thankful and did seem to be listening. But I had opposition. Mrs Prado sat in the passenger
seat looking daggers at me during the entire recovery operation. She obviously did not want to be there and I suspect that family has had their last trip to Fraser. Part of my job is to deliver practical training to adults. I have had a good deal of success but when someone the student knows and loves is telling him the opposite to what some bozo he has never met before I know who is going to win.
Helping is what most of us do. Even though this guy seemed destined no to learn it was satisfying to see my recovery plan work. Besides we still get a laugh out of watching him pump up his tyres and debating how far he got before someone else was pulling him out of trouble.
Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 15:59
Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 15:59
Hey Baz......sometimes you have to let them learn............
But if I can I always try to help them before this happens........then their on their own.