DAKAR 2011

Submitted: Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 10:05
ThreadID: 83232 Views:3284 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
As most of you would know the 2011 Dakar start on the 1st January, and as you can see in my profile I am a pretty keen Isuzu supporert. So I will be following Bruce Garland and Harry Suzuki in their Isuzu D-Max in the race, so here is a couple of sites to help you view what they are up to.

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=212985626694

http://www.isuzumotorsports.com/

Reply By: Road Warrior - Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 10:55

Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 10:55
I love the Dakar rally, but I follow it for the bikes :P
AnswerID: 439744

Follow Up By: dazza0503 - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 21:15

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 21:15
FYI.

I'm Darryl Bruce's brother in law.

I get updates every day if your are interested?

Dazza.

NEW ENGINE IS IN; NOW IT’S TIME TO PACK AND PREPARE

It’s been a successful day of testing the new engine for the 2011 Dakar Isuzu D-MAX, according to a tired but happy driver.

The Isuzu MotorSports team worked till yesterday after collecting the container from customs, putting in the new race engine. A few hours’ sleep and then they were up again at sunrise to drive to a friend’s property, three hours out of Buenos Aires, to test the new power plant and do as many adjustments as possible in preparation for the coming 9500km marathon.

“The engine is sorted and it’s fantastic,” says Bruce Garland.

“There’s good top end speed. It’s about seven kilometres an hour faster than what we were doing at the Australasian Safari and I expect more out of it as the engine settles in, and after we put the good Toyo tyres on.

“Obviously the testing was limited though, because of the container being delayed so many days in customs. We haven’t done all the testing we planned – certainly nothing at altitude – and now we have only 24 hours to get the service vehicles packed, and all the tyres on the wheels and turn up for scrutineering.

“Our scrutineering time is 8am on Thursday morning (10pm Sydney time) and then the D-MAX goes into parc ferme immediately after scrutineering so we have a million and one things to do and a very small window of time to do them in. Everything has to be ready to race in that time – I guess we can have a big sleep after that’s done!”

The 2011 Dakar Rally begins with a ceremonial start in Buenos Aires on January 1 before the field travels out of the city in readiness for the start of the competition on January 2.

There are 430 vehicles (bikes, quads, trucks and ‘cars’) entered in this event, compared to 362 for the January 2010 start, of which 146 are in the ‘car’ class. More than 2500 people will travel with the event, in terms of drivers, navigators and riders, as well as support crews, race officials and media.

FollowupID: 712127

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 16:03

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 16:03
Sorry I did not notice your post earlier Dazza, sad news about his retirement
FollowupID: 713061

Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 13:00

Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 13:00
Hi Bruce.
How are you surviving the big wet?
We are heading south to the Mann River so keep the rain north of the border please LOL

Thanks for the reminder of the Dakar.SBS starts it tv package on 3rd Jan & I will have to set up the recorder.

Have a happy Xmas.
Vince
AnswerID: 439753

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 17:51

Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 17:51
Hi Vince, mate I am hoping for some dry weather early in January, but I do not like my chances.
FollowupID: 711637

Reply By: DesF - Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 17:46

Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 17:46
Hi, I can find them in the car entry list, am I looking in the wrong place. I can only find car 413 from Aus .?
Cheers Des.
AnswerID: 439763

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 17:49

Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 17:49
There has been some sort of mix up Des but there are there and will be racing.
FollowupID: 711636

Follow Up By: DesF - Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 18:51

Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 18:51
Thanks, Bruce , I will keep on it . Cheers Des.
FollowupID: 711639

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 23:45

Friday, Dec 24, 2010 at 23:45
G'day Bruce, I heard Bruce Garland on the radio the other day and will watch him with interest. He was talking about 1 kilometre high sandhills over there. Brave man.
He also said VW spend more on their uniforms than he has to run his vehicle.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 439778

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Dec 25, 2010 at 14:58

Saturday, Dec 25, 2010 at 14:58
Hi Dave, have a nice Chrissy mate
FollowupID: 711669

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Dec 25, 2010 at 10:30

Saturday, Dec 25, 2010 at 10:30
Hi Bruce
Seasons Greetings and like you, we look forward to the Dakar every year.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 439800

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Dec 25, 2010 at 14:59

Saturday, Dec 25, 2010 at 14:59
Good one Stephen, all the best to mate
FollowupID: 711670

Reply By: neena - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 17:50

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 17:50
Hi, Just to let you know that Bruce and Harry are racing the Isuzu D-Max as car number 322 in the Dakar. Their entry was taken off the list to update their service crew details and they have been slow to replace it. They have just tested a new engine over there and are getting organised for scrutineering,
Glad to see you follow the race, cheers Celena Garland (Bruce's wife)
AnswerID: 440110

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 18:18

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 18:18
Thank you very much Celena,we have been following Bruce and Harry for many years. We are avid Isuzu fans, owning two Isuzu MUs and will be updating to a D-Max in the near future.

FollowupID: 711988

Reply By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 16:01

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 16:01
Sad news today Bruce and Harry are out of the Dakar, Bruce has a serious back injury, fractured vertebrae, which is now stable. Terrible luck.
AnswerID: 441117