Family 4wd Clubs - Brissie

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 04, 2003 at 22:48
ThreadID: 8318 Views:2039 Replies:7 FollowUps:7
Anybody know of any 4wd clubs in Brissie that aren't over the top hardcore super modified battle truck runners. I have a young family (20 months & 3) and done a few trips to Fraser. Hoping to get the whole family involved in the outdoors, camping, 4wding etc. Makes it easier if others have kids etc.

Ta

Fenno

Reply By: Member - Ross - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2003 at 08:25

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2003 at 08:25
Fenno

Just returned from a weekend outing with Bayside Off-roaders Club. We're only new members and they seem to be a very friendly bunch with a selection of weaners on the trip.

Meet at Capalaba Bowls Club, Ney Rd. Capalaba - 7:30 PM on 3rd Wednesday.

I'm sure they'd make you welcome.Rosco
AnswerID: 36259

Follow Up By: Fenno - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2003 at 21:52

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2003 at 21:52
Rosco,
Do you know af any website or contact details?
Fenno
FollowupID: 26240

Follow Up By: Member - Ross - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 18:12

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 18:12
Fenno

No web site I'm aware of, try Nola Chase (Membership Officer)
3893 3091Rosco
FollowupID: 26306

Reply By: Brian - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2003 at 08:31

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2003 at 08:31
Fenno,
If you're on the way south side of Bris-Vegas, the Gold Coast 4 Wheel Drive Club is quite family orientated and meets first Tuesday of the month at the Nerang Bi-centennial Hall. we have been members for about 6 months and it is a great club.
AnswerID: 36260

Follow Up By: Fenno - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2003 at 21:51

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2003 at 21:51
Thanks Brian, I am souht, just not that far south, cheers anyway.
Fenno
FollowupID: 26239

Reply By: Member - Kevin - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2003 at 08:42

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2003 at 08:42
Hi Fenno,
Try Ipswich 4x4
Humbie
AnswerID: 36261

Reply By: stevesub - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2003 at 12:39

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2003 at 12:39
Moreton Offroad Club is an excellent club that we have done a couple of trips with - not too hard and will be joining very shortly.

Also the Rangerover owners Club is another excellent club that we are members of. Despite the name, all makes and models of 4wd's are welcome.

Both clubs rate their trips and the easy/medium trips are quite civilized in a standard 4wd with no problems. The hard and extreme trips are a different story but these clubs cater for all.

We have only done the easy/medium trips and had a ball.

Camping weekend with Moreton club this weekend at Kenilworth and there were spaces left a few days ago for visitors. Let me know if you are interested and I can give you the trip leader's details. They will be having trips that are easy/medium and also hard - just pick which trip you want to go on.
AnswerID: 36286

Follow Up By: Fenno - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2003 at 21:56

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2003 at 21:56
Stevesub,
are there any website or contact details for these clubs.
Fenno
FollowupID: 26241

Follow Up By: stevesub - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 09:00

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 09:00
Web sites as follows

http://www.moretondistricts.org.au/

http://www.rangeroverclubqld.org.au/

FollowupID: 26269

Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2003 at 14:38

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2003 at 14:38
G'day Fenno
Mate I've been in the Toyota LandCruiser Club for many years. Very much family orientated. Very few hard core drivers. Great driver training program. Safety very much to the fore with our activities. Heaps of trips and social events. About 150 vehicle members but you'll only see a few of those on trips or at meetings. Don't know why some bother being in the Club if they never attend anything! Meet at Mt Coot-tha hall last Monday of each month at 7.30pm. If you want more info call 33763711 and tell Vicki that the Moose said to ring.
AnswerID: 36296

Follow Up By: Brian - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2003 at 21:02

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2003 at 21:02
A quick question Moose... are you Moose as in Team Moose of 4X4ing, water skiing and bike racing infamy???????
FollowupID: 26235

Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 10:21

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 10:21
Brian - No - another Moose.
FollowupID: 26274

Reply By: Red Rover - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2003 at 22:18

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2003 at 22:18
Fenno,

Check out the Qld 4WD Club. Unfortunately they meet at Bald Hills which is on the Northside but there are a few members that have joined recently that r on the Southside- depends on how far you want to travel. Meetings are third Friday of each month at Bald Hills Primary School at 8am.

Hope it helps

Cheers Red Rover
AnswerID: 36344

Reply By: John from River City 4WD Club Inc. - Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 14:45

Thursday, Nov 06, 2003 at 14:45
Have a look at http://www.users.bigpond.com/qafwdc/
The Queensland Association of 4WD Clubs has a club listing on their website.
AnswerID: 36406