ADF Veterans Camping retreat for the North of W.A.
Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 09:01
Fred G NSW
For any members or visitors interested, I received this information yesterday from my Navy Veterans Association, and post it here for your information.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hi Folks, This may not interest everybody.The ADF Veteran Community in WA ,largely through the tireless efforts of Norm Whitburn ( ex Navy POFC) have obtained an abandoned cattle staton in the Northwest from the State Government and Department of Environmental Protection...This is to be set up as a Veterans Retreat with facilities for
camping etc...The only one real drawback for some people will be its isolation...It is approx. 80 klms off the Port Headland-
Marble bar road.on the Woody Woody
Mine road which I think is Rio Tinto owned....Norm has canvassed the big miners out there as
well as the
Marble Bar shire, interested Government departments and he has been impressed by the support offered...The station is the old Meentheena Cattle Run of some 700.000 Acres which has been disused for some time , it has the
Nullagine river passing through it and fairly good roads to and from the proposed
camp area...We have been out that way and it is probably a good 3 hour drive from
Port Hedland...As of early next year the setting up of the
camp will begin in earnest and anybody who is passing that way is more than welcome to drop in and crack a tinny with fellow ex servicemen and women..
Norms Email is nwhitburn@bigpond.com and he can fill you in on the details if you are interested....Could you please pass this on to any other interested parties...There may be a need for volunteer workers in the innitial stages so I told Norm I would pass on the information.....He has done a great job and it would be a pity if he was not supported ..I believe that Norms wife is going to be setting up a web page so all will be kept up to date as it develops... Kindest regards to all Shang and Marlene.....
--------------------------------------------------
That's all I know at this stage folk.
Fred
Reply By: Mick O - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 10:32
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 10:32
Fred,
here are the Google Earth Co-ordinates for Meetheena outstation. It's a little over 5 km south from the Ripon Hills Road, and 80 km or so east of
Marble Bar. Great Country out that way and it looks loike there are a few sizeable pools on the river nearby.
Ripon Hills Road is all bitumen and a fantastic scenic drive through the
Pilbara, one of my favourites.
21°16'0.85"S 120°27'18.69"E
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 17:47
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 17:47
Thanks for that Mick. I haven't as yet been out there, although I would have flown over it 4 or 5 times.
Fred.
Reply By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 10:33
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 10:33
Good Post Fred, bound to be quite a deal of interest in such a worthy venture.
Missed the lottery by six weeks myself but have keenly followed Les Hiddins efforts for a retreat up in NQld.
Might be able to unload a few boxes of reading material when it gets underway and I'm sure there a few blokes around with useful items in sheds that might be handy - good time to have a clean out.
Cheers - Phil
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 17:50
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 17:50
I'm sure Norm would be pleased to hear from you Phi. Thanks mate. I think a supporters base is what he is trying to build.
Fred.
Reply By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 12:44
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 12:44
G'day Fred
Thanks for the
Forum post you put up, I personally could not think of a more admirable and fitting way to use and look after a magnificent part of the region.
The
Nullagine river is no doubt a jewel in the crown on Meentheena but also the not too
well known of Stromatolite field on the lease.
I trust there is not to much in the way of government hurdles and redtape to contend with in setting things up for the Veterans Retreat.
Good luck to everyone with this very worthy project.
Safe travells:
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 17:53
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 17:53
Thanks Joe, I'm yet to visit that region by land, but god willing I'll get there in the near future.
Fred
Follow Up By: MAVERICK(WA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 20:11
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 20:11
You may be interested to know that various people have been knocking off the Stromatalites for a while and sending/taking them overseas. If there can be people there then that may curtail them from that area at least. rgds
Follow Up By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 00:43
Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 00:43
G'day Gentlemen
Fred, I honestly hope you get the chance to walk on the lease, it really is a special chunk of the
Pilbara.
Sadly the situation regarding Geological theft and vandalism is all to real and possibly the only positive way of stopping the rot is to have people on the property keeping an eye on who goes where.
The North Pole Stromatolite field and also the Gallop
Well site have both been plundered to a degree ~ sadly. There are a few more secreted sites in the
Pilbara that are difficult to gain access to, mostly because of the remoteness and tough terrain.
There is a genuine chance the Meentheena Field will survive as an asset for the Vetrans
Camp retreat, as I say ~ a very worthy project.
The fairly recently discovered Meteorite impact crater (
Hickman Crater 2007) is already witnessing the approach of the iron ore miners ~ exploration drill and sample pads within 500 metres of the craters southern rim, some may call it commerce and industry ~ jobs for the future ~ but I have an entirely view!!
Safe travells:
Reply By: Member - David L1 (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 13:02
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 13:02
Thanks Fred
Have sent Norm an email.
Deserves all the support He can get.
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 17:59
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 17:59
Good onya David. As word is spread among the many Veterans Associations across Oz, I am sure he will receive much support. I know there other former and serving ADF members who are members and visitors of ExplorOz. That is why I put it up as soon as I received the email from my Association.
Fred.
Reply By: Honky - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 17:00
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 17:00
I can see a land claim coming soon.
Honky
Reply By: olddigger - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 18:20
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 18:20
Many thanks for that information. I was at a Viet Vets meeting in
Perth recently at which this was mentioned, with the meeting feeling that the site was too far out of the way (A feeling I did NOT share).
I'll get in touch with Norm to see what help I can offer.
The Queensland vets retreat at
Pandanus Park (inland fron
Cooktown, roughly) is a hell of a drive from
Perth. It also has a crocodile problem which makes fishing in the river very interesting!
Cheers, Tony
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 18:32
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 18:32
Good onya Tony. I reckon all Vets will embrace this with open arms, and ya know how resourceful we can be :-)))
Fred
Reply By: Member - Jack - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 18:25
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 18:25
Hi Fred:
Would it be ok for me to do a cut'n'paste and shoot this off to the NSW TPI Association for inclusion in their next issue of their journal 'Salute'? Shall await your reply before doing anything.
Jack
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 18:37
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 18:37
G'day Jack. Go for it mate. My Vets Association sent it to all its members, asking us to spread the word.
I think we should all identify ourselves to Norm also, and show our support.
Cheers Jack.
Reply By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 06:35
Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 06:35
Thanks for that Fred, as ex Navy (1986 - 1996), i would be most interested in following this, heading out there, and even helping out a little if can, being in NSW might be a little difficult, but there are no such things as problems, only solutions waiting to happen. Cheers.
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 06:54
Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 06:54
The concept sounds good mate. Will be great if/when it comes to fruition. Register your interest with Norm, I'm sure he'll appreciate all the help/support he can muster to ensure it happens.
Fred
Reply By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 10:46
Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 10:46
Here is an interview with Norm on the ABC..
Radio ABC Interview
Here is Meentheena Outcamp in ExplorOz
placesRight Here
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 10:57
Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 10:57
Here are details for the
INAUGURAL AGM to be held next Friday 5th November 2010.
Reply By: Member - Syd R (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 23:43
Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 23:43
Hi Fred, Have you been to
Alaric out of
Quilpie Qld. Great spot!! I'll be up that way next year and will contact nearer to the visit. Great work.