Forester across the Simpson

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 11:26
ThreadID: 82331 Views:10461 Replies:11 FollowUps:3
Over the years several of our friends have come with us on trips outback including the Simpson Desert. All have had 4WD's of various types. On our next trip planned across the Simpson a couple of other acquaintances have expressed interest in going but they have Subaru Foresters. I know that the new ones have reasonable ground clearance but would need the suspension boosted for the extra load etc. Has anyone had experience with these vehicles across the French Line. Note: I have been across the French Line, WAA Line, QAA Line, Rig Road and bits in between so I know how normal 4WD's handle it.
Jim
VKS 737
Call Sign Mobile 2737

Reply By: bjgard - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 12:17

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 12:17
Some 20 + years ago a group of Brumby's went across the Simpson. But the utes are a lot lighter than a Forester, apparently it was trouble free. Just where they crossed I have no knowledge. Also from memory the Brumby was fairly easy to "lift" without having to purchase a lot of gear. Pity Subaru don't make them, seems as though they didn't like the crash test.

Barry G
AnswerID: 435192

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 15:55

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 15:55
got one at work in good condition if anyone wants it!!!!

sorry work at a subaru dismantler now
FollowupID: 706350

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 12:33

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 12:33
Jim, if you havn't already done it, do a search using words "forester AND simpson" (needs to be capitals for AND, but don't use quotes). There are lots of interesting posts on the subject - opinions either way of course!!! Cheers

AnswerID: 435195

Reply By: rocco2010 - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 12:41

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 12:41
Gidday

Back in the old days people used to go remote with VW beetles ...

I remember a Wheels magazine article years ago about a trip up the abandoned section of the Gunbarrel in a Subaru Outback. It wasn't easy but they did it. This month's magazine features a trip to Cape York in a Mazda MX5!

There is a very active Subaru club here in WA and they seem to go anywhere up to and including the CSR. Check out their website. Limiting factors seem to be lack of range and load carrying ability but I think they travel with "escort" vehicles to help solve that problem.

Rocco

AnswerID: 435196

Reply By: Member - Trouper (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 14:20

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 14:20
In July 2003 an old army friend of mine wanted to cross the Simpson with us. We agreed and travelled west to east.but I must say it was a struggle as we needed to tow him over lots and lots of sand ridges. It was particularly difficult when it came to crosing the salt lakes with their deep ruts it was just a matter of dragging the ute over to firm ground and checking to see if the diffs were still there. It was a bit of fun just six ex-army blokes together, we got quite dirty and we stirred the owner a lot saying that he didn't drive accross the desert, he was dragged over it. The ute was fairly robust but I dont think now that I would try it with a Forrester, too many plaastic bits to be torn off and lost, it may be expensive to replace later.

regards...................jeff
AnswerID: 435203

Follow Up By: Member - Trouper (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 14:25

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 14:25
I forgot to mention it was a Subaru Outback ute about an 1986/7 model (I think) and we travelled the Rig Rd, WAA line and K1 line to Peoples Cnr then onto Birdesville

regards......................jeff
FollowupID: 706346

Reply By: Crackles - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 14:24

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 14:24
I am a previous Subaru owner who was known to frequent places it probably shouldn't have gone so yes I see no reason why a current model Forrester couldn't do the Simpson given suitable preparations.
Firstly they should look at upgrading the tyres to something a bit tougher.
Weight needs to be minimised as they will not carry the loads of a Cruiser or Patrol. Think bushwalking type gear or have another bigger car share the weight.
Upgrade the recovery points.
Only 2 people in the car. A couple of kids in the back & they would struggle for space & end up overloaded.
Drive conservitively. They are light weight & will break.
If conditions in the desert are poor next year (eg: very soft sand, Eyre Creek running, very boggy) I would not take a soft roader. There is no substitute for ground clearance.
Best option to see if your mates are serious is to invite them on a trial run to do some sand driving like at Stockton beach or the SA Border track for example. This way they will have some idea what they are up for without throwing them in the deep end.
Cheers Craig............
AnswerID: 435205

Reply By: Member - TJ (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 16:41

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 16:41
Hi Jim,
I drive a Patrol and the wife drives a Forester. I wouldn't even consider taking a Forester to the Simpson. Things have broken on it, Ie: plastic under the wheel arches, just from driving on some dirt back roads around our home town. I reckon you could get one across the Simmo but I think you have to be prepared to pack very lightly, make a lot of recoveries and suffer expensive damage. My 2 bob worth.

TJ..
AnswerID: 435211

Reply By: RobAck - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 17:00

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 17:00
Several years back we took a group of Foresters across the Simpson for Subaru. It was interesting and challenging and also a wet crossing. Many issues came to light and it was only having two highly trained engineers and four excellent bush mechanics that we got them all across.

Whilst there will be many opinions on this we have actually done it and on a reasonable scale

I would not suggest trying it unless you and they are very well prepared, competent in using the AWD in serious off-road situations, can carry sufficient spares and fuel and are prepared to suffer some vehicle damage along the way

RobA
AnswerID: 435212

Reply By: Member - peter f (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 18:29

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 18:29
why would you put your own trip at risk . just because they don,t have
a vehicle suitable . you could damage your own vehicle trying to get them
out of the S--t and where does that leave you ?
mechpete
AnswerID: 435216

Reply By: Barra-2 - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 19:25

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 19:25
I am a member of the High Range club in SA, which is a club for SUV's and I have just completed a trip of the Simpson in August. We used to have a RAV4 and have moved up to a Landcruiser.

I take my club to places where I know where they will make it, and the Simpson is one place I know they wont be able to go. Reason being they will be to loaded with gear you must take, and clearance will be a major issue even with a lift. I took them to the Border Track and we all made it.

If it was complety empty, yes it would make with some help, but not worth the hassle.

AnswerID: 435222

Reply By: Fab72 - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 08:30

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 08:30
Jim,
The only thing between the bottom tank on the radiator and the ground on a Forrester is a thin piece of low slung Polyprop plastic. Even at slow speeds, these things will erode away. (About $500 worth of splash shield). In time, you will be left with an exposed radiator which will be vunrable even to a small twig.

Weight IS NOT your friend.Suspension lift kits will give your mate better ground clearance, but that's still a hell of a lot of weight being supported by those thin bits of welded steel on the shocker and spring mounts.

Catch 22.....
The slower you go, the better your chances of getting through. BUT...
The slower you go, the more supplies (food, water, fuel) you'll need to carry.

Tell your mate to top up his VISA and carry plenty of cash. Remote area vehicle recovery can get expensive and I'm sure the price is calculated based on the level of avoidable stupidity :)

Fab.
AnswerID: 435243

Follow Up By: Member - David P (WA) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 22:25

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 22:25
G'day Jim,

I'm with the Subaru 4WD Club of WA and we went from Perth across the Anne Beadell Highway, Oodnadatta track from William creek then across the Simpson down the Birdsville track through the Flinders Ranges (including some of the 4WD tracks at Arkaroola) and back across the Nullarbor last year. We had 5 Foresters of various ages and one Brumby. All our vehicles were modified with sump guards and lift kits and we travelled as light as possible and drove to the capabilities of our vehicles ie nice and easy. The 1982 Forester needed repairs to its rear suspension and the 1990 Brumby needed a new clutch at Birdsville. Each of us carried 3 jerry cans of fuel and 2 spare tyres.
You can check out my trip report and on offroadsubarus.com as well as that of another member of that forum who also did the Simpson last year but is from Sydney.

DavidImage Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 706476

Reply By: Sigmund - Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 07:05

Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 07:05
Yeah, good alloy sump guards are made in Aus by SubaXtreme
AnswerID: 435624