private health insurance

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 10:03
ThreadID: 81958 Views:5452 Replies:18 FollowUps:28
Hi and good morning all you young ones. Have any of you who are travelling just about all the time got private health insurance and is it worth it and or do we need it. I'm in a bit of a bind weather to keep mine or not, could l get a bit of feed back on this
Cheers and thanks
Woody46

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 10:29

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 10:29
Wether to keep your health insurance or not ? In any emergency your initial treatment will be the same , insured or not , for everything else its no different wether your a traveller or a resident ,insured get a choice ,uninsured get whats given , and don't forget the tax component of insure/uninsure.
AnswerID: 433329

Reply By: woody46 - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 10:42

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 10:42
Thanks Alloy good advise also forgot about the tax component
Woody46
AnswerID: 433330

Reply By: dereki - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 10:49

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 10:49
I know officially the care is the same private or public, but in reality there is a difference in the risk/cost consideration depending on private/public. (Ex-wife is nurse of 20 years and has plenty to say about the subject.)

In an emergency you public is where you will end up, and is very good. It's when you get into the "elective" realm that it can make a big difference. And... what is considered "elective" is slowly encompassing things that really are not, but they need to fiddle the books to make the underfunded public health system look better.

Eg. A guy at work did a knee at martial arts training... he had private health insurance but tried the cheaper public option first... 4 year wait, in pain. He opted for private and was done in 3 months by the best in the business.

Another thing is that the many big public hospitals are training centres for the universities, so you may well get treatment by a student under supervision.

My 2c, At the end of the day this one is a personal choice based on a lot of factors.

I knew a guy who self insured... he basically had a pile of money set aside for emergencies and paid the extra medicare levy as a contribution to the greater good.

D
AnswerID: 433331

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 11:17

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 11:17
One aspect of the insure / uninsured is the perceived "best" , every one always claims that their surgeon was the "best" , thing is your having a once off procedure , the only people who actually "know" who is the "best" are the other surgeons specialised in that procedure and the theatre nursing staff who deal with the surgeons day in day out ,,, that said you will ALLWAYS get the best available at the time of the emergency , after stabilisation the insured /non insured debate becomes an issue ,
Very very few have the disipline to self insure the cost of private treatment , remember that Kerry Packer the richest man in Australia at the time when he had his heart attack ,the 1st responce unit had no defib ,
FollowupID: 704194

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 11:39

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 11:39
I waited 7 years to have a knee done, when I fronted to meet the surgeon, he told me he would supervise the intern through the operation.

I told him he could supervise the intern through someone else's operation, I then went and got private health insurance, I waited the 1 year, I then had to wait 3 weeks from the 1st consultation to the operation, I had a private room in a private hospital, after the operation I walked out the building 24 hours latter good as gold.

Actually Alloy c/t the ambulance at the event you are talking about did have a defib, in fact it was the only one in the whole NSW fleet that did, this is why he when halves with the NSW Government to put one in every ambulance in NSW , the reason being was that he could be any where and need that service.

My info comes from Kerry Packer him self at a private dinner I attended.
FollowupID: 704200

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 12:03

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 12:03
READ correctly '1st response unit' was 2nd unit with defib , as for your knee ,goes to show , YOU CHOSE to wait 7 years then did not like the system and then decided to pay , more fool you ,, any and ALL who wish to complain about an "intern" [your words] operating on them under supervision pray tell us all HOW ELSE are the SUPPOSED TO LEARN ,,, Oh and yes a knee op / even a replacement IS NOT AN emergency life threatening procedure unless of course you are an overpaid football player.
FollowupID: 704206

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 12:27

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 12:27
I did read correctly these are your words.

remember that Kerry Packer the richest man in Australia at the time when he had his heart attack ,the 1st responce unit had no defib ,

These are also your words.

'1st response unit' was 2nd unit with defib what the

He had a heart attack at a polo event, the facts were, there was an ambulance there on site, it had the only defib unit in an ambulance in NSW, so the first response unit was already there with a defib unit.

I did not complain about an intern operating on me, I simply chose not to let him operate on me, why because I had a choice, you also have the right to choose a different option if you wish.

I never mentioned the word emergency in my post either, I was just relaying a similar response to the one above.

you don't have to have an EMERGENCY while travelling to need a doctor, operation or to be hospitalized, these things could come about by a simple accident, having private health insurance would just give you a better option.

FollowupID: 704210

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 13:08

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 13:08
You stiil can't seem to read , Yes there was an ambulance at the polo , it was 1st responce , NO DEFIB , 2nd ambulance carried one of the few defibs units fitted to ambulances in NSW at the time , good luck, not insurance or $ saved Kerry Packer that day ,,,,,, and now if you read the response first made it was that no amount of insurance or $$$$ will change the fact that the very best care that is available will be given at the time of an EMERGENCY , $$$ and insurance play NO part in critical life threatening emergency care ,. your knee though of import to you is way way down on the list of an "emergency".
FollowupID: 704228

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 14:00

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 14:00
So if I am to translate what you saying now, there were 2 ambulances at the site, 1 was a first response unit the other was not, however the second unit had a defib unit inside.

If that is the case perhaps you should have stated that in your second response more clearly, because this ('1st response unit' was 2nd unit with defib ) doesn't say much at all.

At no point did I say my knee was an emergency.

At no point did I challenge the rest of your post.

FollowupID: 704246

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 14:33

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 14:33
Finally you get the difference between 1st responce and 2nd unit , the 1st ambulance on site [1st responce]was there all day as per requirement for the event -polo to be held ,that ambulance had no defib ,fitted or portable , Heart attack ! 1st responce ambulance calls for assistance [ 2nd response unit] which had a defib on board , Kerry wakes up in Hospital and on learning of his "luck" that the 2nd response vehicle was one of very few defib equipped ambulances in NSW decides to donate enough $ so that every ambulance in NSW is equipped with a defib.
FollowupID: 704252

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 14:53

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 14:53
You didn't mention the 2nd unit in your first response, ( pun intended) had you done so and said that the 2nd unit on site had one then I wouldn't have wasted my time trying to work what you were trying to say.

As I said I was told the story fist hand.
FollowupID: 704258

Follow Up By: ModSquad - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 20:10

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 20:10
Your responses are getting off the mark and getting to the hijack stage. Best to leave it there thanks you two.

The moderation team
Moderation is just rules

FollowupID: 704303

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 21:02

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 21:02
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Moderation Complaints Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 704315

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 14:46

Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 14:46
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Moderation Complaints Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 704375

Follow Up By: Rob! - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2010 at 12:57

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2010 at 12:57
Ha. This is very funny.

Children, if you want to be understood, use correct grammar and punctuation.

Writing the following...

read , Yes
responce , NO DEFIB , 2nd
day ,,,,,, and
$$$$
care ,. your

is like talking with your mouth full, so don't be surprised if nobody can understand you.
FollowupID: 704473

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 11:08

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 11:08
Hi Woody
Private Health is just like any other Insurance, you hope that you will never have to use it but it dame nice to know that if something goes wrong, you will be covered.

We had an instance a number of years ago with one of our boys when they were at High School. Our son fell and badly damaged his knee while playing football. We had to rush him of to Adelaide for treatment and at his young age of only 14 had to have a major knee reconstruction. When the specialist was examining him in the Children's Hospital, he informed us that being a Public Hospital, even if James was ready for surgery and there was a more important case that came in, he would be wheeled out of surgery and then have to wait again for his turn. The same specialist then said that if we opted to go as a private patient, he could be operated on immediately across the road in a Private Hospital. He was then wheeled across the road on a hospital bed and within 20 minutes was being operated on.

The moral of the story is the same across the field, being car, house, boat, caravan and health, the ones that do not have insurance and need it are the first one to cry out.

Sure it is a lot of money each month to pay, but it gives you piece of mind that in the event that you need medical help, you will not be put on the end of a sometimes very long public waiting list.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 433334

Follow Up By: Member - Lyndon C (TAS) - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2010 at 14:37

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2010 at 14:37
G'day Woody, not too sure about the health insurance side of things, however one thing I can vouch for if travelling around Australia, is definitely take out Ambulance Cover. Some States cover you, but others don't. If for instance you need an Ambulance, at that point in time, the last thing on your mind is cost, and so if you are not covered, it can be an awful sinking feeling to get that bill after you get out of Hospital. This happened to me not so long back. I mean whoever would think they need Ambulance cover when you are feeling quite healthy? Don't leave this one to chance, especially if travelling through W.A. Some small amount of research on this one will head you in the right direction. Safe journey, and happy camping, Lyndon.
FollowupID: 704485

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 11:46

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 11:46
The big debate - and it is no different for travellers or those at home. It also depends on your personal financial situation - those on higher incomes (which includes non monetary income such as fringe benefits) are hit with the Medicare surcharge.

For many of us, public health care is the same. Waiting lists for elective surgery can be an issue, but there is always the option to pay the price for private - it may well work out cheaper as a one off than paying the premium every year. Also when hospitalised privately, you are likely to have lots of additional and gap bills.

Age of yourselves, you family, and any medical conditions all come into the equation when deciding.

We have ancillary cover, and this helps with dental and optical bills, although probably not to the extent that we pay out each year for this cover, but we got our money's worth when the children were included.

When travelling, in an emergency you will most likely go to the public hospital in the nearest town with no choices, or if really serious, be flown to a major hospital and get immediate attention.

AnswerID: 433340

Follow Up By: woody46 - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 12:24

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 12:24
Thanks everyone of you who sent advise its great that we can all put our opinions forward and they are all great opinions as well thank you all very kindly but at the end of the day it is my decision and your opinions have helped me to make up my mind.I have said before IF YOU DONT ASK YOU DONT GET
A very warm cheers to you all (and i do hope i meet a lot of you on our trip)
Woody46
FollowupID: 704209

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 12:46

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 12:46
Here's another take on "health insurance" ,that being Ambulance cover , most if not all private health insurance companies give you full coverage /rebate on ambulance , thing is in QLD at least if you have an electricity account you and your immediate family are covered by the levy on your account and is reciprocated by all state and territories in Australia to provide cover , now here is the rub , I pay for private health insurance = 1x ambo cover , I pay houshold elec bill = 1x ambo cover , Son at school - elec bill = 1x ambo cover , P+C pays elec bill for tennis courts on school grounds = 1x ambo cover , so in effect 4x payment for ambulance cover , double rub , our town HAS NO GOVT PROVIDED AMBULANCE SERVICE , the proverbial 'chook raffels' bought our ambulance and equipment [ ever looked at the cost of a new generation defib ? 20k !] , Our Ambulance is driven by volunteers on a roster of availability but WE pay thru the nose , you recon we care if you have health insurance ? NAH , we treat you all the same .
AnswerID: 433346

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 13:39

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 13:39
Actually, QLD provides a variety of exemptions for schools and many other groups so it is very unlikely that you are paying more than once for ambulance cover via the electricity levy. And, unless you want 'extra cover' (such as aerial) your private health insurer shouldn't be charging you for ambulance services in QLD. If you think it is then contact them and complain by all means.

There are thousands of towns/suburbs that don't have their own ambulances - nor do they have hospitals and other services simply due to very high cost and relatively low demand. This is one of the reasons that the Flying Doctor was established of course. Great that your community has banded together to keep some level of service going. As with many services in Australia volunteers keep thing going and costs down - significantly. (In a true free enterprise system these services would be fully costed and the 'volunteers', such as firies and emergency service people, paid handsomely for their skills and labour, but that's a different argument for another day).

The reason that you still have to pay for ambulance cover despite maintaining your own service is, however, simple - you are covered wherever you go in the state at any time, and may also be covered when you travel interstate (note to OP - there still appears to be some restrictions on reciprocal arrangements so it's wise to check with your PH insurer and/or govt authority about that).
FollowupID: 704237

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 14:18

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 14:18
Bazooka , Exemptions from schools ? Exemptions for many others [ such as the P+C in my example ] If was possible don't you think we would be doing so ! I object to paying 4x the ambulance levy for a basic sevice that we do NOT even get , WE have no hospital , WE have no Govt funded fire brigade but we pay a fire services levy , WE in the scrub pay and donate to the RFDS constantly , by your argument when you come out to our town and are in need of the ambulance WE can charge you $$ as you havent paid for it ,, read it again , I object to paying the ambulance levy 4x !! Not once but 4x !!
FollowupID: 704249

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 12:30

Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 12:30
Let's not exagerate the situation here Alloy, you are not paying 4 times the amount! The levy paid by the (public?) school is not paid by you as a parent, and even if it is, the cost would be 5/8ths of bugger all. Lighting for the tennis courts are the same...might be $1 per person if it is allocated by usage. This ambulance levy will never cover all your costs if and when you may need the service, moreso in remote areas. Throw in a free trip on a helicopter and you may then appreciate the costs involved to service everyone at similiar levels of health care. I realise funding for helicopters are out of a different bucket, however there are costs directly associated to the Ambulance service to maintain this vital service (staffing etc)

In areas not serviced by a urban fire service, the rural fire levy covers "some" of the cost to protect your property and locality. What do you think the fire levy covers??

FollowupID: 704367

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 17:37

Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 17:37
Andrew , its no exageration , right in front of me right now the last Ergon bill for the tennis courts ,on school grounds , Elec used = $6.46 Service Fee =$44.56 , Service fee Adjustment =$1.96 , AMBULANCE =$26.88 ,
The objection is the Ambulance fee , that we out in the sticks are forced to pay for EVERY elec meter , have a look at some stations , 10 + meters on the 1 property ,each and every meter paying the levy , I'm not talking about 10 houses on the 1 property , cases of 9 bore pumps each on a meter = 9x ambulance levy , another case in point , our fire station , rural remote ,totally volunteer , 2x ambulance levy , why ? 2 bills every 90 odd days meter 1 on old building ,meter 2 on newer shed .
FollowupID: 704380

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 18:02

Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 18:02
Alloy,

That information is not exactly correct ;)

I take it we are talking Qld? If that is the case there are exemptions for many of those situations you mentioned including Fire Stations, pumps (bores) etc. I find it strange that they would not apply for the exemption....for further details check out http://www.ambulancecover.qld.gov.au/exemptions/customer_sale/index.shtml

Hope that helps,
FollowupID: 704384

Reply By: cycadcenter - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 13:31

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 13:31
As an Expat who lives in the USA most of the time and in Oz for about 4 months a year I don't qualify for private insurance in Australia.

I cannot stress how lucky you are in Oz with your medical system even with ALL the problems it has.

The USA has totally stuffed up the system over here with Obamacare. There is no back up system and as a result our private medical insurance premiums are going through the roof. The premium for myself and wife in good health, same insurance for 18 years and NEVER made a claim on it due to a $2,500 per year deductible just went from $880.00 PER MONTH to $1,266.00 per month. AND it only covers BASIC medical to 80% of the cost.

Can't wait to move back to OZ permanently next year

Bruce in San Diego moving to Childers.
AnswerID: 433353

Follow Up By: woody46 - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 13:59

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 13:59
Hey guys didnt want to start ww111 but thanks all the same and boy i sure am glad i dont live in the states. We a blessed with this wonderful country arnt we
Cheers once again
Woody.
FollowupID: 704244

Reply By: Member - Brad S (SA) - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 14:49

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 14:49
One morning while getting ready for work at home I missed the bottom step of the stairs and fell rupturing the left quadriceps tendon. Ambulance to RAH...about $850. Ambulance from RAH to Flinders Private...about $280. Wait to be operated on in RAH 4 to 5 days. Operated on next day in Flinders Private. Three months off work with leg in a Zimmer splint and weekly physio for 2 months so far.

Two points...
1. Don't waste your sick leave on "sickies" if you can accrue them...I still have three months left.
2. Private Health cover...you betcha! Covered ambulance, surgery, hospitalisation and physio.
AnswerID: 433359

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 19:51

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 19:51
I've been of that mindset for some years now Brad S - saved my sickies to the point where I now have slighthly more than 4200 hrs accrued - will be retiring next year and seems I will be donating the greater portion of this back to my employer Don't regret for a moment not getting sick or being injured though.
FollowupID: 704301

Follow Up By: TTTSA - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 21:35

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 21:35
The company I work for pay an insurance policy on our behalf for income protection, don,t have to worry about saving sickies, also payout all unused sick leave when we leave.
Lucky I guess.
Peter Horne

"There is no substitute for cubic inches"

FollowupID: 704320

Reply By: Holiday Maker - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 15:23

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 15:23
Hi Everyone and Woody,

It may seem expensive but we wouldn't be without it.

I am surprised at some of the comments here about the 1st response in an emergency. The general consensus is that you have no choice and off you go to a public hospital emergency?

Not so.

I suffer from SVT and it can strike at any time. The last time I had an episode 2 ambulances turned up very quickly. The paramedic said that they were going to take me to the public hospital and I told them "don't bother, I'd rather die here at home than get killed at our public hospital."

I then asked if it was possible to go to the private hospital where the specialist that treats me has his consulting rooms. He rang them on his mobile phone and was told "yes, but there is a $120 fee for emergency patients."

I agree that sometimes you would not have a choice on where they take you and indeed you would (I know I would) be grateful for any immediate treatment.

The longwinded point I am trying to make is that, yes, the choice is eventually yours and for me (us) it is costly but worth it.

We also elected to pay the higher premiums so that there is no gap fees or any extra fees of any kind.

Dusty

AnswerID: 433361

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 15:59

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 15:59
Holidaymaker , lovely scenario in your story , BUT , now what would your story be if your NOT in a major population area , no private hospital within 800km , only 1 yes 1 ambulance and that a volunteer service within 100 klm , what choice then , ohh thats right you would sooner die , ,,, the point being that health insurance has its place BUT in a real world emergency the best AVAILABLE treatment has got nothing to do with insurance.
FollowupID: 704272

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 19:48

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 19:48
Dusty - I'm guessing that the SVT you're talking about is supra-ventricular tackycardia - I'm particularly interested in the fact that your condition doesn't seem to be under control. My wife has suffered from SVT for about 12 years now and fortunately for her it is kept under control by a drug called Isoptin.... wondering if your cardiologist has tried this with you. Another friend has the same condition an unfortunately for him the Isoptin didn't work and he now has a pacemaker.
FollowupID: 704300

Follow Up By: Holiday Maker - Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 17:58

Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 17:58
Alloy c/t,

I don't want to be to critical, but if you continued to read and understand my posting, I did say that IF I HAD NO CHOICE I WOULD BE GRATEFUL FOR ANY IMMEDIATE ATTENTION!

The reason I did not want to go to our major public hospital was that in a previous incident I checked myself out because of life threatening (in my opinion) poor quality care.

I do live in the real world and I do have choices.

Just for the record, I am into yachting as well as caravaning and enjoy thie out of the way places away from the maddening crowd.

These days in the real world, they have helicopters to access these places.

I am also a DVA Gold Card holder therefore I could do without the extra cost of the insurance, but have elected to continue paying for the extra coverage.

Again, my choice.

FollowupID: 704383

Follow Up By: Holiday Maker - Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 18:06

Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 18:06
Patrol22,

Thank you for your reply.

Yes, I have suffered from SVT for 20 years now and still on occasions have break thrus.

I take one half a sotocol tablet twice a day and in the past 20 years have had about 8 break thrus.

Because they have made no sense to anyone the specialist has told me to keep going the way I am. He thinks that the operation they do to zap the nerve would not work and that he does not want to try stronger drugs.

We are still keeping a close eye on things and indeed trying to find the trigger, once this has been discovered I feel that everything will be OK.

Please to hear that your wife has it completely under control.

Give her my best wishes.

Dusty

FollowupID: 704385

Reply By: woody46 - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 15:26

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 15:26
Thanks Brad I'm retired so don't have sickies but after all the fors and some against's i will be hanging onto the insurance
Thanks again
Woody
AnswerID: 433362

Reply By: Not so grey nomads - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 20:05

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 20:05
As a family with three young kids, private health insurance is security in getting doctor of choice in a non emergency situation. As others have said, in remote/regional areas, delivery of care is much the same whether private or public. In an emergency, you can get no better than what our public systems have to offer. We are heading off for 12 months on the road soon. Ambulance cover is one thing to look at. AHM cover all states. Maybe travel insurance is an option??
AnswerID: 433386

Reply By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 21:17

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 21:17
We have never had private health ins but always had the best care possible. Maybe we are just lucky!!!
When both our kids were born we were in a room by ourselves (friends with private had to share)
Recently I had a scare with my hearth. I had a team of 4 doctors working with me for a week. I also had pneumonia at the same time and had a separate team working on that.
Several years ago I had a bike accident and badly hurt my hip
My dad has had several shoulder reconstructions.
On all these occasions we had "the best care" possible and it never cost us a cent.
Many of our friends who have private ins have complained nearly every time they need care cause it has cost them extra or the care was second rate.
It is a personal choice and as I said maybe we are lucky but I can't see the value of it.
If it is life threatening you will be looked after anyway.
just my two cents worth which probably isn't worth two cents lol.

Josh
AnswerID: 433402

Reply By: Ray - Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 10:46

Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 10:46
A neighbour of ours was taken ill over the Easter period and her husband took her to a private hospital as they were fully insured. When they got there, there were no doctors available as they had all knocked off for the holiday. The private hospital sent them to a public hospital for treatment. As far as I know, correct me if I am wrong but the doctors in private hospitals are not employed by the hospitals and can take off when ever they please.
AnswerID: 433441

Reply By: get outmore - Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 12:00

Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 12:00
Ive had it for years

its a complete waste of money and as they pay almost nothing back (typically 1/3)

its cheaper to just pay cash as its less than your premiums
only reason its worthwhile is for tax reasons other wise not worth it
AnswerID: 433446

Reply By: Krakka - Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 13:03

Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 13:03
Well I can tell you our situation where it was worth its weight in gold. I needed renal dialysis indefinately, Now I could have got dialysis at any public hospital that had the facilities, BUT I could not choose what days and what times that I had dialysis. Makes it very hard to hold down fulltime employment with those options. However with private health insurance I could go to a Private Dialysis Unit, choose what times and which days. Therefore I could still work fulltime and earn an income to pay the mortgage and so forth. At around $1000.00 per week over 3yrs I can tell you I was very happy to pay my premiums. For us, we wouldn't be without it. We don't earn enough for it to be a tax dodge either!!
AnswerID: 433451

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 14:35

Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 14:35
The bottom line with either having or not having insurance is that you are underwriting the financial cost of your health. The older you get the more likely you will need some sort of medical assistance. Mind you, getting sick and needing medical attention isn’t the domain of the ‘older’.

Some comment here about ‘emergency’ treatment, and ‘non-emergency’ or elective. Let’s face it, in an emergency it might be a moot point as to where you are taken care of and who does it, let’s face it it’s an emergency.

But as for on-going care once you need the insurance it might be too late to take it out if you become sick or in need of expensive treatment. Many, if not all medical insurers have clauses that may preclude you from being covered for ‘pre-exisiting conditions’ – something that people should be mindful of when deliberating the pros and cons of purchasing medical insurance.

Cheers, The Landy
AnswerID: 433459

Reply By: roberttbruce - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2010 at 11:51

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2010 at 11:51
choice is moot for a surgery, the surgeon makes the call irrespective of doco signed...

after your under he lines the interns up so they can all practise on you
AnswerID: 433544

Reply By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2010 at 15:31

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2010 at 15:31
Hey Woody

As previously stated health insurance is a personal choice. I have it for myself and my family. I don't always choose to use it, as it depends on the circumstances.

However I have found a big difference in the care received in Public vs Private hospitals. This has just been my experience. In saying that though some of the best care we have received have been in small country hospitals around the state.

Our most recent episode was last Christmas Eve when we were in Sydney visiting relatives. Our one year old had asthma and was very ill and we took her to Blacktown Hospital. We sat there for 5 hours waiting to see a Doctor, we were seen by a triage nurse who acknowledged that whilst she was very sick it wasn't life threatening so we weren't a priority. After six hour I asked what the heck was going on and was told we may have to wait a further 4 to 5 hours.

We left. I made a couple of phone calls and was told to try Norwest Private Hospital and informed that there was a cost. We attended NorWest and had to pay $300 upfront before receiving care. After paying we were seen by a Doctor within 5 minutes who admitted my daughter straight away and put here on a drip and antibiotics. We were given our own room and we were there for 4 - hours until she was discharged after tests etc etc.

In future I will go straight there and happily pay the $300 upfront. The other thing about this system that stood out to me (and I am not a snob) is that there was not a heap of riff raff there who just wanted to see a Doctor at the hospital because it was free. The $300 fee actually deterred these types from attending.

I am just grate full that I could afford the $300 at the time. But when it is your kids you do what is required.
AnswerID: 433562

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2010 at 19:00

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2010 at 19:00
Not a snob , no riff raff , if thats not snobbery what is ? So for the sake of $ the riff raff [ your terms ] can suffer , lovely , next you'll tell us that for old age pensioners its quite acceptable to wait + wait in some instances years for treatment , Riff Raff , oh no ! yep your a SNOB , stand up and be counted.
FollowupID: 704510

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2010 at 20:28

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2010 at 20:28
I can tell from your condescending previous posts that you are a goose. Pull your head in GOOSE!!!!.
FollowupID: 704527