vehicle inspections NSW

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 08:25
ThreadID: 83125 Views:3353 Replies:6 FollowUps:12
Gday all, I am looking at buying a vehicle from Casula NSW, I dont know where that is let alone some one to look at it for me. Does anybody know of anyone in the area who does inspections? Ultimatley I want to make sure it is a genuine sale and not some Nigerian scam that are too frequent these days.

Reply By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 09:05

Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 09:05
G'day Hotfishez

I just had a look on www.whereis.com.au and it shows Casula as just south of Liverpool, Sydney, (down the Hume Highway a bit).

Sorry, I don't live anywhere near there, but someone on here probably does.

Hope it works out for you

Cheers, Dave

AnswerID: 439215

Reply By: Bazooka - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 09:13

Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 09:13
Done a REVS check?
http://www.revs.nsw.gov.au/

AnswerID: 439216

Follow Up By: hotfishez - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 09:43

Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 09:43
I will be doing a revs but it still is no confirmation of genuine sale, I am looking for some one just to go and look at the vehicle and meet the seller in person.
FollowupID: 711063

Follow Up By: Member - Tony H (touring oz) - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 09:57

Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 09:57
Pre purchase inpection from NRMA??
FollowupID: 711066

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 10:12

Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 10:12
Make sure the person you send knows about 4b's.

Neighbour of mine bought a nice looking one.

Really great he said till we got under it and saw all the rock strikes, the sump pushed up in one place, tiny oil leak from transfer case ($1500) to fix ETC ETC.

Found out much later it had been on its side with motor running resulting in a rebuild recently.
Not saying yours will be like that but it pays to be aware.

FollowupID: 711069

Follow Up By: ange_uws - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2010 at 15:14

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2010 at 15:14
Will definetely recommend:

www.nswvehicleinspections.com.au

A mobile vehicle inspection service located near Casula.

FollowupID: 711476

Reply By: vk1dx - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 10:16

Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 10:16
I suggest that you use an intermediary such as Paypal for the money side of things.

Use an intermediary/agency that will cover you for faulty, fraudulent, stolen and even scamming practices. By faulty I mean that the car is not as described to you and you find something that if found before purchase would have stopped you purchasing it. Even something as minor as it described as white and you find out it is yellow and you hate the look of it.

Don't pay cash. Even a cheque can be cancelled if it all goes to putty on the way home.

AnswerID: 439225

Follow Up By: hotfishez - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 11:38

Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 11:38
payment side is no issue, I know my 80 series cruisers backwards, over the phone will tell me everything I need to know about the vehicle.

The scam that was tried on by me was through a paypal style payment, so even then it is not secure as fart as a random transaction goes. It will be a cash on pickup, I am in remote WA and dont want to fly accross the country for no reason....
FollowupID: 711077

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 11:57

Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 11:57
Hi (don't know your name and these acronyms are so childish)

Fair enough about your opinion of Paypal but may I ask you to reconsider using cash. You have a long drive home in a car you do know inside and out. You may be familiar with the 80 series but how often are they the same when used. If you are familiar with this specific vehicle, not the 80 series in general, then that may be different. I do not trust anyone when buying second hand things. I always try to have a way out if it goes wrong. Hence Paypal and not using cash. I would rather fly home than break down somewhere on the way. Maybe even in a remote area to boot.

Can you be absolutely sure that the seller is not "bending" the truth. Is he neglecting to tell you the gearbox is making bad noises when it gets hot after a couple of hundred K's.

Maybe the inadequacies of the written word are leading me to misinterpret your statement about knowing the "80 series cruisers backwards". It worries me some.

Just trying to help.

FollowupID: 711079

Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 12:20

Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 12:20
Hi Phil

I think the main issue here for hotfishez is for someone to go look at the car to see if there actually is a car for sale, rather than him fly over to look at some non-existant vehicle. I doubt that he wants anyone to recommend one way or the other regarding whether the car is worth purchasing, just see if there is a car and seller. Then he can make his mind up whether or not to physically check it out himself.

Thats the way I read it, anyway.

Cheers, Dave

FollowupID: 711082

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 13:18

Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 13:18
True Dave

But that is only part of the equation.

We can only try cover all facets in enough detail that, when coupled with what he undoubtedly already knows, he can then choose to proceed and what things he should consider if he proceeds.

We only had to go to Goulburn for ours and made several trips. A bloke arrived from Melbourne just as we drove out. Just imagine!!!

FollowupID: 711085

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 14:26

Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 14:26
Hi there hotfishez, after spending two weeks emailing, pictures, phone calls I flew to Melbourne supposidly to buy a 80 series 95 GXL factory turbo (the best of them) with 28k in my pocket, when I got there the things I asked him to check were not. Im sure you are aware of the 2 rubber grommets up against fire wall that rust through over time if they get water in them ?? He told me yeah mate mechanic checked all that, the paints in great nick (clear coat was peeling on roof big time) and when I layed under it and ripped the grommets out for red rusty water poured out everywhere, and there was about an inch of oil in the airfilter after we cleaned it out and took if for a 5 minute run, thing was a heap of crap and asking $28k for it, I had great pleasure in telling the bloke what an a** hole he was and for wasting my time and $800 to fly myself and my mechanic mate to check it out and drive it back to sydney with me, needless to say I didnt buy it. Pictures on the net are useless to show up any problems that they want to hide. My mate does inspections (use to do NRMA pre reports but changed to this new mob). If your interested send me an email with your phone number and i will give him your number and he can call you and speak to you. I know what he will say to you about buying a vehicle from that area, (no offence to any one from me in regards to his comment) he calls it cut & shut city and if there is any sign the vehicle is not genuine as advertised he doesnt muck around and will tell the customer its a heap and if there are any signs its been a repo job/cut & shut he will call the police himself and report it. He is extremely fussy and doesnt care wether its a caryard or private sale he will go over it with a fine tooth comb. He has been barred from a few yards around parramatta area as the caryards reckon he is over the top, but as hes said to me he doesnt give a rats if the customer is paying good money for a proper inspection then that is what he gives. I would have gone over for you today but my wife is at work and have just put our nearly 3 yeard old down for a sleep then out tonight for xmas party. Regards Steve
FollowupID: 711091

Follow Up By: hotfishez - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 17:22

Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 17:22
Dave that is exactly what I am getting at,

Phil I understand where you are coming from, I have had alot of experience with 80's and I do know what ask and/or get checked by the person looking for me.

IMHO, NRMA Checks have their own checklist and chances are, NOT ALL, chances are they really dont go to deep into inspections. Theirs are a general safety/roadwarthy check.
FollowupID: 711103

Follow Up By: hotfishez - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 17:25

Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 17:25
Cheers Steve, he sound like one of the very few good inspectors, wish there were a few mor like him around.

FollowupID: 711105

Reply By: mbw650 - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 16:53

Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 16:53
I was looking for a 80 series about 2 years ago, I found an 80 advertised in Casula that was a base model with 180,000 on the 1hz, Bullbar, Kaymar spare carrier and factory dual tanks for $10,000. Rang the guy up and was told he had a job interstate he had to leave for asap, and if I turned up with $8,000 cash it was mine as he had too many tire kickers.
Overnight I was trying to get cash together from mates, and checking classifieds at the same time. Amazingly the exact same photos turned up on another ad, right down to the rego number.
Called the owner of the car in Broken Hill, and asked them if thier vehicle was currently near Sydney and asked about the ad. Somebody had cut and pasted the original ad from broken hill, and were probably waiting for some fool to turn up with cash in Casula and roll them.
AnswerID: 439254

Follow Up By: hotfishez - Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 17:16

Saturday, Dec 18, 2010 at 17:16
this is the concern....
It happens more frequentrly than most people realize and not the first time for me.
FollowupID: 711102

Reply By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 08:24

Sunday, Dec 19, 2010 at 08:24
Hotfishez,
The guys at HiTech 4wd in Penrith do all the work for me that I decide not to do myself. They are very knowledgeable about 4wds that is all they do.

It is not far to Casula for them but obviously you will have to pay. Their number is 02-4721-7783.

I would prefer a professional as it is a big ask for a private individual to give an opinion in such a situation.

AnswerID: 439299

Reply By: ange_uws - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2010 at 15:12

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2010 at 15:12
Hello,

Try www.nswvehicleinspections.com.au. They specialize in mobile vehicle inspections and are located in moorebank which is only a few minutes from Casula.

I had my current car inspected by them and got a full report which also helped me negotiate the price. Saving me afew hundred bucks :)

Will highly recommend them to anyone.

Goodluck
AnswerID: 439578