Kakadu NP are charging $25 per peson.

I was just reading a caravan year book and came across an article on Kakadu NP and they mentioned a fee of $25.

It didn't say whether it was $25 per car or person.

Looked it up on the net and it was $25 per person for 14 days.

It came in to effect, I think on the 1st Aprilt 10.

People with an NT address are exempt while interstate and overseas people have to pay.

I'm sorry if this is old news to most of you, but it was new to me.

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 09:23

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 09:23
I had heard this but I think it is pertinent to raise it again.

At $25 per head it adds a big hit when going into Kakadu with a family of 4 on top of the cost of being on holiday. It is a long trip into the park (fuel) and you are only camping unless staying at a holiday inn (more costs). Other than sight seeing you might shop for some tourist souvenirs (lots more dollars for 'made in china').

It is fast becoming a visit once only place.

AnswerID: 438207

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 09:45

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 09:45
Hey Boo Boo you are sharp as a tack, this has been in place for a year now.

By the way it is not per person, it is for persons over 16 years of age.

I think it is a great idea, it keeps the riff raff out.
FollowupID: 709843

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 13:50

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 13:50
3GoBush,
" I think it is a great idea, it keeps the riff raff out."

I have often wondered what category I fitted into.
I wont be paying a $25.00 per person fee so I guess I am now one of the "Riff Raff" category.

When we were there last year we were disappointed with Kakydoo, compared to Litchfield NP it is a rip-off.
We now refer to Kakydoo as Kakydon`t.

Scrubby.
FollowupID: 709882

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 15:44

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 15:44
3GoBush

I would rather not know everything than be a know-all.

I am fairly sure that there will be many of our members and visitors that were not aware of this fee.

FollowupID: 709898

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 17:12

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 17:12
Hi Boo Boo

Yes, while this has been talked about before, it seems not everyone is aware of it. The much smaller entry fee was dropped some years ago. The $25 pp is in line with Uluru Kata Tjuta, but fortunately they allow more than three days at Kakadu. We got in last year before the fee, and loved every minute of it. Definitely KakaDOO. People still flock to Uluru with much less to see, and pay the $25 each be it for one, two or three days. Considering the cost of fuel to get to these places, it would be silly to miss them because of a fee.

FollowupID: 709922

Reply By: Member - Shaun H (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 09:43

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 09:43
We were in Kakadu in June and we had to pay the $25 per adult. We spent 5 days in Kakadu and it was the highlight of our trip, the park rangers run talks at different times at certain sites and it is well worth the listen. We never got asked by anyone to see our passes, so if anyone is dishonest they could get away with it? I would gladly pay the fee again as you can see that the money is being put back into the park.
What we found with Kakadu is you must spend the time to walk/hike to the good sites, allow the time to see all the park as you will be disappointed, so get your $25 worth of value.

AnswerID: 438208

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 16:38

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 16:38
With you 100%.
Money well spent We spent 12 days in the park using the low key camp areas & did heaps of hikes & also went to some of the ranger talks too. Pretty cheap if you spread it out over 12 days.
FollowupID: 709908

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 09:48

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 09:48
Not saying I agree with the fees Boo Boo, but I think Uluru is $25 PP for 3 days only.

Not sure about exemption for NT residents in Uluru.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 438210

Follow Up By: Member - Shaun H (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 10:46

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 10:46
The residents of Uluru own Uluru??
FollowupID: 709849

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 15:38

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 15:38
Shaun

Perhaps you are unaware that there are a few 100 white folk up there that are class as 'residents' and I am sure that was what Dave was on about.
FollowupID: 709897

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:00

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:00
Shaun!! The residents of Uluru own Uluru! Wouldnt it be nice to see them all busily running the place. It would be good for overseas tourists to see their input in somewhere they "own". Michael

FollowupID: 709949

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:19

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:19
Michael :-))))) when we were there 2 years ago, the local indigenous person serving in the art shop, had to ask a person of obvious middle eastern extraction, how much a piece of art was going to cost a lady tourist who was making an enquiry.

Both SWMBO and I walked out in disgust....however the local person was very polite and obviously trying to keep his job.

FollowupID: 709954

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:36

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:36
Gday Fred,

I havent been there for some years (still getting over the cost LOL!!). It would be good for Locals and the look of the Park. I saw one local guy doing tours around the rock, he was great but im sure a bigger presence of the indiginious would cement some real ownership of the place. I realise the park is run by the NT NParks but does it have to be?? Regards, Michael

FollowupID: 709967

Follow Up By: Member - Shaun H (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:37

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:37
Hi Michael What do you mean my Brother paints in the shop???
FollowupID: 709968

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:42

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:42
Shaun Did i say your brother paints in the shop??.. I dont think so. Michael
FollowupID: 709972

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:46

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:46
Know where ya coming from Michael. Locals were had to find.

They should be exposted to the max around the place. I saw somewhere there, that if we spotted a "local" we were not allowed to photograph them.

Fred.

FollowupID: 709975

Follow Up By: Chris & Sue (Briz Vegas) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 09:36

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 09:36
G'day Dave (and others),

Re the exemption of NT residents at Uluru -

We were there earlier this year with a friend who lives in Alice Springs. When we went to enter the park, she was still required to pay even though she produced her NT driver's licence as proof of residence. The person in the toll booth said that NT residents were only exempt IF THEY WERE IN THEIR OWN NT REGISTERED VEHICLE. As she was in our Qld registered vehicle, she had to pay.

Personally, I thought it sounded like a lot of bovine excrement but we were unable to prove otherwise. :-(

I suspect that as Uluru and Kakadu are both run from Canberra, the exemption (or lack thereof) might be the same in both places.

FollowupID: 710069

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 09:41

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 09:41
Hey Fred and Micheal.

Uluru and Kakadu are not run by NT Parks, they are leased by the federal Government and run by Parks Australia North in conjunction with the local Traditional owners as a joint venture.

Parks Australia north have a habit of keeping the TOs out of sight, and then use them for an excuse when they wish to close areas of the parks.
FollowupID: 710070

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 12:33

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 12:33
"The person in the toll booth said that NT residents were only exempt IF THEY WERE IN THEIR OWN NT REGISTERED VEHICLE"

Thanks for that Chris. It has been many years since I did tours up there and I wasn't sure of the current regulations regarding Northern Territory residents.

That interpretation is pretty harsh isn't it?

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 710081

Reply By: get outmore - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 13:33

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 13:33
compare this to a WA park where it is $10 per day

so just for an afternoon out of perth to Walyunga, John forrest or avon valley

will cost you $10

makes $25 for a week or so pretty good value
AnswerID: 438232

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 15:52

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 15:52
My wife and I lived in Jabiru for 15 moths from March 07.

While we were there we were told that a fee was charged to get into the NP but it was removed because visitors to the Park dropped.

I was a bit surprised that it has been implemented again.

While we were at Eyres Rock last year it was $25 a car which I think is more reasonable.

And before anyone jumps up and down about the Eyres Rock bit have a look at the sign outside the resort.
AnswerID: 438244

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 17:16

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 17:16
Did you throw a blanket over the family Boo Boo? $25 per person at Uluru.

Uluru fees

Mh

FollowupID: 709923

Follow Up By: Member - Shaun H (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 17:26

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 17:26
Hi Boo Boo after living in Jabiru for 15 months do you both glow in the dark now?
FollowupID: 709925

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:32

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:32
Sorry Motherhen

Even my wife corrected me. How do you think I got my name. LOL

FollowupID: 709964

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:36

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:36
Shaun

We don't, but I sure some of the Aboriginals do.

They fish in the Magella and that is contaminated from the tailings dam at Ranger mine.

FollowupID: 709966

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:50

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:50
Boo Boo, are you home yet in the beautifu H/V or what????? :-))
FollowupID: 709976

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 14:07

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 14:07
G'day Fred

After Broken Hill then Bunbury we were home for a couple of weeks and we are now down in Tassie.

Should be home again just after Chrismas.

FollowupID: 710087

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:39

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:39
I am so glad I had the opportunity to see a lot of Arnhem Land, 1950's & 60's, before Kakadu was even heard of.

No major roads or tourist resorts, or mines. Kids coming in to the boarding school came by small mail planes from cattle properties and settlements, and that included several indigenous boys and girls who became very good friends.

In the holidays we would go camping at Edith Falls, Katherine Gorge, The Daly and Mary Rivers. Even Casuarina and Rapid Creek, just a few k's from Nightcliffe was nothing more than a croc infested swampland, with lots of fish and crabs. Berry Springs was a popular Sunday outing for the boarding school.

Humpty Doo as I remember was a great area to view massive birdlife, water buffalos and catch the odd fish.

But then again, I was only in my early teens, and things have changed over the years, whether for better or worse, but maybe that is the way I want to remember the place.

Fred.
AnswerID: 438284

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:59

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:59
I am with you Fred, except I did it all in the late 70's and early 80's.....was Kakadu a NP then if it was there was no fee or fenced areas. Remember going fishing as soon as we could after the wet season, would have to leave the bung in the tinny while towing into some of our spots as the water would still be that high the trailer and tinny would be floating behind my old 74 Tojo tray back hahahaha.
FollowupID: 709978

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 20:08

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 20:08
Bruce, those were the days, aye?

Not too many years after I left the top end, to meet my military obligations, I found myself on a small patrol boat in familiar waters, searching the coastline east of Cape Don, across to Groote Eylandte, {spell} looking for any signs of landings for canoes floating down from our neighbours to the north, and there were many. (I still cringe from the shots we had to have on arrival back in Dawin).

Not much has changed mate.
FollowupID: 709982

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 20:21

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 20:21
I spent the last three years of my life in the Army in Darwin, did an exercise through Arnhem Land. We went down to Jalma Bay I think it was, what a trip, would love to take the Bride through to Nhulunbuy on the CAR (Central Arnhem Road) when she retires in a couple of years. cheers mate
FollowupID: 709985

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 05:54

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 05:54
Gday Fred
I remember the area the same way as you. I was in the top end from 1965 till 1972. There were no uranium mines , as that is where we shot and boxed buffalo .
I have photo's some where , i must get them out one day and show the grand kids.

Murray

FollowupID: 710051

Follow Up By: silkwood - Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 22:08

Thursday, Dec 23, 2010 at 22:08
When I were lad....

FollowupID: 711577