Camping between Burketown and Borroloola (Savannah Way)

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 09, 2010 at 20:52
ThreadID: 82397 Views:8188 Replies:6 FollowUps:6

Does anyone know of any good camping spots between Burketown (QLD) and Borroloola (NT) on The Savannah Way? We have 3 kids and don't want to do big km's. Apparently Pungalina Station has been sold. Any suggestions?

Melissa

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2010 at 20:56

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2010 at 20:56
when you looking at going ???
AnswerID: 435500

Follow Up By: Member - RH- Tuesday, Nov 09, 2010 at 20:59

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2010 at 20:59
May 2011
FollowupID: 706668

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2010 at 23:14

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2010 at 23:14
sorry a bit slow getting back to you.................
I live at Doomadgee and we doing a fair bit of exploring over the next few weeks, in short there are some nice crossings between Hells Gate and Borroloola that you can camp at, Hells gate is very nice and has toilets ect, Kingfisher Camp is 40 odd ks in from Savannah way, Doomadgee side of hells gate VERY nice spot with BIG river section, swimmable, and good campgrounds but check how full before driving in, nice spot for kids to, we have 3..........
Burkey to Hells Gate is about 2 n half hours
Post next year few weeks before you leave and will up-date spots and road conditions
Cheers, Joe
FollowupID: 706692

Reply By: Member - Wayne D (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2010 at 21:32

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2010 at 21:32
Will be up that way in about a week so will give you some feedback when we arrive at our destinations.
AnswerID: 435504

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2010 at 23:14

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2010 at 23:14
here ya heading Wayne ???
FollowupID: 706693

Follow Up By: Member - Wayne D (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 09:29

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 09:29
Hi Joe n Mel
I are leaving Sydney this weekend and meeting a mate in Bourke on Sunday.
We the intend to head out to Camerons Corner, down to Lyndhurst and up the Birdsville track. After that we are heading to Lawn Hill and then up the Savanah Way to Darwin. We will be heading through Doomadgee probably in about a week and a half. So look out fot 2 LandRover Disco 3s and if you see us stop us and say hi. I have an Exploroz sticker on the back of my silver Disco.
FollowupID: 706714

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 19:54

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 19:54
good stuff, keep tabs on the weather as there are storms around and some creeks go up n down...
The road from Lawn Hill the back way to us has some "black soil" sections and are impossible to get over after any rain, they are already "rutted" from last weeks rain so keep tabs on it all, if you go in from Gregory to Lawn Hill and then back track to Gregory and towards Burktown and west to us then you should be fine .....
We manage the servo at Doomadgee so feel free to ring us any time, number in the phone book, and call in and say hi, have a coffee on us :-)
You can relax as i noticed you have a "disco", we have a "disco" recovery vehicle so you will be fine but be warned the road west from us is marked clearly "Landcruisers ONLY beyond this point" .....

hahahah sorry i could not resist it. cheers joe
FollowupID: 706766

Follow Up By: Member - Wayne D (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 21:13

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 21:13
We were thinking of heading up the back way from Lawn Hill but will give that a miss, that black soil in unforgiving. Will make sure we drop in and have a chat on our way through. I am heading to Singapore after Darwin but my mate and brother in law have to drive back to Sydney. They are sticking to the black top for that trip as they need to be back in a week. The Disco is packed and just 2 more sleeps till I leave Sydney. Catch you guys shortly.
FollowupID: 706775

Reply By: Tim - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2010 at 23:46

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2010 at 23:46
My geography is not the best, its been 12 months since I was up there but... King Ash Bay is not bad. Top fishing but if you go for a dip you might not come back! A few big crocs up there.
Tim
AnswerID: 435519

Reply By: malley11 - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 08:23

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 08:23
Dont know much about the road between Burketown and Borroloola but we are caretaking Lorella Springs about 160klms west of Borroloola(30klm of Savannah Way) heading towards roper Bar good camping,fishing.No fuel but cold beer
AnswerID: 435535

Reply By: anand - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 18:40

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 18:40
hello dear friend i don't know about that but i am sure me also getting knowledge from your help as u open that thread
=======================
camper trailers Sydney
AnswerID: 435581

Reply By: Member - RH- Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 21:30

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2010 at 21:30
Thanks everone for the responses. I reckon we will try for Hells Gate. Lorella Springs definately looks worth a look.

Melissa

AnswerID: 435606