Where is Hottest Place in Australia

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 17:27
ThreadID: 82938 Views:11469 Replies:25 FollowUps:55

Now I know that records show that Marble Bar has been recorded as the hottest place in Australia continuously, but I do not accept that it is the HOTTEST place for temperature.

We have had the last three days in excess of 45 degrees, cooling doiwn to about 30 degrees at night. Unfortunately we are not on the official Bureau of Meteorology weather map, otherwise we would probably give Marble Bar a nasty shake for its' reputation. Today it is 46 degrees, but it is again dry heat, so one can still work okay.

I wonder how many EO users know of locations where it is regularly, or even just occasionally, in the 40's or 50's. Yes we have been to 51 degrees on one day last year, fortunately extremely dry heat though.

Just doing this out of curiousity.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 17:45

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 17:45
The truth lays in the detail it seems - far as I know, Oodnadatta SA holds the official 'town/locality' record for the country's highest temperature - at the other end of the scale, Charlotte's Pass has the lowest. Marble Bar lays claim to record length heat waves, not specific highs it seems.
AnswerID: 438259

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:14

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:14
Hi Darian

I was not aware of the heat wave length records for Marble Bar. On the net it is inferred as the hottest continuous locality. Thankyou for that information.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

FollowupID: 709933

Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 20:29

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 20:29
Your query is another 'can of worms' as can be seen from the replies :-o)...... my attention on this topic was grabbed back at the time of the disastrous Victorian bushfires early in 09 - Hopetoun in the Victorian Mallee recorded a temperature (no fires - just very hot wind) of about 48C+ as I recall - only a whisker under the highest that Birdsville had ever recorded. It's a crazy place Oz.
FollowupID: 709986

Follow Up By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:16

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:16
Marble Bar had 100 days straight of over 100 Fahrenheit way back in the dim dark past.
There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

FollowupID: 710026

Reply By: BrownyGU - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:02

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:02
Where abouts in WA are you Mark ?

Cheers.......Browny
AnswerID: 438264

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:15

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:15
Hi Browny

You could have checked my profile, but I am at Lake Gregory, a small community called Mulan, SE of Halls Creek.

FollowupID: 709934

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:27

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:27
Cheers.........
FollowupID: 709936

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:24

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:24
Cloncurry lays claim to the hottest recorded temperature, back in the 50's from memory..
AnswerID: 438267

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:35

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:35
Hi Outbacktourer

This is the outback dweller (just having fun). Thankyou for that information, I will do a google search on that one, unfortunately they may not have it recorded these days, but it sounds like something to have a look at.

FollowupID: 709941

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:39

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:39
Marc , it allways makes me laugh , the 'official' temperature /rainfall etc , yesterday the official high temp at the 'official' recording station was 35c , it was that on my verandah in the shade at 8am peaking at 42c round 3pm ,,
AnswerID: 438271

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:47

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:47
Hi Alloy

I know exactly what you mean. The official weather map and even on the news gives the temperatures for Broome, Wyndham and Kununurra, but apparently according to the weather bureau, we do not exist.

We have had 45 degrees plus on our verandah, so I would hate to think of the temperature out in the sun.

FollowupID: 709944

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:12

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:12
Hey Marc - perhaps you could apply to the 'Met Burea' for official status, then blow them all away with the recorded stats.

I used to 'weathers' at the oldWyndham postoffice in the the 'port' area and the max & min only varied around 20 deg for months on end. One huge factor for the constant heat there was the range of hills hard up against the settlement - it acted like a blast furnace, particularly when riding a motor scooter along the range.

The PO shifted three miles out around '68 and temps moderated somewhat, being away from the hills.

Marble Bar on the other hand is down in a low area surrounded by hills and lacked the coastal sea breezes on the coast. I reckoned they earned their title, that is hard country - not unlike Halls Creek area - which is understandable, both having been the centre of gold rushes way back.

All great places to visit - at the right time .... cheers, Phil
FollowupID: 709952

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:00

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:00
Hi Phil n Jill

Now that is something that I may have to seriously think about. Don't know if a boilermaker would qualify to do such work though as keeping weather stats.

FollowupID: 709999

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:40

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:40
You certainly could Marc - no special qualifications needed. Out on the stations the owners have done weather readings for years.

Mh

FollowupID: 710019

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:51

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:51
Don't sell yourself short Marc - your 'observations' on this forum suggest otherwise.

Years ago BOM probably would have signed you up on the spot to add to their spread of essential data positions, but with the advent of the radar these days I expect many locations will now be redundant. Couldn't have imagined the cover available now at Wyndham & Halls Creek way back when......

Incidentally. whilst I recall some extreme highs at Halls Creek from time to time, there was one race meeting I attended (August in the '70's) where we had to crack the layer of ice on the horse water troughs first thing in the morning to allow the gallopers a drink. Talk about extremes.

Cheers - Phil
FollowupID: 710022

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:13

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:13
Hi Phil

The radar loop at Halls Creek is 256 km, and we are just outside their loop, which is apparently one of the reasons for no weather history for this place.

I have learned heaps from mthis small thread anyway, so that has been worthwhile. Things have not changed, there is still the occasional bit of ice at Halls Creek, though very rare.

FollowupID: 710024

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:19

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:19
Cripes Marc - just had a browse of my mapping and realise now how far down from the Kimberley you are. Never been through the CSR but for some vague reason I always thought Lake Gregory was nearer Halls Ck, so like yourself I'm still learning.

Perhaps you should apply. Hope you do and would be interested in the outcome.

A bloke just has to get out more.

Cheers - Phil
FollowupID: 710028

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:56

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:56
Hi Phil

Actually, mny friend, we are just inside the Kimberley region still, but as you would have seen, our two nearest "roads" are the CSR and the Tanami, which is what I have said in my profile.

I am talking to the Prime Minister of the Household about applying for the weather observation task, it will have to be the same as everything else we do, a joint decision.

FollowupID: 710036

Follow Up By: Member - Rob Mac (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 01:51

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 01:51
To Phil and Jill, good to catch up with you last year even if it was at the cemetery looking for friend's and relatives I replied to Marc about something Dad said to me years ago.Cheers
Rob Mac
FollowupID: 710048

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 10:13

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 10:13
Small World Rob. Good to hear from you again.
We are heading back through that way again next June for a wedding in Darwin.
Will miss the races this time. Happy tracking. - regards P & J
FollowupID: 710074

Reply By: Old Dave - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:34

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:34
Hi marc

When we lived at the junction ( gascoyne junction ) in the 70s we used to give marble bar a nudge for the hottest and longest temps.

regards Dave
AnswerID: 438282

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:01

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:01
Hi Dave

Excuse my ignorance, but where exactly is Gascoyne Junction ?

FollowupID: 710001

Follow Up By: The other Norm C (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:53

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:53
you could just use a map or Google?
FollowupID: 710035

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 01:35

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 01:35
Hi Norm C

Yes, that is true. However I do like communicating with people, and frequently I learn about places from people that have been there, and that makes things a lot more interesting for me.

FollowupID: 710047

Follow Up By: Old Dave - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 14:00

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 14:00
Hi Marc

The junction is east of Carnarvon we lived there for a while before moving to

Cyclone Ally (Onslow) in the beautifull Pilbara.

Regards Dave
FollowupID: 710085

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 16:22

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 16:22
Hi Old Dave

I know Onslow fairly well, though I spent most of my time at Bindi Bindi and Cain River, so perhaps you are more familiar with the actual township than I am.

Beautiful area though, when the big winds are not visiting.

FollowupID: 710101

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 17:26

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 17:26
Hi Marc,
I worked for the weather bureau aprx 200 or so miles N.E. from the Alice and it was 55 one boxing day.
Bye.Ma.
FollowupID: 710114

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:36

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:36
Hi Marc. Just as an aside the hottest temperature I have experienced was two days at 44 and one at 45 in Dampier WA whilst visiting my brother. We spent most of it in his air conditioned house as we found it so hot. Even the cold water was too hot to use. I don't know how you guys survive those sorts of endless temperatures. Regards,Bob

AnswerID: 438283

Follow Up By: Diesel 'n Dust - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:01

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:01
It's what makes a man out of you!! hehe
Matthew Clements
I just love the Pilbara!
1HDJ79 RV

FollowupID: 710000

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:03

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:03
Hi Toyocrusa

You may not believe it, but you actually get used to it. It is when it gets cold that we suffer, trhat we cannot handle. Less than 20 degrees and the jumpers are on.

FollowupID: 710002

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:48

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:48
When we lived at Merredin; to the east of Perth so not an extreme climate, we had one particularly hot summer. The water from the pipeline got to the house so hot you couldn't shower under it. I had to run a bath in the morning so it was at room temperature by evening to wash the children. Candles melted, and plates in the cupboard were almost too hot to pick up. We had a month maximums every day above the old century - but it pales into insignificance against records like at Marble Bar.

Mh

FollowupID: 710021

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 02:23

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 02:23
Hi Diesel n Dust

I always thought that what made a man out of me is the fact that I have provided for my family, given my kids a decent education, and now look forward to continue to build my super fund so that the wife and I can havew a good retirement.

I guess we think differently.

FollowupID: 710049

Reply By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:45

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:45
Guys,
Isn't there a saying,

if you can't stand the heat, get out of it,

come to TASSIE

Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 438285

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:05

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:05
Hi Baz

I thought that Tasmania was where eskimoes come from. I have seen the temperatures you have there on the news now and then, I think it is a place where I will not be going too soon.

FollowupID: 710003

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:08

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:08
Marc. Hobart has had 40.8! Officially.

FollowupID: 710005

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:14

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:14
Hi Allan B

Was that fahrenheit or celcius ?

FollowupID: 710025

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 08:27

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 08:27
LOL @ Marc

FollowupID: 710058

Reply By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:59

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:59
Marc,

50.7ºC (123.3ºF) recorded in Oodnadatta, South Australia on 2nd January 1960.

Marble Bar in Western Australia claims a world record by having recorded 160 consecutive days with a temperature of over 100ºF (37.8ºC), from 31st October 1923 until 7th April 1924.

These are officially recognised records but some will quote even greater extremes which were not officially verified. To be accurately reliable for comparisons the thermometers must be contained within a defined Instrument Enclosure. Observations taken otherwise may not be an accurate representation of the true temperature. For example, readings taken on a verandah could be elevated by radiation from the roof cladding.

AnswerID: 438288

Follow Up By: equinox - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 20:09

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 20:09
Further to Alan's info the official figures for each state: HERE

FollowupID: 709983

Follow Up By: equinox - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 20:41

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 20:41
Found a better Bom link which shows mean maximum's : HERE You miss out Marc...

FollowupID: 709988

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:07

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:07
Hi Equinox

We don't miss out by much there, Balgo Hills is about 40 km's up the road from us. Gives you a better idea of where I am, 35 km's (as the crow flies) from the NT border.

FollowupID: 710004

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:09

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:09
HiAllan B

Thanks for those statistics, I am entering a lot of the numerical data into a spreadsheet and the difference from various sources is astonishing.

FollowupID: 710006

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 20:24

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 20:24
Hi Marc

As quoted above, these are a few records which appear on the linked website. Of course these are dependent on official weather reporting stations which may have been few and far between when these records were taken, and are still not a comprehensive coverage of the country. Travelling around, locals will tell you of their hottest or coldest day - sometimes outside of the record, but not official. Your climate sounds way to hot for me.

The highest recorded temperature of 53.1 C was at Cloncurry, Qld, on 16 January 1889.

Marble Bar, WA, has the highest monthly average temperature of any locality in Australia. During the summer months, the town averages 41 degrees Celsius.

Marble Bar, WA, recorded the longest period of extreme heat of above 37.7 C. for 160 days from October 1923 to April 1924.

AUSTRALIA FOR EVERYONE

AnswerID: 438292

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:15

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:15
Hi Mh

As always your opinioin is highly researched, thankyou.

Yes, I have heard some wonderful stories along the tracks of hot and cold days, of course one politely nods agreeance and allows the story telkler to go their way.

I have had a gentleman, with some liquid lubrication of the tongue, tell me that he cooked his eggs and bacon on his bonnet half an hour before the sun fully come up. I told him that it was a pleasure meeting a man with such an experience, and then went on my way.

FollowupID: 710007

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 20:25

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 20:25
Here's what Wiki says about the Cloncurry record:

"Cloncurry was widely regarded as holding the record for the highest temperature recorded in Australia at 127.5 °F (53.1 °C) on 16 January 1889. Recent investigations have revealed that this temperature was measured in an improvised screen made from a beer crate and that it equated to 47–49 °C under standard conditions".

I reckon they deserved bonus points for improvisation in 1889....
AnswerID: 438293

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:18

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:18
Hi Outbacktourer

I am trying to get a mental image of the improvisation that you have mentioned, but it totally fails me. Are there any diagrams or anything available anywhere for this ?

FollowupID: 710009

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 20:39

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 20:39
Motherhen is on the ball, seems a lot of tourists don't read the signs.

AnswerID: 438296

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:17

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:17
Hi Doug,

That Cloncurry temperature claim was possibly with Mulga Bills old jam-making thermometer hanging in the hot wind under a tree!

But "Whomsoever writes history makes history" and by Golly Cloncurry is going to stick with their claim to fame.

FollowupID: 710008

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:20

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:20
Hi Doug

I have never been to Cloncurry, I think the only time I have heard the name is in a Slim Dusty song. Am I correct that it is in Queensland somewhere ?

FollowupID: 710010

Follow Up By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 04:08

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 04:08
Cloncurry is to the east of Mt Isa about 128klms from memeory. A loverly little town and worth a visit.

Patrick
FollowupID: 710282

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 04:28

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 04:28
Hi Patrick

Thankyou ever so much for that information. I like your signature, but that is because my wife and I are Slim Dusty fanatics, we have every 33, 45, 8 track cassette, cassette, CD and DVD that he ever did.

Slim was Irish born, but the Greatest Australian to ever sing.

FollowupID: 710283

Follow Up By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 10:29

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 10:29
Marc, you are showing your age not so much for the 33 & 45's but 8 track is in the deep dark past.

I worked in the radio industry for over 30 years and in those days the stations used mostly 8 track for all their music and ads. The end of of a song was pulsed so that it would not run over allowing the announcer to have a seemless transfer at the end. Brings back a lot of good memories.

My favourite Slim Dusty track is 'The Pub with no Beer'. This was always sung with gusto when mates and I were growing up. Slim seemed to capture the true heart of Australia.

Safe travels my friend.

Patrick
FollowupID: 710290

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 21:06

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 21:06
Its gotta be the Heatroom at work which we have had set at a constant 60c for last few days checking out some new electronics specification claims.

I went in there a bit just to see how it feels and surprisingly you can hack it for a while - probably physcological though because you know you can just kick the door open and get out when you want.

AnswerID: 438300

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 21:07

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 21:07
Gosh Marc, if you could work out the real answer to that one the IPCCC would just love you!

Seriously though, the above replies show how difficult it is to get a definitive temperature record that covers the whole country, over many decades, and with measurement technology that is changing too. How many towns started out with their weather stations/white slatted boxes (Stephensen screens) out on the edge of town surrounded by grass, but the town has now moved out and surrounded the station with concrete and asphalt. What does that do to the temperature readings?

Val

AnswerID: 438301

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:24

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:24
Hi Val

Okay, again I am ignorant, what is the IPCCC ?

Yes, it may be difficult to get a definitive answer, but it is really interesting learning of all the variations of temperatures in this wonderful country of ours.

FollowupID: 710011

Reply By: Member - Warrie (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 21:27

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 21:27
Hi all. Fitzroy Crossing is giving Marble Bar a run for its money. They are neck and neck for November with a mean maximum of 40.8 and 41.3 respectively. MB got to 46.2 Whew!!!..... W
Warrie

AnswerID: 438307

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:27

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:27
Hi Warrie

I know Fitzroy Crossing very well, have spent a lot of time there as my wife is related to about a quarter of the town. The heat there is extreme, but again normally a dry heat which is quite bearable.

46.2 is reasonable, I would hate to hear your response at over 50 degrees.

FollowupID: 710012

Reply By: geelong gypsies - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:08

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:08
I lived in Leinster and worked out at Agnew in '88 and '89. We'd have a couple of weeks straight around the 45c mark. I remember watching the weather on GWN one night and they had Port Hedland listed as having been 51c for the day.

During the '03/'04 cricket season I played a game over the Saturday and Sunday at a place called Yalca on the Murray Valley Hwy between Cobram and Nathalia. (we owned the Katamatite PO at the time) It was 45c on the Saturday and 46c on the Sunday. The ground was extremely lush, it was like living in Cairns again. I thought I was going to have a heart attack while I was bowling. I lasted 3 overs off my normal run up and then it was back to 3 steps only. Following that weekend they introduced heat rules for local cricket, it was hot all over the state.

I remember the week/weekend before Black Saturday it was in the mid to high 40s for 3 days straight.
AnswerID: 438311

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:30

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:30
Hi Geelong Gypsies

Yes, I am aware of what Port Hedland gets like, and it never changes all that much, other than when they have a cyclone coming in.

I recall 11 days of 45 degrees plus some years ago, and I was welding cattlke yards at the time, we went through some water during that time.

FollowupID: 710013

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:34

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:34
i do reckon that out on the "Ashburton Downs" flats out of Paraburdoo would have to of been the hottest place i have ever been to .......... it looks hot, feels hot and stays hot at night .......
Seen birds in trees, little that there are out there, drop out of the trees dead from just the heat ...............
It has been hot here to Marc but not that hot and it is humid as hell here, bit of rain around and everything is very green ....
Cheers and "enjoy" the heat .....
AnswerID: 438316

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:37

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:37
Hi Joe n Mel n Kids

I have a couple of good friends down around Paraburdoo, and they tend to leave the area every year fro a while when the temperatures start to climb.

Now I understand why.

FollowupID: 710017

Follow Up By: Member - Rob Mac (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 01:10

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 01:10
Hi Joe n Mel n Kids, I have been in the Ashburton River down-stream of the homestead around six mile creek in the 80's and we reckon it was about 50deg also seen it raging I think this was 86/7Image Could Not Be Found
I lived in Tom Price 82-88
Cheers Rob MacImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 710044

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:49

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:49
MARC, THAT'S IT, WE SHOULD HAVE PROPOSED THE SOCCER WORLD CUP BE ROTATED BETWEEN MARBLE BAR, CLONCURRY AND OODNADATTA - THEN WE WOULD HAVE WON. EVEN HOTTER THAN QATAR!

SORRY COULD'NT HELP MYSELF.
AnswerID: 438318

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:17

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:17
Hi JDWynn

You have helped actually, I had a great laugh at your comment. Could you not have included Mulan (my home) in that, then the Qatar people would have met people blacker than what they are.

FollowupID: 710027

Reply By: Gotlost - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:53

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 22:53
I have lived in Exmouth the last 9 years and it can get hot here, we have over the last 6 years had the following temps of 48.2 in Jan 2003, and the first two days of this year 1st and 2nd Jan were 48 and 49 degrees respectively, considering we are on the coast thats hot.

AnswerID: 438321

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 00:03

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 00:03
Hi Mark

Now lets be honest here. That may be a terribly hot place, but I know from friends that you guys have some of the best fishing in Australia, which is why few people leave the area.

FollowupID: 710040

Follow Up By: Gotlost - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 00:13

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 00:13
yes well Marc we try to keep it a secret, but even this place is slowly over the years lost its remoteness unfortunately.

FollowupID: 710042

Reply By: Member - Bentaxle - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:40

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:40
Marc
I used to work at a minesite north of Marble Bar as a fire assayer and in the summer months the temperature by 9-00am was around 43 in the shade, the area i worked in would often reach 60-65 deg C, fortunately you weren't in that invironment very long but I used to sit outside because it was cooler.
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

AnswerID: 438327

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 00:01

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 00:01
Hi Bentaxle

I have copped those kind of conditions a couple of times over at the Granites mine, thankfully not very often.

FollowupID: 710039

Reply By: Rockape - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:45

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:45
Marc,
hottest place in Aussie is right here at my place when the missus gets a little peeved with me.

Tell ya a little story about the hot and cold of things. Was down in the bowels of a little mine a few years back, temp was around 37c, now that doesn't seem very hot at all but when you have no air passing you and the humidity is 100% your jocks get very, very wet. That's if you have any on.

Well !!! I am bringing an open cab machine up to the surface, only problem is I have a couple of mates driving up in front of me. They are hell bent on payback (I don't know why they would want to hurt little ole innocent me)

They start turning on the dust suppression sprays, now you say what is wrong with that, no dust just good clean air. I can tell you when it is close to zero on the surface and the air coming down the decline is close to 40kph + the speed of the machine.

Result is I now have an appendage that is measured in millimetres and 2 round things that are the size of a pea.

Now when it gets super hot I just freeze.

Have a good one.
AnswerID: 438329

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:59

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:59
Hi Rockape

My only response is, thanks for sharing that memory....I think !!

FollowupID: 710037

Follow Up By: Rockape - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 18:47

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 18:47
Marc,
I only put the post in because it was becoming so serious with points af a degree, it was hotter here than there for so many days. All correct and researched I guess, but the real hotest place is really not known because there is not an offical weather station at the site.

Have a good one
FollowupID: 710121

Reply By: bgreeni - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 00:16

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 00:16
I lived in Cloncurry for several years and it sure can get hot there, however the hottest place I ever lived was the main Ord dam site.

In the early days of the project we were constructing the accommodation village and lived in tents (can you imagine anyone living on site in tents these days?)

We eventually got some caravans, no air con.. I moved into one for one night, and moved back to a tent as it was cooler.

Reckon that place would go close to being the hottest.
AnswerID: 438333

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 01:05

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 01:05
Hi BGreeni

Now I am a frequent traveller to and from Kununurra, and yes my friend, that place is not somewhere to stay without air conditioning when the heat starts to climb.

Being surrounded by hills doesn't help that much, and the humidity of the place is normally beyond belief at this time of year. I was in Kununurra last Sunday and Monday, and I was so thankful that Coles is open fairly late, as it cools down a bit, and the humidity seems to drop a bit then.

I have a camp spot up near the ANZAC Memorial, on top of the hills there it is not quite so hot at night.

FollowupID: 710043

Reply By: Member - Rob Mac (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 01:47

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 01:47
Gidday Marc, I grew up in Wyndham, 60/70's an seem to remember my Dad (Bob Mac) telling me Wyndham once held a record of the longest consecutive days over 100deg F but do not know if this still is true.
I drove a truck with Dad out of Halls Creek in 73 taking drum fuel out to the desert for Ray Geo doing siesmic work, we used to go through Billiluna, Chungla Well, Weriado well and cannot remember where to from there. Sometimes we went through the Gregory Lake systems to the old Lake Gregory Homestead which I understand was a southern homestead of Billiluna(which I believe is now Mulan, you may be able to correct me?) I seem to remember the old fellow there used to grow the best tomatoes. Want to go back to that country sometime to look around again, as a 17 year old the desert intrigued me. I passed through again in 84 north bound and was fascinated by the Breadon Hills. When we got to Weriado Well I remembered where we were,I climbed the windmill and could only see water, referred to the RAC map's, we had to back track to a shot line to a fence line to pick up the Chunlgla Well road. Funny story we stopped at Bloodwood Bore and topped up water and the two blokes in our group had a tub up under the overflow and didn't notice the salty water, next morning at Wolf Creek crater, boil the billly for a cuppa tea and a big spit, couldn't drink it, drained the water tanks luckily there was a lot of water in the creeks up to the highway past Ruby Plains if we needed it. You have stirred the memory banks, long service in a couple of years could be on the ittinery?(spelling)
Cheers Rom Mac
AnswerID: 438340

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 15:38

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 15:38
Hi Rob Mac

Sorry it took a while to respond, but I have spoken to a few old men here, and they do remember the truck coming through for Ray Geo.

You are correct, Mulan started out as an outpost for Billiluna, and the old man who grew tomatoes here weas named Boxer Billiluna (a name given him by priests), Chungla Well is actually Tjungula Well, but the map makers could never get the spelling right from the old people.

I may well send you a message with my ermail address so that we can discuss some of the area a bit more, I do not think it would be appropriate that we clog the forum with such a disucssion.

Incidentally, we still have one of Ray Geo old trucks out at Stafford bore.

FollowupID: 710095

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 17:37

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 17:37

Thankyou very much for your wonderful and informative responses. Now I have some "research" to do to try and find out which ofthe spots really has reached the highest temperatures.

How lovely it was for a thread to occur without uncalled for heated (no pun) debates and the like. Very enjoyable.

AnswerID: 438381

Reply By: get outmore - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 21:45

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 21:45
off topic but still on about hot places

which capital city has the lowest recorded maximum temperature??

the answer WILL surprise you............................
AnswerID: 438404

Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 21:46

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 21:46
sorry just to clarify thats the lowest record high maximum temp
FollowupID: 710140

Reply By: get outmore - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 10:59

Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 10:59
No Takers?

its Darwin

darwin has never recorded a temperature of even 40 deg as a maximum making it the coldest capitol
AnswerID: 438463