Fridges

Hi everyone, we're getting an Engel for Christmas this year and just wanted to know how everyone else operates them. We're trying to work out if we need a dual battery system or would get away with just hooking it up to an extra battery. We're in an X-Trail if that makes a difference to how it all operates. What does everyone else do?

Thanks guys,
Gezz :)

Reply By: Mick O - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 08:33

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 08:33
Gezz

If your serious on doing a bit of camping or using the fridge frequently, I wouldn't hesitate in getting a dual battery setup in the vehicle. Saves a lot of hassle and embarrassment should you flatten it (and you will believe me).

Check out the article overview at the top of your post. It will have good info re fridges. Also go into the articles tab above, select camping and then one of the subtopic is fridges. It lists some 7000 posts in which fridges are mentioned. I'd probably do a forum search from the front page first though. There is also a good article on Dual battery set-ups.

Fridges and tyres are probably the most discussed topic on the forum.

You must have been good for Santa to bring you the fridge. Good choice by the way.

AnswerID: 438196

Reply By: CraigFox - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 09:46

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 09:46
It also may depend on the size of the fridge. I have had a 45litre Engel for about 6 years running in the back of our '03 Jackaroo, and now our new Paj.
I do not, or will ever have a twin battery set up. Just have a 1000aH battery fitted in both cars.
This may not be possible for the XTrail, as they are a big battery. But I have been bush camped for 4 nights with fridge running all the time, and started car no problems. However, friends have a 80litre Waeco and can not leave it on overnight without needing a jump start in the morning!
Craig
AnswerID: 438209

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 09:51

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 09:51
1000ah battery , wow ,you must have had some serious suspension mods to carry that weight !! roflmao ,, easy to see its school holidays and the kids have the computer.
FollowupID: 709846

Follow Up By: CraigFox - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 10:21

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 10:21
Still alot lighter than two batteries plus tray plus cable plus solenoid etc.
29kg from memory. And readily available from RACV etc, just not promoted as they are not standard fitment!
Craig
FollowupID: 709848

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 10:53

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 10:53
You wrote , 1000ah , now , no way does a one thousand ,yes that is what you wrote , a 1000ah battery weigh 29kg , as for running a 45lt engle for 4 days straight without recharging a 100AH battery you will kill the battery , do some math , 45lt Engle uses 1.9 ah per hr x 24hr x 4 = 182.4 ah ,, back to school Craig ,,,,,
FollowupID: 709851

Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 10:58

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 10:58
Hi Craig,

there seems to be a bit of confusion over your battery size of 1000A/H. I presume you mean 100 A/H. It's horses for courses as far as a dual is concerned. I carry over 130kgs of batteries in my vehicle plus management systems and cables but then I run an 80 litre combo, a 40 litre engel and I'm out for 2 months. When I'm 200 klicks off the nearest track, I can't afford to lose my starter. If you're going to stick with one battery, then you have no doubt upgraded yours from the standard 70 type hi crank batteries that come standard in most vehicles these days. I presume also that you've moved to a deep cycle battery of sorts still with enough CCA to start the vehicle.

I would also say that you would keep a very close eye on your fridge and battery state during that 4 days out bush to ensure your battery state. I'd imagine that you run the car for a while as well to recharge? Again this requires a fair degree of knowledge and effort that you're prepared to put in and one that may not be as necessary with the degree of comfort that an auxillary battery can provide. One thing that Gezz may not know is that if you flatten or even discharge a normal vehicle battery to a certain level (despite it managing to crank the vehicle over in the morning), the battery is being damaged. Do it several times and you will severly impact the life of the battery. Standard vehicle batteries are not made for constant and excessive rates of discharge.

Gezz, I'd reccomend you have a read of member John's blogELECTRICITY FOR CAMPING. It will explain a good deal about DC power and just what your fridge will drain out of your battery.

FollowupID: 709852

Follow Up By: CraigFox - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 11:39

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 11:39
Sorry, my mistake, just went and checked. 1000CCA.

I will admit when I am wrong! .........But in the Jack, we have been stopped without restarting car for 3 nights, I admit that all interior lights were off etc, and the fridge is wired with 6B&S (not through existing accessory plug). I have run fridge on #4 in the Paj (2010 DiD Auto) in the driveway for 2 full days without an issue as an experiment (Friday night to Sunday night).
As the new car is an auto, I will ALWAYS carry the thumper pack when we go away as well so we can run the fridge off that for extended times without hassle.

RACV #4862
FollowupID: 709856

Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 12:50

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 12:50
Yes the Cold Cranking Amps makes sense. I've opted for a Hydrid battery as a vehicle Aux. It's a sealed lead-acid Deep cycle that still produces 700CCA. The Thumpa is a good idea and something that Gezza might consider as an alternative to a fitted dual battery system.

FollowupID: 709870

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 10:24

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 10:24
Nice pressie

Like others have said if you are going to go away for more than a night then get a deep cycle, not only for the fridge but so you can run your camp lights and other bits you wish to run. Failing that you could look at a portable battery pack and charge it up as you drive.
AnswerID: 438214

Reply By: Adricat - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 11:47

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 11:47
Good luck fitting a second battery under the bonnet. Think you a looking at the cargo area.
AnswerID: 438220

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 11:48

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 11:48
Hi Gezz,

An Engel will give you great service and for many years.

I also recommend a dual battery system, in the long run you wont be sorry.

In addition you may not know about an extension available for Engels (and Waeco's) its called a Two Zone. This may help you at a later stage when you get into camping and need more fridge space. I've seen them used on the Canning and numerous other such big trips with great success. I have one as do three of my mates.

Yes you do use more power but you will have the flexibility of a larger fridge or remove the top section and you're back to a small fridge without having to buy two fridges.

To find out more go to
http://www.twozone.com.au/

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 438221

Reply By: Member - Jo Q (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 13:11

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 13:11
Hi Gezz,

I bought a Waeco at the beginning of the year & was in the same predicament as you - I also have an x-trail. When I strted looking into dual battery systems there is absolutley no space under the bonnets of the x-trail at all!

Needs to be put in the back somewhere, secured & wired. I haven't actually got mine sorted yet, but plan to before I do the Central Oz trip next September.

Will be keen to know what you end up doing.

AnswerID: 438230

Reply By: dereki - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 14:47

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 14:47
My 2c worth...

Base camping or touring?

I have done mostly short base camps with the kids.

Base camping. AGM battery, with maybe solar panels.
If you don't have solar or its rainy/overcast and the battery needs a top up you can idle the car with jumper leads to the battery for a while, but thats a really inefficient use of fuel.

I have an 100Ah AGM and it runs my fridge (EvaKool) for 4 days no worries.
I only ever camp for 4 days so just the battery is good enough for me. I do have jumpers just in case.

Touring, go the dual battery. If there is no room under the bonnet, AGM in the back with some sort of charging system is good. AGM cos they can not spill, even if the case cracks. DC-DC charger or smart solenoid, whatever you think is good for the battery you get. (you will get lots of opinions on this one, some quite strong, I would lean towards the DC-DC charger.) I use my camping AGM in the back with a smart solenoid. I chose a solenoid because I am 1/2 way through the build and will put in an under bonnet battery, and remove the AGM. the AGM will be used for base camping duties ie left at camp.

Good luck. You will wonder how you coped without the fridge. ;)

D
AnswerID: 438235

Reply By: Member - Paul B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:47

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:47
I do have a dual battery system (in a 90 series V6 Petrol Prado) and I'm not sure I'd do it again. I reckon a jump start pack for a fraction of the price is much better value. If your battery goes flat, you can at least jump start your car.

The other thing I've found about fridges and camping, is the more billy tea or red wine I drink the less I need my fridge lol!! Cold beer is the enemy of scarce electrical resources and when you think about the money tied up in getting it cold you gotta wonder whether it's worth it.

My two penneth worth.

Paul B Kalgoorlie
AnswerID: 438273

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 21:48

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 21:48
Gezz,

You definitely need an auxiliary battery to run your fridge, if stopping for more than 1 night.

The Engel is a great fridge and will "run on the smell of an oily rag" so to speak.
That is the one problem. You can easily flatten your one and only battery and then you are in deep doodoo!

My recommendation is to purchase a Thumper (75Ah is a good choice) which comes with an in-car charging kit with an in-built Isolator. This will protect your starting battery and as it is an AGM battery pack, will not spill or give off dangerous gases.

As an alternative to the Thumper, you could purchase a "Flyer" battery pack from Derek at Sidewinder. The Flyer also includes a built-in Isolator and includes a heavy duty cable to connect to your starting battery. You will also need to buy a battery for the Flyer. An AGM battery of 80Ah is sufficient but you could go higher for an additional weight penalty.

In either case, I would also recommend a nifty little device called a low voltage cutout or battery protector, which will stop excessive drain on the chosen auxiliary battery. Derek also sells these for around $25.

Bill.

AnswerID: 438309

Reply By: Outa Bounds - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 10:51

Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 10:51
We're in the same situation as you, we used to have a fourby with dual batteries and all that, but several changes of cars later we've downsized the engel to a 40L (or is it 45L?) and now with the current car (jeep wrangler) need to figure out how we want to set it up.
We thought of going solar, but you need a 2nd battery anyway, and it's not like we're going to actually sit in a spot without moving the car at all for like 4 days so a dual battery system makes sense to us. Even if we do have to mount the battery somewhere in the boot (not much room under wranglers bonnet either). So we are looking at a dual battery system, or something like a thumper (perhaps a battery box custom made). And solar can always be an additional option down the track when we do start getting out for the much longer camps or find we're spending a long time in one place.

But for now, since we don't have dual batteries, if we go camping for 3 days or something the EvaKool Ice Box goes the distance easily without worrying if we'll be able to start the car!
AnswerID: 438462