Electronics!!!,I"m over Them.

Submitted: Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 19:17
ThreadID: 81927 Views:4243 Replies:6 FollowUps:22
Have had the cruiser down for two days, with a intermitten elec fault.

The reading of the code from the scanner indicated that it was a fuel issue, and after testing every bloody thing in that system nothing could be found faulty!!.

It turned out to be a lbad connection with one of the relays, the motor would start and run for a while , and then when you stopped and tried to restart, it would play up, Swmbo got caught out at the local servo, Man what a filthy phone call that was!!!, ...lol , The auto electrician was totally baffled with the thing and only by chance that he was changing relays for the umteenth time and actually gave one a good wriggle when the motor was going and it stopped , so on closer inspection found the bottom pins were loose, So much for all this hi tech diagnostic gear, it can cost hrs of time going! no where,.....GRRRRR!

Reply By: Member - G N (VIC) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 19:24

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 19:24
Hi Axle

what model cruiser?

GN
AnswerID: 433184

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 19:40

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 19:40
Hi GN

04 V8 Petrol 100s,

cheers, Axle
FollowupID: 703980

Reply By: Gazal Champion - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 19:39

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 19:39
Want to hear something frightening???

Not only do they have electronic accellerators in the 100 series and beyond, but the have electronic steering in some current Toyotas.

Imagine a failure in the circuit somewhere down the road or well away from someone who can fix it.

Ive messed with electronics for years as a hobby and my opinion is that they are not reliable enough to replace mechanical steering systems.

Just imagine, pinched wire, faulty relay, water or moisture in the computer housing, failing servo motors. The central locking module went in my 80 series and the replacement part probably would have cost an arm or a leg.

If they can't get a small circuit board to be as reliable as mechanical steering what hope for the driver and passengers.

There used to be a placard in Better Brakes in Sydney that my father used to often quote. "If you can't go, that is a misfortune. If you can't stop it is a calamity."

Something to think about!
Cheers, Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 433188

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 19:47

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 19:47
Hi Bruce

What runs electronic steering?

Regards GN
FollowupID: 703984

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 20:14

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 20:14
Hi GN,
Probably like my Mazda 2 and lots of smaller cars now - electric power steering, rather than hydraulic power. Time will tell how reliable it is. Quite small, under the dash, no hoses or pumps to go wrong. Not sure it's electronic, though, just an electric servo motor instead of a hydraulic motor.
Gerry
FollowupID: 703991

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:02

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:02
GN, my nephew is a toyota mechanic and i was telling him that some manufacturers were talking about electronic steering and he said Toyota have them now. Would not have a clue which models or even if it is in Aus. But the do exist and it is only a matter of time before we have to suffer them here.
Bruce.

FollowupID: 704013

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:11

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:11
Hi Joc45,
I think they were talking drive by wire, not an electrically driven hydraulic pump. The electric pump we could live with I'm sure.

FollowupID: 704016

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:28

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:28
Hi Gazal,
Yeh I understand what you say, and drive-by-wire is possibly out there for vehicle steering (it might be ok for Airbuses, but I still feel uncomfortable about it in a vehicle!) but my little (current) Mazda 2 has a motor drive under the dash on the steering shaft, with no hydraulics. I haven't investigated in depth, but I assume it has some fairly simple servo electrics to turn the motor either way when the wheel is moved. Bear in mind that electric servos have been around since before WWII, so electronics are not necessarily a requirement.
cheers,
Gerry
FollowupID: 704019

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 22:02

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 22:02
Wifes Toyota Yaris sedan has it, 06 model no pump or belts to drive it (belts for everything else air,water pump etc) Not sure about other models but hers is also speed sensitive, so the faster you go the heavier it gets, when sitting still you can turn it with your finger, we had speed sensitive in our old statesman as well but not electric, good old belt and hydraulic pump, mind you it spat a seal out, was $200 more for the pump instead of the usual pump due to the speed control, god knows how much it would cost to fix the yaris electric pump or what ever it is if it decided to play up or go bang. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 704029

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 08:22

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 08:22
The big worry with this steer by wire is not the cost of repairs if something should fail, it's the cost in human lives.

FollowupID: 704081

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 08:33

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 08:33
Can still turn her wheel with engine off, obviously very hard to turn, maybe if some thing went wrong it would just go like the old hydraulic set up and be hard to turn ?? i Cant imagine that if it failed it would turn the opposite way or anything like that, there would have to be safety overides in the event of a power steer failure, wouldnt there ?? Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 704082

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 14:11

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 14:11
I know there might be a greater level of redundancy in built in aircraft but for at least 30 years now the fly by wire concept has been in use in aircraft. That is there is absolutely no physical connection from the cockpit to the control surfaces (ie alerions, rudder, elevators, trim tabs etc). The pilot moves the cockpit control and an electrical impulse is sent to servos which in turn either electrically or hydraulically operate the flying control. I'm thinking that auto design engineers are now sufficiently confident in the reliability of such systems that they can no longer see a reason to not use them in motor cars.
Remember when we did away with the crank handle and introduced the self starter motor..........well it too took a long time for folks to accept that perhaps the starter motor alone will suffice after all :-). But seriously, I believe that each year we are seeing greater improvement in terms of reliability of the electronics in vehicles after all there are fewer moving parts in these electronic system - I would just be a little more comfortable if there was at least some level of redundancy buit into the systems. My 2 bobs worth.
FollowupID: 704108

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 20:06

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 20:06
electronics are good for giving more power and control, but bad in the outback....imagine accidently dropping your keys into the water at well 30
AnswerID: 433193

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 20:20

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 20:20
Mate I'm thinking about this sort of thing now believe me!!'

The V8 petrol cruiser is a beautiful thing to drive and feels very solid, but after looking at the whole electrical circuit of everything overall, There is a absolute chit load of things to let you down! It can stay as the shopping trolley, and the landy goes bush, at least you can pick up the bits and tie them back on again ...lol.

FollowupID: 703998

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:07

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:07
Hi Dozer,
I was watching one of Roothy's DVDs recently of a trip they did to the Cape.

There was a late model GU Patrol (not associated with Roothy's mob) with the fancy sensor in the key and the owner had dropped the key in the water and the result was the car would not start.

This was well up towards the Cape, Bamaga I think, no one could fix it so it had to be loaded onto the Ferry for a 400 k trip back to civilisation and a $2000 repair bill at a nissan dealer. Makes you shudder does it not.
Cheers, Bruce.

FollowupID: 704014

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 14:42

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 14:42
Yep, the imobiliser key thats neded to start the motor....your stuck if the battery goes flat, or if it gets water in it....all to keep your car in your driveway....
Axle, i can understand your frustration, as thesame thing happened to me...with a cressida i had just bought, it would start fine but wouldnt start when hot, good for the family of 5 with 3 under age of 5. Towtruck would take it away and leave us on the side of the road...3rd time and 3rd auto eleccy, i bought a multimeter and photocopied the wiring schematic and went looking myself.....main efi relay was loosing volts when hot $20 relay, came good when cold.
FollowupID: 704110

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 14:50

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 14:50
Hi Bruce,
A lesson learned here - the Patrol owner was a silly boy for not carrying a spare immobiliser key!
A lot of things, when dropped in water, don't work afterwards!
Even a standard non-electronic key, when dropped in the mud and not recovered will spell lots of problems for a vehicle owner. I always make sure the second key is on the passenger when 4wding.
cheers,
Gerry
FollowupID: 704111

Reply By: Joe n Mel - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 20:33

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 20:33
and i feel for you............ we ended up buying an "old" HZJ75 "twin cab" (converted) for that exact reason, we live and work in very remote places with 3 kids and can NOT afford to be broken down with a "simple" problem that wont let us move and requires an "expert" to attend to it ......
AnswerID: 433197

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 20:56

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 20:56
G/Day Joe n Mel;

The problem is the affordability of the Diagnostic gear for some of the outback workshops, They can cross reference with some things with some scanners but can be a problem, its allright for Toyo to say bring it in but if your a thousand ks away, whats the use of them loll

Cheers Axle
FollowupID: 704012

Follow Up By: Joe n Mel - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:54

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:54
Spot on there, as in the post above, i could rebuild my motor for that....
Like the wheel alignment, good old tape measure and 1/2 an hour and it was done....... yep it uses more fuel btu at the end of the day it is not that much more and yep it is gutless but who cares i am not in a hurry ......... gearbox blows up and a few grand and few hours and heaps around and i am on my way and with parts, the more remote we get the more of the good old cruiser parts can be found.............
Yes the "affordability" of the gear is a problem and to cover it they have to charge more and then it all spirals out of reach for these remote guys so they dont bother to go there, also warrenty is a problem, if you arnt "authorised" then you can be made liable it it all goes wrong, like a computer falure due to a wrong component and there goes a few grand...... and for you the owner, you still have to get to point "B" and have no car in the middle on noware......
I keep looking at new 4wds but keep reminding myself to stick with what works for us ..............
Anyway..... what happened to the "limp home mode" that used to be built into electronics, dont they do it anymore ??????
FollowupID: 704025

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 22:07

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 22:07
OH yes!, The limp home mode is there D3 &4 Disco, Criticised of course, They limp everwherel !!,..LOL .. BUT!!.. Better than sitting on the date and going no where,

Cheers Axle
FollowupID: 704033

Follow Up By: Joe n Mel - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 22:34

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 22:34
funny you say that, over time the "disco's" had coped flack but just maybe, yep maybe they will be like my car one day, the only reliable car still running ....
man i hate to say that :-)
What do you think was your "cause" for the loose pins, with so much wiring these days and the weight of harnesses hanging off some of these relays and sensors and corragated roads i wonder if that caused it, i have spent time cable tying up all loose wiring for that very reason... and also using a product called "Soft Seal" (CRC brand) on all connections, worked in the pearling industry for a bit and learnt some really good tricks with wiring and connectors, love the stuff ....
FollowupID: 704043

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 22:46

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 22:46
Yes!, Weight of wiring hanging off things", not been supported by clips that have disappeared, Flimsy design all round!!, Most people are oblivious to these things, Toyo don't give two hoots, Bring it in" We"ll fix it",.....For a price!!!!,

Cheers Axle
FollowupID: 704044

Reply By: Member - peter f (VIC) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:28

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:28
hey axle ,
better get used to electronics ,gunna get a lot worse , Suzuki swift cars have
had electronic P/Stg for years and very reliable .
mechpete
AnswerID: 433208

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:36

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:36
Yeah!, Mech Pete,......Buts thats Suzuki,,,There always been reliable!

Cheers Axle
FollowupID: 704023

Follow Up By: disco driver - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 23:12

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 23:12
Yair, I'll agree with you on that one, Axle,
but so is a Series3 Landrover.
It's only got 3 fuses, 1 relay (the indicator switch), an alternator, a starter and best of all a carby. Absolutely no modern electronickery to cause trouble.
Anything else can be fixed with a hammer, screwdriver, cold chisel or a length of "wire cocky soft' from the nearest fence.

Disco
FollowupID: 704051

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 08:43

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 08:43
Hi Pete, electronic power steering we can live with provided there is a physical mechanicle connection between the steering wheel and the road wheels.

But once you try and make that connection with a couple of wires, instead of solid metal, you have to add in circuit boards and plugs and the more electronics and connections the more can, and most likely will, go wrong.

I had trouble with the horn in my 80 series so I tracked it down to the relay on the inner guard. I pulled it apart and repaired it. Simple enough, but it failed again after a couple of months. I repaired it again, a couple of months and it failed again so I got a new one, $30 trade. The construction was, in my opinion, too light, too complex and bloody unnecessary.

I could have bought a better one from Dick Smith but it would not have been in the same package so it would not have fitted into the socket and I could not be bothered stuffing around, that's why I bought the Toyota replacement.

This old problem of "Planned Obsolescence" is all very well but couple that up with steering and you have a disaster waiting to happen.
Cheers, Bruce.

FollowupID: 704083

Reply By: Kimba10 - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 17:52

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 17:52
You have had some issues with that cruiser havnt you Axle. Wasnt it you that had the motor go bang ?? V8 4.7 Lexus motor or am I thinking some one else ?? I think Toyoa have dropped their game a bit over the years, stuffed diffs on front of 100 series, 200 series V8 diesel drinking oil and engine failures, hilux tailshafts, 1kz heads on prados and luxs, injector and engine mount issues on 120 prados, clutches in hilux's, thin crappy metal on the new hilux's fatique from vibrations on hilux roofs (cracking), towbars on 120 prados, gearbox issues on the 150's my next one might not be a toyota. And people knock the discos etc Regards Steve
AnswerID: 433682