Strahan Tasmania Campsite

Submitted: Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 18:51
ThreadID: 82764 Views:8574 Replies:7 FollowUps:1

Related Pages

Hi All, headed to Tassie for 2 weeks straight after Xmas. Realise it'll be busy but...!
Anyway, wondered if anyone knows of the best 4wd with camper trailer spot to camp near Strahan? Happiest to be somehere that's '4wd only'. Ocean Beach? Macquarie Heads? Any tips most appreciated. Cheers.

Reply By: mikehzz - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 19:14

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 19:14
I was there about 10 years ago in January. We nearly froze to death and it was summer. I think they call the entrance Hell's Gate from memory and not because it's hot. The convicts didn't like it there I believe. Seemed like plenty of places to explore and camp with good beach driving. If the weather is nice then it's a beautiful place. Mike
AnswerID: 437299

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 19:23

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 19:23
The only camping outside of the caravan parks is at Macquarie Heads. $5/night. Not bad, see the caretaker on arrival.
AnswerID: 437303

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 19:30

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 19:30
We loved Macquarie Heads camp area when we were there earlier this year. We are fully self contained (toilet, shower, heaps of water and battery power) and spent a great week or so there.

At least one pic in my Tassie Blog

AnswerID: 437307

Follow Up By: justin71 - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 22:14

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 22:14
Enjoyed reading your blog, like the cray fish trade lol
FollowupID: 708943

Reply By: Member - Alex K (NSW) - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 19:53

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 19:53
Depending if you don't mind a 45min drive stay at Trial Harbour. Very remote bush camping. Weather can be a bit hit and miss but worth it IMHO. Camper trailer friendly.
Alex
AnswerID: 437314

Reply By: PaddyWack - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 20:18

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 20:18
I'll say macquarie heads (hells gate) too, ripper spot.
AnswerID: 437321

Reply By: bluefly - Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 20:38

Monday, Nov 29, 2010 at 20:38
Patrick

The area around Strahan is heavy bush and not like any other part of Australia, or at least that was the way it was when I lived in Tassie for a few years.

The biggest mistake visitors make whilst touring Tassie, is that they follow the so called tourist route.

The true gems of Tassie are open to those who turn left or right down a minor road and really experience what the island has to offer.

For example, if you found your way to the Mersey Forest Reserve or Lake Rowallan the visor and bush experience is something else. Depends on what you want....

AnswerID: 437326

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 18:40

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2010 at 18:40
We didn't like the look of the CP in Strahan nor the couple of listed free camps (or may have been low cost), so stayed on at Zeehan as did a number of other fellow campers. It was in a nice spot on the edge of town and easy commuting distance of Strahan and Queenstown. We also commuted north to the Pieman River as our rig was too large to take the barge so we'd come the long way around. We took the boat on the MacQuarie Harbour, the rack railway between Queenstown and Strahan with coach trip back to the car at Queenstown. The Zeehan museum has many hours of interesting viewing and we were unable to see it all in a full day.

We did find a lot of good bush and free or low cost camps in Tasmania but needed Camps Australia Wide to find them, as well as being able to camp at hydro electricity dams (for self contained - no amenities).

AnswerID: 437409