Looks like TC Yasi will re-arrange North Queensland

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 22:56
ThreadID: 84056 Views:6252 Replies:32 FollowUps:44
Just finished for the night getting prepared for TC Yasi due to cross between Innisfail and Cairns tomorrow night.
TC Yasi ABC

Another 4 to 5 hours work in the morning should see me as well preprepared as can be.

Noticed a quite a few vans and motorhomes heading south this afternoon hope everyone travelling gets to a safe spot. Seems this is Mackay or south of there.

If Yasi is as big and nasty as the predictions it will make the country from Cape Trib to Townsville look awful different for the next 5 years.

The predicted storm surge has even long time locals rattled.

Reply By: Member - Matt L (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 23:05

Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 23:05
All the best to you guys up there, the whole of Australia is thinking and worrying about you all.
AnswerID: 443869

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 23:17

Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 23:17
to all "visiting" FNQ my advice would be to get out of there as quick as possible, the aftermath of a cyclone is not a good place to be and if you assume you can sit it out safe you may well be able to but afterwards it is impossible to get far as the damage is mostly spread far and wide and this one looks like it will bring a LOT of wide spread rain ............ most roads in and around Cairns and Tsvl have been cut for a few days this season with the "NORMAL" wet season rains, wait till it REALLY rains..
Losing power is a pain but if you add losing water and any effective sewarage removal it is just awful, the rain starts and everything gets water logged then the big winds come and up-root trees that very simply fall over bringing up the roots and any water and service pipes that run past them and now a lot of power is under ground it will disrupt a lot of it and it is not as easy to repair, """""cool i will just run the gen set"""" no power to the fuel stops means no fuel....
One "cat 5" cyclone me and the kids got stuck in i will not forget the lead up and how they say ..... listen to the RADIO and watch the TV for up-dates and advice as to what to do next if it hits.... it hit and took out the radio transmitter and the TV transmitter so both were useless, with that advice down the tube it left some of the "experts" walking around scratching there heads as to what to do next ......
The humidity after a big cyclone is shocking also, everything goes mouldy and smells no matter what you do, water will have gotten into everything and i could go on ....
Point is you will have time to get out so do it while you can ....
Take care and play it SAFE
AnswerID: 443870

Reply By: skmaint (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 23:18

Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 23:18
Hope everyone in Qld is prepared and stays safe.
Dreading the thought of it hitting.....Stay safe all and best off luck.

Simon.
AnswerID: 443871

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 08:17

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 08:17
Ta for that :-)

Unfortunately with a Cyclone that big, damage is inevitable

Its heading strait for us - Made the house as safe as we can, but the trees outside will be the determining factor - Ive made a judgment that they will start falling apart and most branches should go alongside the house - The wind has to come from the right direction :-)

Oh well is sit and wait for the destruction and given it twice the size of Larry, its not something worth waiting for :-)

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 715939

Follow Up By: kevmac....(WA) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 18:47

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 18:47
**** STAY SAFE ****
FollowupID: 716010

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 23:20

Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 23:20
Just had an SMS from some Govt Dept to say mandatory evacuations are being enforced tonight in low lying areas.

This is not looking so good!

Have to say we're on a hill 8klm inland from Mission Beach so storm surge is not so much of a worry. If the roof stays on we'll still be here on Friday!!

This text warning thing seems to be a new thing though, not sure its telling anyone local anything new.
AnswerID: 443872

Follow Up By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 23:45

Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 23:45
gone troppo member,
you are in a really lovely spot as Ihave spent a bit of time in that area and I hope all goes well as best as possible for you but if the wind doesn't create havoc I am sure the low lying areas will get a a hammering from the rain.Good luck and my thoughts are with you and all living along that beautiful coast.
FollowupID: 715932

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 00:30

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 00:30
I think the text messages and automated warning alerts sent to the landlines will be refined better than last nights.....caused panic in many localities in NQ with numerous calls to councils who didn't know anything about the content of these messages. :(

Stay safe GT, this cyclone is going to have a huge impact zone. With the impending wind/wave/rain action, this one's not looking pretty at all.

FollowupID: 715937

Reply By: kevmac....(WA) - Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 23:57

Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 23:57
to all people of north queensland hang in there, as with the floods you will find the rest of australia is thinking of you as the cyclone approaches........ i went thru tracy in darwin in 74 so can empathise with you all in what u are about to face.,, Anyone needs to keep in touch for own peace of mind feel free to message me on here...... will be on and off line all day tomorrow whilst at work
AnswerID: 443875

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 08:18

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 08:18
Thanks Kevmac - Larry was not fun and this one, well, I assume the next time I post may be a couple of weeks.

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 715940

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 00:23

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 00:23
Good luck GoneTroppo, and hang on tight.

AnswerID: 443876

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 01:22

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 01:22
GoneTroppo
I'm glad I'm not still living at El Arish, Was talking to Poul , owner of the Caravan Pk / Motel this afternoon on the phone, he is very worried, My other friend , Dennis and Joan have gone to rellies at Tully, they have moved out of the Caravan , just hope for their sake it's still there when they return after the Cyclone.

AnswerID: 443878

Reply By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 06:35

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 06:35
Yes done what I can - Thinking of going out and trying to fall the trees now.

Its a bummer, woke up this morning to find out it close to the Larry track, which is right over our house.

Now Cat 5 and supposed to be the biggest Cyclone to hit the Austrailan Coast.

Have to make a decision, Yep have to put some of those trees on the ground I suppose.

Best Of luck to allfacing this monster

Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 443880

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 13:29

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 13:29
Best of luck to you mate, and all those effected by this monster.
Cheers pete
FollowupID: 715978

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 15:40

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 15:40
Thanks Madfisher - Tree felling was a success, wind just blew the last one just past the edge of the house with the help of a couple of ropes for direction.

The rest of the trees will just have to rip apart in the right direction :-)

Too windy to venture out already - so now sit & wait and see what is to be :-)

Cheers To all
FollowupID: 715987

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 06:58

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 06:58
Gone Troppo,
You and everyone else look after yourself and hope everything goes OK.
AnswerID: 443881

Reply By: Rockape - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 07:16

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 07:16
Any of you in that area that are comoing south to get away from the cyclone path are welcome to stay at our place. Give us a call on 0408593482.

For those who are staying all the best.

May it pass quickly for all of you and don't forget to wear earplugs.
AnswerID: 443882

Reply By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 07:25

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 07:25
Thinking of you Gonetroppo, and all in the path of the storm. Keep safe and take care.

Heather G
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 443884

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 07:37

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 07:37
Not looking too flash this morning, now a category 5 which means by the time it gets to the coast it's a high end 5 of whatever comes after that.

Basically we're in unknown territory.

Cyclone Larry in 06 bent 6inch RSJ shed Posts through 90 degrees at a mate's place down the road, so don't really want to think about what this one might do.

On behalf of everyone around here, thanks for your good wishes!

AnswerID: 443886

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 08:20

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 08:20
Gone Troppo - Best of luck from Top of the Hill :-)

This does not look good

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 715941

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 08:44

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 08:44
Thanks Tony, same to you.

I know what 240k feels like 320k or more doesn't bear thinking about.

Cheers Chris
FollowupID: 715944

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 08:51

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 08:51
We are getting quite strong winds already up here, had to give up the idea of cutting the trees - too dangerous.

Yes our Larry winds were not as bad as the coast, our topography helps with the wind, unless you are in the wrong place at the wrong time for a bullet.

It will not be so good this time though and I too am not looking forward to this - Stay Safe

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 715945

Follow Up By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 09:47

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 09:47
G'day Mate
If you hang in there like the cruiser did on the winch, you and Lynn will be aok,
we will keep our fingers crossed that you and everyone else comes out of this storm without to much damaged to constructions and human life.
Hang in there and stay safe.
Bas
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 715950

Reply By: Wilko - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 08:55

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 08:55
Hi Gone Troppo,

Hope everything works out OK. My Old man, Sister and her Fam are 50km North of Townsville and their expecting some trouble mostly with the surge.

Qld just cant take a break at the moment.

Take care

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 443890

Reply By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 08:56

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 08:56
Having been born & raised on "The Tableland", and having family and friends directly in the path of this thing, SWMBO and I will be watching very nervously indeed over the next several hours, from the safety of Toowoomba............

Hang onto your hats, you lot up there....

Fingers crossed

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 443891

Reply By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 09:04

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 09:04
Morning Chris,
Just like to let you know we are thinking of you all and wish you well. We have had a couple of big ones sail past here and it's not a good feeling.
If I were you I would get to a designated cyclone shelter rather than try and ride it out at home.
Best of luck to all.

Noel K.
AnswerID: 443894

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 10:47

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 10:47
We'll be anxiously watching, and praying for your safety up there all you good people. Please all, take all possible care.

Let's just pray the predicted probabilities alerted by Anna Bligh and authorities don't eventuate.

I
AnswerID: 443909

Reply By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 11:17

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 11:17
I am hoping they got the intensity wrong?

Willis Island in the eye

Willis island is in the eye and they peaked at 100 Knots - That would be good if it is the most we get?????/

Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 443911

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 11:28

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 11:28
On second thought - maybe the thing just plain broke and that.s why :-)

But on radar it appears to be in the eye - Cheers
FollowupID: 715965

Follow Up By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 11:34

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 11:34
100 knots is about 185 km/h ...............

Like I said before, Hang onto ya hat!

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 715966

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 11:41

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 11:41
Yes - But it is confirmed it did fail - The 100 Knots were at 955hpa

It went down to 938hpa - so who know what the winds got to, also can be stronger a bit south of the system.

Yep so will put the hat in the house :-)

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 715967

Follow Up By: Member - Mawso (WA) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 11:44

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 11:44
Monster cyclone knocks out weather radar
By Kim Lyell

Updated 19 minutes ago

Map: Cairns 4870 Related Story: Cyclone to bring '24 hours of terror' Related Story: Cairns, Townsville step up cyclone preparations Related Story: North-west Qld prepares for Yasi Category five Cyclone Yasi has knocked out the weather bureau's radar system on Willis Island, about 450 kilometres east of Cairns in far north Queensland.

The weather bureau's radar and wind speed measurements on the island failed just before 9am (AEST).

The bureau says the maximum wind speed recorded before the equipment went down was 185 kilometres an hour.

Three weather observers and a technician left the island yesterday.

FollowupID: 715968

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 11:43

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 11:43
Well we have just finished every thing we think we can do in a 2 storiy unit in Cairns.

Windows were taped first, heavy furniture moved in front of the glass windows and doors.

Toilet and laundry decked out with chairs pillows torches water radio etc.

The lady next door expects our units to be flooded as she was here for Larry and reckons water will come through the units.

At the moment it is dead calm where we are, but don't expect it to stay that way for long.

I'll give you a run down on how we faired when it's over.

AnswerID: 443913

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 13:13

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 13:13
Funny we have had gusty winds all morning - One tree just went down beside the house - Result of a bullet after I added ropes for direction and a chain saw nick :-)

The chain saw nick being 20ft up the tree - Non Fun :-)

Stay Safe & Cheers
FollowupID: 715973

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 13:27

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 13:27
G'day Boo Boo....44 deg here at home in the Hunter at the moment, but we aren't complaining considering your predicament up there mate. Keep ya heads down, aye.

Fred.

FollowupID: 715976

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 16:19

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 16:19
G'day Fred

It's now 1510hrs and the wind is not much stronger then a bit of a breeze then it will gust, but not very strongly.

It started to rain about 30 minutes ago but only very lightly.

If I wasn't watching the event unfold on TV I would have thought it is just a normal wet season day. Oh and the fact that our kids and friends are ringing every couple of hours checking on us.

This may sound a but funny, but it is very boring at the moment just watching TV and waiting.

If the power is still on in a few hours I'll post an updated.

FollowupID: 715989

Reply By: Member - IdahOz - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 14:51

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 14:51
Thinking about you and wishing for the best for everybody there. Its times like this when we wish there was something we could do to help. Stay safe, the whole country is hoping you are all OK.
AnswerID: 443924

Reply By: Member - Jan Z (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 14:56

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 14:56
Good luck to you all up there. I can't imagine how you are all feeling, but hope you get through it ok. If anyone needs a roof over there heads when repairs can be made, you are welcome at the Gold Coast with us as needed. Just look up my details, or ring on 0412414036. Hang in there. Jan
Couldn't ask for any better!

AnswerID: 443925

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 15:22

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 15:22
Starting to get a bit squally now here at Mission Beach guess 80 to 90k gusts
Not much rain though.

As this system is relatively slow moving (compared to Larry) we're in for a loooong noisy night. I imaging we will loose power by dusk if the wind keeps building at this rate.

Fortunately I had 6 tall Palm trees cooked by lightening a few weeks ago so not much near the house now, guess you gotto be lucky!!

AnswerID: 443926

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew H ( - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 15:33

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 15:33
Gone troppo ,glad your up on the hill,
us flatlanders down at Wongaling are a a bit more worried.
Cassowary Coast Shire inundation map shows it at the bottom of our street.
Done all the prep work,road through Larry and no damage so it will interesting this time .
Andy
FollowupID: 715986

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 17:40

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 17:40
Gday Andy

Even though we're on a hill still not looking forward to it.

As far as the storm surge goes it looks like the thing is tracking more southerly so with luck we may get the top of the system not the bottom which means less of the surge.

Power should go off soon so I'll be off the air till the morning.

Stay dry and safe

FollowupID: 715999

Reply By: landseka - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 15:32

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 15:32
For interest, as a possible pointer to what Queensland can expect, has anyone heard how the Coral Sea islands have fared as Yasi has already visited them?

In particular Suva, Honaria and New Caledonia come to mind.

Keep safe all up there, we are thinking of you.

Cheers Neil
AnswerID: 443928

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 15:44

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 15:44
Have not heard, but it went over them as a large system with a lot less intensity Cat 1 & 2 I think

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 715988

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 15:47

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 15:47
How Cyclone Yasi compares around the world.
It's a big sucker.
Take care guys.

AnswerID: 443929

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 16:40

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 16:40
The strong winds they are predicting must be constrained to a 30km front? Lets look at 3PM Readings

Cairns 512k Radar

Using the above we can measure a few things.

1) The cyclone is currently in the middle of Flinders and Homes Reef
2) Those reefs are 130k apart
3) The eye measures roughly at 30k wide
3) The eye is roughly 50k North of Flinders Reef

So logic tells me to look at wind speeds &

1) Flinders strongest gust to date is 90 Knots
2) Holmes Reef to date is 67 Knots

Where the eye is one could say Flinders has reached maybe its maximum and Holmes may yet to get its maximum.

So if it is as predicted, if you get 50 k closer to the eye the winds will reach 250k + ????

If all the above is correct, is the strength of this cyclone correct?

I am clutching at straws here, but logically it seems that it may not be as strong as they are saying - Hope I do not have to eat my words :-)

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 715991

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 16:43

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 16:43
P/S 90 Knots is around 160k

Those eyes must be mean little suckers :-)
FollowupID: 715993

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 17:53

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 17:53
Its big Ok - The reporter went a bit overboard with the wind speed and coverage big time though :-)

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 716001

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 19:12

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 19:12
Tony I like your theory BUT I suspect there may be more to the science.

It's getting pretty windy here my guess would be gusts well over 100k now and we have another 5 hours to go!

It's the noise I hate more than anything, especially in the dark

FollowupID: 716011

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 19:18

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 19:18
Gone Tropp - I guess there is :-)

Both reefs are sitting at 70 Knots still

The eye measures about 35k now

I suppose it will be the winds around that edge that will be doing the anticipated 285k

Been very wind up here for quite a while as well and still 4 hrs away :-(

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 716012

Follow Up By: kevmac....(WA) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:52

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:52
the eye may be only 30 - 40 kms across but the "very destructive winds" core of the cyclone i calculate from BOM's scaled map to be at least 150kms across and would say have gusts of 250km/hr if stays a cat 5
FollowupID: 716044

Reply By: landseka - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 17:58

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 17:58
This could be worth watching while it lasts.....
AnswerID: 443935

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 19:18

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 19:18
OK the wind were we are in Cairns has now picked up significantly.

Although the rain is still quite light.

We are going to have an early dinner 1820 hrs. I expect it to get a bit serious in the next hour or so.

My heart goes out to those directly in yasi's path.

FollowupID: 716013

Follow Up By: landseka - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 19:24

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 19:24
If you haven't unpacked the troopy BooBoo go sit in it. No cyclone could shift that load...lol

Cheers & good luck

Neil
FollowupID: 716015

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 19:37

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 19:37
Best of luck BooBoo, GoneTroppo and others in the area. On the BOM map Yasi is swinging North, so Cairns still may be in the direct line.

Mh

FollowupID: 716018

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 19:52

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 19:52
Neil

Thank goodness we could not get up here by road, otherwise my poor troopy may have got hurt. LOL

And Motherhen I really did not want to hear that bit of news.LOL

Its now fairly dark up here and we are now going to set the candles up.

Thanks everyone for your thoughts. FNQ will need all the help it can get in the next week or so.

FollowupID: 716020

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 20:40

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 20:40
Crazy, crazy weather......Cammoweal at this moment is showing as having received 69mm of rain since 9am today on the BOM site.

Fred
AnswerID: 443946

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 21:23

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 21:23
that was interesting today, we are north of them and the cloud and even the radar showed lots of rain heading for us yet we barely got 2 mm, it was/is humid as hell and this arvo was calm and slightly overcast ....
The calm before the storm i guess ...
our forcast is for rapid river rises with over 500mm of rain expected on Friday morn and a river height of 14M ..... BUT .... we are in NO WAY as bad off as the coast, we wont have the wind so very, very lucky...
Feeling for you guys, keep safe.
FollowupID: 716032

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 20:53

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 20:53
I have sent a request to the Mods asking that this thread remain at the top of the listings, for the forseeable future, for obvious resaons. It just may allow some in the affected area contact with the outside world, until the danger passes. ( every littlle bit may help). We are in unknown territory here.

Fred
AnswerID: 443948

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:03

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:03
Good idea. Hope our members that are in the area can use it to let us all know they are ok.
FollowupID: 716035

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 21:33

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 21:33
I know a lot are watching this, does anyone remember "Monica", i have looked up old sat pics of it and it looks exactly the same, it was at the time classed as the most intence cyclone to cross the coast .....
It thankfully crossed 12klms away from Maningrida so affected far less people ...
Having been at Maningrida at that time i really feel for you guys there ..

AnswerID: 443954

Follow Up By: kevmac....(WA) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:59

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:59
the name of it rings a bell Joe n Mel...so does maningrida..........am an old Territorian from back in the 70's.............all can say is i am thankful i no longer live in the tropics anymore coz of cyclones... had my share
FollowupID: 716047

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:19

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:19
gday all.

maybe one of the moderators on EO could "off topic" this cyclone.

cmon mods....show us what ya made of :-))))
AnswerID: 443966

Follow Up By: ModSquad - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:26

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:26
We have attempted to use the Power of Moderation for the Good of the people of FNQ, "off-Topic" doesnt seem to be quite adequate. "Off the Scale" is more appropriate.

If it were within the Powers of the ModSquad to do so we would have, but there are some things that are simply out of our reach. Maybe the Sticker God could work some magic. We shall forward your request on.

In the meantime, Our thoughts and prayers go to all those who are shall and will be affected by TC Yasi.

The Squad of Mod

Moderation is just rules

FollowupID: 716038

Reply By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:39

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:39
Can not beleive I still have power at 9:40

Looks like it has stalled and heading on a more southern track now, that puts my place out of the direct line but others in to it.

Will have to power down now for the inevitable and wait to see what it does.

Good luck all & Cheers
AnswerID: 443976

Reply By: funnyfarm - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:43

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:43
I am sick with worry with this thing about to hit and i don't even live in the area.

I found this link that compares a few of the big cyclones.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/infographics/cyclone-season-2010-2011/comparison.htm
AnswerID: 443979

Follow Up By: funnyfarm - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:52

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:52
http://www.abc.net.au/news/infographics/cyclone-season-2010-2011/comparison.htm

try this one.
FollowupID: 716045

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:56

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 22:56
cyclone comparison
FollowupID: 716046

Follow Up By: funnyfarm - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 23:14

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 23:14
thanks Mark, couldn't get mine to work properly.
FollowupID: 716050

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 01:33

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 01:33
do a web search on "Monica" .... 19 April 2006 .... for some reason it is not reported very well despite it was very big ....
FollowupID: 716059

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 08:24

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 08:24
Morning All

That was a night I do not wish to repeat, 12 hours of hell, house is OK shed is missing roof, lot of damage inside it.

Not a single leaf on any tree as far as the eye can see (this is rainforrest country)

Fuel tank tipped over, molasses pump gone, Cattle are OK

All in all we have come off very very lightly, will post some pics shortly.

Thank you all for your good wishes last night it actually does make a difference to know people care.

Hope everyone else is OK too

FollowupID: 716071

Follow Up By: Flighty ( W.A ) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 08:55

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 08:55
Great stuff, glad to hear of your safety we can only hope now that it doesn't open up to a tragedy.
Take care to all in the wake of this, and our wishes are with you all at this time.

FollowupID: 716075

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 15:37

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 15:37
Journalists dont help a lot at times either do they.

Heard one who should know bette,r ask the Premier in one of her News bulletins, when she was talking about the surge around Townsville.

He asked " Do you expect the waves to reach Magnetic Island before they get to Townsville" DUH.

Pardon me but isn't the island EAST of Townsville and the Cyclone came from the EAST.

A bit like the bright pants story.

FollowupID: 716110

Follow Up By: Axle - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 18:26

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 18:26
Ditto Graham!. Or" How do you feel"?, ... Absolute Boof Heads some of them, How do they think people would feel.

FollowupID: 716127

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 19:02

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 19:02
Glad to see you on line already GoneTroppo. It must have been pretty nasty to be in. It seems that all the preparations paid off with no loss of life. Good onya Queenslanders and hope you are back on your feet soon.

Mh

FollowupID: 716133

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 18:36

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 18:36
Hi Guys,
Hope your all in good health and are well.
You are all in our thoughts.

I don't mean to bring down the thread, but I just heard on the telly that there are thieving bastards plying they trade again.
Dirty filthy Scum.
If you catch them, I wouldn't be ringing the coppers.
AnswerID: 444050

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 08:21

Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 08:21
In comparison to GoneTroppo we are living in luxury.

There was only a bit of wind in Cairns where we are.

The power is still out, but we are now lucky enough to have a generator at night and the surgery where my wife works has it during the day.

We also still have a little hot water left but it will probably disappear today.

All these little things we take for granted each day become really important when they are not there.

Its good to see that GoneTroppo is doing better than he expected and I hope it continues that way.
AnswerID: 444259