Decided to try living the dream....
Submitted: Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 20:17
Julie & Darren
We are selling the home and have decided to travel australia and work to fund the trip with no time limit and no restrictions. I am searching for information from people who have done this or currently doing it, we are in
Melbourne and heading west through sa to wa then up the west coast and we are looking for work on the way. We are in our early 40's so back breaking jobs are not really our thing, i was thinking more along the line of temporary (3-6 months) caretaking type positions, or any other suggestions, i have a strong background in administration and management and darren is a carpenter by trade but also handyman type work too.
What i am after is good websites for work and also any information on this type of lifestyle change, we've decided to go for it so im just starting some research. We have a veichel and have done trips previously to nt and
cape york so we are prepared to go off road and outback in our travels. any ideas?
Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 20:35
Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 20:35
Good on you both. As for a carpenter, We know one that went on a property to do some restoration work. Word got around the district and they ended up staying much longer than planned. You havnt mentioned if you have a van to live in imo that is a must. My little tip is to become a member here then folk can mm you privately.
Follow Up By: Julie & Darren - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 20:43
Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 20:43
Thanks, just re-signed up as a member tonight. We have a 4wd with a roof top tent, so depending on the situation
camping short term might not be a problem, however wouldnt mind work with accomodation. Its good that we have no time limits so if we stay longer somewhere it doesnt matter.
Follow Up By: Faulic_McVitte - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 14:36
Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 14:36
Interesting to see how long you survive the roof top tent. That will be far more telling than a bit of hard work. Coming back to a roof top tent after a days work does not cut it.
Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 15:02
Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 15:02
yep .... second that, if you plan on ANY work up north or remote then ditch the tent/s, dont even bother with a camper, get a decent van or plan
well and go for the accomodation with jobs... the heat and wet season will mess you around and i would love to see ya's in the middle of the night when a "build-up" storm settles on top of you, massive crack of lightining without any warning right above you and you are in a tent on the TOP OF A CAR ....... bleep in funny to think about but also very scary ......
Dont plan on renting in any of the major towns or citys as it will break you, only say that as i have been there and done that, droves of people come up to
Darwin with the lure of big money and droves of em retreat back with very empty pockets and broken dreams .....
Two things ...... plan
well and ahead but also just to throw you dont set plans in concrete, you may
well have to completely change and head off into the big yonder with out a single plan, to me that has been the best times we have ever had .............
Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 20:37
Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 20:37
Look here ..... ThreadID: 81879
Reply By: Member - reggy 2 (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 20:40
Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 20:40
try this site www.graynomads.com.au i Have not myself but they say u can find work here.cheers
Follow Up By: Julie & Darren - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 20:49
Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 20:49
Thanks !
Reply By: Camkore - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 20:52
Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 20:52
Good on ya guys its the best feeling in the world going where you want when you want.My wife and i did it for nearly 3 years before becoming stuck in
Perth (good jobs and pay).I'm a boilermaker and my wife is in admin we never had any trouble finding work.Try looking for work in the next town/place before you get there,labour hire company's are worth a ring.
Follow Up By: landseka - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 10:10
Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 10:10
Very wise advise as if you have a job lined up then your travel costs getting to it - fuel, accommodation & food - are all tax deductible.
Reply By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 21:15
Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 21:15
Hi Julie and Daren,
Congrats on making the best decision you will ever make. We did 3 years on the road and loved it. Wish we had never stopped. We found the best way to find work is to simply go into as many
places as you can and hand out your resume. Ask the locals, caravan parks, pubs etc.
Places like
roxby downs and other mining towns we found it is best to look for work around town rather than the mines. Once you get working for someone word will get around if you are good and you get other offers. I started helping a guy do some work on his houses and ended up managing a landscaping business for 8 months in
Roxby Downs. Getting into the mines is actually very hard and I was on really good money anyway ($35/hr plus company car and accomodation, power etc paid for). My tip is to always be looking for work and take it when it comes along, even if it's only for a short time. I did 1 days work for bunnings doing a stocktake. 6 months later they rang me and offered full time work. If I was in that area would have been handy.
Following is a link for an agency that does outback station employment. Worth having a look at.
http://www.annabrownrecruitment.com/positions.php
Glad to hear your trip is open ended. There is so much to see out there. We have a website of our trip with some info and stats on fuel, accom etc. See here:
http://www.kidsandall.webs.com/
Happy travelling.
Josh
Follow Up By: Julie & Darren - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 21:38
Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 21:38
Thanks! Loved your website, looks like great fun. We cant wait to get out there.
Reply By: Not so grey nomads - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 22:42
Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 22:42
Way to go. Eight weeks until we board the "Spirit" for a year on the road. Good to see two more people cross a dream off their list.
Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 23:09
Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 23:09
Hi Julie and Darren
It may not be your cup of tea, but I know that many many Aboriginal Communites are always looking for relief workers on the Administration side, and tradesmen are always welcome in communities (that is speaking as a tradey).
There are heaps of sites which have remote area work, and almost all roadhouses are looking for people, though the pay is probably more suited to backpackers on budget holidays, from what I have been told by a couple of backpackers working at Doon Doon in WA.
Google the word Remote and see what you can find, there are heaps of sites.
Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 02:04
Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 02:04
started 10 years ago, now have 3 kids, from
Gnowangerup,
Tom Price, Cygnet Bay (nth
Broome),
Kakadu, Leeton (nsw),
Darwin,
Maningrida, Bickerton Island,
Darwin, Yarralin (Vic River NT), "Nooka", Nyirripi (Tanimi) and now in
Doomadgee QLD and not stopping now, no way.............
Register with "Seek" and a few of the other MAJOR job providers and simply use the name of the town/place you next want to go to as the search and you will get everything possible in that area, the word "remote" will get a lot of positions that are nursing, policing and all sorts of other stuff and will take hours to get through ..... sit back/travel and they will be e-mailed to you ....
"Early Fortys" and dont want backbreaking jobs, cumon you are still soooo
young :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Julie B (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 19:08
Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 19:08
Thanks, have checked some of the sites advised and found some good stuff. Um....i can see my comment of "back breaking work" has created quite a few come backs, perhaps i didnt choose my words very
well! We are prepared for manual labour as we realise what the work available is like, and yes, we are sooo
young. ha ha
There has been some great ideas here and i have taken all this info on board.
Julie
Reply By: Bushranger1 - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 13:22
Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 13:22
G'Day Julie & Darren,
Pretty good advise all round here but I will add my bit.
My wife & I +2 kids sold up & hit the road for 2 years. We had no plans on working but when I was camped on a station in the
Kimberley I did some repairs on a station owners wife's car while her husband was out for a few days. When he came back they offered me a job as an all round fix it man. I am a Fitter & Machinist/Toolmaker by trade by the way. Word got around & I reckon I could have stayed for much longer in the
Kimberley than the 2 months we spent on the station if we wanted. Since Darren is a tradie he will have no problems getting work.
"We are in our early 40's so back breaking jobs are not really our thing"
Sorry but if you want to work on a station it is hard work with little pay BUT the opportunity is great particularly because you will get to meet all the locals too. I am in my 50's & I still do lots of physical work on my property in the Mallee. Keeps you feeling
young even if your not!
Lastly remember to be VERY flexible with your travel plans. Don't turn the trip in to a marathon & be a TRAVELLER not a TOURIST & you will have the trip of a lifetime.
Stu
Follow Up By: Member - Julie B (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 19:13
Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 19:13
Thanks, we are really looking forward to it, and plan to play just as much as we work.
Reply By: Faulic_McVitte - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 14:30
Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 14:30
Get some business cards printed with your details on the front and what type of work you are looking for on the rear. Think about it
well what you put on the back so you don't limit yourself to much. You can always refuse when they phone or e-mail. We are in constant demand and go back to
places we worked previously. We get paid to travel back they are so keen we come back. Hand the cards out everywhere when looking for work.
Follow Up By: Member - Julie B (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 19:16
Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 19:16
Great idea, thanks!
Reply By: Mark-n-Troods - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 14:42
Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 14:42
Hi Julie and Darren
We too are heading off to live the dream as
well.... same age group as you guys, and can't wait. Another website I have found with work is www.thejobshop.com.au check it out!!!
Good luck on your travels!
Follow Up By: Member - Julie B (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 19:17
Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 19:17
great! good luck and we might see you out there somewhere.
Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 14:47
Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 14:47
just as an "example" ...........((((((( NOTE# we did work for them but no longer do and have NO connection to them, we enjoyed our time but we had kids and some of the locations did NOT suit us with kids so we resigned..... ))))))
A company called "Outbackstores" is based in
Darwin and manages community Stores all over the NT and some in WA, they pay "around" $50,000 pa each for a couple ($100,000 for both) ...... you "may" get free power and accomodation whilst working on the communitys, you will get to see some awsome
places and meet some wonderful community people and get to see
places that you will NEVER get to see as a tourist, you need to be "tough" and prepaired to work hard at times (even if you are over 40) and need to be able to fit in with the locals and accept things that may not be of acceptance to you in you "sheltered life" but is common practise out bush ...... they are on the net and the "conditions" i have quoted were in place when we worked for them, you would have to check but i would assume that they have made changes and most probally for the better ...........
At the end of the day .... go hard or go home..... :-)
Reply By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 16:03
Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 16:03
Hi Julie and Darren
It is my plan to do the same thing in about 3 years time and as such I found this old thread really interesting (interesting enough that I saved it in my 'Retirement' folder so I could read it again when the time gets closer)
Archived ThreadID: 77715 link
Scroll down to the part where "Onthe run' talks about the ATO - very interesting reading
Hope it hepls
Cheers KA
Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 16:11
Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 16:11
ooops cut and pasted wrong link - wish we could edit posts
try this one
Archived link to thread
Follow Up By: Member - Julie B (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 19:22
Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 19:22
Good information thanks.
Reply By: Member - Greg H (NT) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 18:05
Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 18:05
Check out Workabout Australia.
Reply By: John and Lynne - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 08:58
Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 08:58
What a great project! I am sure you will have a wonderful few years!
I would also suggest you take you own accomodation, even if you don't use it all the time. A small van or camper trailer would give you much more flexibility in jobs and locations. You would also have the comfort and convenience of having your own bed and gear. It would save you from high rent costs up north and make it easier to save a lot by preparing your own meals. Also it would mean that you don't always have to be joined at the hip. Sometimes you may be offered separate good jobs in different locations near a town. If one of you takes the vehicle, either to work or anywhere else, then the other would have
no access to the
camp. If you have your own van, one can stay in
camp comfortably with access to possessions while the other travels further to work.
Remember also that the weather will not always be good.
There is quite a difference between being a tourist on a
camping holiday and a full time working traveller. Good luck!Lynne