Ozi Explorer Laptop/Notebook

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 19:06
ThreadID: 82037 Views:5379 Replies:10 FollowUps:11
Hi, I am thinking of purchasing an Ozi Explorer real time tracking package.
Should I the purchase a 10 inch Laptop/ Notebook from say HN or is there a better alternative that may be better to mount in the vehicle
Chas

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 19:34

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 19:34
Chas,

OT but as your a visitor I have no other way of contacting you :(

Dates have changed for the Lake Boondooma Weekend trip.

See changes here

I hope this still suits, I have been able to contact all others thus far.

AnswerID: 433692

Follow Up By: CABROLET - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 20:18

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 20:18
Hi Kev sorry Sir Kev !! Change of date no problem.
See you about 3 to 4 pm.
Chas
FollowupID: 704654

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 20:27

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 20:27
To easy,

Hopefully I am there by then (have to work Friday morning:()

FollowupID: 704657

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 20:07

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 20:07
Hi Chas,

Everyone will have a different view on what is the best solution.
From my own experimentation, the best current solution is the Hema Navigator.

I have tried a laptop mounted between the front seats and found that although the screen size was good, the size of the laptop was too intrusive to be practical long term and the glare from the sceen was bad in bright sunlight.

I then graduated to a PDA and while definitely less intrusive, the screen size was just too small for my aging eyes. This PDA also used a GPS connected via bluetooth which gave the occasional problem, but other PDA's have built-in GPS units and would be better although the screen is still too small to be really practical.

I now use a Hema Navigator and this is as close to the best option available in my opinion. The Navigator is reasonably unobtrusive when mounted anywhere on the front windscreen of the vehicle, yet the 5" screen allows a good sized image to glance at while travelling. The touch screen provides excellent control of the various screens and options and allows one touch marking of waypoints you wish to record. The built-in GPS works extremely well at all times and as the Hema comes pre-installed with everything you need (and one or two things you don't) there is no real setup hassles to concern yourself with, just a learning curve to customise it with what you require.

There are two exceptions in my opinion.
Route 66 is "clunky" to use and as I have a separate Tomtom device for city navigation, I don't use Route 66.

Topo Nav Memory Map appears to provide a similar functionality to OziExplorer, I think.
As a long term OziExplorer user I have no desire to try something slightly different and as you can only run one program at a time, I always run Ozi so have no experience with the Memory Map alternative and what different detail or functionality it may, or may not provide.

All up, the Hema Navigator is the best current solution for Countrywide travel, running OziExplorer and Navmap digital maps, or one of the supplied Hema maps for certain areas such as the excellent Desert Map series, all with moving map display of where you are and a great reference of current speed, heading, altitude, etc. depending on your chosen options.
There are cheaper options available, such as a VMS unit, or cheap "like" unit from ebay, but you need to purchase and install all the navigation and digital map software to achieve similar results.

I could also suggest other alternative navigation hardware/software solutions such as the Garmin Nuvi range, but as your stated requirement was for "an OziExplorer real time tracking package", this rules out the Garmin units which have there own unique software/application/mapping solutions and cannot run OziExplorer.

Bill.

AnswerID: 433699

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 20:33

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 20:33
Hi Chas
Like Sandman has mentioned above, everyone has their owned preferred means of real time mapping. I have the best of both worlds a Hema 5" on the front windscreen and a small Toshiba Netbook that sits on the centre console. I am not crazy, but take my track files very serious for mapping details. In the past we used to have a 15" laptop in the front but it took up too much room in the front cabin.

Here is what my set ups look like when we were out on the Anne Beadell.

Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found
Who has been here

AnswerID: 433703

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 20:42

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 20:42
Nice mount and I like that hat in the shot also......
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

FollowupID: 704664

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 20:59

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 20:59
Hi David and Michelle

Yes I like to as much as possible promote EO to everyone I meet. What's the warranty on the EO sand flags LOL...... The low scrub on the Anne Beadell gave it a good working over and now looks like it has been on a real bush basher.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 704667

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 22:54

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 22:54
"What's the warranty on the EO sand flags LOL...... The low scrub on the Anne Beadell gave it a good working over and now looks like it has been on a real bush basher."

Funny you should say that Stephen L, we had problems on Googs track with ours, we had to take it off, luckily we were able to fit in the middle of our convoy. The flag was great but the bracket to the bullbar was the problem. When we need it again we will put on another bracket. It worked well on the Simpson though.

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 704689

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 23:58

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 23:58
Re the sandflag, I also broke the base mount when the flag hit a desert oak on the CSR in June. I couldn't believe that the mount had broken and not the shaft. It must be built like the proverbial brick ....house.

When I contacted Ian Glyde of 4X4 Equip to get a new one, Ian said he'd never heard of such a failure before and gave me a replacement free. Great service!

FollowupID: 704704

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 01:50

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 01:50
We had ours mounted on the left side of the bull bar, needs to go in the middle somewhere, not sure yet, our bracket didn't actually break only bent badly but had we not moved it on the Googs I think it would have been a different story.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 704711

Follow Up By: beastmaster - Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 21:04

Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 21:04
Hi stephen,

Just wanted to ask, is your netbook mapping running off your Hema or do you have different software on the netbook. I have the older version of the Hema.

Can the Hema be used as a GPS for the netbook or do you have a seperate GPS receiver.

FollowupID: 707199

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 22:58

Sunday, Nov 14, 2010 at 22:58
Hi David
The small laptop is using a GPS mouse to run Ozi and the Hema is still a stand alone unit. As far as I am aware, you are not able to use it to run Ozi on the laptop.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 707218

Follow Up By: beastmaster - Monday, Nov 15, 2010 at 18:36

Monday, Nov 15, 2010 at 18:36
Thx Stephen, appreciate your help.

Rgds
FollowupID: 707275

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 20:41

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 20:41
Cabrolet,

Yeah I reckon you cannot go wrong with a 10" unit for this task. I use a laptop for all our major navigation and the items provided in the package you mention are basically what we use for all trips being personal or trip recording/survey work and the solution works well. The 10" units are heaps easier to mount than my 15" unit and I would go for a 10" style unit if I was starting again.

One of the major advantages of a laptop approach is that you can just plug in your camera's etc and dump data off onto disk and/or thumb drive. Plug in your phone or Wireless device and get your email, browse the net etc all from the one device. Excellent choice and as for which unit to buy they all offer very simialr specs for the money. Get the best one you can afford. The only variation I would suggest if possible is to have a SSD drive installed and not a HDD. The SSD (Solid State Drive) uses flash style memory that is much much less susceptible to vibration damage. I have removed the HDD units from my LT and installed SSD. I do not think this will be a standard offering but it is worth asking about at purchase time.

Good luck and enjoy.
DM
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

AnswerID: 433704

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 11:04

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 11:04
Hi David

I use a VMS GPS and download tracks etc to my normal laptop each day when travelling. But it is a bit of a pain to do so, and the size of the VMS and input capability is limiting and if you are creating tracks and waypoints it would be far easier to do so from a PC.

I looked into mounting a 10 inch notebook as it would suit my purposes better and it is all self-contained. When I enquired about purchasing one it was suggested it wouldn’t be sufficient to run Oziexplorer with digital maps (which surprised me) but I haven’t investigated it further.

So it seems it should be fine, depending on the notebook.....

I have digital maps on CD, and which are permanently loaded on my normal laptop, presumably I would an need external CD drive to download the maps?
Sounds like the way to go for me.....

Regards, The Landy
FollowupID: 704738

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 22:25

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 22:25
We also run a $299 10 inch notebook with gps mouse and Oziexplorer for general map viewing but beware they are not all the same , the EEE pc with a non-glare screen offers the best viewing , sun glare washes out many others.
(can still get with win XP I think)

Is there something better - well this really depends on what you are doing.

We long ago came to the conclusion that much of the available mapping is relatively poor or goes out of date and that for real stuff you often need to generate a plot yourself and follow it.

There is only one product that can navigate your own generated track or plots from this site etc and that is the now discontinued garmin 276c GPS which can only be picked up second hand.
AnswerID: 433719

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 06:59

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 06:59
I use a mini ITX PC connected to a touch screen on the dash. The advantages over a Laptop are
1)It takes up a lot less space than the laptop but you still get the big screen.
2)It is wired to power up and down automatically with the ignition so you can forget about it. ( you can't do this with a laptop withour opening it up and cutting tracks.)

Other thoughts are a) memory map is not as spohisticated as Oziexplorer but it is waaaaaaaaaayyyyyyy easier to use when on the road.
b)there is a small mini wireless keyboard on ebay that is a little longer than a Iphone for $50 that works a treat.
c)The free 250K to 1 maps are pretty good. I think these are the basis of the shonky maps for Garmin.

Lastly if you decide to go for Memory map, it will work on IPAD's.

I got my car pc here

Also agreee with a poster above, get flash disks.

AnswerID: 433734

Reply By: CABROLET - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 07:32

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 07:32
Thanks Guys
I think I will now go for the 5" Hema. I have a 15" Lap Top to take for emails etc and may later get the OZexplorer maps for it if need be. As I often travel only with my Bluey the Hema would be a lot easier to read, and besides my Bluey often gets her "turn left" mixed up with her "turn right's" !!!
Thanks to all
Chas
AnswerID: 433737

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 07:35

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 07:35
Not probably the best ystem, but probably the cheapest, and it works just fine. I have a notebook (Acer 7, but alos fine up to 10inch model) with ozi and a gps mouse. It mounts on the dash, I made a plywood base. Iused two self adhesive plactic clips on the bottom of the windscreen. The plywood base goes under these so it cant lift up. The computer sits on the base. The base is several inches wider than the dashboard (ie, it projects into space so it is nearer to me) but it cant tip up because of the clips on the windscreen) At the front of the base is a wire cable I can tension downwards so it pivots the base upwards (but it cant go anywhere because of the adhesive clips on the bottom of the windsceen. This arrangement keeps the base totally stable in any conditions and the whole thing can be taken out in seconds. A wide couple of rubber bands across the keyboard secure the netbook to the base. I made a large cardboard sun shield around the screen which gives much better viewing.
I have oziexplorer and my maps installed on an SD card which plugs into the computer. This is not as good as a solid state computer, but nearly as good as the program and maps are all on solid state memory so that nothing much is moving internally on the computer as I drive. Much cheaper thsan a solid state computer and it has never given any problems over the roughest of terrain.I also have a permanentdedicated 12v outlet just for the notebook so I just need to put it to sleep when I stop. I have a logitech wireless keybord and mouse but find I dont need them when on the road.
I also have a MOOVe gps for in the city.
AnswerID: 433738

Reply By: Racey - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 09:22

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 09:22
I went through the laptop phase like many of the other contributors including dash mounted monitor. Finally went for an in-dash combi unit from Brash Imports. It comes standard with IGO8 Street navigationon a 2gb card. I loaded the CE version of Oziexplorer onto an 8gb sd card including nat maps. To get the Oziexploer to load you must change the name of the Oziexploer.exe file to IGO8.exe. The system work fine including radio cd/dvd etc.

Check out Brash Imports

Racey
AnswerID: 433748

Reply By: Steve and Viv - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 18:18

Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 18:18
I run Ozie on a laptop that feed a 7 inch in-dash screen. It fold away when not in use and also has a feed from the video player in the back and the reversing camera.

AnswerID: 433982