hot water services

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 17:37
ThreadID: 81769 Views:7811 Replies:10 FollowUps:8
hello members lookin at buying a coleman instant hot water unit .has any one had any thing to do with them or is there a better brand cheers mick

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 17:52

Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 17:52
Mick,

I have one and it works well for my kind of use :)

If you get one do a forum search for the unit to find the mod done to the control switch which allows easier settings of the temp.

Cheres Kev

AnswerID: 432342

Follow Up By: Member - michael (BOXHD) r (VI - Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 17:57

Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 17:57
thanks for that sir kev ill have a look cheers mick
FollowupID: 703144

Reply By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 17:59

Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 17:59
We have one and used it a lot when we first had it. It has stayed home for our last 5 camping trips because:

1. It is a single use item,
2. It is bulky,
3. You also need to carry the gas bottles,
4. You need to keep it charged, and
5. We didn't like the shower, even with a different rose.

We now just heat a billy of water on the petrol stove, dump it in a bucket of cold water and use a smalll pressure pump with an inline filter connected to a 7AH battery to drive a shower head. Much more compact and you can turn the shower on and off at the rose. We have just got back from a 3 week trip and the battery still had lots of juice. We also used this setup to pump some dodgy bore water water from one drum to another to filter our all the floaties.

Pete
AnswerID: 432343

Follow Up By: outback epicurean - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 09:42

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 09:42
I agree with Pete, we heat up a kettle of water, tip it into a bucket of cold and then sue a 12 v pump with shower rose. $20 from most camping shows. Can either use several torch batteries or we plug into a 12 v outlet on the camper. Cheap, effective quick to set up, kettle has multipe uses
FollowupID: 703203

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 19:14

Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 19:14
We have one and are happy with it. We don't use it for showers but have it next to the sink on the Camper Trailer. Very handy for quick wash-ups mainly. Ours would be over 6 years old now and everything works fine. I have invested in the gas hose adapter so you can use larger bottles and the mains pressure inlet hose for longer stays.

If we can have a fire we tend to use it less but as we know that is not always possible.

OBT
AnswerID: 432350

Reply By: Flynnie - Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 20:32

Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 20:32
Michael

I have a similar view to Pete Jackman. Agree with his points 1-4 differ on 5 "We didn't like the shower, even with a different rose." To me the shower is OK.

Took one away on this year's big trip mainly because I had it and as my contribution to some shared equipment. It did work OK as a shower if ambient temperature was above 10 degrees. Would not work below 10 degrees, showed a false "low battery" light that went out when the ambient temperature got a bit warmer. There are some comments on my profile page.

Would I get another one, say if it was stolen - No.

I also have a Gasmate, better in some ways worse in others. Not that useful for on the move, better suited to a fixed camp.

Likely I will continue using them both from time to time until they pack it in (fail). Use them at home a bit when the power plays up so I will get my use out of them. But I won't be getting any more.

There are some logistics issues with these units. Basically they require LPG in one form or another. I do not like LPG for camping and do not use it for anything else. Stove runs on Shellite. Also recharging can be an issue for some people but I have not found it so. The 2 burner dual fuel stove is more than adequate for heating up water for a shower as others have described and that is how I will go from now on when touring. For fixed or semi fixed camps with a group such as one planned for Fraser Island next year I may take the Coleman or the Gasmate.

Flynnie
AnswerID: 432354

Follow Up By: Member - michael (BOXHD) r (VI - Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 18:56

Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 18:56
thanks finnie sorr yso late with reply been workion bugger cheers mick
FollowupID: 703408

Reply By: Member - William W (WA) - Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 21:03

Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 21:03
I have the Coleman and the Aqua Cube by Companion. The Aqua cube is FAR better in my opinion. We use it alot, for daily showering of 4-6 people and since buying it the Coleman hasnt moved from storage.
AnswerID: 432355

Follow Up By: Member - Driverdon - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 10:01

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 10:01
Hi William . . I bought a companion Aqua cube at the Sydney Cara & Camping show this year. . had it home for a few days and we had a gas outage in our area for several days so thought I would use my new toy.
Got 2 showers out of it then nothing rang around and got put onto Pimus who now own Companion they arranged a new one. Took that home and showed a mate what a great gadget I had . . guess what??? same problem no ignition Companion said a few of them had a faulty earth but arranged for me to send it post paid for repair . . came back about 10 days latter tried it out . . worked fine.
Packed up for my big trip Sydney-Perth- Kimberly -Tanami etc got to Shark bay got aqua cube out . . you guessed it Nothing. So needless to say I'm not impressed carting this useless piece of junk around Aus. and will be telling Mr Primus the same. Has any one else had a similar Problem???
Don
FollowupID: 703204

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 18:26

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 18:26
Carted my first useless Coleman around for five weeks last year until I got back home. Coleman did replace it without drama.

Flynnie
FollowupID: 703251

Follow Up By: Member - Driverdon - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 20:06

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 20:06
Just a quick follow up the cheap showers and the heated up billy work fine . . . but I was lucky the troopy I bought had a glind shower already in it. . .I had never used one and the water was only luke warm then had a good look at it and realised the temp of the shower water is controlled by the cars heater control. . . doh!!!! IT WORK GREAT
FollowupID: 703256

Follow Up By: lizard - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 20:23

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 20:23
Have a Coleman , it worked fine first few times (I chaqnged the rose) then it wouldn't ignite - gas was good , battery charged - could hear the igniter clickling but the gas wouldn't open .......
FollowupID: 703258

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 21:35

Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 21:35
Ever tried laying a garden hose in the sun....

AnswerID: 432360

Follow Up By: landseka - Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 22:32

Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 22:32
Yep, it goes soft! lol
FollowupID: 703179

Reply By: Member - col H (NSW) - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 19:19

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 19:19
gday all, i have used the Colemen and if you are desparte ,it sokay.Just.
I also had a Primus hot water heater. I good brand that make some good products, but not this one. The Primis is a really bad product and i left in a road side bin.We have used a fire or stove to heat water and 12 pump ever since.I would not buy any type of water heater. Their are other ways to do it that save weight and cost.
happy trails
AnswerID: 432452

Reply By: Best Off Road - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 20:32

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 20:32
We've had two of them, both failed. I guess it's time to get it replaced again, but I just haven't got around to it.

They're bulky, take time to set up and are bloody fiddly to adjust to get the water at the right temp.

Coleman backup is excellent, they do support their product, but it's just not a good thing to start with.

A kettle of hot water into a bucket of cold, a tea cup and a cake of soap is so much easier. My wife also likes a flannel.

AnswerID: 432457

Reply By: Big Woody - Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 05:57

Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 05:57
If you really want a robust and absolutely maintenance free gas powered camping shower, the Aussie Camp Shower is the one that fits the bill.

Let me state from the outset I have no connection with this business but can vouch for their product as a user that has not treated the shower with much respect.

I have had mine for about 6 years and it gets chucked around in the ute and loaned to family and friends regularly. It is currently on a mates farm being used daily while his shed is being converted into something liveable.

Very efficient on gas consumption as well as in the simple heat exchange unit. I am surpised that there is minimal heat coming out the flu at the top as it is all being transferred to the water. Makes it safe for the kids to use.

I have the pump set up at about 2 - 2.5L/minute which means we get about 3 x 3 minute showers out of a 20L drum of water. Carry the drum to the creek and fill it up and then another 3 people get a shower.

Brett
AnswerID: 432474

Reply By: Jarse - Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 20:11

Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 20:11
We've had one for about 5 years, and it's been great. No problems whatsoever. We use a mix of the cartridges and a gas line to a normal gas bottle.

No dramas.
AnswerID: 432631