Driving Melbourne to Brisbane in two days

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 20:58
ThreadID: 83297 Views:6572 Replies:14 FollowUps:24
Hello All,

Just after some quick guidance. I'm doing a trip from Melbourne to Brisbane and planning on leaving this Thursday.

I was going to take the Newell Hwy but I'm concerned that theres some flooding.

Any recommendations?

Thanks in advance, Chris.

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 21:39

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 21:39
Warwick is flooded badly for starters Cunningham Gap is closed.

look up "road conditions"

What they are like on Thursday may be better or worse than today depending on the weather which isnt getting better ATM

AnswerID: 440055

Reply By: Hollywood - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 22:40

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 22:40
As an ex interstate truckie, I'd recomend that you stay dry at home!!!

If you must go, go to Warwick, then across toward Towoomba and then about halfway turn to Allora and Gatton. Cunninghams has had massive slippage and is open and closed like Bonds fish and chips in Fremantle.

Drive safe.

Paul.
AnswerID: 440059

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 23:01

Tuesday, Dec 28, 2010 at 23:01
Coast
FollowupID: 711913

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 07:11

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 07:11
These sites may also help Chris,
Incidents and Closures & Limits
Last Updated on 06:04 AM 29/12/2010

RTA Live Traffic

Safe travels.

AnswerID: 440066

Reply By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 07:11

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 07:11
Newell Highway to Dubbo and then swing over to the New England Highway via Gunnedah and Tamworth to avoid Cunninghams Gap closure.

Qld traffic and Travel info site

Dont go near the coast. It will be full of holiday makers and slow moving traffic. Mainly vans etc.

AnswerID: 440067

Follow Up By: Hollywood - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 08:34

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 08:34
Going through Tamworth takes you to Armidale, Guyra, Glen Innes, Tenterfield and Warwick. You only avoid Cunninghams by going up the coast (bugger that) through Towoomba (a lot of water there) or through Beaudesert (don't go that way unless its your wedding or funeral that you are going to).
FollowupID: 711926

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 10:58

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 10:58
True, but only if you take the Cunningham Highway.

I would stay on the New England until at least Clifton. Then you can either turn right towards Gatton or stick to the New England until Toowoomba and then swing right to Brisbane.

FollowupID: 711949

Follow Up By: Hollywood - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 11:02

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 11:02
Ahh thats a no go too. Just got a phone call from home. The only way in is the dreaded coast road........The road between Towoomba and Warwick is cut....
FollowupID: 711951

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 12:35

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 12:35
Oh well. Buy one of those big cargo planes and put the car and handbrake and kids in it and jump in and drive it out the back door when near Brissy.

Thanks and Happy New Year

FollowupID: 711958

Follow Up By: Hollywood - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 13:08

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 13:08
Floaties and a 20' snorkel.......
FollowupID: 711961

Reply By: Brian Purdue - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 07:58

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 07:58
Try QANTAS. Quick and safe.
AnswerID: 440069

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 10:39

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 10:39
Don't you love value added posts like that?

Anyway OT, Qantas ain't very safe.

Despite the impression most Aussies have from the Rainman movie and marketing, Qantas has a pretty bad safety record. They have had 11 seperate crashes where at least 1 person was killed and a total of 79 Fatalities.

FollowupID: 711945

Follow Up By: Cruiser .- Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 11:43

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 11:43
Boobook,

Whats the difference between "at least 1 person was killed" and "a total of 79 Fatalities."

Dead is pretty fatal isnt it.

Cruiser
FollowupID: 711953

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 13:01

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 13:01
Sorry if it wasn't clear. What about this?

They had 11 seperate crashes were there was at least 1 fatality, with the total fatality count of 79 across the 11 crashes.
FollowupID: 711960

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 13:23

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 13:23
Well their last fatality was in 1951 and they have never had a jet airliner crash. But they have come close in recent times! Still safer than many others.

FollowupID: 711963

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 14:12

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 14:12
The problems with the 380 are not QANTAS based. Its a manufacturer problem. I will not fly any other airline.

Anyway our flying days are over. Who wants to go overseas anyway. Its so common. Everyone does it. I just laugh at the expected WOW Did you really" when someone says they went to Europe. Big deal. Anyone can fly not everyone can go and drive across the Simpson.

So back to the topic. I would head north on the Newell then across the Oxley to the New England as far as I can and then ask locally for advice. Plan for run in through Toowoomba. You should get detour advice on the way.

FollowupID: 711968

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 16:00

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 16:00
On Qantas....a number of fatal accidents occurred during World War II, when the Qantas aircraft were operating on behalf of the Royal Australian Air Force.... not sure how you count those in the 'stats'.

But in the context of this post, I reckon I'd rather take my chances on Qantas, than try to drive from Melboure to Brisbane, in two days, given the level of flooding in south-east Queensland and northern NSW......I think it was a sensible suggestion.

Cheers, The Landy
FollowupID: 711981

Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 18:40

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 18:40
At last! Somebody saw my point. Melbourne to Brisbane is a long, long way in the present weather conditions.
FollowupID: 711990

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 20:16

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 20:16
To The Landy!! Thats ridiculous bringing up stats that are at least 60 years old. I really think safety for all airlines has maybe improved a bit since then and fail totally to see how such old stats can be included. Oops

To Brian Purdue: Being such a quick trip it has to be important to the thread owner. Give it a go. There will be a way. Maybe not as fast as in fair weather but good enough. No risk unless you do something stupid. As far as being too far we just did the 1000+ K's to Adelaide in one go by swapping every stop. Piece of cake.

Go for it.

FollowupID: 711996

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 20:39

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 20:39
I'm not sure what Chris meant by "Melbourne to Brisbane in two days".

He posted it on Tuesday and said he was leaving on Thursday, that's "in two days".

Or he may have meant 2 days travelling time.

FollowupID: 712001

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 20:44

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 20:44
Hey Phil

I think we agree, Qantas has a great record.

I was making the point that many accidents included in the 'stats' posted earlier were when Qantas aircraft were operated on behalf of the RAAF, byt perhaps they should be excluded...I think you have misintepreted what I was sayiing (perhaps I could have worded it better also)!!

Cheers, The Landy
FollowupID: 712003

Reply By: Member - Amy G (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 09:23

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 09:23
We travelled the Newell (on a trip from Brisbane to Adelaide) last week and it was good- there is water up to the road but not over the road. Getting into Brisbane is another question- yesterday Cunningham's Gap was closed and the Warrego Highway was closed as well. I'd try the Allora route mentioned above, or you could take a detour and head to the Pacific Highway, but of course this probably isn't preferred!

When you stop for the night, beware the mozzies! We attempted to stay between Forbes & West Wyalong and were swarmed the minute we stepped out of the car- we ended up driving another 130km, where it was a bit better. Water everywhere makes for hungry mozzies- take the aeroguard! :)
AnswerID: 440075

Reply By: Pushy - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 09:40

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 09:40
Chris,

Be careful even though the floodwaters may recede by the time you leave, the roads are full of potholes are there are major washouts around creek and river crossings.

There are photos of bitumen lifted like pizza slices for quite some distances around bridges..

Councils will have their hands full dealing with various matters and fixing the roads may take some time.
AnswerID: 440077

Reply By: Danger Mouse - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 10:26

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 10:26
I live in Goondiwindi and can confirm that coming the Newell is problematic. All roads from Goondiwindi to Brisbane are closed at present. The Cunningham is closed near Karara (40km W of Warwick), and Cunningham's Gap is closed. The Gore highway to Toowoomba is closed at Pitsworth and Brookstead. The Millmerran to Inglewood road is open but you can't get throgh from Millmerran anyway, and the Karara-Toowoomba Rd is closed. essentially this means that all routes to Toowoomba and /or Warwick are closed. I'd suggest that you need to look at getting across to the New England at some point. I'm not sure whether you can get from Warwick to Toowoomba and come down the range there but it's worth a try. Alternatively, try the Pacific.

Hope that helps.
AnswerID: 440082

Reply By: Cruiser .- Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 11:54

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 11:54
Chris11726,

Why not go from Melbourne to Dubbo, Gunnedah, Tamworth, Tenterfield, across to Ballina then up the coast to Brisbane.

http://maps.google.com.au/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=Melbourne,+Victoria&daddr=-32.39951,148.40604+to:Glen+Innes,+New+South+Wales+to:Tenterfield,+New+South+Wales+to:Ballina,+New+South+Wales+to:Brisbane,+Queensland&geocode=FT0Ev_0dpPWjCCn3TbrStUbWajGQzYwhdVYEBA%3BFWqfEf4dGH_YCCm9pyi1zYAPazFhuIJ0tAkGEw%3BFUA9Ov4dW18LCSmzQXFVMLaYazGQsEOQtAkGBA%3BFVSrRP4dVKAPCSmfqyNw_1KYazGQtkOQtAkGBA%3BFX2AR_4dwSMnCSmfecwmy4KQazFw8UOQtAkGBA%3BFavTXP4dDvQeCSkz0pOsmleRazFAr97zWqMCBA&hl=en&mra=dpe&mrcr=0&mrsp=1&sz=6&via=1&sll=-32.639375,149.216309&sspn=9.614768,21.643066&ie=UTF8&ll=-33.11915,148.227539&spn=9.563106,21.643066&z=6

Cruiser
AnswerID: 440086

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 15:20

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 15:20
That will work. Isn't the road from Ballina up is wide enough to get the vans and slow cars over to the left (we hope).

FollowupID: 711977

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 19:41

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 19:41
That road thru Lismore MAY close, as flood waters come down from Kyogle
FollowupID: 711995

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 20:21

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 20:21
I'd be inclined to drop down from Armidale to Coffs and up the Pacific.
By the way Ballina is a bottleneck( also heard on the radio that the road is pretty chopped up south of Ballina) until you get to the Byron Bay turn off.
Be aware of the speed camera at the bottom of St Helena,about 2-3 k's north of the Byron turn off.
Then is a good run to Brissy.

FollowupID: 711997

Reply By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 11:55

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 11:55
Chris, the most reliable route would be the Pacific Hwy up the coast. All inland routes are problematic with flooding with still more to come and even after the waters recede there will be long delays due to roadwork repairs.

AnswerID: 440087

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 15:43

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 15:43

AnswerID: 440097

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 15:59

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 15:59
A little bit more fuel Doug but a much more scenic drive hey?

FollowupID: 711980

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 18:41

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 18:41
Not today as the Bruce is closed at Bundaberg again.

FollowupID: 711991

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 23:18

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 23:18
Mr T Ahhh makes me laugh.Good one.
FollowupID: 712035

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 16:50

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 16:50
hahaah Doug smart arse ! Very clever too mate!! Happy New Year!

FollowupID: 712107

Reply By: Member - John & Jenni Vic - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 21:01

Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 21:01
Hi Chris, John arrived in Bris last night & had no trouble getting thru Warwick. Best way to find out road closures is to phone the police.
AnswerID: 440129

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 18:09

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 18:09
I just got into Brisvegas from Newcastle about 15 minutes ago. Came via Thunderbolts Way, NewEngland and Cunningham's Gap. No problems at all to the border then just some potholes that have mostly been repaired between Stanthorpe and Warwick.
Stop/Go on Cunningham's Gap where they are trying to stabalise the landslips but no real holdup at all.
AnswerID: 440223

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 18:22

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 18:22
Hi John,
Geez and you made it in good time as well.
Good Stuff.
FollowupID: 712117

Reply By: Chris11726 - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 06:14

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 06:14
Thankyou to everyone for your replys and comments. We spent last night in Coonabarabran, about to shoot off tamworth and head up the New England.

Police are out in force I got breath tested three times at road blocks yesterday.

Stay safe everyone.
AnswerID: 440261