About to hit the road with little kids ! What am I thinking ?

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 12:33
ThreadID: 83292 Views:10063 Replies:13 FollowUps:17

Related Pages

We actually moved out of our home in Sept and have been experimenting, planning and camping locally around the 'Northern Rivers Region' in preparation for a 1-2 year trip around Oz and Tassie. I am a single mummy who will be travelling with a 3 and 5 yr old, documenting a single parenting comparative lifestyle study and writing a childrens story book series.

Ever since we moved out in Sept we have had nothing but storm and rain so I feel I have been weathered but still not unsure regarding the ideal set-up for us, the unpredictable weather and long-term travel.

I begun with and still have the Toyota Hiace high top SLWB Campervan which has beddding enough for the 3 of us, cupboards, a sink, a deep cell battery, seats 5 but pretty tight for girls on a bench seat in 2 car seats, has no air con nor central locking, I had an awning in a bag made for it and it has travelled well so far. With this I was going to tow a 'Trek Kudu' camper trailer, with lockable lid, tailgate kitchen and 60l water tank etc, and at only 280kgs it was a breeze to tow, manouver and for me as a shorty to handle and hitch ! HOWEVER ! actually setting up a camper trailer with a full enclosed annex is difficult to set up on your own with 2 little kids to supervise, so sadly I am trying to sell this now.

From here I was advised and told by many otger travellers that you will end up with a caravan anyway so may as well go straight for one, so I bought a cub drifter 6 ! lols ! the one that you have to pop with big effort the roof up and the sides are all canvassed, hmmmm on our first big down pour the canvas was leaking in through to our beds, soooo we sold this one at a small loss only thank goodness !

From here...... I 'thought' i had worked it out and bought a viscount ultra lite pop top caravan with single beds and an end table that converted to large king singlish size ! I was towing this with the campervan but at 780kgs the campervan was working a little too hard u hills for my liking and after living in the van for 1mth, i have just decided this is not going to work for us either ! Arrrrrrrr ! We so need any advise that anyone may have here ! The van was nearly going to work, however the bed was too uncomfortable for me long term and it was not gong to work when one of my girls were sick as they normally sleep with me. sooooo here I am with the camper trailer, caravan and campervan and still not sure of how we are going to travel.

After experimenting for over 3mths already it was such a blessing to come across a friend of a friend who was going overseas for 7 weeks and needed someone to rent her house, fully furnished ! SCORE ! So here I am now with all units sitting out the front with 4 sale signs on them whilst I work out an advertising strategy (as selling is very expensive when you need to sell 3) and hopefully work out what may work by Feb 5th !

I have concluded that I need to simplify and cull much of what we have already and Keep It Simple !

I am 'considering' keeping the campervan, 'Toyota Hiace' It has 300k on a 3L diesel engine and needs some work, maybe, 2,000, using a large tarp and a blackwolf pop-up tent with a large outdoor space under tarp, towing a small trailer for our gear behind ? (like the awesome one for sale on this trader page). OR ?

Buying a 4wd drive 'Toyota Prado' for example and towing a larger caravan 16ft with a double bed and usuing van as our main home base and then taking tent with us if we want to do 4wd drive treks / wekends etc ?

I will be home schooling my 5yr old and I tell you the distance education prgram sends you heaps of gear ? so will need space for her just for this also so thinking maybe tent and van may not work ?

THANK-YOU for reading my novel of a background and would LOVE any feedback anyone may have for us !

Rainbows and Sunshine ! to al Travellers, hope to see many of you on the road at some point !

Donna.

Reply By: Ayita5 - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 12:45

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 12:45
Wow Donna, you've had some learning experiences!

Glad you decided to 'practice' first instead of finding all this out halfway around Australia!

We're also leaving on our big trip with 3 kids, aged 7, 5 & 1, in a few months. We'll be towing a van but I can imagine that the set up, etc, of caravans or camper trailers would be difficult for you alone, having to watch the kids as well.

I don't really have any wonderful tips for you, I'm only a beginner myself, but I just wanted to say good luck, good on you, and maybe we'll see you out there!

Skye
AnswerID: 440013

Follow Up By: Member - Donna G (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 13:21

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 13:21
Thanks Skye ! We are planning to head off in March, so we may very well cross paths ! How long are you planning your trip for ? I will most likely end up towing also as it is the easiest set-up once you stop, a little harder for the actual driving for stopping etc but i am sure i will get use to it !

Happy Travels and Planning for you also !

FollowupID: 711866

Follow Up By: Ayita5 - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 17:32

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 17:32
Hi Donna,

We're also leaving in March, possibly April, depending on when we're ready! We don't have a set time frame in mind, but maybe 18 months to 2 years? The first half (Adelaide, up to Darwin, back down west coast and back to Adelaide) we are planning on doing in a little under a year (to attempt to be with family back home for Christmas) and then down to Tassie for summer, then up the east coast, and who knows where from there! Depends on if we've had enough of it or not.

In relation to a couple of other replies further down, I thought of some more things to say - just my humble opinion.
1) Another 'tip' that might help you is this - we're getting one of those quick to put up mosquito tent things, around 3m x 3mt, so the kids have got a confined area in which to play while we're 'setting up, packing up', etc. Will also come in handy as an outdoor dining area to keep away from the bugs, and a good spot for kids to stay safe where we can see them after dark, etc.
2) In terms of home schooling, I would agree with another reply and would not go with 'distance education', but would instead just register with the relevant authority and do your own home schooling. This is what we will be doing. I've heard plenty of reports about how difficult distance ed can be while on the road (posting things in, getting things posted to you - really restricts any 'spur of the moment' type travelling as you have to know where you'll be to receive packages!)
With such young children, your home schooling will be a piece of cake. They'll learn loads on the road and you'll just need to be 'teaching' the basics of numbers & letters. I think you'd do fine going it alone without the distance ed implications.
Just my opinion for what it's worth!

And feel free to send me a message if you'd like any other info on how we're doing things or you'd like to catch up on the road!

Skye
FollowupID: 711878

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 13:54

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 13:54
wow and good luck guys...... you will be glad you canned the camper trailer, we have tried all sorts of things (3 kids) and a camper is one thing i will advise anyone to stay away from ....
We left Tom Price (WA) 10 years ago with 1 bub (few months old), first stop was Cygnet Bay (Cape Leveque) and then the "list".....
Cooinda Kakadu, Lake Cargelligo, Leeton, Darwin, Maningrida (Arnhem Land), Bickerton Island (Gulf of Carp), Darwin again, Yarralin, Nyirripi, Nuggkurr and now in QLD at Doomadgee and we now have 3 kids .......
We did try campers and vans but we have gone with employment that provides housing, after all our moving we would go a converted bus next.
The bus idea is really the only way with kids for things as you say, schooling, you can set it all up and leave it in place and kids also have a kind of "home" space that they can call there own....... cost is the problem with busses, you can get them cheap but could cost you a heap of money later, or you could spend a lot buying it and still get burnt, it's a real hard one ......
We looked at home schooling but believe that placing the kids in schools gives them good social skills, they have been to every local school in the town/community we have been to and made some great freinds ...
Good luck any way you do it, alway remember the kids come first, if there happy then you have "made it"..
Joe
AnswerID: 440016

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 14:28

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 14:28
Hi Donna, well done with your experiments thus far, better doing it now than half way around.
Having had 4 children (many years ago of course) and taking them away on holidays etc, we did the caravan way and it worked well for us.
If I were doing now what you are doing I would go the 4wd and caravan plus tent for the 4wd trips. For the purposes of writing your book you are going to need to mix it up a bit so that it covers all experiences. Great idea.
Good luck with it all and hope you give us updates as you go on your journey.
D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 440019

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 14:31

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 14:31
BTW, I forgot to mention, have you thought of hiring instead of buying while you are experimenting, when you find what you are looking for then go out and buy.
Just a thought.
D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 711872

Follow Up By: Member - Donna G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 08:48

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 08:48
Tell me about it !!!! so wish i had of hired all items i left with now !!!!!!!!!! Oh Well ! All lessons of life and will all go into my book !
FollowupID: 711929

Reply By: jennyb - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 14:57

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 14:57
Hi Donna, its great to know that you are venturing out on your own with the kids, what an adventure!! I agree with Dunworkin, get a 4wd (with aircon!) and a caravan and tents. We have 3 second tents at home which would be a great idea for you if you have to keep an eye on the little ones, just open the bag and they are up (similar concept to the windsceen shade for a car, round in shape in the bag.). Get sand pegs too for the tents, as they hold down the tent more firmly if you come across strong winds (thats what happened to us and ours was great in the storm). Also self inflating mattresses are the best. The easier you make it for yourself the less stressful camping will be. Well, thats what i think anyway!! Goodluck with your travels, book, etc....jen....
AnswerID: 440022

Follow Up By: Member - Donna G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 08:45

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 08:45
Thanks Jen ! Yes, have one of these, the malamoo, i use this as the kids toy tent , it works great to keep camp area tidy of their stuff and to confine them with treaties if i need !
FollowupID: 711928

Reply By: Matt & Caz - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 16:43

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 16:43
Hi Donna,

Good on you!! you will have a great time. Not sure what to advise re: tent ect, we recently did the trip took 18mths and 3 kids (all up 5 of us) we did it in a 23ft van, my hubby did all the towing though. With regard to home schooling - we tried both distance ed and we also registered with HEU QLD as home schoolers. We found distance ed almost impossible, far too much in the way of work to be done (and sent in fortnightly!!!). I believe that NSW is a lot easier on paperwork ect when it comes to registering for home schooling. For us Home schooling was by far the easier option.

If you need any help ect just email me at carolinehys@yahoo.com.au I am only too happy to help. Check out our blog http://www.travelingoz.webs.com

Caroline
AnswerID: 440027

Follow Up By: Ayita5 - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 17:36

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 17:36
I can vouch for Caroline being a lovely helpful lady Donna. I emailed her loads of questions about tiny details back in the initial stages of our planning and she was ever gracious and helpful.

You might not remember me but thank you Caroline!!

Skye
FollowupID: 711879

Follow Up By: Member - Donna G (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 18:56

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 18:56
Hi Matt and Caz ! Thank-You so much for your insights and blog, i thoroughly enjoyed looking at your pics and reading some of your blog, am keen to read from the beginning also ! You have done exactly what I am doing except i sold 'most' of my furniture etc as well so I did not have to worry too much about storage, kept a few pieces of furniture like our beds but not much else !

It was a such an inspiration to read your blog and it has excited me all over again ! I know it will be one of the most amazing lifetime experienxes for all of us. Right now my Summer-Rain turns 3 on 29 Jan (my b'day also- she is sooo my karmic mirror !) and my Genaveve is 5 so they will both grow up in a big way whilst we are journeying, your route is very similar to the one i have envisioned and also your set-up, i may opt for the slightly smaller version however lols ! not sure how i would go reversing 23ft ! I am thinking maybe 16-17 max ! 15 was a little too small.

I so hear you re the distance ed ! Man ! I just received Genaveves' first 5weeks of school work and I was in shock ! Seriously she is 'only' going into kindy ! Back when i use to teach kindy it was all about transitioning into the school environment and still about singing songs ! not entire programs on phonics and maths in the first few weeks, so thanks for this insight i will so look into the registration of home schooling and the requirements, i guess you have to pretend you are not travelling as they told me home school was only if you are home based ?

I have started a travel blog, however is very behind now so will be transferring info over to this site I think and keep it updated here, 'loving' this site !

Thanks again ! Will keep posted and will post piccies etc very soon x
FollowupID: 711889

Follow Up By: Trace & Paul - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 21:21

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 21:21
Hi Donna,
We too will be travelling Oz in 2011 with our 3 children - 13, 10 & 5.
We leave in approx 4weeks time. In regards to the schooling, i was assuming i would be home schooling our kids but when i rang to inquire i was told that the 'rules' have recently changed and because we will be out of NSW for an indefinite amount of time our only option would be distance ed!
Our 5 year old is not 5 until 2nd jan so he does not need to be officially enrolled until 2012. We also received our school work load and were a little blown away by the amount, only to be expected i guess for a year 8 and year 5 student though... We plan on getting ourselves into a routine early on and doing our best to stick to it!!!
Good luck with all of your plans. Maybe we will cross paths one day!!!
Trace.
FollowupID: 712006

Reply By: SDG - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 18:22

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 18:22
As a single dad I'm often on the road with my son. As a foster carer I often have others as well. One thing I found when setting up my soft floor camper, or tent, was to get the kids involved. Have them follow you around with the peg bag. Start small, and before you know it they are telling you how to set camp up. My son was able to set up a small tent by the time he was 5. Needed help occasionly with hammering pegs into hard ground, but when they finish they are real proud of themselves.
AnswerID: 440035

Follow Up By: Member - Donna G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 08:50

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 08:50
THanks ! SDG ! Yes, my girls are already becoming camp gurus, they wash up and yes, my 5 yr old is obsessed with hammerikng all pegs into ground, heer job is the ground sheet so far !
FollowupID: 711931

Reply By: Member - Porl - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 20:27

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 20:27
Don't trust booster seats, get the chest harness and re-adjust every time it goes over their hip bones.

My story from a camping trip to (had been going there the last 20yrs) - written off hilux with a 6 yr old daughter in hospital 6.5 weeks with a seatbelt injury from a 5 star booster seat that ruptured her liver and severed her main bile duct.

I just think it's important and not said enough.

See you on the road. PM me if you need a place to crash in Brisbane.

porl
AnswerID: 440051

Follow Up By: Member - Donna G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 08:58

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 08:58
Thank-You Porl ! Yes, I completely agree with you, I have my 3 and 5 yr old both in the bolted car seats, pure guidance so thank-you 10 fold for your confirmation for me re, this. Thanks for your bne offer, would love to see you on the road !
FollowupID: 711935

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 09:17

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 09:17
hey donna, to clarify lily now has the same 5 star booster seat (new one of course) with a $30 chest harness and the clip to hold the sash and the waist belt together just outside her right hand armrest is critical. We threw away the one that came with the armrest and use the much easier one that came wit the Infavario booster seat (the Infavarios are only $120, half the price of seats with half the safety stars but lots of bling).

It's horrible to think about but our surgeon told us he'd seen "lots of kids with their spines severed by seatbelts" and that "they should be in chest harnesses until 8 - 9 when they have muscle and fat around theirs stomachs like ours".
FollowupID: 711939

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 09:32

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 09:32
I need an editor, I meant ""We threw away the one that came with the Harness and use the much easier one that came wit the Infavario booster seat"
FollowupID: 711941

Follow Up By: LeanneW - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 10:45

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 10:45
Hi Porl,

I have been thinking about your daughter since you first posted on the forum about your accident. How is she? Is she fully recovered?

Leanne

Hi Donna,

What a wonderful thing you are about to embark on. We have a camper trailer (an Aussie Swag), but if I were to do what you were proposing, particularly if you are going to mostly be on the bitumen, I would go for a caravan. A caravan would give you more dry room for the kids in wet weather, and there would not be the issue of packing up wet canvas. Don't get me wrong, I love our camper trailer, but if I were to go on a trip with 2 little kids, I would want to make it as easy for me as possible. Best wishes.

Leanne
FollowupID: 711946

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 11:40

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 11:40
Hi Leanne

Lily is okay, she climbs up walls, finished prep, runs just as fast, loves doing somersaults on the trampoline and swimming. Physically she can't process fat normally as not only has she lost her gall bladder but her bile duct was severed and had to be re-routed to a place it never was before.

She has a massive scar on her chest and scars are various places where canulas failed. But at 6 this doesn't mean much to her.

Psychologically she is pretty tender. We planned meticulously to go to Fraser Island two weeks ago, we told our friends we cancelled because of the rain but the main motivation was Lily started having nightmares about another crash with mummy and her little sister being hurt just as much.

So, small trips for a while I think. Thanks for your concern.

I don't think I ever went back to post up the follow up that she was misdiagnosed for 3.5 weeks as everyone missed the severed bile duct, including keyhole camera surgery. By week 5 the Mater Children's Hospital in Brisbane had to get a pain specialist in from the RBH as they had never had a child in such pain for so long.

The sad thing is she may never receive compensation because the NSW personal injuries for car accidents law says you must be at least 10% permanently impaired to receive any compensation, I'd like to see those politicians who passed that law spend 6 weeks in extreme pain because the only drugs that work can't be used because of a liver injury.
FollowupID: 711952

Follow Up By: Member - Donna G (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 00:09

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 00:09
Wow Porl ! Sending blessings to you and Lily x what an extremely hard time for Lily and all of you, yes, baby steps sound vital, how stressful and just so loving for her to be worrying about her sister x that is a beautiful sister bond. Sending love and light for miraculous psychological healing and as close as possible to a full and more comfortable physical recovery. How long ago did this happen ? Thank-You so much for sharing and completely enlightening me to be extremely aware here !

Donna x
FollowupID: 712045

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 07:58

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 07:58
Hi Donna

We hit a 2 trees on 8 August this year on the road in the blackrock camping area at Bundjalung, I had one bar on the phone which survived and we were airlifted to Lismore Base Hospital and she was then medivaced by helicopter that night to the Brisbane Mater intensive care.
FollowupID: 712054

Reply By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 20:50

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 20:50
Hi Donna,
Well done on the decision to take the kids travelling. There is lots of good advice on this site but please take all advice with a grain of salt as it is only peoples personal opinions and they may differ from yours. A couple of things to consider:
Where are you planning on going to, only main road or dirt roads aswell?
Where are you planning on camping, caravan parks or free bush camping.
What do you want to see.
Do you mind setting up camp then back tracking after sightseeing to camp?
All of these things will influence what you get and how you set it up.
Someone mentioned not to get a camper trailer. That's fine for them but we spent 3 yrs in one travelling oz and loved every bit of it. Some people love caravans but can't go off the main road very far. Look at what works for you.
What I'm saying is you are asking the right questions to help you but remeber your family is different to others so remeber that as you look at options.
We found home schooling great and allowd a bit of freedom in how we did it.
What ever you get you will have to compromise something so it is a matter of working out what will work best for you.
Remeber some days will be bad,wet and cold but they make the goods better.

Josh
http://www.kidsandall.webs.com/
AnswerID: 440053

Follow Up By: Member - Donna G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 09:09

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 09:09
Hi Josh ! Thanks for your feedback ! I have an awesome camper trailer that i do love and was my ideal set-up, however it was a struggle on my own to set-up, re annex poles and even the pulling out of initial aroom without the poles was a juggling act to get all sides tight and straight on my own, i am also a shorty ! kind of does need 2 people to set-up without hassle, in saying that if i was to ever travel with another adult i would probab use a camper trailer as i do love the convenience of being able to place it anywhere easily, the fun of truly setting up camp and the ease of towing !

So my hands are a little tied with with caravan i think creating a 2nd set-up with a good tent and a 4wd so we can go off road and use caravan as home base ? although still undecided !

Donna.
FollowupID: 711937

Reply By: PatrolEv - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 20:51

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 20:51
Hi Donna,

Top stuff!!! I think what you are doing is great, you will love it and the kids will get a great insight into this great country.

My 2 cents worth....go the 4WD and caravan. I have also tried all modes and have recently gone back to a van after our last horrendous CT trip. If the weather of the last couple of years is anything to go by then having an easy to set up firm roof over your head with kids is definately the way to go; you are up off the ground, solid walls and locking doors.

Whatever way you decide to go all the very best, travel safe.

Ev
AnswerID: 440054

Reply By: Member - Jack - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 08:54

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 08:54
Well done for having a go. May you have an enjoyable 'trip'.

A TVan may be the alternative you are looking for. Not cheap to start with, but will offer you dry quarters, easy towing and 'go anywhere'. And they hold their resale value extremely well when you want to sell them at the end of the trip.

Can be set up by one person, although two will always make it easier.

Good lucki.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 440072

Reply By: Petejac - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 19:06

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 19:06
Hi Donna,

Just thought I'd let you know that my husband and I, plus our two boys aged 4 and 6, will also be leaving around March from New England area NSW. We are heading North to start with and have no real plans or time limits. We will be homeschooling our 6 yr old (have had problems with registering him though).
We have a dual cab Nissan Navara towing a Goldstream camper.
Good luck with your decisions, we will hopefully see you on the road.
Feel free to email me if you have any questions.

Jacqui
AnswerID: 440120

Reply By: Tanka - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 19:49

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 19:49
Hi Donna,
A friend of mine has just returned from a 12 month jaunt around a lot of Australia with his wife, a 4 year old and a two year old. They travelled in an old (but in good repair) Troop Carrier, with a small s/h pop top caravan which had been lifted to fit 4x4 wheels and tyres. Speed was limited to about 90km due to Diesel and 4 speed gearbox, but with the time they had they didn't care. I believe they only had to pay for campsites on a handful of occasions in the 12 months. They had a great time and are glad they did it.

Cheers Chris.
AnswerID: 440124

Reply By: travellin - Sunday, Jan 02, 2011 at 13:56

Sunday, Jan 02, 2011 at 13:56
Hi Donna

We too are hitting the road, though in 2012 with 2 teens. We just bought a Volkswagen T3 Camper which we're planning on putting a larger engine in to increase power for towing. We will then tow wither a Goldstream Crown or an Avan Cruiseliner, both of which come in under 1T. For us, it means we have bedding in both the van and the camper. We'll also take tent for when we take the Camper to Cape York (leaving the van behind for a week).

The Crown is easy to put the roof up and down with a winch and so you could put he kids in there if need be, to finish setting up camp. I travelled for holidays with littlies many years ago, so know how hard it is to set up tents with Kids running away! I figure, withnthe Crwon it has the QS or single beds and a dinette that becomes a kids bed. For bad weather you have a solid roof over your head, and the QS bed could be a 'day bed' to muck around on when needed.

It'll come down to how your camper is to tow with. If you look at a 4WD, have a look at the Goldstream Goldlink or Storm. A bit heavier but has pull out beds either end, both having a bit better build than Jayco equiv.

Just a few more options to consider. We've been researching for years, originally aiming at a 4WD and Goldstream Storm. Decided the Volksie will be a better long term solution for us for privacy and for quick trips away before and after the trip. I've also found the Volkswagen community incredibly friendly and willing to help each other out if stuck.

The other thing is that we'll be WOOFing from time to time and plan to house sit or rent a couple of times along the way.

Good luck. I really admire your tenacity and desire to give this amazing experience to yourself and your kids.
AnswerID: 440460