Anyone been towed out of the Simpson Desert this year?

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 21:12
ThreadID: 82111 Views:7191 Replies:9 FollowUps:20
Hi everyone - interested to know how many people have been towed out of the Simpson Desert this year and how did they manage to arrange it?

Reply By: rumpig - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 22:36

Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 22:36
there was a fella on 4wd Action forum who had one of their crews vehicles need recovering this year i think. from memory they used a Sat. phone and called Mt. Dare.
i can double check that info. for you if you want.
out of curiosity, why do you ask?
AnswerID: 434111

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 23:34

Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 23:34
yeh, what ever are you planning ????
FollowupID: 705143

Follow Up By: Snowbunny - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 06:01

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 06:01
Speaking of 4wd Action, I just watched their dvd of crossing the Simpson in the wet. Truly amazing isn't it?,with all the hoo ha and preaching they do, regarding ""don't drive on wet roads"", they still HAD to keep moving and make an absolute mess of the Hay River Track.!

Bunny
FollowupID: 705155

Follow Up By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 07:55

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 07:55
I totally agree with you Bunny ...!
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

FollowupID: 705159

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 22:20

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 22:20
BUT, they had permission to drive on it.It wasnt closed, and being in sandy country, the track will dry out and the wind will do the rest.
FollowupID: 705277

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 00:22

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 00:22
You're not going to change your name to:

"Bored in Beaudesert" are you Ruth??

AnswerID: 434119

Reply By: Flynnie - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 00:42

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 00:42
I came across two. A Suzuki being towed towards Mount Dare. As far as I could make out the tow was from other travellers who helped out. The second was a vehicle that was part of a group that I met several times. Can't remember what it was now. One of those mid range utes, Bravo or Rodeo or something. Suffered from a burnt out clutch that happened when he was assisting someone else. I think he was towed to Birdsville by his mates where he had to wait a few days for parts.

Commercial recoveries are undertaken from either end for a price. Depending on location CB, Satphone or HF could be used to contact either Birdsville or Mount Dare. CB would only work over a short distance of course.

Flynnie
AnswerID: 434121

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 07:54

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 07:54
Hi Flynnie...
A white Vitara? If it is the same one we saw, the front end had collapsed I think. This was around the last week of July. She was with a group of about 6 vehicles, so she had plenty of help at hand. We met them as we drove into Lamberts Centre.

FollowupID: 705158

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 21:01

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 21:01

I was eastbound on evening of 28 July between Dalhousie Springs and Purni Bore. Pulled off on to some slightly higher ground to camp. It had been hard going (much worse was ahead) and I wanted to at least not get caught in the mud overnight.

It was a bit after dark and I heard convoy chatter on the CB. Got a bit concerned when they were talking of the need to increase their average speed to get to Dalhousie Springs for the night. I knew what was ahead of them and that they were best to pull over somewhere around where I was and continue in the morning.

I contacted them on the CB and tried to persuade them to stop for the night. There were a lot of vehicles, about six I think. From faded memory I think two groups and one or two solos had merged to form the large group. They had a Suzuki in tow. Don't remember the colour. Might have been white or silver. Alternator or fan belt failure I think it was. They would not be persuaded to stop and pressed on. Worst case of "push on regardless" syndrome I have ever seen. It really worried me at the time.

It was the night of a big storm. First time I have been out in a desert thunderstorm. Spectacular and a bit scary. I stayed in the cruiser until it had past.

Later I noticed dim lights in the distance and with the assistance of my binoculars I could make out the group had set up camp. I think they must have had a change of mind after all and backtracked to a bit of higher ground.

Flynnie

FollowupID: 705267

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 10:36

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 10:36
The people in the Silver Suzuki were solo european travellers with a broken fan belt, the rest ot the group towed them out & they organised a new fan belt to be flown down from Alice with out checking with us first.

The plane that brought the fan belt in got bogged on the airstrip & had to stay overnight before they could get out.

FollowupID: 705304

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 18:06

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 18:06
That Suzuki was in the Group coming up to the rear of these vehicles - It was under its own steam by then - So I assume Mt Dare did some repairs.

It had come through a lot of water to get that far :-)

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 705337

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 09:26

Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 09:26
Hey Jeff,
When we saw you at Mt Dare, about the last week of July (you fixed my mates Jayco with the busted spring locater pin), we saw another (I think) white Suzuki, a lady driving it, in a group out on the road to Dalhousie, they had taken the "rough" road, the first turn off, and we spotted them near where the two roads rejoin. As I remember, the Suzuki had a broken front end, and I heard that the group towed the Suzuki back to either Mt Dare or Alice..... not sure which, and there was some drama about getting the right bits and pieces for it?

Maybe I'm wrong... it seems a bit odd to me that 2 Suzuki's would be out there around the same time and both break down. Just curious to know...

FollowupID: 705672

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 09:40

Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 09:40
Hi Flynnie,
28th July for us was spent on the French Line, about 5 k's east of the Erabena Track junction. We looked for slightly higher ground as the clouds looked threatening but didn't get anything out of it. The next night at Poeppel Corner was different though, As we neared the corner, black clouds were rolling in from the south west. I called VKS 737 for a weather report and they confirmed storms were heading our way. So we camped, again on higher ground and watched an awesome lightning show pass us to the south, far enough away that the rolling thunder was barely audible, but the lightning was incredible. I must agree that it was a little unnerving being in the desert though....
We got very little rain from that storm, but around 10pm a new storm delivered rain and wind, so we turned in. It was quite a storm but thankfully didn't create any havoc. A wild night indeed!

FollowupID: 705678

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 08:13

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 08:13
Hiya Ruth! Long time no see!

You naughty girl, your post apparently seems to imply that you might be planning something, and the "newer' members on ExplorOz wouldn't know your background! LOL... Little would they know how much knowledge you and Ian have of the Simpson Desert!!!

We spent an absolutely wonderful 5 days in Birdsville, the last week of July/first couple of days in August, Barnsey replaced the alternator on Dusty, our beloved Patrol, Teresa was selling us enough curried camel pies and beaut cappuccino's that I reckon I gained about 5" girth, Dave showed us the Tom Kruse DVD's, the list goes on!! Gayleen and I walked out to the cemetery, not that we're into cemeteries, but Dave suggested we take a look at it, and indeed it is a special place.

I have to admit that against your advice to us two years ago, this year we DID tow our trailer across the desert, but our trip had taken us around the Simpson to the Territory, and we couldn't just leave it there and Australia Post don't have an overnight satchel big enough. I wouldn't have towed our older Cavalier trailer through, but we had upgraded to a Track Tvan for this trip and it handled it well.
We traveled the Rig Rd, the Erabena Track and the French Line. It was awesome! The wild flowers! The beautiful red sand! The Dingo's! The list goes on! We camped one night on the French Line not far from the Erabena Track junction, and whilst sitting by the fire later in the evening, there were owls hooting around us! I kid you not, they were in trees surrounding our fire and appeared to be hooting in a 360° arc around our camp! Magic! The next morning we were fogged in for a few hours, personally I hoped it would last a day or two! LOL....

Anyways, I have hi-jacked your thread here, so I'd better answer your question and say no..... we weren't towed from the Simpson!!

Good to see you here on EO Ruth, take care and stay well!

AnswerID: 434127

Follow Up By: rumpig - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 13:35

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 13:35
Re:...You naughty girl, your post apparently seems to imply that you might be planning something, and the "newer' members on ExplorOz wouldn't know your background! LOL...

that's not why i asked my question by the way, i'm just actually curious to know why Ruth would want to know such information. seemed like a strange question to ask was all.
FollowupID: 705196

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 16:44

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 16:44
Hi rumpig....
I wasn't actually referring to your good self, I was pretty sure I've seen your name around here for quite some years now. I just wanted to put a bait out there and see who took it! LOL....

FollowupID: 705208

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 08:05

Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 08:05
Hi Brian, sorry to take so long to answer but have elderley ill parents in another part of the country and I'm getting lots of FF points apart from working and life generally. So glad you had a good trip - although I haven't been participating I have been checking to make sure everyone had good holidays this year.
Ian has just been to Birdsville and around about - the fishing is still not good and heaps of snakes at the river - in the space of 24 hours sitting on the lower bank of the Diamantina he caught three fish and three snakes went past - a large black, down the bank past his foot and into the river - a fierce snake in the camp and a large brown on the bank. Not enough fish to make him stay and enjoy the company of snakes (he had the dogs with him also so retreat was the answer - discretion is the better part of valour!)
Not planning on doing any recoveries - there is a reason for the query though. We've got another business planned for Birdsville though - one we've had planned for a while, but life has intervened for a year or so.
Be talking to you though - I always try and find time to have a watch each day.
FollowupID: 705663

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 09:18

Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 09:18
Hi Ruth,
No need to apologize, family takes precedent over everything else and rightly so!

We were talking about snakes on some part of the trip (we were away for 7 weeks!) and whether the abundance of water affects them or not... more water = more snakes or at least more snake activity?

Outback Australia has the most awesome scenery, the places we visited and the majestic views and the sunsets! Oh the sunsets! We visited Uluru, Gayleen had wanted to see it for as long as she can remember, so that was a brighter highlight amongst all the other highlights of the trip, and for me, although I truly enjoyed everything I saw and every place we went, the Simpson Desert & Birdsville was the bright highlight! All of the outback towns (except 1 or 2) that we stopped at were friendly and quaint places that we thoroughly enjoyed our time at, but Birdsville IMHO is in a league of it's own. I don't know why, and I don't worry trying to work it out to be honest, but there is a magic about Birdsville that, so far, we haven't seen in any other outback town that we have been to. I got talking to Barnesy about an air conditioner in a house that wasn't working (air con being my trade), we had a look at it and I gave him some advice on fixing it, and I have since had an email from him saying it was successful and the air con now works! I was a little disappointed though, thought I might have got a service call out there! LOL....

Our next trip outback is planned for 2012, we'll be heading back to the Northern Territory to explore the MacDonnell Ranges further, but two places that are top of the agenda already are Kings Creek Station in the Territory, and Birdsville! Can't resist the opportunity to "drop in"!

FollowupID: 705669

Reply By: Member Dick (Int) - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 09:06

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 09:06
Hi Ruth

Hope you and Ian are keeping well. Guess you are settled into the house by now and everything is finally finished

Are you both thinking of returning to live in Birdsville and operate a recovery business.

Dick
Dick

AnswerID: 434133

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 07:57

Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 07:57
Hi there Dick - been a bit busy! House all finished and now Ian needs another project so he's going to Birdsville to build something else. No, not planning on doing any recoveries - enough people doing that legally and it would be alleged, illegally. How are things o/s - plenty to keep you occupied I should imagine. Got any trips coming up? Keep out of the way of tsunamis and volcanoes please!
FollowupID: 705662

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 14:20

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 14:20
Hi Ruth
If you call a snatch from complete strangers, well than I will put my hand up. When Fiona and I were Solo in August, we took the advise of a group of Victorians - I know I should have known better, which resulted in calling up a group at Lake Poeppel to snatch me out after a two and a half hour bog.

Fiona wanted lunch and a piddle stop, on the other side of the crossing at 12.15pm. You know me, I said, not just yet we will have it at Poeppel Corner, we will be there in 5 minutes.....well we did get there at 3pm.

Regards to Ian and your boys..

Stephen and Fiona

Who has been here

AnswerID: 434164

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 17:31

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 17:31
Hi Stephen, fortunately for us by the time we got there we had a fairly well worn pad which straddled you bog hole. LOL. Good pic.

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 705224

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 19:05

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 19:05
Hi Deanne
I will have a blog up within the next few days on the unreal display of Sturt Desert Peas, they have to be seen to be believed.

Here is another example of there unreal colours, and yes Pink in Fiona's Colour.

StephenImage Could Not Be Found
Who has been here

FollowupID: 705243

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 23:30

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 23:30
Just a question Stephen, there seems to be many different colours of the Sturt Desert Pea around Roxby, why is that? is there different elements in the soil? I didn't even know that there were differing colours until this year. (showing my lack of knowledge) They are magnificent flowers. We saw a lot along the continental Railway line when we were out there but they were all of the red and black variety but a fantastic display none the less.

Deanna

FollowupID: 705283

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 23:35

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 23:35
Hi Deanna
I have put my blog up just now, so you can see many more colours. They just appear to be freaks of nature, growing side by side with the normal Sturt Desert Pea.

We never knew that there could be so many variations, and have been told that they were more that we could not find, including a solid black flower.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 705285

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 17:36

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 17:36
Hi Ruth, how are you? to answer your question, we didn't see any one recovered from the Simpson but when we were at Mt Dare there was a vehicle, (thought I took a pic but didn't, damn) on the back of a truck which had to be recovered but not sure on details.

Deanna

AnswerID: 434178

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 20:00

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 20:00
Thanks everyone for your replies - no, we are not going into the business of towing people out of the Simpson Desert are there are plenty of people doing it legally and otherwise.
We are going back into business in Birdsville - but that's another story.
AnswerID: 434193

Reply By: Ozrover - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 20:39

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 20:39
Hi Ruth, Dave says gerday!

We have towed numerous vehicles out of the Simpson this year, some with broken suspension, some with broken gearbox's, & at least one roll over!

Quite a few were towed in by their mates or passers by.

I don't know the exact numbers but there were enough to keep Dave busy.

We also did a lot of local recoveries, mainly bogged vehicles, but some breakdowns as well.

And, we also repaired a lot of broken trailers, some from the desert, as well as passing travellers.

AnswerID: 434200

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 22:22

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 22:22
Gerday yerselves! Thanks for the answer - glad to see you are still there being useful. Ha Ha. Will be in touch through your web in a few days.
FollowupID: 705279