which ute!

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 22:18
ThreadID: 81885 Views:4018 Replies:5 FollowUps:11
G'day all, I'm looking at upgrading early next year from my FJ62 landcruiser, my better half has a 100 series, we have a big collection of kids so we need to take both vehicles on outings and camping also both are daily drivers. I like to go off road but nothing to serious, I like the idea of a duel cab ute about 8-10 years old, turbo diesel 3L or above with a little pull. auto and comfy enough when all the seats are full. I first had my heart set towards hilux but then noticed the nevara & the courier and triton and rodeo..... Every time I look around another brand pops up..... It would be a great help to start me off, if anyone would let me know of their preferences or biases.
Thanks.... Steve.

Reply By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 22:27

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 22:27
Cross the Courier/Bravo off your list if you're going Diesel, they have severe head problems at about 150 to 200,000 km, big dollars. If you're after economical travel they're a good bit of kit with the 4.0 V6 running on LPG.

Disclaimer: LPG may be expensive and/or have limited availiblity in remote areas.

AnswerID: 432933

Follow Up By: Member - DW Lennox Head(NSW) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 05:16

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 05:16
Jim,

I dispute your comment about the diesel Bravo/Courier having head problems. In my experience they are no worse than any other.

There are a large numbers around that have never had problems. In all the ones I know there is only one that has had the problem and the owner told me it was most likely his problem while towing and overheated.

Like a lot of comments, your source of information may be from " a mate's brother in law's mate's cousin"! It is best to document the evidence.

DW
FollowupID: 703705

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 07:13

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 07:13
Hi Jim,

Good call.
I have a brother in law who has owned every brand car under the sun & within a couple of years he will go around mouthing off what a lemon that particular brand of vehicle is telling everyone within earshot.

It's got nothing to do with the fact that he never services them & pretty well runs em into the ground!

FollowupID: 703708

Follow Up By: & speedway nut - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 10:46

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 10:46
LPG gas $1.02 the other day in Jurien bay
FollowupID: 703723

Follow Up By: steve & rae - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 14:03

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 14:03
Well right or wrong its given me something to think about, I'm trading up because I don't have the time to do what's needed to keep the old bus going, so reliability is a key factor. As for the gas l had know idea the price would shoot up like that, our 100 series is on gas/petrol and the economy difference isn't all that great, so expensive gas would close that gap quickly. Diesel you'll find just about any where and still economical and less prone to breakdown...inless i have my head in the clouds.
FollowupID: 703773

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:11

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:11
DW,

For the record, Ian Johnston, host of "Going 4wd" has a Bravo Diesel that did its head at 150,000. I know him personally and he was told it was a common problem.

FollowupID: 703816

Reply By: roberttbruce - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 23:32

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 23:32
try to buy a car just over ten years old...

the value of cars less than ten years old is inflated because the vehicle is still financeable from a car yard...

generally speaking finance companies will only lend money on cars upto ten years old or .... they will only lend money on a car if the money can be paid back within thirteen years of manufactorer date

if you had two cars the same and travelled the same klm's and condition for thier years, then a 12 year old car is usually a much better buy than a nine year old car...
AnswerID: 432940

Follow Up By: steve & rae - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 14:20

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 14:20
Yes I learnt a little about that when we bought our landcruiser last year through toyota finance.
FollowupID: 703777

Reply By: Mark S (cns) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 10:20

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 10:20
I reckon the the main hurdle here is finding an 8-10 yr old T/d ute in auto.
Best bet would be the holden rodeo just before they went to the new shape in 2003. These had the most rear seat space and may be all that is around in with an auto option?
AnswerID: 432969

Follow Up By: steve & rae - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 14:14

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 14:14
it's only a preference having auto, I'm a truck driver and jumping in and not having a clutch is just a little luxury.... rear seat space is important though. What are they like off road? and do they have the Grunt to pull a heavy trailer?
FollowupID: 703776

Follow Up By: Mark S (cns) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 17:21

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 17:21
All the utes at this age are more or less the same in terms of off road ability. They all have the same suspension set up with torsion bar front ends offering limited wheel travel. They are not as good as the old 60, but will do pretty much all you need to do if you put the wheels in the right spot....
Compared to the 8-10 yr old hilux triton & navara, Rodeo has way more rear legroom. (B.I.L has a 96 model -same shape as an 02 model, and it has noticably more that my '00 hilux (& 95 triton before that) .
The direct injection 3.0 isuzu diesel should have enough grunt to pull a heavy trailer. My 3.0d lux non-turbo pulls one from time to time - slow, but never stops pullin' - bit like an old 60 series!!!
FollowupID: 703790

Reply By: & speedway nut - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 10:45

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 10:45
we have a Rodeo, very pleased with it, and just enough room for 4 of us travelling around the North couple of weeks ago. much better once we got the air con regassed!!
AnswerID: 432971

Follow Up By: steve & rae - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 14:24

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 14:24
how would it go for space with 3 teens across the back?
FollowupID: 703778

Reply By: Member - Joel and Michelle (WA - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:04

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:04
G'day Steve
I recently bought a 100 series cruiser for around Oz trip. After 3 weeks on the Gibb with wife and 2 boys I realized the vehicle was a bit short on space, we ended up putting too much on the roof rack. We are in Queensland now (enjoying the sunshine not) waiting for our vehicle conversion to be completed, cut the back off extend the wheelbase by 650mm and add tray with canopy. We only need the space when we are offroad, as on road we have a 25 ft van. This one is not for everyone, as it is quite expensive but the results are excellent.
Checkout Creative Conversions in Brendale

Will post some pics when the conversion is complete.
Good luck looking everyone has their favourites.
Joel
AnswerID: 433041

Follow Up By: Mark Howlett - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:15

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:15
Hi Steve,

It's funny what you get used to. We travelled with our 2 kids for 6 months in our 90 Series Prado and Trak Shak. We thought our Prado was short on space! We looked at the space in the 100 series and Troopy's and dreamed on...

Mark.
FollowupID: 703817

Follow Up By: Member - Joel and Michelle (WA - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 21:58

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 21:58
Ain't that the truth.
Drawers and a fridge don't leave much room even in a large in a wagon.

Joel
FollowupID: 703838