Members Vehicles

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 04:29
ThreadID: 82339 Views:7884 Replies:7 FollowUps:19

I have been doing a search of members vehicles to gather some great ideas and notes of what we 'think' we would like and more so, what would suit us and our travel way for eventually our next vehicle upgrade.

Originally we have been set on a landcruiser troopy, lately though we have been interested in a ute wiuth a canopy and seeing the differences between a tray top camper and then a canopy with roof top tent.

I have seen a silver Nissan Patrol with a similar roof top tent to that on 'MickO's extended landcruiser, yet now cant find this member in the members list. They had some great pictures on their profile. (Nissan was not extended)
Could this member please put there hand forward to let mehave another look at their set up? Thankyou.

Likewise, could I have some more info on the size of the rear canopy on the tray back. particularly internal dimensions.

Any other member pics would be benefiial also,

Thanks in Advance.

Cheers Paul

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 07:36

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 07:36
Hi Paul,
Our cruiser is still a work in progress but we picked up our custom camper made to our specs from Tray-Tek campers in Maleny. It is 2.1x 1.84m closed and would fit on a single cab as well. We had the rack to sit it on built to suit (although not braced yet)

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 435236

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 07:42

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 07:42
This might be a better pic

2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 706381

Follow Up By: CruisinDub - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 13:41

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 13:41
Hi Dave,

Many thanks,
Great Pics !!

Question? How does the extension fold/slide into the lifting roof?
(understand my question?)
Are you eventually going to have a canopy of sorts?
What are your ideas?

Thanks again,

Cheers Paul
FollowupID: 706423

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 08:45

Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 08:45
Hi Paul,
the 2nd queen bed is on a slide (230kg rated) and slips in under the main bed. I will attach a couple of tent poles under it when it is set up and isn't on the vehicle There is storage under the main bed and also in the front nose cone of the camper.
Cheers Dave
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 706506

Follow Up By: CruisinDub - Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 12:05

Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 12:05
Hi Dave,

Thanks for the follow up, appreciated.

No doubt a few more questions when they become apparent.

FollowupID: 706518

Reply By: Member - Tezza Qld - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 07:48

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 07:48
Sounds like member Alex B from Vic.
I also have a slide on with pictures in my profile

Cheers Teza
AnswerID: 435238

Follow Up By: CruisinDub - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 14:11

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 14:11
Hi Teza,

Thanks for your link.

Looks like you and tourboy both have the tray tek campers, currently checking them out now.

Thanks again,

Cheers Paul
FollowupID: 706428

Follow Up By: CruisinDub - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 14:19

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 14:19
Hi Teza,

Meant to say, the link was the one I was looking at previously.

Cheers Paul
FollowupID: 706432

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 08:27

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 08:27
Mick O is a current member and still listed in the members list.
Click on Members - Victoria and scroll down to Mick O to view his profile.

Bill.

AnswerID: 435242

Follow Up By: CruisinDub - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 13:38

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 13:38
Hi Bill,

Yes, Have looked at MickO's famous Landcruiser, though his is 'extended' and much bigger than standard. Have read Mick O's blogs with interest.
Thanks Mate, some GREAT info there,

Was more looking at standard sizes and set ups that other members have.

I mentioned this Nissan as the roof top tent was the same/similar as MickO's and I particulalry like the canopy and roof top set up.

Appreciate your feedback Bill, Any others you can mention or take note to?

Look forward to hearing further.

Cheers Paul

FollowupID: 706420

Reply By: Mick O - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 15:17

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 15:17
Try member Alex B. He has the Nissan with a pop top tent system mounted on top. Great looking rig. Had some helpful conversations with Alex during the planning of my build. here's a link to Alex B Members profile

AnswerID: 435266

Follow Up By: CruisinDub - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 15:58

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 15:58
Hi Mick,

Alex B, thats the one I was looking at and lost the link when internet dropped out. Cheers !
Have been looking again at the pics.

Now looking at the Maggiolina roof top tents, seems to be distributed by Autohome Australia.

Thanks again for the follow up.

Cheers Paul
FollowupID: 706437

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 18:24

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 18:24
"could I have some more info on the size of the rear canopy on the tray back"

Gday Paul,
There are noticeable differences between the 79series and GU Patrol such that a canopy built for one vihicle will be a poor fit on the other.

Tray width is usually 1950 for the patrol, and 1850 for the 79series.
Tray length is usually 2250 - 2400
The cab is considerably higher with the 79series - Can't quite remember the figure on mine, but I think the canopy was about 1100-1200mm to reach cab height.

And the wheelbase is already a fair bit longer on the 79series. I personally would not extend mine - turning circle and rampover angle are the issues.

I narrowed my tray and canopy to 1750 to improve the rearward visibility down each side, and also to make it more manouvrable on narrow tracks.
AnswerID: 435281

Follow Up By: CruisinDub - Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 12:21

Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 12:21
Hi Phil,

Many thanks for your very informative and factual reply, all very much appreciated.
These have given me some great reference details to note.
No doubt will be back with a few more questions/queries.

Thanks again,

FollowupID: 706519

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 17:04

Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 17:04
Just measured the canopy height on my 79series - 1030mm for the canopy to be level with the roof of the cab. I'm not sure what the same is for the patrol, but it is not as high.

There are plenty more differences between the 79series and patrol, but one you will need to consider is the patrol's chassis. If you get the coil cab, you'll want to reinforce the rear coil spring towers because they can bend, especially if airbags are added. The benefit of the rear leaf setup on the cruiser is that the rear weight is supported at 2 points, and the leaf springs are very long.
FollowupID: 706540

Follow Up By: CruisinDub - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 00:10

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 00:10
Hi Phil,
Thanks for the extra figures, much appreciated.
We have been looking over a lot of pictures and set ups recently, and getting some great ideas along with some great pointers.
The wife now thinks that an 'extra' cab would be better, that she would prefer just a little more room inside the cab. I can understand her reasoning. Dual cab is not our intention, yet the patrol and l/cruiser dont do an extra cab.
Have you ever felt that having a little space behind the seats would be beneficial?

Thanks once again.
Cheers Paul
FollowupID: 706701

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 18:47

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 18:47
Gday Paul,
Yes, if I were looking for a 4 cyl ute, I'd also go for the extra cab.
Reasons are:
#1 you can comfortably recline the seat and have a snooze - harder to do that in a single cab.
#2 The weight distribution on the tray is still OK - Its not all behind the rear axle which is the big issue with dual cabs.
#3 Some extra cab utes have a couple of kids seats with 2 seatbelts.

But when it comes to storage, we would rather store stuff in our sealed canopy - we'd rather reduce the clutter in the cab. We don't want a fridge or jackets etc in the cab.

But I've got a 79series because I wanted a strong, reliable ute with 3500kg tow capacity, torquey TD motor and big payload that you can upgrade.
FollowupID: 706757

Follow Up By: CruisinDub - Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 01:04

Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 01:04
Hi Phil,

Thanks again for your reply, always appreciated.
I can fully understand all your points, we have spoken of almost all of them.
At the moment, we have a van, so everything is inside and within easy reach.
We are looking at all points and discussing at length various options. As mentioned, we originally had the sights on the troopy then have have seen some great ute/canopy set ups, both fixed canopy and canopy campers, giving us even further options and great ideas.
We are heading back home next year and at xmas time will be home for 6 weeks to get everything in place for when we do head home for longer term. Have been working overseas for past 14 years. We want to know what we might need to suit our way of travelling.
The extra cab took my wifes eye since the points you mentioned, jackets, umbrellas, esky, guide books etc are easy to hand as well as the recling seat for resting.
I would like the l/cruiser-patrol, but seems the 4 cyls utes only do the 'extra cab'.
Lots for us to discuss and ponder over. Hope to be a bit clearer when viewing all soon.

Thanks again for your factual information.
Much appreciated.
FollowupID: 706802

Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 19:59

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 19:59
Gaday Paul. While a Troopy can make an excellent desert tourer, it's hard to go past the convienience of a trayback camper for ease of access to all your gear, the kitchen & sleeping area.
Some features to look for are a compact profile for tight tracks. Hard top to keep the bedding dry. Tilt fridges for ease of access. Main water/fuel storage forward of the axle. Lightweight construction to come in under GVM.
This one is from Tailgate Campers.
Cheers Craig.....

AnswerID: 435287

Follow Up By: CruisinDub - Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 12:32

Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 12:32
Hi Craig,

Thanks for your pictures, much appreciated.
Some great close ups to get an idea of storage and possible layouts options.

Appreciate the points of note to consider also.

Thanks for sharing so openly.

What is at the back of the canopy rear section on drivers side? And behind the white boarding panel.

FollowupID: 706520

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 17:03

Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 17:03
The white panel is a door to the clothes compartment which can be accessed from the side or from inside when the tailgate is dropped. A feature of this unit is the tailgate area is used for getting changed hense the position of the clothes for dual access.
Cheers Craig...............
FollowupID: 706539

Follow Up By: CruisinDub - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 00:01

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 00:01
Hi Craig,

Thanks for the reply. Understood.
My wife likes teh look of that, and thinks the 'private' area as well as a place to get dry if its raining would be good.
We googled looking for 'tailgate campers' but could not see the link to the actual manufacturer.
Cheers Paul
FollowupID: 706700

Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 16:58

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 16:58
Paul I initially thought you were just after ideas to make your own :-)
Tailgate Campers are a small custom manufacturer. I'm told they are in the process of putting a web site up but in the interum you can contact Noel on 0438641282 for some more details. They are Victorian based.
Cheers Craig.............
FollowupID: 706753

Follow Up By: CruisinDub - Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 01:10

Thursday, Nov 11, 2010 at 01:10
Hi Craig,
Not sure about the 'make your own' bit. That could be a disaster..... !!!
We are looking at a fixed canopy/rooftop tent combination and also the purpose built camper-canopy set ups.
The wife liked the rear drop down section that you have, for the point of privacy and a dry area. If I recall correctly tray tech (as listed above in another follow up) also have this kind of set up. We have been looking at a lot on line lately and have some fanastic ideas. We are also narrowing down our preferred set up and hopefully getting clearer to what might suit or particular set up and what we think we might like.
Thankyou for your pics and replies.
Always much appreciated.
cheers and regards.
FollowupID: 706804

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 09:43

Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 09:43
Have a look in our profile to see what we have done...works well for us.

Cheers, The Landy
AnswerID: 435320

Follow Up By: CruisinDub - Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 12:03

Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 12:03
Hi Landy,

Thanks for the note to look at yours.
I had viewed your profile recently also and did particularly like the canopy.

Some great pics there for reference and comparision, also to help gauge sizing and storage etc, many thanks. (and great blog entries also)

Thanks again.

FollowupID: 706517