Annual pilgrimage to the big smoke!

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 02, 2011 at 12:21
ThreadID: 83381 Views:2809 Replies:6 FollowUps:7

We are just about to leave for our annual pilgrimage to the land of smog & aggro' We will be travelling down the Oodna' track to Marree then up to Birdsville for a visit.

Hopefully we will then be heading east then south through northern NSW to the Dubbo area where I have family, then over the bump to Sydney.

So if you see the red 80 with Mt Dare stickers then don't hesitate to to say gerday!! (especially if it's on the side of the road with the bonnet up)!

Reply By: Member - Teege (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 02, 2011 at 13:03

Sunday, Jan 02, 2011 at 13:03
Jeff
Enjoy it mate. I guess you won't see too much trafic for the first part of your trip. BTW you might recall us getting in to Mt Dare earlier this year in the Prado with the Traction Control and ABS Brake warning lights on. We successfully crossed the desert and got home to Newcastle with nothing happening. To cut a long story short the problem turned out to be a short in the brake light wire in the 7 pin trailer plug which shares a fuse with the Traction Control and ABS. Mr Toyota couldn't find it, but it jumped out at me (after a process of elimination) when I hooked up my box trailer at home.

teege
AnswerID: 440450

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Sunday, Jan 02, 2011 at 13:42

Sunday, Jan 02, 2011 at 13:42
Teege,

Good to hear that you made it across ok, & the problem was a simple fix.

Have to keep it mind for the future!

FollowupID: 712336

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, Jan 02, 2011 at 18:17

Sunday, Jan 02, 2011 at 18:17
Hi Jeff, have a good trip and enjoy the break. We also made it over the Simpson with no problems, not even a retry of any of the sand dunes, up Big Red first go.
Thanks for your hospitality whilst we were at Mt Dare.

HNY to you and your family.

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 440480

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 14:27

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 14:27
Good to hear that you enjoyed the trip, maybe see you next season?

FollowupID: 713398

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Jan 03, 2011 at 09:11

Monday, Jan 03, 2011 at 09:11
Hi Jeff,
Dunno if you remember us from July? Our travelling partners had an older Jayco Flipper with a busted leaf spring locator pin?

Anyways, that all aside, just wanted to say g'day, and best wishes for health & happiness for you and your family for the coming year(s), and have a safe trip mate!

AnswerID: 440544

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 20:50

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 20:50
Gerday Brian,

Yep, I certainly remember your group crossing the Simpson with the camper, hope you had a good Christmas & New Year!

FollowupID: 713485

Reply By: Tim - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 00:26

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 00:26
Not to rub salt in your wond by any means.....but you'll never guess what I saw today at Bourke.....

Any dramas that I may be able to help you with then let me know, even local advice......

Hope your back on the road soon.

Tim
AnswerID: 441037

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 13:10

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 13:10
Hi Tim,

I just got online in the motel that we are staying at in Bourke.

I'm guessing that you saw the 80 series on the back of a tilt tray!

We were having a great trip, left Mt Dare went down the Oodna' track to William Ck, stopped at Mungerannie then Birdsville across to Windorah then up to Longreach, down to Charleville, then about 65ks from Bourke the front left wheel bearings collapsed & sheared the axle off.

We are now waiting for the parts to turn up for the car to be fixed then we will be continuing on to Sydney for an abbreviated stay with the relos'

Sat Phone pays for itself again!
FollowupID: 713378

Follow Up By: Tim - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 14:52

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 14:52
Yeah I saw the sticker-clad 80 and cringed, as a Toyota man it's always a tough sight to see. Fingers crossed you'll be back on the road soon, usually 2 business days will see most things arrive from Sydney, the weekend wouldn't have helped that tho.
FollowupID: 713400

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 16:19

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 16:19
Tim,

The parts were ordered this morning, so they should show up Tuesday arvo, Wednesday at the latest, so we should be on the road Wednesday afternoon sometime.

I was planning to replace all the rear axle bearings when we get back as well as fitting a Lokka to the rear diff, didn't think that the front bearings would be a problem.

FollowupID: 713413

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 19:14

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 19:14
Hi Jeff, sorry to hear of your bad luck, that is par for the course though. The Sat phone, we wouldn't be without ours out in the back blocks.
Hope you are back on the road ASAP.
At this stage looks like we will be doing the Kimberleys again this year. Would like to see the Simpson when it is in normal condition though.

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 441412

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 20:47

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 20:47
Thanks Deanna,

Pretty used to having some kind of problem when we go away, but that's part of the adventure eh! At least this time we were close to civilisation.

It might be some time before the Simpson gets back to normal if the current weather is something to go by!

Sat phone = must have!
FollowupID: 713484

Reply By: Ozrover - Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 22:09

Saturday, Jan 15, 2011 at 22:09

Finally made it to The big smoke & it has lived up to all expectations!

I'd like to thank Simmo' at the NRMA depot as well as John North in Bourke for all thier assistance in getting the 80 back on the road!

The people in the Major Mitchell Motel are great & also deserve a mention!

AnswerID: 441982