Incident and Aftermath Response

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 11:51
ThreadID: 83092 Views:5132 Replies:8 FollowUps:12
Unfortunately we have had to respond to too many incidents in the recent past, ranging from someone tripping over a tent rope and breaking an arm to some much more severe.

I did not attend this example directly.

Last weekend the gang of young trailbike riders and 4wders we know that tends to collect around our property kindly moved off down the track to avoid making to much noise and were playing around when one influenced by peer pressure thought he could do a mono around a corner and overpowered the
trailbikes rear wheel resulting in a spin out.
Our son following, managed to lay his bike down just in time avoiding all but a few scratches however the front rider's arm was trapped under the bike as it slid down a heavily gravelled road and he was wearing no arm protection.
The result was just like laying on a grinder as in excess of 1 cm of flesh was ground off.

The reactions of those around seeing stripped flesh and bone ranged from turning white to throwing up to simple head in the sand avoidance.

I tend to find it to easy perhaps, to assume an abstract stance in these things and immediately go into a do something(anything) frame of mind, perhaps activity stops and protects one against immobilizing emotions ?

Lots of blood right across the track and the phones were soon active, an Ipod quickly showed local hospital availability , directions eta etc and the Pathfinder was chosen as ambulance with its plush ride courtesy of 4 wheel independant suspension.

The rider was in shock and needed help moving and all that could be done was to wrap a towel around the arm to limit blood loss and hold it together.

Doctor's are only on call at this time and by phoning ahead one was able to be their by the time the kids got him there 30mins later.

At the local hospital the doctor took one look and said he wouldn't touch this, not even to wash it out ?
It needed immediate surgery and he summoned an ambulance to ferry the patient 100+ kms to a major Melbourne hospital.

With a 21st birthday in the bush organized for this weekend there is a chance the patient can attend.

But I am wondering about this - will a lesson be learned by the rest - or will it be a bragging session and better avoided ?

Reply By: Member - Bill S (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 13:20

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 13:20
Hi Robin,

Sorry to hear about the accident concerning someone your son associates with. I ride bikes myself and the couple of times i have come off on the road i was grateful for the proper protective gear i was wearing otherwise i would have left bits of me smeared down the road.

You can always hope that people will learn from incidents like this, whether directly or indirectly involved but the bottom line is we all have to take responsibility for our own actions. If you're old enough to throw a leg over a bike you know you should wear the right gear. My favorite saying is you don't learn by your mistakes, you learn by other peoples.

I spent 6 yrs in the driver training industry and one thing i tried to get across to the younger people was it can only take one mistake on the road and you might not be around to make another, this is real life, not a rehearsal.

There are plenty of old bike riders around who can show the scars of bark coming off the arm or leg, maybe a bit of a boast to go with it but i reckon they would rather be able to walk without a limp or have full use of their arm instead.

Hope this doesn't sound too harsh but i am a practical person.

Bill S.

AnswerID: 439046

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 14:44

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 14:44
Hi Bill

I like you favourite line - and I also prefer to learn from others experience not mine.

The problem I see is that for these 18-20 year olds the taking responsibilty line just doesn't seem make an impression and I understand that it apparently won't take until 25 or so for males - so how to make the most out of above experience is what I'm struggling with.

One thing that has worked after the event is better technology , the kids seem great at organizing a response - and I surprized at the level of that - I would never have thought to write something down , take pictures and forward them with others standing around half hysterical etc.

FollowupID: 710885

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 16:15

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 16:15
This type of incident is indeed unpleasant for all & hopefully lessons learnt. A friend of mine was severley traumatised when his son was badly injured in an incident not unlike the one you have related Robin. On realising TAC should be involved to cover hospital expenses the matter had to be the subject of a Police report otherwise TAC would not come to the party. Result...M/cycle rider charged with dangerous/careless riding & other traffic matters. The fortunate thing was he had not been drinking alcohol otherwise it may have been different.
FollowupID: 710898

Follow Up By: Ray - Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 10:20

Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 10:20
Regarding inadequate clothing (protection) on motorbikes I once wrote to the commissioner of police in W.A. ( not the present commissioner) regarding the clothing worn by motor cycle cops in W.A.
During the summer months you would see these chaps riding around, some at excessive speed, in what I call shirt sleeve order. The commissioner pointed out that all his men were issued with appropriate clothing for riding motorcycles and it was up to them whether they wear it or not. I then asked the commissioner about insurance or workers compensation in the event of an accident but did not get a reply to my question.
FollowupID: 710979

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 12:42

Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 12:42
My understanding is that Police in WA are not covered by workers comp etc.
There was a lot of coverage a couple of years back about the pathetic payouts for an officer killed on duty and disabled etc, but I dont know if much changed.
FollowupID: 710983

Reply By: Axle - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 13:21

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 13:21
G/Day Robin, Yes i'd say a lesson would have been learn't,! By the rider that

came a gutser,..The rest will learn after they have theirs, Its the way it is mate, A bit like us playing with 4bys and stuffing up..lol. ...I mean when the boy comes out of us occasionally!..lol.

Funny you should mention this, I spent four hrs building a boulder rock wall with the excavator yesterday, to try and stop trailbike riders entering a property. its fast becoming a major problem with some of these blokes.

AnswerID: 439047

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 16:14

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 16:14
I will try and ascertain if a lesson has been learnt Axle, maybe maybe not.
This was a clear peer pressure based incident.

On the other point, your situation is probably quite different, in my case I have encouraged access, and tried to direct it.
For example I have dug a track hundreds of meters long by hand, over a nasty hill and it has become a preferred pathway now for cars and bikes and everyone is happy.
FollowupID: 710896

Reply By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 14:06

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 14:06
Unfortunately Robin, boys will be boys. It seems time nor generations will change this, call it what you want. What trail riders always forget is that they are usually riding in the middle of nowhere when accidents happen, I know a hundred similar stories. Now just think that the same thing happens in vehicles and more often and you soon see the predicament we are faced with.
AnswerID: 439049

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 20:09

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 20:09
Guess they will Terra , I was impressed by the after event response and I wonder how members of this site would cope under the pressure.

We can help at the fringes by supply technology to make calls etc and this at least seems to get medical help quicker.

FollowupID: 710928

Reply By: roberttbruce - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 15:50

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 15:50
my mates taught me a few lessons like this one...
the lessons do stick amongst the peers...
all is not lost Robin...
AnswerID: 439062

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 21:56

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 21:56
Thats good Robert , but from what I see some personalites just don't learn.

Just hope we can get more threw the age at which learning seems so hard.
FollowupID: 710941

Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 15:59

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 15:59
There will most likely be no lesson learned!

A friend of mine's son was involved in similar trail bike stupidity & was rendered a paraplegic. He was later again badly injured strapped in to a 4 wheeler, also being stupid!

AnswerID: 439064

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 20:06

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 20:06
That situation would be so difficult Shaker - I could not imagine trying to cope with it.
FollowupID: 710926

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 22:33

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 22:33
I really feel for his parents, TAC have covered everything including a new car, which he drives like a maniac.
FollowupID: 710949

Reply By: Nutta - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 17:46

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 17:46
Peer pressure or showing off, they almost go together!
Some kids will always push it to the limits and some will always be alot wiser.

AnswerID: 439074

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 23:24

Thursday, Dec 16, 2010 at 23:24
I'm sure the memories of the pain and stinging of the injuries will have a lifelong effect. When one of my sons got his first motorbike, older brother was home from uni and wanted to take bike owning one to the school bus stop on the bike. 'NO', said the owner. We went by car, but older bro followed on the bike anyway. 'He's gone down' younger brother screamed - concerned for his bike more than his brother. He came off on a corner and skidded on the gravel sustaining gravel rash on all sides. Many years later he still tells of how Mum swabbed him down with liquid Betadine and smiled while she did it. The lesson went way beyond how not to apply bike brakes on gravel.

AnswerID: 439112

Follow Up By: disco driver - Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 00:02

Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 00:02
Gee MH, you are a sadistic mother but sometimes it's necessary to be cruel to be kind.

I had a similar excursion into the bush off a gravel road near home, my loving mother used tincture of iodine. I've never forgotten the pain that caused but I've also remembered never to slam on the front brake on a dirt road either.

Disco.
FollowupID: 710957

Follow Up By: roberttbruce - Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 09:16

Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 09:16
when you run out of iodine, white sugar works almost as well
FollowupID: 710973

Reply By: Muntoo - Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 01:42

Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 01:42
Hey Robin, that incident reminds me of one we had last year. It was the worst thing i have ever seen and wont forget it in a hurry. Watched a fella have his foot taken off by a mooring rope on a boat. Never have i ever felt so sick and helpless in all my life. The only thing i could think to do was ring an ambulance. Luckily our supervisor had dealt with these sort of situations before and immediately got on board and crimped the veins with his fingers as he was losing alot of blood. He lied him down and stripped his shirt and managed to stem the blood heaps. It was chaotic, men running all around shouting, within 2 minutes i reckon he was on oxygen and in the shade, with minimal bleeding. We found his foot, still in the shoe and put it on ice. Ambulance was there within 10 minutes but couldnt take him away for another hour till they had him splinted and stabilised. The pain must of been horrible.

What surprised me though was the response and knowledge from alot of the guys. If it wasnt for the supervisor i dont think that fella would of been here still today. He apparently only had another 1-2 minutes worth of blood before he would of run dry. I will never forget that day, i can still see it clear as day happening.
AnswerID: 439119

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 08:05

Friday, Dec 17, 2010 at 08:05
That would have been an experience you would not want repeated Muntoo, and quick reactions seemed to have saved someone - I have also been surprized by just how important it is to close off major arteries quickly.

Makes you think about how prepared you need to be in bush.

FollowupID: 710966