GezzaMate
Ok, I have spent hours trawling the net to find a suitable
campsite for our christmas
camping adventure and I am at my wits end. Someone please help me! Here's my list of musts:
NSW or SE QLD
4 - 5 hour drive from
Brisbane
Dog Friendly
Kid Friendly (4yo and 2yo)
Creek or damn or lake
Within 30 - 40 mins drive to the coast
Toilets
Fires
Someone PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE help me.
Thank you! :)
Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 12:33
Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 12:33
Anamor (sp ?) inland from Gympie where they have the muster. Charlie Morlands. Peachtrees. All inland from Kenilworth (sp?).
Follow Up By: chisel - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 14:56
Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 14:56
Charlie Morelands and Peach trees I don't think you can have a dog.
Follow Up By: Mr Pointyhead - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 15:23
Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 15:23
Good point to
check on that. As
state forest camp sites I though dogs might be allowed. Also, is Peach Trees overflow different from Peach Trees ?
Reply By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 12:47
Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 12:47
Hi GezzaMate
One would have to assume that at Christmas time all the
camping spots will be, but a couple that we have been to are;
Inskip Point - is dog friendly
Gladstonbury
Creek Recreation Area - dog friendly
Have you got a Camps 5 book? if not suggest you purchase one from Exploroz
Shop as it is a great help in finding suitable
camping spots.
Happy
camping.
Baz
Follow Up By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 12:53
Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 12:53
Should have mentioned Bundjalung NP (south of Evans Head), has some great spots, being a NP can get expensive for an extended stay.
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 16:40
Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 16:40
Baz&Pud,
Bundjalung being a NP you can't have a hound.
GezzaMate,
Try
South Ballina Beach Holiday Park They allow hounds if you ring them first.
Happy Holidays
Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 13:01
Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 13:01
Do you have a 4x4?
Follow Up By: GezzaMate - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 13:09
Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 13:09
Thanks everyone. Will look into all of those. Was leaning towards Inskip, but had heard the midges and mozzies drive you crazy and most recently heard dogs werent allowed any more. We have an X Trail, so kind of a 4x4 but towing a trailer.
Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 16:19
Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 16:19
Have a good look at main beach at Straddie.....I would want to be close to the
water in Dec to
cook down
Follow Up By: dereki - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 16:29
Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 16:29
X-Trail will be fine at Inskip. At that time of year its elbows out and hope that the tent 2 meters from yours doesn't have snorers in it. It gets really crowded. I have found that a few small tents is good because you can get in between trees, where bigger tents and campers can not go. Gives you more options when its really chockers.
D
Reply By: John and Lynne - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 14:03
Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 14:03
Kilkivan
Bush Camping and Caravan
Park about 50ks west of Gympie - about 6ks off the Wide Bay Highway on a bitumen road - is a great spot for kids and dogs - plenty of space and grass, powered and unpowered sites. There is a
creek running through the
park with a
swimming hole, depending on the amount of rain and there are safe paddling spots along the
creek. Amenities block has decent showers and
toilets. Resident owners. Most sites have campfires and wood is available. Kikivan township is about 10 minutes away and is pleasant with basic shopping and a nice
pool. You would need to book in holiday period. Lynne
Follow Up By: the redbacks - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 19:42
Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 19:42
Hi Guy's,
That place sounds really nice, would you have a web site or Ph No that you could share pls, I know kilkivan but can't picture the turn-off area.
Many thanks
Redbacks
Reply By: petengail - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 18:04
Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 18:04
We are going to Inskip again this year. But like last year we are going for the last two weeks of the school hols, as we did last year. The place was pretty quiet as most of the crowds had left. As far as I know (July trip) its still dog friendly. A call to the rangers at
Rainbow would sort that out though.
Reply By: paulnkattie - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 19:08
Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 19:08
what about landcruiser
park at Jimna.
Follow Up By: HappySound - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 22:02
Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 22:02
good
park!
kid, dog, music, everything friendly; pretty much! :)
there's even a dam to
camp by, and toilet/shower blocks...
plus you get the queens
deer and the odd 20 horses run by.
Bestbrook Mountain Resort is also another great one for small groups or large events even, with a
homestead with playrooms, pool, cabins, and
camping spaces with fire
places already set up near a nice
running creek..
http://www.bestbrook.com.au/
Does anyone know any other gems like these two South East of
Brisbane?
Anywhere nice for a group to stay up Lions Rd or Mt Lindesay Hwy??
Reply By: the redbacks - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 19:37
Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 19:37
Hi Gezzermate,
try Imbil, called "Island reach"
Dogs,fires,limited power sites, somewhat bushsetting, but sites are not defind,
creek{
Mary river} good safe swimming,nice hotel with good food walking distance from
park,easy going
young family owners.
toilets,BUT, little longer to
the beach than you may want.
www.ircamping.com.au
They don't take bookings but we have been before on christmas day and never had a problem, we are also going out for the Christmas week, so if you go look out for a "Lotus track van" & an "Royal Flair" come & say G'day
The redbacks
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 21:02
Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 21:02
Also at Imbil is the
Deer Park. Like Island Reach a nice "kid Friendly"
creek running down the back of the
park but nice ammenities and power if you need it. The dog is allowed in one section of the
park on a lead at all times but not much power in that section so get in early and secure a spot if it is not too late already.
Another nice spot is John's Landing on the banks of the
Noosa River out from
Tewantin. It has been a long time since I was there as it was getting a bit rough (other campers not the area) for our liking with the kids, but if that has changed it would be a spot I would go back to in a flash as it was a nice spot on the river.
Cheers, Trevor.
Reply By: Steve - Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 20:46
Friday, Dec 03, 2010 at 20:46
Flinders Beach - Straddie
all requirements met
Reply By: John and Lynne - Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 17:23
Saturday, Dec 04, 2010 at 17:23
Kilkivan
Bush Camping is on Rossmore Road, a
well signed turnoff from Wide Bay Highway a few ks east of Kilkivan. Phone number 07 5484 1340.
Have a great holiday wherever you go! Lynne
Reply By: GezzaMate - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 08:09
Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 08:09
Thank you so much everyone for all your help. You're all wonderful! Thinking it might be Inskip, but also thinking maybe "The Homestead". Thank you all again - much apprecciated.
Reply By: GezzaMate - Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 15:19
Monday, Dec 06, 2010 at 15:19
Me again! Looks like a change of plan. We are now looking at Glastonbury
Creek for the Christmas Break. Has anyone else been there? Sound nice enough, found a few pics and prob looks a bit open - not lots of trees. But at this stage of the game, beggers cant be choosers and Im prob being a bit too fussy. But if anyones been there and can give me some more info would be great. Thanks and sorry folks!
Follow Up By: the redbacks - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 20:00
Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 20:00
Hi Gezzamate,
have been to Glastonbury
creek once, very hard to get into if your van is larger than 15ft, when we was there the creek/river was dry, but after the rain should be plenty of
water now, not sure about dogs there??.
not really to much to do for the little ones & would be an 1/2 an Hr getting in & out from the main turn-off, wouldn't be my first choice, but thats just me !!
Redbacks
Reply By: GezzaMate - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2010 at 16:49
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2010 at 16:49
Redbacks, where are you going? What would be your first choice?