You don’t need a fridge………!

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 20:10
ThreadID: 82176 Views:6985 Replies:15 FollowUps:10
Had an interesting experience in August this year. I was going up to the Cooper to boat along it, into the Strzelecki Desert. Family couldn’t come at the time. Was going to be camping out of the boat for an unknown number of days. So, the cook wasn’t with me, and as far as cooking goes, I’m none too talented. Didn’t really want the car Engel running with me being away for what could have been the best part of a week.

So, for the first time, I did a 4wd trip without using the fridge, other than for food storage. It was so cold I didn’t even mind the beer at ambient temperature. I lived on canned food such as soups, vegetarian nutmeat, peas / beans, powered mash (which I love), fruit which kept well. There are heaps of deserts in little plastic containers that don’t need refrigerating. For lunches I had the likes of little canned tuna tins, small tartare sauce packets which don’t need refrigerating, cucumbers etc. For brekkie had cereal, uht milk (just those small 6x200ml cartons, so finished a carton with each brekkie and a coffee).

I guess this is nothing new for hikers, and this food is not everyone’s choice I know. But the point I wanted to make is you can camp and eat very well, and fairly healthily, without a fridge. Or perhaps a 40l fridge will do when you think you might need a 70/80l fridge for that 1 big trip that comes along every 2-3 years.

Only negatives was that it’s a fairly heavy pack (not a great worry in the scheme of things in a 4b), and you have lots of package waste, but I burnt that each night (took the crushed cans home of course).

Reply By: Member - david m2 (SA) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 20:39

Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 20:39
Beer at ambient temperature..?
AnswerID: 434455

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 20:45

Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 20:45
Yeah, maybe won't work afterall. Actually, we did have ice on the swags one night, so it was damn cold.
FollowupID: 705548

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 21:14

Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 21:14
Should have thrown the beer on a piece of fishing line in the river!!!

at least it would've being colder then ambient temp!!!!!

learnt that one as a kiddie!!

good lesson to us all, thanks for the tip!!!
FollowupID: 705549

Follow Up By: SDG - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 23:22

Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 23:22
Drinking beer as a kiddie while fishing. And I suppose your parents thought you were JUST fishing? lol
FollowupID: 705557

Follow Up By: Member - Rob Mac (QLD) - Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 21:39

Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 21:39
Hi David, back home we called it Kimberly Cool.
Rob Mac
FollowupID: 705634

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 06:29

Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 06:29
Hi SDG, no just that we lived in mackay at one stage, and you couldn't walk all the way to the beach luggin a esky. so what we did was bury the drinks in the cold sand below water line! nice cold drinks. mainly soft drinks.

I diodn't start drinking properly till i was 21. just didn't like it!
FollowupID: 705650

Reply By: Ayita5 - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 21:28

Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 21:28
I'm glad someone else thinks this! :)

We're planning our around Oz trip for next year and we are NOT (gasp!) planning on taking a fridge. The power sucking, space hogging things are not necessary (for US, I realise for some they are). I barely use my fridge at home, and could probably do without it if I got into the habit. My fridge only has a few things in it at present - milk (we often use powdered milk so this will be no problem to just use this while travelling), butter (which doesn't even actually need to be refrigerated if you use a butter bell - one of those ones with water in it), tomato sauce and jam (probably doesn't really need to be refrigerated) and fruit (same again). Everything else we use in non-fridgy type stuff.

Of course, the most important point here is that we do not have any beer. :)
(If we did, I think I'd rather take the fridge than drink it ambient - blegh!)

Glad you enjoyed your fridge free experience. :)
AnswerID: 434463

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 19:22

Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 19:22
I spent 7 months going around Australia on motorbike, no fridge, lots of camping. Bread and peanut butter and jam sandwiches, fruit like apples, vegetables like carrots, you'd be surprise the curry you can whip up with lentils dry spices and vegetables (potato, pumpkin, onion, garlic, ginger) and coconut milk served on cous cous (all that is fine out of a fridge for a few days). I was very healthy, though my poison was port (room temperature of course). Drank so much I can't touch it now 20yrs on.

After I wrote my evakool off in an accident recently I am thinking not getting another compressor large fridge as I have a very powerful 15L Engel that I can use to freeze ice blocks during the day or in transit for an evakool non-compressor esky. Will see how that goes for a year or so.
FollowupID: 705614

Reply By: Mick O - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 21:43

Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 21:43
I’m usually down to the cans and dried stuff after 7 weeks or so and I have to admit that I like being able to have a nice piece of steak or chicken done on the fire at the end of the day. The cold beverage is also a winner. Those damn Canadians taught me about can night when I first ran into them on the Canning in 07 (they were living on tins of Stag Chilli only) which is why I offer to cook for them these days. Short term trips of a week or two duration, I could handle the dried stuff as it’s not much different to how we travelled remotely in the early ‘80s but I have to admit there’s nothing like a bloody fat porterhouse sizzling away on the hotplate at days end. These days I always factor in two “Can Nights” a week. It’s just so easy.

AnswerID: 434465

Reply By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 21:46

Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 21:46
G`day,
Obviously you didn`t intend to catch any fish and bring some home.

My fridge is for keeping stuff fresh, cold, edible or frozen, both going and returning on a trip. ( that's if I catch some ) LOL

Scrubby.

AnswerID: 434466

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 21:59

Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 21:59
It sure can be done jd. After all, that is how we used to camp before we were spoilt by Engels and the like. Usually inland it is cool enough over night to cool the drinks before putting in an esky for the heat of the day. I don't drink beer ;)

There is too much out there that we want for camping after we have seen it, but we don't really need it. It used to be so simple.

AnswerID: 434470

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 23:01

Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 23:01
In some ways all the mod cons have taken fun out of camping.
In the pre-fridge days, we'd take a small esky and just leave it open overnight - it would get down to zero, put the lid back on in the morning. Used it for margarine, milk and the odd beer. Buy real meat whenever it was available.
And strap a water bag on the front for the cordial!

Last time I did this was when I took my daughter's old subaru to Lake Eyre and Dalhousie 10 years ago. It was a great trip.
AnswerID: 434475

Reply By: SDG - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 23:02

Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 23:02
No room for a fridge while i'm travelling by bike. Small esky in trailer for milk and a couple of other things. Scotch does not need a fridge.
AnswerID: 434476

Reply By: equinox - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 23:18

Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 23:18
I have never had a fridge when I travel, though this year traveling with others who did made me a bit envious. I think on the same night as Mick was cooking above Micheal J gave me a freshly cooked garlic prawn and it was delicious.

However a warm beer is better than none, and a warm can of coke is better than nothing. I'll always choose the beautiful steak over a canned frankfurt, though I would eat the canned frankfurt if there was no choice in the matter.....

AnswerID: 434477

Follow Up By: Mick O - Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 18:58

Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 18:58
Ha ha ha ha. One thing I liked about cooking for the McCall boys....they certainly appreciated a good BBQ. There were no complaints even if I overcooked the tube steaks (Canadian word for snags). Even hearty stodge like Spag Bol was received with rapturous applause. Mind you Al was prepared to cosy up to anyone who had enough room in their fridge to fit his two daily tinnies which earnt him the tag of “fridge mole” ;-) I can see a fridge in your immediate future young McCall.

FollowupID: 705611

Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 19:34

Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 19:34
You were calling me "fridge mole" behind my back????? I'm shocked!!!! :))

FollowupID: 705615

Follow Up By: Mick O - Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 21:13

Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 21:13
No no no no no, it was more in passing like you know, we'd all be standing there in a group and you'd start sachaying up towards us all innocent like and someone would see you and say, "Watchout, here comes "Fridge mole"! It was the can of coke in each hand that gave you away lol lol.

A man with plans as grand as yours will need a fridge in coming years my friend!

Cheers . Mick.

FollowupID: 705629

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 09:37

Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 09:37
Of course we can do without refrigeration as we used to in the "good old days"
And I guess we could also do without 80% of the extras we load our vehicles with.
However I asked myself the question 'why should I?'

Not too much compares with travelling all day over pristine country, climbing the odd sand dune, getting out of the odd bog, fixing the odd puncture or mechanical breakdown........
.....and then relaxing by a decent fire with good companions, a cold glass of white wine to wash down king garlic prawns in a cream sauce with basmati rice....mmmmmmmmmmm
Or a piece of fillet steak (medium rare) served with fresh steamed vegetables, wash down with a cold beer.
Sure beats the chit out of bully beef...lol

Six weeks into our last trip and I was still able to enjoy a fresh salad sandwich for lunch..........I'm old and need all the sustenance I can get..LOL LOL LOL

And I am so glad you enjoyed that prawn Al;))))))

Michael J
FollowupID: 705677

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 23:42

Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 23:42
When we use to travel the Nullabor back in the 50s/60s we never had a fridge or esky, we use to have a 'tucker box' with all the food in, milk was powdered, or condensed, butter would be wrapped up in wet paper, ( the best insulation) and the rest was tinned or jarred. I still don't put my jams or spreads in the fridge. Our trips across the Nullabor was always after harvest, end January and February, the hottest months of the year. We never had food poisoning or any problems either. I do believe that it has held me in great sted as I would be very comfortable going camping without a fridge if needed. Yes it can be done but if the comforts are there why not use them LOL.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 434479

Reply By: Wilko - Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 06:27

Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 06:27
Hi Jdwynn,

It can be so simple if we get down to the "Essential needs" and not wants. Ive gone back to camping with just and esky and ice for overnite or a couple of day camps.

No need to check power consumption or amps, dont get me wrong I like my Engel but an esky can be so simple.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 434486

Reply By: Fab72 - Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 12:40

Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 12:40
Can also buy cheese blocks (same as those cheese stick things the kids have for their lunches) which don't require refrigeration.

My personal favourite is hotdogs (out of the can) on toasted rolls with the above mentioned cheese and a squirt of dead horse. Yummo.

Pasta and sauce packs (nice and light to carry) using long life milk is another tasty high carb feed.
AnswerID: 434533

Reply By: Dean - Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 13:44

Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 13:44
No doubt about it.
We still camp the old way due to most of our trips being in winter.
With block ice and most of your goodies frozen at the start we can easily last a week and still have icy cold beer. After that its more pre packaged type food and wine.
In a way we enjoy the challenge of food planning as much as the trip.
Dean
AnswerID: 434536

Reply By: mullyman - Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 16:19

Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 16:19
If camping for a week,I find my Techni-Ice boxes and block ice fine,even in hot weather. A good 3 way fridge and a 9 kilo gas bottle is great for longer stays. I will get a compressor fridge when the time comes to do the big trip though,due to being constantly on the move.
AnswerID: 434544

Reply By: Flynnie - Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 22:35

Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 22:35
A fridge is not needed at all BUT it is handy to have.

It does cost a lot to setup a decent fridge and all the battery and isolators etc etc. Often an esky would be better.

On the lighter side of things. A freezer has special advantages when it comes to remote trips. It is amazing what people will do or trade for icecream after two weeks in the desert. A bit of surplus icecream comes in very handy when you want something from another group.

Flynnie
AnswerID: 434576

Reply By: Member - mazcan - Sunday, Oct 31, 2010 at 14:14

Sunday, Oct 31, 2010 at 14:14
hi jdwynn
my first trip of 3 week in 1987 bunbury to thundalara station and through to cue
/ wiluna and across the gunbarrel and abandoned section to giles and through past west side of lake hopkins to ligerwood cliffs and mt strickland and to haast bluff

then palm valley and the ormiston gorge rd and the alice / etc

alice to marla and over to oodnadatta back past mt barry to coober pedy then down stuart hwy to gosses

then through to kingoonya/kokatha /lake everard/ hiltaba/and joined the eyre hwy at wirrulia

and back to bunbury was done with out a fridge on a diet very simular to yours

i have an old trunk that belonged to my grandfather and have lined it with insulation it holds a huge amount of tinned food and all the utensils as well and i twist buckle anchor it to the rear wellbody floor just inside the tailgate

we used the tail gate for a table and had a 2 burner gas stove on the t/gate and two folda chairs and a two man tent/sleeping bags that was it basic and effective for the 7000km trip did the csr on two occasions eating same type of food but did have a 29ltr engel for cold drinks bread and butter etc but never saw a need for frozen type foods

had people with us that lost half there food stocks with fridge problems on two trips and had no tinned food for back up and was able to help them out in later years
now fridge/battery systems have become more reliable but one still has to be digilant at all times
AnswerID: 434691