Murchison Pics / Gascoyne no access (from Perth)
Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 20:36
equinox
Hi there.
I've just come back from near the flood areas to the north of
Perth. When I say near, that's because I couldn't go anywhere near the rivers at some points because of Road Closures.
The Murchison was flowing, and there was a flood alert issued on Sunday, when I went up.
It was really hot that day too, and the AC got a flogging. I headed up further, as I wanted to see the Gascoyne, and hopefully make it to
Gascoyne Junction. No such luck as Butchers Track was Closed.
That track would have given me good access. However I thought I'd better do the right thing. I camped nearby. I hoped it would open on Monday.
Normally you could go up the main highway however it was closed too (Open today from 6am to 6pm only).
I chose to go and visit
Shark Bay - I went swimming etc, almost got taken out by a baby stingray at the
creek that flows from a
little lagoon near Eagle Island.
Had a shower back at the
Overlander Roadhouse; it was another very hot day.
The road was still closed at Butchers Track (Monday), and it looked like some people were not too happy.
I gave up on the Gascoyne and headed back to the Murchison. The river was still flowing with force at the bridge. The track heading east immediately to the south of the river was closed. It was not closed on Sunday.
I drove to the head of the river -
Kalbarri. It seemed to be busy; the river was flowing past, brown and contrasting with everything else.
Found this
plaque at Wittecarra
Creek (sorry for discretion)
Left
Kalbarri Tuesday not without taking some pictures of the drainage of the Murchison from the cliffs to the south. This was an amazing sight to see to the brown colour of the river extending out to what is maybe 10 kilometres.
Hope you all have a Happy New Year.
Alan.
Reply By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 21:00
Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 21:00
Thanks for taking the time to share with us Alan.
Have a great New Year mate.
Fred.
Reply By: Member - John Q (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 21:46
Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 21:46
Hi Alan,
Thanks for that info. I just got off the phone to a mate who lives in
Kalbarri & he was telling me about the amount of brown
water (from the Murchison) stretching as far as the eye could see off the coast.
Follow Up By: equinox - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 21:57
Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 21:57
Hi John,
As I said it was a most amazing sight - never seen anything like it.
Here's another one.
Reply By: Mick O - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 21:52
Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 21:52
Struth you get around fella. Thanks for that. Happy New Year to you.
Mick and co.
Reply By: wafarmer - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 23:06
Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 23:06
The boat shown is anchored outside the river as the river was closed to traffic and if the boats need to operate they had to leave the river before the closure
Something to do with insurance.
The river is starting to drop slowly it is about a meter lower than the 2006 flood which caused much damage to
Murchison House Station.
wafarmer
Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 23:42
Wednesday, Dec 29, 2010 at 23:42
Hi equinox, Thanks for that information, if it wasn't Christmas/ New Years/ many birthdays we would have been heading up there ourselves so were very interested in your photos. The photo where the people are swimming in the
water is where we normally
camp when we are heading up that way, don't think we could get down there now lol.
D
Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 00:40
Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 00:40
Hi Deana.
I had a look a bit to the east of that spot too, they would be a great
places to
camp.
I took my new dog out this time (4 months old today). She enjoyed herself I think.
Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 00:53
Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 00:53
How beautiful is Massie, she looks so kelpie, I hope you have many many years of fun with her.
There are some great
places to
camp around there.
Reply By: The other Norm C (WA) - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 02:24
Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 02:24
G'Day Allan
Was hoping to head up that way on Friday on route to
Mt Augustus and
Millstream.
Did you head up the
Mullewa Carnarvon road?
I had planned to drop into the Murchison settlement
as there was a lot of building activity when we
were there around March this year
Norm
Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 10:32
Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 10:32
Hi Norm,
I traveled the last 5 kilometres of so of that road. I cut south of Wandana
Nature Reserve near Coonawa, Had some lunch where the flowing
Greenough River crossed the track there. Had a swim there too!!!
I saw no
road closed signs in that area. However I did hear on the radio two days ago that the
water was only 12 metres from the front door of Murchison Settlement, so the road is probably closed further up.
You might have to go up the track on the east side :))