New Hilux's made in China ???

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:18
ThreadID: 82052 Views:7756 Replies:8 FollowUps:17
Howdy All

In the last 2 weeks I have heard from 2 different people ( not known to each other ) that the very latest model Hilux is made in China. Passed it off as just rumours, but today heard it again from a 3rd person also unknown to the other 2 !! Could this be true ???????

Reply By: SDG - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:38

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:38
A google search found this.

Hilux models sold in Australian and Asian markets are built and assembled in Thailand, where the vehicle is called the Hilux Vigo, or simply Vigo. For the European, South African and Icelandic markets the Hilux is built in Durban, South Africa. As of December 2009, it is the best selling vehicle in South Africa. Those sold in South America are made in Argentina, as with the previous generation Hilux

Chinese built would not be surprising. Both China and Thailand have cheap labour
AnswerID: 433803

Reply By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:46

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:46
Many genuine Toyota parts are made in China, so why not the whole car.

I am currently in China doing product inspections and running side by side with my order on the production conveyor belts are Genuine Toyota parts.

The last time I was here I saw Nissan parts on the line.

Derek.
AnswerID: 433807

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 07:50

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 07:50
I heard that China is having production problems with some factories closing. He gets sporting goods made there and says it's getting hard . Is that your experience? A lot is moving to Vietnam now. I wonder how we'll be when cheap labour runs out? Mike
FollowupID: 704838

Follow Up By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 09:40

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 09:40
They are starting with minimum wages in China now, so some factories can't complete.

That being said the quality of life for Chinese has greatly improved and will continue to improve.
FollowupID: 704849

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 10:01

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 10:01
As someone who has done a lot of business in China for the last 15 years I can tell you it is full steam ahead in China.

Go visit Shanghai and when you come back tell me which looks more like a 3rd word city, Shanghai or Melbourne......

It is true that the South Eastern provences and cities on the coast are seeing increased labour costs and living standards.

BUT the further east and north you go inland, the less it starts to look like a wealthy country.

The facts are that the factories aren't moving from China to places like Vietnam, they are moving North and East to provences where labour is still under $1.00 a day, a lot less than most of SE Asia. There are still over 450 million people in China who are on less than $1 to 2 per day so pleeeeeenty of places left to move to.
FollowupID: 704853

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 10:26

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 10:26
My friend said that the western corporations are doing the moving. He is getting a lot of hassles lately where he used to have very few. For the past 12 years he had all his stock manufactured in China, but now he is having better results out of Vietnam. Agreed, China is definately full steam ahead though. As a country we should be greatly concerned about what will happen when the cheap labour runs out ie current 3rd world countries start to achieve our standard of living (and I am all for that by the way). The cost of manufactured items will go through the roof and we will have no manufacturing expertise or infrastructure left here. At least we will still have the natural resources...hopefully. Anyway, it probably won't happen in my lifetime but I do have kids. Mike
FollowupID: 704856

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 20:10

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 20:10
Boobook!!
The Chinese have been ruthless in demolishing Shanghai old city and as factories move to other areas, most of the people on the land give up producing food to work in the factories. Sooner or later when the factories move to cheaper areas, there will be no one to produce food for their town and provences. It will become a real problem in time to come i think.

Regards Michael
FollowupID: 704927

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 05:56

Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 05:56
Have you been to Port Melbourne where the whole area has been replaced, Or the finges of Melbourne's metro area, Hundreds of market gardens and farms have dissapeared. Same thing. I am sure it is the same in Sydney.

The Bund area in Shanghai is a model for historical preservation that no City in Australia can match or even come close to.

Sure there is a lot of demolition in any Chinese city but the same thing is going on here.

FollowupID: 704959

Reply By: Joe n Mel - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:53

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:53
a car made in Japan ...... horror or so we thought years ago and look at the cruisers and pootrols ......
If they do make it in China it will possibly be very well built with exceptional quality control ....... dare i say ...
i dont know what steel they are made from now but if made in China it will most probally be from Aussie Iron Ore, we can then fill the holes back up with the old Hilux's and be proud of driving an all Aussie steel car :-)
AnswerID: 433808

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 04:08

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 04:08
A bowl of rice works wonders amongst the car giants

hehehehe
FollowupID: 704833

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 20:03

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 20:03
Bucky! I think i will be keeping my old 4.2 for many years to come... Made in Japan....... Michael
FollowupID: 704924

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 20:07

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 20:07
Michael....
my bowl of rice is more expensive than your bowl of rice

go the mighty 4.2

FollowupID: 704925

Reply By: Eric Experience - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:34

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:34
Gazz.
Most Toyota's we see are assembled in Thailand from Chinese components so it is the next step to get the whole job done in China. Eric
AnswerID: 433816

Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 18:01

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 18:01
Believe it or not there is a version of the Holden Commodore made in China too (albeit in CKD form).
FollowupID: 704915

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 01:37

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 01:37
Hi Outback Gazz

Perhaps people should realise that the word Toyota definiotely sounds like an Asian word (to me at least).

Some of the best medical proferssionals are Asian, some of the best foods are Asian, so why not continue the trend. I don't care where any vehicle is made, if it is reliable.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

AnswerID: 433840

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 09:54

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 09:54
And Mercedes are made in China, BMW have a new factory, and there are more Volkswagons made in China than everywhere else put together.

FollowupID: 704851

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 10:36

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 10:36
Who cares where the car is made.? Seriously we live in a modern world, I was well aware my Hilux was assembled in Thailand, production costs vary from one country to another. People who think anything that is made in China is a lower quality need to get out more often, passed it off as rumours..! Plse.
AnswerID: 433868

Follow Up By: Outback Gazz - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 13:55

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 13:55
G'day TerraFirma

I do get out more often - more often than most !
I have lived and worked overseas and have travelled the world fairly extensively and have clocked up well over 3 million k's in this big brown land we call Australia, probably over a million of them on dirt. One of my 3 businesses deals with Chinese made products ( not my doing ) and believe me THEY ARE of inferior quality. One of my 4wd's is made in Thailand and I'm very happy with it. China is currently in the same position as Japan was 40 to 50 years ago when they made cheap products that didn't last, then Japan lifted their game and started building higher quality goods to meet expectations of the western world. I have no doubt whatsoever that China will make quality products in the near future and as a result of this the Australian car industry ( what's left of it ) will be forced to close down.

See you in the bush - but not in my Chinese made 4wd !

Gazz
FollowupID: 704887

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 16:05

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 16:05
Gazz no worries, you seem so surprised the Hilux was made in Thailand.? In a Toyota managed factory no doubt, to me I don't care where it's made, but who it's made by, there is a difference. Generic Chinese copy products are inferior without a doubt, the Hilux is almost outselling Commondores, and it's made in Thailand.

See you in the bush, and yes in my Thai made 4WD !

Cheers....
FollowupID: 704899

Reply By: Outa Bounds - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 10:46

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 10:46
Well no it doesn't matter where it's made unless of course the companies are manufacturing at cheaper prices, misleading everyone as to where the car is really made and pocketing the extra profits especially on a brand that has built up a certain reputation such as Toyota has and in turn demands a high price and expectations of quality.
So I don't care if they start manufacturing in China as long as they don't lie about it and actually bring some of the prices down as a result!

All the recalls they're having lately you can't really blame the rumors.
AnswerID: 433871

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 13:31

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 13:31
As I posted years ago...The Nissan Navara is made in Spain & Thailand depending on what specs the vehicle is......the navara is a damn good ute it's just the clutches fail & the door handles & window winders break but hey....nothing is perfect. Wasn;t there a car manufacturer in England that was allegedly sabotaged by the Union/workers ended up going to the wall!!! Could you imagine that happening in China? The instigators would be shot & also their families too!!! Thank God for the Koeans car manufacturers because they marketed 5 year warranties!!! before anyone else decided to. Would you prefer to travel to the Kimberley in an Asian made machine or a pommie 4 X 4. That's why I bought a Mitsubishi.....10 year warranty on driveline.....five years on everything else....including road side assist. Have you noticed the increase in sales especially on the 4 X 4 Mitsubishi range......great value for $$$$.
FollowupID: 704881

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 16:13

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 16:13
Yes speaking to the Service Manager of Melbourne's largest Nissan dealer and the clutches are failing big time, along with various other things on a regular basis. Mitsubishi have been very smart with their warranty, good on them, they will continue to steal market share from Nissan imo.

Down the track Toyota and Nissan will have to watchout for Mitsubishi, Toyota are the dearest and thats ok while they are making the superior product, but if that every changes, look out. The recalls are a storm in a teacup, only a handfull of of Hiluxes have had issues and when you understand how these isolated cases occurred, any vehicle would have broken. In the Hilux case marketing the product as unbreakable was asking for trouble..!
FollowupID: 704900

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 16:25

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 16:25
Hi TerraFirma

I am sewriously glad that Misubishi have a good rep, as if I do not invest in a trayback, I would seriously look at a Canter (small truck) which could be readily converted into a camper as well. Being a tradey it would be handy for when I do long runs, as the amount of times I have helped people with A Frames and the like on their vans, I always carry a small mig and my 4.5 kw Honda gen set, which normally run the Waeco and Engel in the trailer anyway, as we never camp near other people.

My Hilux has had plenty of issues, but that is the terrain, and the diesel mewchanic that I have been using for years always tells me that my Hilux is a real bush beast.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

FollowupID: 704902

Reply By: blown4by - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 16:37

Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 16:37
The first character on the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) will tell you where they are made. J = Japan, M = Malaysia. The Salesmen cannot hide that fact from the buyer.
AnswerID: 434081

Follow Up By: Outback Gazz - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 21:14

Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 21:14
Good tip - thanks
FollowupID: 705130