Electric Brakes

Submitted: Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 10:28
ThreadID: 84985 Views:3024 Replies:8 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived

Related Pages

I am hoping the wonderful caravan community can help me as I cannot find anything about this on equestrian forums. I am just getting into floating a horse for my young daughter and have spent a lot of time researching horse floats and I am having a new one made with all the safety features I feel are necessary to make floating as safe as it can possibly be. I now need to get electric brakes installed on my 4WD and this is where I need help. From advice and more research I have decided that the Tekonsha P3 looks like it will be the best one for us, but I am having trouble finding someone to install it. I live in Sydney near Hornsby. Can anyone recommend an auto electrician nearby who could do this work for me. I gather from reading your forums that many of you are very capable and have installed electric brakes yourself but I am unable to do this. Many thanks and sorry to gate crash your website but I am getting desperate.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Snoopyone - Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 12:11

Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 12:11
Any decent sparky should be able to do this as there are only 4 wires to hook up.

What vehicle do you have and has it got a towing loom on it and a towbar.

A Large round connector would be the best as the pins have a larger contact area so allow more voltage to the brakes from the car.

I would run a 6mm wire from the blue wire to the rear as most looms do not have heavy enough wire for the voltage required with a heavy trailer.

AnswerID: 448169

Follow Up By: Horsey Mum - Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 18:49

Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 18:49