Holden to Re-release the Jackaroo, But

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 19:55
ThreadID: 83001 Views:4821 Replies:8 FollowUps:21
But it will be the Isuzu MU 7, built in the same factory as the Isuzu D-Max. It will be in competition to the Mitsubishi Challenger. Interesting times for Holden, as IUA (Isuzu Ute Australia) will bring in the MU 7 to.
I believe Isuzu will not be up graded their 3.0 litre motor in the near future as have Nissan (V6 Pathy/ Navara) Mazda/Ford etc. Anyway just wanted to let you all know what is new in Isuzu world. Link to follow.

Reply By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 20:04

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 20:04
http://www.isuzu.co.jp/world/product/suv/mu-7.html

try this link

AnswerID: 438581

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 20:06

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 20:06
It looks like a Ford Territory hehehehe

FollowupID: 710353

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 20:30

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 20:30
So, where is the tie with Holden???

What Isuzu do with their marketing strategy is their own concern, but their is NO direct link the GM or its Australian subsidiary, Holden Pty. Ltd.

GM and Isuzu parted company some years ago with the cessation of the Holden Jakaroo built under licence by Isuzu for Holden and named the Jackaroo. More recently, Isuzu entered a contract with GM Thailand, to build their Dmax ute, basically the same as the Holden Colorado. Both vehicles are built at the GM Rayon Plant in Thailand and the rebadged Isuzu was called the Dmax.

I know of no new arrangement between Isuzu Japan and Holden Pty. Ltd. to change anything. Isuzu retained the rights to the Jackaroo name, but have chosen not to use it.

I have heard rumors of a new longer wheelbase Colorado being considered, but no definite plans at this stage.
The current model Colorado is selling well and Holden have just released details of a 4x2 version that will run on either petrol or gas.

Bill.

AnswerID: 438585

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 20:44

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 20:44
Bill it came out in a mag call Just 4X4 and to be honest you should just go down to IUA and ask for an Isuzu badge to go on the front of the Colorodo. The IUA dealers in Australia would love Isuzu to tell GMH when to go believe me, but a dollar earned is a dollar earned....
Just be thankfull that you have a very good vehicle built by Isuzu and yes we will be buying a new Isuzu next year, just having trouble wearing out the old ones hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 710358

Follow Up By: DOEY- Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 21:02

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 21:02
hmmm
so does GM make the dmax for isuzu? But in return Isuzu gives it motors to GM for their colorados?

Its funny how all these partnerships work, i know its been happening for years and years. I find it interesting actually.

What i really want to know is how Great Wall v240 body can be so close to the RA rodeos without getting into strife. did they purchase the press of GM\Isuzu or whoever owns the platform design?

Also the MU is a very nifty little suv. I can understand Isuzu wanting their own brand back as its reputation is great.

FollowupID: 710361

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 21:37

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 21:37
Hi Doey, no GM does no longer own Isuzu and GM never built a Jackaroo/Rodeo etc all where designed and built by Isuzu,the biggest diesel motor builder in the world, it is owned by Mitsubishi Corp (that is not Mitsubishi Motors) now own Isuzu and they build the Colorado, which was the Rodeo.
I would say Isuzu has sold their old plant to the Chinese, as did Fiat did to the Russians with the Lada Niva (Fiat Panda).
And yes your right about the MU, red book has it's value up, lets say with a Commodore 2004 not bad for a 1996 model vehicle.
Have a look at the new adds on carpoint.com of the Isuzu D-Max they have a great little bit about the way the D-Max is built, just an add of course hahahahahah
FollowupID: 710370

Follow Up By: DOEY- Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 22:09

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 22:09
Thanks bruce
It can get complicated huh, who owns who etc, but still i find it interesting.

I think ive owned a few rebadged cars in my life. Holden Astra (nissan pulsar), vl commodore (nissan motor), toyota lexen (vn commodore), Ford maverick (gq patrol) and now an RA Rodeo (isuzu something or other) lol.

I do like the look of the new dmax limited edition. i saw one the other day in Geraldton (on the IUA website) worth a look. Very nice, very pretty tho, would walk the walk off road but not sure if i would want to scratch it up, lol.

regarding the Fiat cars i think Great Wall went to court over copyright infringement of one of the fiat models. I want to take them to court for crimes against my eyes with that bumber bar and front grill of the V240's - yuck!

And Pajero and Prados were also very similar when the Prado came out (even both start with P and end in O), i had heard the cheif designer of the Prado got the sack not long after their release (from mitsubishi -lol).

Have a good night mate.
FollowupID: 710372

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 18:23

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 18:23
Bruce,

Your information re the Colorado/Dmax is incorrect and not based on factual information.
Your perception that Isuzu builds the Colorado is also false.

Fact. Isuzu manufactured the Trooper (LH drive) for GM North America and the Jackaroo (RH drive) for Holden Australia. This arrangement ceased in early 2009 and the Trooper/Jackaroo was no longer produced by Isuzu.

Fact. In 2009, Isuzu entered an agreement for GM to supply their Colorado rebadged as the Dmax. This vehicle is produced at the GM Rayon Plant in Thailand.
As far as I am aware this contract still exists. The Dmax is a rebadged Colorado.

Bill.

FollowupID: 710570

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 20:40

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 20:40
Bill, please Google Isuzu and check out all.......one thing the Jackaroo stopped production in 2003...GM have no shares in Isuzu any more, it is owned by Mitsubishi Corp (no not Mitsubishi Motors). Bill you have to remember GM is struggling financially and they need to keep some sort of 4WD in Australia so they have kept with Isuzu for the time being. Now Isuzu will keep selling them the Colorado, building it for them (GHM do put the V6 in them selves) I do not want to argue with you over this subject Bill so if you want the real truth about Isuzu then MM me.
FollowupID: 710932

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 07:26

Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 07:26
Bruce,

I don't need to google Isuzu. You are getting bad information from your source and spreading this misinformation to other readers.

I am privy to official GM/Holden information and press releases.
I know the Plant Manager at the GM Rayon Plant in Thailand and my information sources are therefore impeccable.

Oh and GM are NOT struggling financially. Keep up with the current news Bruce.

Bill.

FollowupID: 710962

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 07:31

Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 07:31
So what are you trying to tell me here Bill, GM still own Isuzu and they tell them what to build?
FollowupID: 710963

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 07:52

Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 07:52
C'mon Bruce,

I have never said GM owned Isuzu at all.
GM and Isuzu had a partnership arrangement whereby Isuzu manufactured the Jackaroo (until 2003) and Rodeo (until 2009) for GM.
This arrangement finished in 2009 when the Rodeo was no longer manufactured by Isuzu. (I incorrectly stated Jackaroo/Trooper above instead of Rodeo)

GM began manufacture of the right hand drive Colorado at the Rayon Plant in Thailand and subsequently Isuzu entered a contract with GM to supply this vehicle to Isuzu who named the vehicle the Dmax. It is a rebadged Colorado with a few different trimmings.

Bill.

FollowupID: 710964

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 08:59

Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 08:59
So what D-Max was Isuzu producing in Thailand since 2002
FollowupID: 710970

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 18:21

Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 18:21
Bruce,

I am not privy to the inner workings of Isuzu but my guess is the original D-Max built by Isuzu was the same vehicle rebadged as the Holden RA Rodeo.

I would imagine there was a delay of some time, when Isuzu stopped manufacture of this vehicle, before the new D-Max, outsourced to GM became available.

At the time the RA Rodeo ceased to be manufactured by Isuzu, the belief at that time was that Isuzu wished to concentrate on the larger vehicles in their commercial range. After manufacturing ceased, Isuzu found there was still a market for a smaller ute sized vehicle. I think if you were able to source accurate information from Isuzu, (not their dealers) there would have been a delay between their previous D-Max and the newer model outsourced to GM. Likewise, when the RA Rodeo ceased to be available, GM decided to commit to the manufacture of a right hand version of their existing left hand drive ute and this was named the Colorado in Australia, as Isuzu still owned the naming rights to the Rodeo name.
Isuzu thus entered a contract with GM to built the new model D-Max that is the current vehicle they sell. The Colorado and the D-Max is one and the same vehicle (with some minor trim and badge changes for the D-Max version), but manufactured by GM Thailand rather than at an Isuzu manufacturing plant.

How long this contract will remain would be a decision by Isuzu I guess.

Bill.

FollowupID: 711006

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 18:42

Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 18:42
Web Wombat Search
Advanced Search
Submit a Site

Consider a Featured Link and appear at the top of our Search Results

Search 20,000,000+ Australian web pages:

Wombat Technology Enterprise Search Solutions

News
Reports
Links
Road Tests
MailBox

Road Test: Holden Colorado
Review by Feann Torr - 8/August/2008

The Rodeo light commercial vehicle has been around for a quarter of century in Australia, and in spirit it will remain so.

But the name has changed: this is now the Holden Colorado.

Because of a change in the business relationship between Isuzu - who builds the ute - and General Motors, the Colorado name will adorn the rear tray of the new light commercial utility range.

But it's not just the name that has changed.

this is my last post on this matter got better things to do then try and convince you Bill

Cheers Bruce

FollowupID: 711008

Reply By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 23:25

Saturday, Dec 11, 2010 at 23:25
Hi Bruce

Thats damn good news for me. I have been looking for a replacement for the Jackaroo with the 4jx1 motor that we own, and I'm not too happy with whats around at the moment.

Another Isuzu with a reliable 3.0 td would be a great alternative to Toyota, Mitzi etc. Any idea on a release date for Oz?

Thanks for the heads up,

Cheers, Dave

AnswerID: 438607

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 07:50

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 07:50
Not sure when Holden will be releasing theirs, but Isuzu hoping for around May.
I was asked if the MU 7 would be worth bring in to Australia by a guy at their head office two years ago and told them they should do it as soon as possible. May be they should listen to the public a little more hahahahaha.
FollowupID: 710391

Reply By: Member - Brian R (WA) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 00:45

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 00:45
Have owned 2 Jackaroo's now driving a Forester
Can't wait to see a Jackaroo replacement.........whoever makes it
AnswerID: 438613

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 10:26

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 10:26
G'day Bruce, good news I would say. As the proud owner of a 2000 V6 I am
unlikely to buy another as I expect this one will see out my touring days, I hope
to have 10 to 15 years of those left. As it is a holiday only drive I fully expect it
to achieve that easily. As you well know, these things are very underated & even
today good examples can be found for less than $10k. By far the best value full size wagon for the budget conscious wanting to get into 4WD IMHO.
Keep us posted.cheers....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 438653

Reply By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 12:07

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 12:07
Bruce Hi,
Thought you & the boss would be away by now! Worried about the new CT leaking?
Mike.
AnswerID: 438660

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 13:55

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 13:55
Hi Mike heading up to Burrum coast NP tomorrow and mate no worries about the new camper leaking, had it up here in some pretty good storms hahahaha
FollowupID: 710443

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 14:33

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 14:33
Bruce, does this mean the caravan has gone????????
Cheers Colin
FollowupID: 710447

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 15:20

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 15:20
Hi Colin, yes Vicky Viscount has now gone to a new home and we now have a new camper trailer, there was some places we just could not tow the van to.
Here is a vidoe of the camper we own..
http://www.whatsupdownunder.com.au/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=216&Itemid=105
FollowupID: 710455

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 19:29

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 19:29
Cool trailer Bruce
Ha Ha Renate & I have gone the other way, we sold the camper trailer for a high clearance caravan (see profile). We are off for 3 months travelling through SA, NT & FNQ between March & June next year.

Enjoy your new camper mate.

Colin.
FollowupID: 710480

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 20:35

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 20:35
Nice looking rig Colin, hey you have the tug to pull it though hahahahahaha have a great trip and be safe cheers
FollowupID: 710486

Reply By: Gronk - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 13:20

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 13:20
Have seen a few MU7's in Thailand and must admit the rear end isn't the prettiest thing going around !!

But like any Izuzu, build quality should be good !
AnswerID: 438667

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 13:53

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 13:53
Agree about the back end Gronk
FollowupID: 710442

Reply By: Member - Brad S (SA) - Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 23:55

Sunday, Dec 12, 2010 at 23:55
Hi folks

It wont even get on a ship to Oz unless they make the engine Euro IV compliant...at the moment it appears to only have a Euro III engine.
AnswerID: 438729

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 05:52

Monday, Dec 13, 2010 at 05:52
It will have the same motor as the D-Max which is Euro IV
FollowupID: 710519