Latest Landcruiser Traybacks

Submitted: Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 02:10
ThreadID: 81908 Views:7990 Replies:8 FollowUps:19

Related Pages

I am soon to hopefully buy a new vehicle, as after ten years the Hilux has almost had enough of the corrugations, sand, mud and the hard life. The old girl will be retired and my wife will using it is a hunting and gathering car.

I have seen the new Landcruiser v8 turbo traybacks, ands want to find out a few facts, as I cannot (understandably) get a test drive along the Tanami.

Could anyone that has one let me know a few things.

How is the front and rear suspension ?
How good is the steering stabiliser ?
What is the fuel consumption like ?
Under the bonnet, is there relatively good access to the starter motor and alternator ? (I regularly remove them for cleaning)
Do you find the new trays strong enough for a couple of 200 litre drums of fuel ?

Of course there are other things I will find out for myself, but basically I am looking for strength and solidity for some of the rougher roads around.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

Reply By: Rockape - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 07:20

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 07:20
Marc,
I drive them everyday both surface and underground in pretty rough conditions, and this is what I have found.

There have been no problems with the suspension or drivetrain, tram tracking can be a problem on some tracks due to the 100mm difference in track. Used a large machine to lift and change a tyre the other day and there was heaps of articulation from the rear axle.

Alternator is mounted down low so that causes problems with mud and water. We destroy about 1 alternator a month. (harsh conditions)

Starter motor is about an 8 hour job to remove and replace because it is mounted in the valley, the intercooler/ air boxes/ egr valve and fuel cooler have to be removed to get to it. One thing is it is out of harms way from both dirt and mud.

Steering stabiliser seems fine although the turning circle is very large.

We use lots of fuel because of the nature of what we do, anything I say will not be the norm.

Our trays a ok and we don't have problems with loads in them, the other day I put a 1/2 tonne winch in a 5 year old tray on a 78 series with no problems.

If you get one make sure you get it fitted with a low water alarm as the sealed system can get a small leak, instead of sucking back from the bottle it sucks air, leaving the bottle full and giving you a false sense of security. Until they fitted alarms they lost 4 engines to this.

Have had minimum problems with the electrics so far.

Have a good one
RA
AnswerID: 433074

Follow Up By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 07:46

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 07:46
G’day Rockape,
Wow, what a great report. I’m not sure whether you recommend the vehicle or not. Is there any tray back you would rather be diving?
Myles.
FollowupID: 703875

Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 08:21

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 08:21
Myles,
I believe there are horses for courses and it depends what you are using the vehicle for.

I looked at replacing my ageing Troopcarrier with a D-max dual cab, when I added up the cost of purchase and accessories to bring it within range of the Troopy the cost was well over $60,000 and it still wasn't as capable off road, so I decided to keep the old girl.

As a heavy duty work vehicle you can't go past the cruiser but I would aslo go for a Patrol if they got rid of the 3 litre engine. They are also a very capable and more comfortable.

I have just reported on a vehicle that Marc will be using in rmote areas and on corrigated roads, tracks and no roads at all. Many of the new utes are great and it is hard to pick between them, their fuel consumption is awesome.

Have a good one

RA
FollowupID: 703881

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 09:31

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 09:31
Hi RockApe

You have it right about the road and no road conditions where I am, and I do appreciate the report you gave. Sounds like what I am after, other than the problems with the coolant bottle which it sounds like you are talking about. I don't use water, I use coolant only. Yes that means a new radiator every couple of years, but this area treats everything rough anyway.

Any chance of finding out where the low fluid alarms can be purchased from, as that is something I would immediately have done. Even with good driving I have done both my wishbones this year, bashplate, new radiator, new starter motor and a few other odds and ends. I have just replaced my steering damper as well, so it is a little rough here sometimes.

Oh I also do a set of shockies a year on average, but that happens.

Thanks for the accuracy of what you say Rockape.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

FollowupID: 703882

Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 10:03

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 10:03
Marc,
you can purchase them from here.
Muirhead (1739) low coolant level detector.
Remote Control Technologies P/L part # 9065, description. Kit Coolant Level.
Contact. Mt Isa (07)47490233.Perth (08)93536577. Kalgoorlie ( 08)90211600 .
Brisbane (07)38801231.

Derek Bester at ABR Sidewinder is a business member on here, he also will have low level alarms and he gives great advise if you need it.

Low level alarm must also be AC to stop the likelihood of electrolyses.

I think you should be using coolant, Toyota have one that is very good and lasts for 4 years so use that coolant ONLY in the engine and don't mix different types. If you lose coolant you can still put water in but when you get home you can flush it and put in new coolant.

Modern engines need coolant, besides destroying your ali radiator it is eating away at the insides of the engine/ fuel cooler/ Egr valve/ heater and heater valve. You will save yourself big dollars by doing this. The new common rail diesels demand clean fuel so don't skimp on the filters. 1 injector is around $800.

If you install aftermarket shocks you will find they last, there are heaps out there at a price OME/ Toughdog/ Raw/ Tjm's/ EFS/ Koni's and the list goes on and on.

If you get some large radiator hose you can place this over the bottom of the rear shocks before you istall them to stop stone damage.

Have a good one
RA
FollowupID: 703888

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 10:23

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 10:23
Hi RockApe

I always do my aftermarkets anyway. I will be changing the shockies, I use OME shockies and Stabiliser, and I have never used water in my cooling system, only coolant, and always the same brand.

Thanks for the hint on covering the shockies, never tried that one but I will. I also have a habit of having a pre-filter on my snorkel. The only shockie damage that I have ever had is not so much damage, but the nuts being vibrated off by the corrugation (happened twice) and suddenly the car thinks it is skippy.

FollowupID: 703892

Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 12:18

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 12:18
Marc,
here is a photo of my rear shock with the hose protection and you gotta seriously start bribing the local grader operator.

FollowupID: 703908

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 00:48

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 00:48
Cheers RockApe

The local grader operator is my brother-in-law, so I think he is going to wear out a couple of radiator hoses all of a sudden.

Have a great weekend

FollowupID: 704073

Reply By: Wilko - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 09:17

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 09:17
Hi Marc,

Look at thread number"78914".

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 433080

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 09:37

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 09:37
Hi Wilko

I will have a look at that thread. Thanks

FollowupID: 703884

Follow Up By: Wilko - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 09:48

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 09:48
Also try the LCOOL forum is the place to gain further information.

Cheers Wilko
FollowupID: 703887

Reply By: Member - Steve M1 (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 09:20

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 09:20
Hi Marc Luther B
I am on my second Landcruiser V8 turbo trayback and so far so good.
You won't have any trouble with the rear suspension but it will ride better when loaded.
The steering stabiliser should be fine.
Average Fuel consumption 14/15 lts per 100 kms.
Your tray will have no trouble with 2x200ltr fuel drums.
There is poor access to the alternator & starter motor, hopefully I never have to pull it off!
Both vehicles I have owned have both used oil until the 70,000km mark and then stopped.

Steve M

AnswerID: 433081

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 09:36

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 09:36
Hi Steve M1

Thanks for that mate. The tray will have the fuel, two spares (Michelin XZY3 is what I run) plus my tools on the back, so pretty constantly loaded. I have 4000Kg Rockcrawlers on the Hilux, so I will have a good look at the springs.

I will also have to have a good look at the access to the starter motor and alternator, as the latter, as RockApe has said, is apparently down low, and subject to the road conditons. That I am wary of.

FollowupID: 703883

Reply By: Polaris - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 10:37

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 10:37
The rear track is significantly narrower than the front. Ok on firm surface but a PITA on sand where the rear wheels can't make up their mind which track to follow!

Oil consumption is still an issue - one large mining company here in FNQ returned over 80 of them to have oil consumption rectified.

The location of the starter motor in the valley can result in very expensive repairs. Rain water can enter via the bonnet air scoop, through the intercooler and sit around the starter. As well as a long labour component there is also a significant extra cost with replacing all the gaskets when removing the intercooler and valley etc.

Now the BIG surprise - be prepared to fork out some big dollars for the 100,000 service. The injectors in the high pressure system are due for replacement. A friend who uses drum fuel on the station had to do this at the 80,000 service. 8x $1500 = $12,000 - just for the injectors. His total 80,000 service cost him $15,000 !!

Nice vehicle.
AnswerID: 433094

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 11:19

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 11:19
Hi Polaris

It comes down to being prepared to invest the dollars I guess if one wants a good vehcile and to keep it well maintained.

The old Hilux cost me a few bob new, and I have spent nearly 150% of the orignal purchase price over the last ten years in servicing and replacement parts.

The rain entering via the bonnet scoop has me a bit concerned, as when we get rain, it really comes belting. To your knowledge have toyaota looked at this factor at all ?

FollowupID: 703901

Follow Up By: Polaris - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 12:39

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 12:39
Marc ..
Have no idea about Toyota looking at it, although I doubt it because after all the bonnet scoops on any intercooled vehicle are primarily designed to draw the maximum amount of cool air into and through the intercooler. Rain water would be present in any instalation.
It's a bit different with a bonnet scoop that is trying to grab cool air for the engine - like the old "Shaker" on the Ford XY GT's. In that case the water had to be separated in the airbox and allowed to drain away. The cool water would be beneficial through the intercooler though as it would pull more temperature from the air intake after the turbo. Doesn't help much with a "V" configuration though - especially with a starter motor located there.
Many vehicles - including street 'specials' like WRX and Skyline have the intercooler in front of the radiator.

As a matter of interest - the Safari snorkel on my Hilux has a water separator at the bottom of the ram head. Any water that gets past this is collected and released via a valve in the bottom of the airbox.

FollowupID: 703910

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 18:38

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 18:38
Hang on a second, are you saying that a 100000k service is gunna cost in excess of $12000??
That seems a bit expensive

Shane
FollowupID: 703966

Follow Up By: Polaris - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 19:42

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 19:42
Yup ! My friends 80,000 Km cost him $15,000 !!

Sounds ridiculous, I know, - can buy a new small car for that. But it seems the injectors are due for replacement at 100,00 Km.
FollowupID: 703982

Follow Up By: Polaris - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 19:47

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 19:47
... should read ...due for replacement at 100,000 Km.

Toyota blamed the drum fuel for the premature replacement. All the vehicles on the station use the same drumed fuel. Must also have a poor fuel filter on the V8 !
FollowupID: 703983

Follow Up By: Polaris - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 09:56

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 09:56
The Prado and Hilux with D4D engines are also in the same boat with regard to the injectors.
Toyota have stated that these injectors are "not serviceable". Each injector has a unique serial number and, apparently, that number contains some of the injector's characteristics. That is why they cannot be swapped around as the engine management computer needs to know exactly what injector is in which cylinder so as to provide fine control over the engine management.
When the injectors are replaced, a special Toyota programming unit plugs somewhere into the car and the engine management computer is told what injector is where. Complex huh?

* refer PradoPoint thread

Injection quantity deviation requirements from car manufacturers are increasingly severe, and DENSO is striving to improve machining technology with micron-machining techniques to meet these requirements. Further, DENSO developed a software compensation method for the new common rail system, which compensates injection quantity deviations among the injectors. Specifically, by adopting a two-dimensional code, each injector has a code that contains its own deviation. The engine ECU then reads deviations of the injectors during assembly and compensates for them. In addition, to keep the precise injection quantity of each injector, DENSO developed software that allows only one cubic millimeter per one injection while maintaining a variation of 0.5 millimeters or less during its operation. As a result, the system can keep performing injections with required small fuel quantities, at high accuracy during its operation.

* refer Denso North America

FollowupID: 704087

Reply By: Rod W - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 13:03

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 13:03
I picked up a secondhand (36,000 ks on the clock) 78 series Troopy last Friday. To date i haven't found the oill filter. There is something at the bottom of the motor that i think maybe it. Can anyone tell me where Mr Toyota has hiden the oil filter
AnswerID: 433116

Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:50

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:50
Rod, that's it, it is built into the motor
FollowupID: 703923

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:19

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:19
Bonnet scoop
7000 km I copped some hail. Went through the scoop and flattened quite a number of intercooler finns. Mentioned the damage to Mr. Toyo ... no answer.
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 433132

Reply By: get outmore - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:22

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:22
front suspension is fine but the rears wont take much of a load standard and sit quite low and flat, we notice a big difference when the rears are rplaced (springs last about 6 months)

steering sabiliser is fine i guess - havnt noticed anything

there is no access to the starter motor as it sits in the valley cover

I started seeing alot of them with the motors removed in the workshop.

i asked if they were having problems with them but it wasnt the motors so much as fairly simple anciliry things that were snapping bolts during removal to to different alloys and its easiest to remove the motor to fix them as there is no room

trays shouldnt be a problem depending on the supplier. they are not a toyota item but are fitted after shipping in. In WA alot are fitted up at kalamunda WSP

(walliston steel products)
AnswerID: 433206

Reply By: Flynnie - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 22:18

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 22:18
Marc

I have a 2009 GXL version with factory heavy duty steel tray wooden floor with removable rear ladder rack. It has done just over 50,000k. Current ones differ in that they have new dash and airbags and a few minor changes. Different radio etc. Mechanically they are much the same.

I have just grabbed my service book and have checked out to 200,000 k. I cannot find any scheduled changing of injectors at all. Injector problems may happen but it is not the case they happen as regular as has been stated.

On my profile page there is a fair bit of comments on the vehicle. Basically it is the best trayback available bar none. It has done one Canning Stock Route and three Simpson Desert crossings

Fuel consumption long term average is 12.44 litres per 100 k. Lowest 11.1 and highest 16.78 on the Simpson this year. The CSR was 13.5.

Tram tracking I have only once encountered and it was fixed by engaging four wheel drive. I have never had a problem with it. Clearly others have and I am curious as to what wheels tyres and pressures they were running and whether in two wheel drive or four. I tend to use four wheel drive a lot more than some drivers. This may have something to do with it.

You have mentioned shock absorbers I fitted Koni 82 series 2347 and 2348 in SP1 configuration (whatever that means) before the Canning trip. No issues. I had no problem with the original shocks either, which I have kept. No other mechanical changes made. I have found no need to alter the springs so far. I may in the future.

The steering stabiliser is fine. I did find the steering lacked any real power assist at the very low crawling speeds on some Simpson Desert detours this year. Other than that, no problem.

Others have talked of the engine setup. It is not really the vehicle to do lots of deep water crossings.

It could carry four or five 200 litre drums without problems. Beyond that I don't know.Mine has carried a large lawn tractor about 450-500 kg many times with ease. It had no problem with the full load of gear on the Canning this year.

I do have a low radiator coolant alarm but have not get around to fitting it yet. There is no easy way of inspecting the coolant level and these are a good idea.
Engine Saver Low Water Alarm

The vehicle is not perfect by any means. It needs new seats. I fitted a Stratos suspension seat, They should be standard. The rear brakes are under engineered and cannot stand immersion in mud.Mine self destructed after I had returned home. Hoppers Stoppers do a replacement kit. From what I can gather it is very good but costs a lot.

To date the only issue has been the rear brakes. I had expected to suffer some damage on the trip this year but did not. They are pretty tough but not unbreakable.

Flynnie
AnswerID: 433217

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 22:30

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 22:30
Hi Flynnie

Thanks for the detailed report mate, that is execatly the kind of thing I am looking for. I am a bit wary now, as almost half the year we arew in mud, but then I should be able to get something aftermarket for the rear brakes if such is required.

I changed my steering stabiliser in my Hilux this morning, couldn't find an OME so got an Ironman, and fitting the damned thing was a mongrel of a job. I will have to get on the corrugation to give it a shake up, and then rip the bash plate off and tighten it up a bit.

Thanks for the heads up on the seats, I will be changing the seats, at my size and weight I want some comfort.

FollowupID: 704041

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 00:04

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 00:04
Marc

Pleased to assist. Had a few extra thoughts.

The brake failure was recent and shook me up a bit. In hindsight I should have had the brakes dismantled and cleaned up on return from the trip. Likely would have saved some costs and drama. Would have saved a lot more if I did it myself. The brakes (or lack of them) gave me a bit of a fright on a steep descent with a full load of wet firewood and approaching a T intersection. I think I was under GVM. It did pull up. Took a lot longer than usual and there were a few anxious seconds. On later inspection one of the rear brake pads was not there anymore and lots of severe wear on discs and pads.

From what I can tell, a lot off other vehicles suffer in the same way with rear disc brakes. On an earlier thread there were reports of this happening to a number of vehicles during and after Simpson Desert crossings this year. Still the Landcruiser is a premium priced vehicle (costs twice as much as the BT50s etc) and deserves better brakes.

The factory tray I have is a bolted together job. Lots of nylocks. No problem with anything coming loose. I believe they are made by -

Triple M Holdings

Flynnie
FollowupID: 704068